Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eden-Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Reinhäuser Landstraße 22a, Suedstadt, 37083 Göttingen, Germany

#4 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 804 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm during the night as there was no air conditioning. Windows needed to be opened.

    Very well located quality hotel 10 minutes walk from the centre of Gottingen. Very clean and comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast with a fresh buffet offering a wide choice to suit every taste. The staff in the restaurant were extremely attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    I'd go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was flaky early in the evening. It improved later--apparently someone rebooted it or something.

    General ambience of the place, cleanliness and general comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooms and the breakfast were fairly good, as well as...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a lot of missunderstanding with the staff, with the booking and with the whole organization of the trip. Their lack of friendliness and will to help was the most negative point of this trip.

    The rooms and the breakfast were fairly good, as well as swimming pool and spa area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable place at a good location for the entire city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow was not to my liking, but that can be a personal thing. The bathroom toiletries were never refreshed during my 3-day stay: no fresh soap, handlotion, or even toiletpaper!!

    The hotel is at a very convenient location, within a few minutes to several bus lines, and a 5-15 min walk to various parts of the city center and the train station. There are also many palces to eat nearby. The breakfast was great, very fresh with good selection. Very clean room, comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Great short break in Göttingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is (for this class of hotel) rather small.

    Large double bed, very comfy. Breakfast buffet offers great choice. Wellness area is excellent: very clean and for free. Indoor swimming pool for a relaxing swimm. Staff is very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Elegant Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is elegant with warm touches of antiques and beautiful furniture placed at every landing. The table settings had understated, gorgeous silverware and the staff were professional and friendly. The facilities are amazing: gym, sauna, pool etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Recomendable, pleasant hotel close to the downtown, could be much better with some investments
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time many parking places were fenced so I had some troubles to park car (one evening). Safe in the room is with old technology (credit card opening based). WiFi good but not excellent (free of charge 4Mb/sec and 3 eur for 6Mb/sec). With some investment in refreshing hotel interior, this would be the best hotel in Göttingen.

    I stayed in Eden hotel several times. They keep the quality level. Brakfast is basic but not at all poor, I like it. Free parking in front of the hotel is very convenient. Proximity of Göttingen down town is great, 5 min by walking. Quiet area, nice (a bit old) lobby. Very nice SPA. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    The Room was very clean and well equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service staff tried to rush us for some reason. We have announced early that we will arrive at 11 to 12 but we still have to wait until 14 o'clock to get our room. We were told that we can leave the next day at 12 but the staff told us we have to leave at 1130.

    The Room was very clean and well equipped. It was nice to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable base for visit to Gottingen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning which was no joke given high temperatures. Request for kettle in room declined. No facilities for making hot drinks. We were given bath robes on request but only on condition that deposit provided. No towels in swimming pool so we had to take them from our room.

    Our comfort double was spacious with high quality fittings. Comfortable bed. Electric shutters excluded light. Quiet. Breakfast good quality and generous. Staff in breakfast room pleasant and helpful. Swimming pool good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect even after the visit !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was contacted by the hotel after my visit & my previous review where I was not 100% satisfied. They had an inquirie about my dislikes, cleared it, appologized & sent me a litte "sorry-package". So I can say that I "forgot" what I didn't like 😉 This level of care is just perfect & by that I can surely say that whenever in Göttingen I will stay in the Eden-Hotel again!

    Location, atmosphere & most of the Staff was extremely friendly. I have to add that the Hotel cared for my review, contacted me & sent me a little complimentary gift as a "sorry" for the minor inconvenience I had. This shows the level of dedication they put into making their guests feel well even after the visit & for that they deserve a top rating!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Modern Hotel incorporating its history
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on offer is tops. All items is of excellent quality and super fresh. The interior design is special. Modern with some strategically placed antiques showing the history of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Over-all excellent - worthy of 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we've found in many European hotels, the shower enclosure was incomplete. Wi-Fi was slow as was elevator.

    Good selection of "standard European" breakfast items. Comfortable beds. Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Very pleased indeed. Excellent value for money. To be recommended strongly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor criticism: Bedroom decoration could have been a little brighter

    Bed v comfortable. Bedroom fine. Breakfast excellent. Lobby very accommodating and comfortable. Lift always came quickly. I did not use the restaurant. Taxis came very quickly indeed when called. Staff very helpful. Spoke very good English. The caring family touch is evident.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb accommodation. Finished to a high standard. Staff made me feel very welcome and very important.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    The size of the room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs over cooked in breakfast. Mini bar could be better and include strong liquor

    The size of the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    The staff were very unfriendly, and not accommodating at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been kinder and more flexible.

    The staff were very unfriendly, and not accommodating at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant sauna facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant sauna facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    as always an egreeable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we know the hotel well having stayed there many times. Some of the staff we know well and always find them welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Worth a trip just for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little pricey

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    I liked location, staff very friendly, room very clean and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked location, staff very friendly, room very clean and cozy...breakfast really good!!! All in all great place to stay for money you pay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place for a business trip 1-2 days. Came back 2nd time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to think of it.

    Cleanliness. Quietness. Breakfast. Spa . amenities. Everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, nice staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, nice staff. Cozy room. A good location to visit Goettingen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, good pool, great breakfast, very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel, good pool, great breakfast, very quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Silent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    accessibility --you need an elevator or a ramp

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Arrived late @ 21:55 on Sunday evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late @ 21:55 on Sunday evening. Despite the restaurant closing at 22:00, they arranged to serve a meal and accommodate me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Free internet is a joke, the speed is so low you can't...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free internet is a joke, the speed is so low you can't really work with that. Breakfast was poor comparing to other 4 starts hotels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely pool and Sauna.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress - just very thin an uncomfortable.

    Lovely pool and Sauna. Hotel is in a great location to walk into town and easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staying for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly, room was big, the swimming pool was adequate for our baby (over 22•C) and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel and if in this part of Germany again I would like to stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no issues with this hotel. It's a really nice place

    Think the scores say it all. The breakfast staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff all locals and family run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and staff all locals and family run.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast really good, in a beautiful room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow elevator

    Breakfast really good, in a beautiful room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.3
    Had charm and a great blend of old and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was limited to one person and could not be accessed from our room.

    Good comfortable hotel in central location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    The TV did not work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV did not work.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Extend hours for relaxation facilities by one hour from 2200...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extend hours for relaxation facilities by one hour from 2200 to 2300.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Great Location Great Staff Great Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the swimming pool, steam room & sauna - an excellent bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Exceptional breakfast buffet with a very wide array of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa is only open in the afternoon as is the sauna

    Exceptional breakfast buffet with a very wide array of choices, all fresh produce and at a very attractive price. The staff is also extremely welcoming (few hotels would agree to keep luggage for more than 10 hours without raising eyebrows) and the facilities very good

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Perfectly situated for the old town, which starts a couple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfectly situated for the old town, which starts a couple of hundred yards away from the hotel. The property runs a long way back from the main road, so despite having easy access to a major road, it is very sheltered and quiet. It also has ample car parking tucked away out of sight of casual passers by. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with an extensive choice. Just make sure you are hungry! The room and bed was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    The fact that the hotel had a pool was great as I could...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed could have been a bit softer and the shower would have been better with doors rather than a curtain.

    The fact that the hotel had a pool was great as I could start the day with some exercise - and it was empty both mornings I was there. Also the breakfast was varied and very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    The staff was very friendly and the room was just perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very friendly and the room was just perfect. A good bed, great bathroom and the wifi was working as it should (and was included in the price of the room). Last but not least, a very nice breakfast both in terms of what was offered, the lay out and the service.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    You could add a kettle to the room Barrier free access to the elevator for strollers and wheelchairs would be perfect

    Very friendly and helpful staff Good breakfast Swimming pool surprisingly nice Free parking

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Lovely room comfortable and the electric shutters really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room comfortable and the electric shutters really blacked out all noise and light. Very good spa and pool and fitness but needs a larger and quieter quiet area to relax on the loungers. Good breakfast especially wonderful scrambled eggs and bacon. Good parking and very close to town to walk in.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Very convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi connection slow and problematic: could not log-on on free option, had to go for the paid option.

    Very convenient location. Helpful and friendly staff. Super clean. Comfortable and spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Very good free parking for motorbike, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the rooms but hotel provided a fan free of charge

    Very good free parking for motorbike, breakfast was excellent and very well presented, Nice swimming pool and very clean throughout the hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Staff all very pleasant with good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi very slow and only allowed on one device at a time. No tea/coffee facilities in room. No air conditioning in room.

    Staff all very pleasant with good English. Excellent facilities, swimming pool, sauna,gym. 15 min walk to center of town.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Nice staff and facilities, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is central, but nothing special and the Free WiFi is deliberately capped and very slow!

    Nice staff and facilities, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Value for money, good breakfast selection, larger than...
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was someone outdated. It was very easy for water from the shower to leak on to the floor. Some of the towel fixtures were loose.

    Value for money, good breakfast selection, larger than average space in room in comparison to other European hotels.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    5.8
    the decoration of reception lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we booked through booking.com and my husband called hotel to double confirm the Reservation if there are 2 rooms , given the Name Meisel to check and got reply there is only one room, ok , then he requested, we Need one more room. by check in, it is confirmed we have 2 rooms. However, by check out, front office staff charged us 3 rooms, mentioned there is a no show for the 2nd rooms in the booking.com reservation, and instead of that, they gave us the 3rd room. We are forced to pay for 3 rooms while we stayed in 2 rooms, after complaint the front Office offer to Charge 80% of the no Show room (which is the normal Regulation of no Show from booking.com), but at the first place they want to Charge us 100%, which is violate the booking.com Regulation. It is very incooperative at the front Office, little explanation and not helpful at all in making the Situation clear, and rejected to escalate to a managment level to solve the Problem. We doubt strongly how can the front Office not aware of both of the 2 rooms under one reservation, with one reservation number. When a family or group travel together sure not necessary register in same last name! By the first inquiry on the phone and by check in not, but suddenly by check out they do, which leading to the 3rd room which we have to pay for. We are disappointed on the handling of the case by the Hotel, even we tried to follow up afterwards with the Manager and got no constructive result. we found it is only the incapability of the front office procedure and serive leading to this unfavourable experience in staying in this Hotel.

    the decoration of reception lobby

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have used a garden to sit in on hot days

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Breakfast enough to set you up for the day. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    6.3
    The building is nicely arranged andthe rooms look good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was not used to international people and also unfriendly sometimes. The wifi is limited in speed and you need to login every single time again.

    The building is nicely arranged andthe rooms look good.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.9
    Easy to get to and near enough to walk to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedding material too plastic and therefore uncomfortably hot. Décor of room very heavy and overly traditional.

    Easy to get to and near enough to walk to the centre of town. In house Italian restaurant very good food at modest cost.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was good and the wifi was working good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is a little bit far from the main train station but it is not that far away from the city center.

    Breakfast was good and the wifi was working good.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Room clean and big .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

    Room clean and big . Spa Area very nice

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived late, so unlucky with parking. Car park was 99.9% full

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Walking distance to town centre

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    The staff is very friendly, they have a bike rental free of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is very friendly, they have a bike rental free of charge, breakfast is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    - very friendly and competent staff
    • Family with young children

    - very friendly and competent staff - breakfast was exciting! All fresh and very tasty! - parking for the car

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast Buffet very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast Buffet very good Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    The facilities are perfect and the staff is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    The facilities are perfect and the staff is amazing! The breakfast is wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    No water provided in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No water provided in the room.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    Good English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only an Italian restaurant in the hotel and as I am a coeliac my choices were limited

    Good English speaking staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    The room had no air conditioning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had no air conditioning. The wifi is too slow unless you pay a ticket of 3€/day for a faster network connection

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rather a longer walk to town centre than expected.

    Easy to find. Free parking. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.9
    Very sumptious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very sumptious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Great spot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great spot

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    I liked the amability of the staff, the variety of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the amability of the staff, the variety of the breakfast and the spa.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: