Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edy's Hotel Restaurant im Glattfelder

Kinzigtalstraße 20, 77799 Ortenberg, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Ortenberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Edys was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was great and the hospitality from the staff was top, i had hoped for a second pillow since the first did not have enought filling, was awake the whole night.

    Friendly staff and the food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The owner was a lovely woman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was a lovely woman. Not only did she give us a recommendation of a lovely restaurant she made a reservation for us! The views from our balcony were stunning. The village the hotel is in is lovely. We will definitely be coming back to this location when we return to Germany.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.2
    - breakfast on average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - infrastructure quite old and not clean - staff extremely cold - shower broken - the only window of the room faced a wall! - overall feeling of a not clean room. Smell. - matters covered just by a very light sheet with no protection.

    - breakfast on average - very easy and free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A great stop-over location for anyone driving from Calais further south. Restful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The views from the back of the hotel are stunning onto a castle and vineyard. The meal was excellent and included in the booking. The staff were English speaking. The restaurant specialises in spices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Time travel that doesn't come cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying in this hotels beams you right back to the early eighties, and like those days internet is non existent (no wifi in the room and elsewhere speed that reminds me of the good old dialling modems). Unfortunately time travel doesn't come cheap.

    We got lucky as our room had a nice view on Schloss Ortenberg. Employees were friendly and were able to communicate in english (as my German has become a bit rusty).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Cost-effective solution near Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No door for shower. Toilet was outside of the room and could be used by other guests, but it wasn't during my stay. No WiFi, only LAN cable.

    Great service from the staff, clean rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tres elegant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Kind staff, small but comfortable room, wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kind staff, small but comfortable room, wi-fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    People and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet onthe floors and no ventilaton in bathroom

    People and very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Garage for motorcycles .

    Good food Friendly people. 😎

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.4
    We had a room with a balcony with a really beautiful view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent 3 nights at Edy's. The room was old fashioned, no double bed but two single beds put together with each of them their own bed linen, not really "couple friendly". One bed was also creaking on every move you'd make. Bathroom was small and not at all like the picture you can see on booking.com. There was also a bad smell each time you would start the shower. There was no wifi in the room put the possibility to use a internet cable however the connection was extremely slow. Upon arrival we were asked at what time we would like to have breakfast, as we planned to go to Europa Park right for the opening time we asked if we could have breakfast at 7.30 am. This was not possible. You can only have breakfast from 8 am (what the point of asking the guests then?). The next day we planned to leave without breakfast, but luckily for us, another couple had complained about the breakfast time as we were allowed to eat earlier but we were (not so kindly) reminded that for the next (and last) day we could only eat from 8am.

    We had a room with a balcony with a really beautiful view on the nearby castle. It was very quiet at least on this side of the hotel (not facing the road). The breakfast is very good. Very varied both with sweet and savoury food. The hotel location is quite practical when planning to go to Europa Park. They also have a big parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    5.8
    Excellent food in the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on their homepage looks like freshly renovated in a great modern style - what we got was an old school room straight from the 80's. :-(

    Excellent food in the restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, super helpful people, who waited up late because...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    What's not to like?

    Friendly, super helpful people, who waited up late because I'd experienced terrible delays and were really nice about it. Breakfast - at last, a hotel with real coffee from a machine, plus a Nespresso machine in the room with a choice from full-strength to decaf. What a bonus! Warm ambience in the room and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Our 5th visit here on our way to Switzerland - always a high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our 5th visit here on our way to Switzerland - always a high standard. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Monday. This was a disappointment but not Edy's fault. We have had a wonderful meal in the past. Better planning on our part next time

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Staff very friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beds are not so modern

    Staff very friendly, car park at back of building, away from street free excellent breakfast room was very nice and clean (comfort room)

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    3.8
    No toilet on the room, the hotel was empty, there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No toilet on the room, the hotel was empty, there was a possibility to have a room with toilet and modern room, the shower was old, if you see the pictures you get another impression of the hotel, they shows you the best room,

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    Good place for a delicious dinner:))
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good place for a delicious dinner:))

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Owners were extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were not enough croissants for the people present at breakfast

    Owners were extremely friendly. Also the staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.9
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit far from train station and no wi fi

    Nice view

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: