Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Edelweiss Garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#3 of 36 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 977 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Will not be in my top ten list in Garmish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room floor was very very dirty!! We've been informed that incase the hotel find dirt in the room they will charge 250 € immediately the same day!! I don't recommend this hotel for families with kids.

    Staff is nice and very helpful when needed, location is prime and closed to the center about 5 minutes walking, the neighborhood is fantastic and the room view is very nice. The room itseof was roomy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Family run, took great care to make us feel comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit of a walk to the city center, but not a big deal.

    Family run, took great care to make us feel comfortable, great recommendations on sites to visit, etc. would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A relaxing second stay in a hotel of quiet elegance and friendly staff. Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Beautiful location, charming and solicitous owners and staff. Superb room with balcony overlooking a delightful garden with fine views of the mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Within easy walking distance of town centre. A true gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, food and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful -- even helped us move car after hours. Lobby was charming with antiques and ceiling paintings. Breakfast was phenomenal, even including salmon and other fish and a lite candle! Large room with balcony. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall we loved Hotel Edelweiss and highly recommend staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The safe was tiny and located in the wardrobe bolted on in the corner of the wardrobe with the door opening in such a way that you could not see into the safe. It was too small to hold my ipad. Because my husband had a very sore knee he had trouble managing the stairs, a lift would have been great, but that is of course difficult to install in an older building.

    We found the Hotel easily with help from the GPS. Very friendly welcome by the reception staff. We were able to park our car in the driveway while we unloaded our luggage and then moved it to the parking garage under the hotel. Our room 21 was located on the first floor facing the street. It was a lovely big room with a large double bed which was firm but comfortable and had a large seating area and TV. We had a balcony with table and 2 chairs and a view of the mountains. the Breakfast room located on the ground floor was cosy and very Austrian, absolutely lovely. The food on offer was very good and tasty. the staff were very attentive. the eggs were perfectly cooked. It only took 10 minutes to walk into the centre of Garmisch-Partenkirchen where you find many restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Bavarian style friendly , comfortable Garni hotel , with view of the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Overall Bavarian style of the entrance, breakfast room, our room had a fabulous balcony view of the Zugspitze, and the stream bubbling along , made an easy , peaceful sleep. All staff were extremely friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome at Hotel Edelweiss Garni. Easy 10 minute walk into downtown Garmisch! Breakfast had so many food and beverage choices, I didn’t want to leave and come back home!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    We will surely stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sebastian met us and was exceptional. Gave us recommendations on food and travel. The bar stubs was very nice. Rooms were large and balcony excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was wonderful. There was nothing to dislike

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very clean. The view was lovely. Location was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed every second of being there , and definitely will recommend this hotel as a worthy one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the underground parking is rather narrow , if you come with a big vehicle , it will not be a very pleasant experience to get in and out of it , we had BMW X4 , which has a turning radius of 11+ meters ... i had to be very careful as not to damage the rental car while parking.

    Everything was well organized , the stuff was very polite and friendly ,we ordered an underground parking slot in advance and been given our own remote control to open the gate to the garage . The place located in walking distance from the tourist center , we have been given tourist pass to use in local transport for the length of our stay ( though we preferred to use our rental car ,but that`s not the point ) , and the scenery around the hotel is simply breathtaking ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Feels almost like at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to say...

    Typical place run by family which offers attention to the customer and creates friendly atmosphere. Big room with mountain view, breakfast rich and good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Charming homely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is within walking distance to the town centre and restaurants. Good breakfast with a choice of cooked eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Location to town center, true Bavarian decor, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware there is no elevator. A minor price to pay for the charm of this hotel!

    Location to town center, true Bavarian decor, convenient parking, excellent breakfast! Oh, and the view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Great small hotel, located close to center, with friendly attentive service and view of the Zugspitz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, a very short walk to the center city for restaurants and shopping. The river runs directly behind the hotels garden, which opens up excellent views of the Zugspitze from the rooms and garden. The owners/managers were friendly, attentive and helpful. Very nice breakfast was included. And small hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Interior of the hotel, rooms and restaurant were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee maker or tea in the room. We asked for a cup of tea and coffee in the evening, they brought it to our room but we had to pay for it. It would have been nice to offer it as part of the package.

    Interior of the hotel, rooms and restaurant were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    I highly recommend this hotel for its charm and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was very helpful and kind. The hotel had excellent Mountain View’s with a lovely garden access directly from our room. The room was spacious, clean and the breakfast excellent. Best hotel stay so far on our 2 week visit to Europe. We will be back to this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location - beuatifull place - great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Just the weather, but it was not fault of the owners.

    The breakfast was gorgeous!!! All was perfect. The staff was kindly and carefull of any aspect. The location is perfect for relax, but no so far from the town center. I like so much the style of fornitures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding in all areas. I would definetly stay here again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we checked into Hotel Edielweiss it was a wonderful comfortable experience. Super clean comfortable rooms and bed. Everything was Bavarian style and well established in a modern way. The breakfast was wonderful and very extensive for whatever your taste might be. The owners and staff attended to every detail to insure all guests were well cared for and comfortable. Highest rating for this wonderful Hotel in Garmisch. I will return and will tell all my teacher friends in Stuttgart area about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel-I always stay here on my visits to Garmisch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Really great hotel in the perfect location for Garmisch--close to the kurpark so downtown is walkable but across the river in a very quiet part of town in the evening. The staff is all super friendly and welcoming and lots of the rooms have a great view of the zugspitze.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Love this hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit on the hard side for us but that is a personal preference.

    The location of the hotel made it possible to walk to shops or restaurants within 10 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, simple but efficient!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel, simple but efficient! Personnel working there have been very nice and polite. Good breakfast and good position too. I strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast - salted salmon, a choice of cheeses and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very good breakfast - salted salmon, a choice of cheeses and sausages, yogurts, smoothies, shrimps. Well-spaced room. On check-out we were presented a bottle of wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay in a very welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a not right in the middle of the town but in a nice quiet area. It was a little bit tricky walking in to town as it was very icy on some of the pavements due to the weather and not all the pavements had been cleared, so a short taxi ride is the only other option as it's not directly on a bus route.

    Excellent breakfast, lots of choice with some warm items. There was gluwhein and little biscuits out in the lobby area every afternoon/early evening to help yourself to. Our bedroom was a little small (it was the smallest apparently) but very comfortable and warm. The staff were always very attentive, friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    The whole experience of spending time at this beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience of spending time at this beautiful boutique Hotel owned by a lovely and charming husband and wife team and surrounded by wonderful scenery that only Garmisch can offer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel we had a superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    The staff were very friendly and always happy to give directions to places we wanted to go. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The bathroom was very nice and seemed newly updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very nice and seemed newly updated. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive - we loved our stay here and wish we would have stayed longer!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Very good location and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very good location and great breakfast. This is a very beautiful hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a very good parking garage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Couldn't have asked for a better stay. 10/10 great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. perfect.

    Everything. Room was adorable, breakfast delicious, balcony on point, views perfect, and even left the bar open for us at night once everyone went home. Best part: taxis were nowhere to be found our last morning and we needed to get to the train station. SO - the owner DROVE us in his personal car to the train station. Amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable authentic Bavarian hotel close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought the price was a bit high for what I got. I had thought I was booking at the Edelweiss lodge which is an entirely different location. For the price, I assumed I was getting a higher room with a better mountain view. This is a much smaller hotel and as I was on the ground floor, we didn't get a great view from my room. Though, we had a nice patio out back from which we had a nice view.

    The hotel had a great Bavarian feel including the staff's attire. The entire staff was very accommodating. With the windows open in the room we could hear the pleasant sound of the stream running along the back of the property. The area was very quiet and a short walk into town where there are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars. Garmisch itself shuts down pretty early. Its definitely not a late night town. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    The only place to stay in Garmisch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is in a great location. Their rooms are spotless, breakfast has a great variety to choose from and is fresh and tasty. Their customer service is top notch. Very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved it and short walk around the block to main shopping area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee available during the day unless we paid for it at a price disappointing

    Good breakfast and room was of a great size with separate chairs and table for relaxing. Nice outdoor garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great staff. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Large room, upper level, beamed sloped ceilings with a couch and 2 chairs, desk. Nicely decorated, clean. Small fridge. Small balcony with 2 chairs. Lots of drawers & wardrobes for clothing. We had pre-arranged a spot in the underground parking. Bathroom was large and bright (skylight), lots of space for toiletries. Had make-up mirror, hairdryer. No elevator - but stairs were no problem. Small bar/room near the reception. If not staffed, you could get drinks on a honor system. The outside terrace and backyard were gorgeous. Well maintained and the grounds were manicured. Small water feature, pond. Delight to sit on the terrace. Staff super helpful with suggestions on where to have dinner, what to see, etc. Both recommended restaurants were fantastic! Breakfast was served starting at 7:00 - great selection and cozy breakfast room. Comfortable bed and duvets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We loved the welcoming Bavarian ambience and staff. A very beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The location is beautiful, with beautiful gardens with the river flowing past them and Zugpitze towering over all. The hotel is full of Bavarian charm, from the frescoes on walls and ceilings to the antique upholstered chairs and settee in the bedroom. With our window open we enjoyed the sound of the river during the night. The breakfast was lovely with great attention paid to detail, including a candle lit on the table when you sit down. Thank you for the best stay we've had in our 4 weeks in Central Europe! We hope to return sometime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful place.We love Garmisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very pleasant.

    We have stayed at the Edelweiss Garni 4 or 5 times now and really like it.The owners Brigitte and Hans and all the staff are very nice and extremely helpful.The breakfasts are wonderful and the rooms very comfortable.The situation is excellent being just a 10 minute walk to the centre for places to eat in the evening.We shall rturn in the future

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    I will definitely make this a stay Point during our next visit. This is a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. Again great service and cleanliness!

    First off the staff was very polite and loved the guests! Food was a full breakfast and tasted very good. The staff all spoke English which helped and allowed us flexibility to practice our broken German. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. We ventured out and saw as much as possible with our 9 days, not enough :-) this is perfect if trying to mix in Austria and Italy too. So many beautiful experiences!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay at a very comfortable hotel run very efficiently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Location excellent. Owner and staff very welcoming and very attentive during breakfast. Breakfast buffet was lovely and was constantly being replenished by owner and waitresses. Kind gesture of free water/beer as I was sitting in the lobby. Underground car park spacious and clean. Would very much like to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Edelweiss was the most beautiful hotel in my six weeks European summer vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking and non-smoking rooms might be more efficiently separated from each other (smoking in adjacent rooms intruded a bit).

    Hotel Edelweiss was very beautiful, with tastefully decorated rooms, overlooking a romantic garden with classical Italian accents along a river and the grand view of the Zugspitze. The staff was exceptionally helpful with letting me use their computer for some scholarly work I had to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    At general the hotel was very good and it's near to the center by walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the breakfast because it was poor I advise to improve it.

    The staff were so friendly and they help us any time when we want. Also the room was great and the hotel has beautiful garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They provided our family of 5 adjoining rooms that worked out perfectly for us. The common spaces and rooms are beautiful. Little details, like self-service bottled water in the café, made us feel at home. The breakfast was wonderful...the best on our trip. Easy walk to restaurants. Great home base for enjoying Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful stay in Garmish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very relaxing and peaceful stay in Garmish. You shouldn't miss your chance to have spectacular view on mountains, thus book a room with garden view. Hotel is located on the riverside, which makes it even more romantic and cozy, still downtown is just couple of minutes away from if you look for more entertainments there. Staff was simply great making you feel like at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A superb hotel , 10/10 and a perfect place for a romantic stay in Garmisch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to write about this hotel.

    This hotel is superb, the service and standard of food when you visit the breakfast room is excellent. The staff are all very helpful and dressed in traditional clothing. A great place to stay for a peaceful and romantic visit. We were both impressed with this hotel and will be visiting again next year for sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Garmisch
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write

    This is a perfect location. Wonderful and friendly staff, always wanting to help in any way. Amazing breakfast. Very Bavarian feel to everything. Walking distance to the middle of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Edelweiss lives up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed longer e

    Beautiful setting with beautiful amenities. Staff was very attentive and accommodating. The grounds were lovely and the views of the mountains breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous GaPa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This charming hotel has a lovely atmosphere & is in a quiet location a short walk to the main hub of restaurants, shops etc. There is a cosy breakfast room & pleasant outdoor seating area in the garden. Our spacious & comfortable room was on the top floor with a lovely view of the surrounding area & alps (when the clouds lifted). Note: Stairs only - so upper floors may not be suitable for all. Secure underground carparking available (daily fee).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to chill for a few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was in a traditional and quaint setting, nice ambience. Staff also wore traditional dress. Quiet part of town, but very accessible to town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Amazing property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a fabulous experience. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. We felt pampered and the bed was as comfortable as being at home. Great location and walkability. If we are ever able to return, we would request the backside of the property which would give us a view of the Zugspitz. Included breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Third time we've stayed at this hotel so we know the area well and this time we got a room on the top floor that was bigger than expected. Rooms are clean, bright and well furnished and the hotel is in an excellent location for local restaurants and bars, we tend to eat at the the Pavillion adjacent to the local congress house which is typical German food, well cooked & good value. The breakfast is one of the best we've experienced in Germany and all of the staff and the owners are attentative and very helpful. Great location for exploring the local mountains and not far from the Austrian border and Innsbruck.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    A great place to start your Bavarian vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's cozy and comfortable, with a great view and the breakfast was fabulous! I posted pictures on Facebook and although I didn't know it beforehand, I have 2 other friends who have stayed here as well, we ALL loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff was very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underground parking was very tight, but much better than being on the street.

    Staff was very attentive. Breakfast in the outdoor garden was excellent and well attended. Owner was involved and enjoyed meeting everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Pretty as a Germanic picture!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us the rooms were hot - but this is because they're well insulated. We didn't ask for more ventilation so this was no fault of the staff.

    Breakfast extensive. Asolutely beautiful building and felt like authentic decor. Walked into a Germanic picture book! Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great stay at cute hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious. Our room was spotless and nicely decorated. We had an incredible view from our balcony and loved the sound of the flowing stream nearby. It was a short walk to downtown. The staff was very helpful, too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to report.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and adjacent seating area were relaxing and the balcony was just a bonus from which to watch the night sky. The breakfast buffet was fresh and the quality of the food was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Bavarian Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the best properties we have stayed at within the last ten years. The location is absolutely beautiful, backdrop being the Bavarian Alps, and although the property is located in town, the gardens backup to a beautiful stream running through Garmisch. The property is well maintained, historically preserved and our room - suite - was just perfect. Breakfast was served in the well appointed dinning area, table settings beautifully adorned on linen tablecloths, and presentation and flavor of the traditional breakfast was at the highest standards. Our only wish is that our stay would have been longer. We loved Hotel Edelweiss and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    It wasn't good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't sleep coz of the noisy floor and bed too ,my boy five months years old couldn't sleep too also the bed was small .

    I didn't like anything in that hotel and I won't recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    a nice way to enjoy the family run hotel in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't have the opportunity to climb the mountain due to poor weather (raining)

    the owner of the hotel is very professional and loves antique. the couple were very nice and happy to share their collection and family story. Breakfast is very nice and full of choices

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before my arrival, I received a "welcome" email from the hotel explaining what I could not do in the room (wash my clothes, wash my meal dishes, put too much garbage in the garbage can, put too mush water on the floor of the bathroom...), and the corresponding cost if I trespassed the rules...This is not my idea of welcoming guests!

    Nice hotel and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Hotel Edelweiss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was so hot when we visited the room was quite warm at night. We didn't sleep well the first night but we were able to get fans to cool the place down for the rest of the stay.

    Lovely hotel, short walk to the downtown area. The staff were really nice and accommodating to any request. The breakfast was beautiful and we really enjoyed eating outside everyour morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    A very pleasant surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was wonderful. The view... garden... breakfast... and kind and helpful staff were perfect. The quaint and very clean hotel was an exceptional value! We would highly recommend this property and will stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Edelweiss is a delightful place to stay. It's a beautiful spot, surrounded by breathtaking mountains and picture perfect scenery. The staff were very helpful and it was spotless inside and out. The town is nearby. I loved how quiet and peaceful our room was looking over a beautiful terrace and garden. I would definitely recommend staying at the Edelweiss!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Incredible view by the room balcony and window!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We receive a restaurant recommendation that we did not like. Expensive and an not tasted ! The worst dinner in this trip. But it was not their fact ! This hotel is Fully recommend , for sure we will back

    Incredible view by the room balcony and window! The hotel garden is a charm , very good breakfast, comfortable room and good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Pretty hotel, nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wi-fi is very poor most of the time it did not work.

    Great position to shops, restaurants, train station all within walking distance,we had a car so booked a spot in their garage for 10 Euro extra a night, there was free parking on the street but not always guaranteed a spot. The breakfast was really good they had everything you could want. Nice and clean and quiet, and plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice clean Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We parked our motorcycles in the underground garage and were charged 5 euro each bike to do so. Not a Kings ransom but a night here was around 25% more expensive than other comparable hotels on our tour of Germany and Northern Italy.

    Nice hotel. Appears to be in a residential area although quiet. This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Our room was spacious and clean with an en-suite bathroom overlooking the river. We found it to be very comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with a varied selection and is a continental in style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the owners and staff were friendly, attentive, and efficient. The breakfast buffet was picture perfect every morning. The outdoor garden was lovely along the river with a view of the zugspitze. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    4.2
    Clean rooms, fairly good breakfast, nice garden, silent area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To start with, we arrived on a rainy, cold evening (12C), we were seen to our room which sported wide open door and windows, making the temperature inside the same 12C. It might have been an attempt to get rid of the very strong and unpleasant insecticide smell, which failed to go away for the entire duration of our stay. The receptionist mimicked turning the heating on, which was a less than funny joke, as the heating stayed off until morning, leaving us to freeze overnight. This is Germany where greedy hoteliers regularly save a few cents by keeping clients cold, but this place is a real winner, they only had heating in the morning (reasons unknown, clients unhappy). Some other negatives: - strong air fresheners as the ones deployed in the room do not eliminate insecticide smells, but make them sickening - the room service ignored our room on the first day, no service at all (we did not stay in the room, did not leave the don't disturb sign on, it was simply missed) - the room service ignored the don't disturb sign on the second day, happily knocking on the door (training?) - the room service left our door unlocked after servicing We are not coming back, sorry. Need better personnel and less savings ...

    Clean rooms, fairly good breakfast, nice garden, silent area but still close to the Garmisch town center. Underground parking is a plus (paid).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-everything was perfect.

    Excellent hotel in a great location. The rooms were spacious and had amazing views. The breakfast was amazing and the owners were helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single duvets were a bit small. Bits of us kept sticking out! Pillows were strange, one too big and one miniscule. Neither really suitable to sleep on. This was a minor niggle.

    Breakfasts were superb. Service was excellent. View magnificent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good!! All workers were very nice and very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and the bathroom was large, super clean and with an awesome shower!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Historic house and and very comfy rest at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the management pushing us to depart by 11am, yet check out time is 12.00 and I REQUESTED a later check out, which was not possible any way. The rest, I am glad that I took this particular place. Its nice all around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was paid parking, it was in a garage and others who did not park correctly made it difficult to get into the small spaces.

    The staff was super friendly and helped with dinner reservations and where to go around town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Best in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It rained and snowed the whole time we were there. But that was sort of our fault.

    All accommodations were super! we were treated like family. Anything we needed was provided or found immediately. Very Important-the shower is better than my house! One day I came down with only about 30 minutes left for breakfast and Hans made me fresh eggs instead of the eggs left on the serving table....I could go on and on. thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Great staff. OK hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lack of hot water at peak times. No desk in the room

    Reasonable location, some 15 minutes from the town centre and most restaurants. We booked a place in the underground garage at the hotel (€10) although we could have parked in the street. The room was a little disappointing as it had no desk so emails and the like were done on the knee. We also had a problem getting hot water at peak times - both morning and evening. The breakfast was very good and the staff were exceptionally helpful. Overall it was an good stay, but the lack of a desk was a problem to me, if not my partner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Experience Bavaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere is so quaint and inviting. The staff are extremely accommodating and pleasant. We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Great cozy place to stay with Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was pleasant and the reception was accommodating with suggestions for dinner. I love the breakfast we were welcomed I believe by the owners and it felt warm and welcoming at this hotel. I would love to come back to this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent, the beautiful young lady, Anita...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from train station, need to walk 20min.

    The breakfast was excellent, the beautiful young lady, Anita who was in-charge of that, was so nice and cheerful. She would got everything ready at 7AM. You can't believed how can she prepared so many things: smoked salmon, shrimp, different types of cheese, meats, breads………,fruits,drinks.The foods was really delicious, and the service excellent. Although the room was comfortable with adequent facilities. But the most unforgotable part was the buffet breakfast, and the high standard service of Anita. Thanks Anita!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great little hotel that makes you feel like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a fabulous time staying at Hotel Edelweiss. This small family-run hotel has everything we could have asked for. The location of the hotel is very convenient and accessible. Though the garage is a bit small and difficult to park, we're grateful that there's a parking provided as we had a car with us. The neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful and the town centre is only a few minutes walk away. The small garden is a nice addition at the hotel. Our kids had a great fun running around while we sat outside drinking beer and orange juice which are available from the bar at the hotel. The staff and owners are nice, friendly and attentive. They are helpful at check-in, during breakfast and through out our stay. The amenities provided in the room are more than enough and better than some four-star hotels we have stayed before. The room we stayed in is on the second floor and has a balcony with the stunning view of the mountains and canal. What we like most is probably breakfast buffet. The breakfast corner may be small but all the food provided is of excellent quality and taste. We have enjoyed it tremendously.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel, close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking. Only "free" parking was on the street, which was limited. Off-street parking costs an additional 8 euro a day. For the cost, parking should be included.

    Great location, close to town. Staff was pleasant, helpful, and spoke English. Rooms were clean and contemporary. Hotel has nice Bavarian feel, and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: