Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eisenhut This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Herrngasse 3-5/7, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#7 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1426 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing hotel in an important historic building. Excellent location, within easy walking distance of many attractions. Fantastic ambiance with historical furniture, paintings, etc. Rooms are spacious. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, offering a wide array of fresh and healthy options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High charges for breakfast and parking.

    Good hotel in an excellent location with superb views over the town and countryside. Our room at the top of the hotel was glorious with open balcony doors and early evening breeze. No air-con but large fan and very quiet location with the balcony doors open.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like much of where we stayed in Germany expect to go to bed early. Town shuts early compared to rest of continent. Even the hotel bar was closed by 10pm

    Right in the town, very convenient and very beautiful. Amazing views in this area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not air conditioned. This was not a problem when we were there because the weather was cool and there was a fan in the room. It could be a problem on a hot day. The food is expensive and you can do better for less money at many of the nearby restaurants.

    The location can't be beat. You are right in the middle of the old town, and you can easily walk to all the tourist sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was not a problem for us, but being an older building some of the floorboards are squeaking.

    We loved the room (bigger than what I expected), we loved the view and we loved the location. The hotel is steps away from Marktplatz and we could hear the church bells from our room. This was the best room of our holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great, but the beds are extremely uncomfortable, not to mention loud and creaky, and feel like they are made of straw. If they could get some new beds, that would really elevate the experience.

    The location and the aesthetic were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really, but keep in mind that this is a historic hotel with historic furniture.

    Location of the hotel, Valet Parking, Breakfast, Terrace, Size of the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - too expensive compared to what is offered - soft mattress (for us) - no air conditioning; you need then let the window open and this might cause hearing the noise of outside - internet is generally very slow - breakfast is good but might be not that valuable compared to the price you pay. I missed some warm meals for example ( only scrambled eggs and bacon offered) All said; we had an ok night there.

    - friendly staff - cleanness - location The hotel is located perfectly in the center. It is furnished kinda old style but that is actually the intention. Even though the location is good, I still recommend to book a hotel out of the city walls and save some money. The city is not big anyways and you manage to be in the center by couple of minutes walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was large, but a bit outdated. No shower, just a big tub with a hand-held shower attachment.

    Right in the heart of the city near the main square. Huge room, good wireless, lots of storage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might not like the old fashioned furniture but we loved it.

    Very memorable hotel, very quirky, feel like you've time shifted, except for the modern conveniences of hot water and comfy beds etc. Winding passageways, creaking floor boards, historical artifacts in the hallways, unbeatable location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is really convenient, just at the center of the old town, and the whole building is so classic and pretty. But feel a bit disappointed because there's no any tea bag in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the staff luke warm. The rooms were dated but functional. It is quite an old building with wide wood staircases and charm but also two different elevator rides to reach certain rooms with luggage.

    The breakfast was amazing. Squeeze your own OJ and a huge assortment of food. The location and view were fabulous. It was such a great town to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big, with a balcony that had an amazing view of all of Rothenburg. The breakfast was incredible, we also had an amazing dinner at the restaurant. The cuisine is very very good, I highly recommend it. Excellent quality for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the booking confirmation it was stating that breakfast was included in the price, however during check-out we were charged the breakfast costs.

    Very well located hotel with easy access to main attractions. Rooms were bright and very comfortable. Staff was very helpful - we forgot some items in the room and after check-out while walking around the city we were approached by one staff member to warn us and ask us to pass by the hotel to collect our items.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to some of the rooms easily with the various lifts and stairs. Maybe need a map? However, I’ve got it down now.

    Food is great and the location in Rothenburg is unbeatable. I think this was my 5th or 6th stay here in the last 10 years. Will return again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Eisenhut is right in the middle of old Rothenburg, with the option to drive right up to the hotel (during certain hours). Next door is the famous Kathe Wolfhart Christmas shop, and right around the corner is the old town square. The rooms are good-sized and quaint, and the service is excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi strength could be improved.

    beautiful old town view from our balcony. perfect location just few steps to main square and all shops and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -available food at the place is poor, I get it that they want to offer traditional German food but especially for the thousands of Japanese guests the should offer some vegetables. The quality of the German food was medium at the most

    -place is great -rooms are lovely decorated and cozy -staff is friendly and capable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds needed new mattresses, food overpriced (very good restaurant in the market square was nearly half the price), the staff member who collected my car from the hotel garage drove it back at high speed, when I commented I got a shrug of the shoulders and he walked off.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect hotel in every aspect! From the initial emails until check-out, the reception staff were wonderful. The décor makes you feel like you are staying in the old mansions. The restaurant is incredible!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the rooms we had, standard double room, was too simple and did not reflect what I had hoped for. I missed something of the old style from the hotel. This would have made us all very excited.

    Looks good in the hallways and entranc, with a lot of nice antiques.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not find the switch for the bedside lights even though we looked all over them and the room, but this didn’t effect our satisfaction with the stay.

    The breakfast was extensive and delicious, and the dining room was beautiful. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - right in the middle of the pedestrian area. The antiques used to decorate the public spaces were gorgeous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is unacceptable to book a single frame single mattress double bed and be given a two frames two mattresses single beds joined. Then when complain be answered this is what we have all across the hotel (a lie actually) and then next morning not even apologise... Treated with rudeness and total lack of respect. For a reimbursement or anything else not a word and totally dismissed..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual in Swiss or German hotels, soft squishy pillows - a minor complaint!

    The Eisenhut is a historic hotel in a historic town. It is a fascinating building with corridors and steps all over the place. Not surprisingly, in view of its age, the floors are quite creaky (so it's not ideal if you like to perform vigorous workout routines while travelling) but the room was really spacious and the bathroom had the largest, deepest bath I have ever seen in a hotel room, as well as an excellent over bath shower. The staff were very friendly and all spoke excellent English. There was an excellent breakfast buffet. Although situated right in the historic heart of Rothenburg, you can park right outside the hotel to offload luggage and the car is then taken to the car park by the valet and brought back when you are ready to leave.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some trouble maintaining the heating in the room. The heating in the hallway by the bathroom worked well but the unit in the main room worked for only a few minutes at a time before turning off.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices on the dinner menu - otherwise all extremely good.

    Brilliant position in town for shopping and seeing the sights. Traditional hotel with v friendly staff, cosy bar and dining room. Didn't have to worry about parking car - all taken care of.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For the price we paid for the room, we expected the housekeeping to be impeccable. The cleaning in the bathroom particularly, was sub-par, with the exception of the last night of our stay (which was very good). Two days (the 3rd and 4th day) we received NO washcloths and had to call from them.

    The old world charm and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good. Would prefer not to have my car parked so far away by the valet.

    The rooms were all unique. The location made it easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go even in the cold.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whoever wants to complaint in this place should not and never visit ancient cities. Everything ist perfect.

    This hotel is so special because it is in the middle of the old ancient village. Right besides the wonderful shop of Käthe Wolfahrt which is open the whole year around and only selling christmas decorations of all kind. There is no better place for christmas articles than in one of the shops of Käthe Wohlfahrt. Besides that the hotel is located in the middle of ancient Rothenburg ob der Tauber and a must for every visitor. The prices of hotel and restaurant are worth the while. It is perfect all year round. During Ende November and December 23rd when the christmas market (Weihnachtsmarkt) is on than the athmosphäre is so fabulous that it is unbeleavable. The hotel Eisenhut is the recomendation for anybody who loves to learn about the real old Germany. We had a junior suite and it was phantastic. It was surprising that the employments of the hotel and the restaurant were very young. (say around 25 years or so).But all well educated and very polite. It is like visiting Carcassonne but just in small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant seemed to lack ambiance and energy, but there are plenty of other places to eat feet from the hotel so it was never an issue.

    It's a quirky historic hotel right in the middle of everything and is thus a short walk to the entire town. Parking and driving can be a little tricky, but the hotel was happy to park our car for us on the street without issue. For visiting the Christmas Market in December, it couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was slow and unresponsive causing logins several times.

    The view was magnificent and the hotel was a short walk from the town center! Dining for dinner was elegant with a friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little drab, and the bed/pillows not very comfortable.

    Staff was extremely helpful, common areas of the hotel are exquisitely historic and beautiful, breakfast area was spacious and comfortable. Location of hotel cannot be beat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in rooms. Decor in rooms tired and in need of fresh paint.

    The location is excellent, lovely views, large room and bathroom. Hotel full of character and staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the bedroom was hideous flowers and looked ancient and grubby. The bathrooom was spotlessly clean but very dated.

    Fantastic old building in the heart of the old historic town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was appalled that with tea & coffee facilities not available in room I picked up a couple of thermos jugs, cups, tea bags etc and was charged 20 euro for 8 cups of tea as I had 8 teabags!! Wifi was limited and was inconsistent. Could do better value for money.

    Location was very good. Lovely historical building - spacious rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived it was raining hard and I was very glad that I didn't have to find a place to park the car. Unfortunately, their restaurant was already fully booked but the reception was very helpful with recommending a couple other options in the area that were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi stream

    It was the first time I was in the Hotel of such kind. Hotel is situated in amazing old building with old-fashioned interiors (sometimes you fell yourself like in museum). And the main thing that Hotel is very cozy with very friendship and helpfull staff. The breakfast was great! And of course location (near the market squere) is the best in the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    You drive through the gates of the city and park right in front of the hotel, where a valet takes it away for you for 12 euros overnight. The front desk welcomes you and sets you up with plenty of friendly info. The room has antiques and a very comfortable bed, stemware, a bottle of sparkling water and a minibar that we didn't figure out until checkout. The location is smack dab in the middle of town, a few paces from the center square where the clock tower is and an easy walk to everywhere. The breakfast buffet was very good, with multiple choices of meats, eggs, fish, breads, waffles, juices (mimosa if you want) and an attentive, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came a bit early so the room was not ready. The staff help us keep our luggages. We came back later and found that our room is ready and our luggages were already in our room. How sweat. Besides, the house interior decorators are so antique and beautiful. The hotel located perfectly in the center of the town, we joined the night watchman tour and it started and finished just next to us, so convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was a bit tacky-- everything, including the toilet was pink!!

    The best location, easy to walk everywhere!! Few from our room was gorgeous. Very friendly, efficient staff. Easy to park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We gathered one evening with friends for dinner. When the dinner bills came we requested that our bill be put on our room. We went over what exactly we ordered and were told that was what we would be billed for. Unfortunately the waiter forgot to charge some of the people at the table for drinks, so he arbitrarily decided to add it to our room. When we discovered this the front desk REFUSED to do anything about it. The charge was almost 100 euros. So disappointed in the lack of organization of the staff here.

    Location was excellent. The bar was nice and the restaurant was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The atmosphere here is awesome. I loved this location and the hotel is right in the middle of Rothenburg. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault it.

    Pretty as a picture in postcard-perfect medieval town with all the mod cons. The best bed we have slept in since we stared our trip four weeks ago. Had its own great award-winning restaurant, but also surrounded by dining options that were almost as good. Beautiful rear terrace and garden. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    After a torturous journey to get there,i was exhausted from driving.I could have kissed the lovely man who took the car away and parked it.Fantastic restaurant,best meal of our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorways in the room are short, my 6'5" husband kept bumping his head on the door frame.

    It was clean, comfortable and convenient. Breakfast was outstanding. Best part was being next door to the Kathe Wohlfart store!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bath/shower was difficult to use for an elderly person; too deep, no grab handles etc. A walk-in shower would have been desirable..never thought to ask. The booking info should alert the visitor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The younger man at the reception doesn't mention the option of parking out front for 7 euros.

    Very spacious rooms. Some might not prefer carpetlined floors for allergy/hygiene reasons. Classic, luxury hotel in a very central location with well trained staff, extensive breakfast, beautiful terrace/garden. Park in the garage for € 12, or for €7) out front (ask at reception). We had hard matrasses, so instead of changing them the hotel gave us a room with softer matrasses that was also bigger.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely stay here. The woman at the desk was so kind and helpful. The hotel was beautiful with a perfect location. Breakfast was great. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, reasonably priced breakfast. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Restaurant was very good. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is a gem - fully renovated 16th century building. We were also lucky that the annual City Festival was on - what a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was over the bath and the screen leaked a lot, and the bar closed very early.

    wonderful location right in the heart of old town, great building, and room with balcony overlooking the town. The room was very clean and bed big and comfortable, the breakfast was superb everything you could ask for and more with a japanese breakfast if needed. Staff were most friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot find anything to dislike!

    We enjoyed very much the view from our room and the hotel's location is great for a short visit to Rothenburg. The hotel ambience complimented our visit to Rothenburg perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inexistence of any king of cooling system.

    The hotel location is excelent. We did not get the hotel breakfast because it was very expensive. They gave us a room across street from the main hotel building. It was impossible to sleep because the room was too hot and the fans did not solve the problem. Avoid to go to this hotel in the summer time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff that helped us to change the room when the first room they gave us was very hot! The rooms are furnished very nicely and even if all is quite old its still clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom. Bathroom was a little dated but in a way added to the charm of our.

    Excellent location in the centre of Rothenburg. A traditional hotel and like taking a step back in time. Beautiful terrace for al fresco dining. Lovely view from our room of the church and roof tops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ristorante da EVITARE, PESSIMO. Costo della colazione 13,50€ assolutamente eccessivi per l'offerta

    Posizione centralissima in un albergo âge con un bellissima atmosfera

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant has interesting menu, but a bit expensive, - would benefit from the addition of some simpler traditional German dishes.

    Fascinating historic building in great location. Excellent breakfast served in a delightful room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking outside. Parking is 400 meters away in lock-up garage at 12 Euro per night. Not easy for continued or easy access to car. Rooms were very expensive and very basic. The management were very German, no smiles no frills. Breakfast not included even though room was over 100 Euro.

    Very traditional, but we were in a separate building. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a little small. No electric kettle.but boiled water is available 24hours in the lobby.

    Best location to everywhere. Staff is very nice. Helped us to park the car for 12euro per night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as one would expect from a hotel in this class especially when compared to dinner at the hotel restaurant which was fresh and delicious

    This is centrally located in gorgeous Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel is furnished with many Art works and old furniture. I loved seeing the beautiful old chests and sculptures as I went through the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Historic hotel located in amazing location within the historic city. Breakfast offerings are generous and they offer fine dining in the evening. They were very sensitive to my gluten-free needs (due to celiac disease) and offered the best gf bread I've ever had. Within advance notice and charge, the hotel staff will park your car for you. Highly recommend this location for the price and location if you visit Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodations for handicapped and elders. Modern rooms and updated rugs etc.

    Eisenhut hotel has been in Rothenburg forever. In the 60's, 70's and 80' it was the place to stay. Centerally located and convenient to everything. They did provide parking for a price but the hotel rooms were old and tired. For elders such as ourselves there was little effort to accommodate our needs. The tubs were a disaster waiting to happen. further the rooms were not air conditioned but fans were available. I would rate the place no better than a three star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the temperatures were in the high 80's and low 90's. As with almost all hotels in Germany, they don't have air conditioning. We were just a little unlucky with the weather. There was a nice fan in the room and that helped.

    The Hotel location is excellent. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. They had many recommendations for parking, restaurants and interesting sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff in the Front desk was not always nice and sometimes rude; for the internet you needed to receive codes and a modern family has around 2 electrical appliances per person and they showed us they weren't pleased. further more the Internet was very slow and reception was bad. the restaurant was only open fully in specific hours, so with kids it wasn't very practical but there were good restaurants in the area.

    location was great and the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disapponted after reading all the great reviews. The hotel has two buildings and we were given a room not in the building where the reception is, but right across the street. The decorations were antique and dark, so the building is not very welcoming and actually kind of scary. The room very basic and dated, including tha bathroom, which had a pink bathtub most likely from the 60s. The mattress was a bit soft and not especially comfortable. I stayed in eight different hotels in this vacation, all of the same class, and this one was the least attractive unfortunately. Maybe the rooms in the main building are nicer... I will say that we didn't have breakfast at the hotel but I did see the dining area after we checked out and it was beautiful, the salon was beautifully decorated and spacious and there was a terrace with a view.

    The location was excellent and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi. Shower was awkwardly set up and resulted in wet floor.

    Wonderful service from the valet/concierge. He was very obliging and helpful. Great location, on the Main Street, handy to shops, cafes and the sights

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very tired. Needs some updating. Wifi is not great. A kettle in the room so you could make a cup of tea would go a long way.

    Location is superb. Hotel is quiet and feels like you have stepped back into the 1700's. Decor is fabulous. Staff is friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling had some wood sustaing bars from which some bugs were getting put-we've stayed at the las floor.

    The place was in the city, just a few steps from the market.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The building itself is beautiful! It has the charm and architecture intact from when it was built centuries ago, but modern amenities like wifi and hot showers. The staff was so kind, helpful, and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furnishings were a bit tired. Feels like you are spending the night at your grandmothers house.

    I don't think you could get a better location. Staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like to find unique hotels on Booking and this one did not disappoint. Located in the Heart of Rothenburg's walled city, this hotel is on the Main Street, our room was toward the back and very quiet, bed comfortable, bathroom large, shower good. Overall the place is very clean and well maintained. The hotel is old, very old. Kind of creeped me out in the beginning but it's midival charm won me over after night one. It was quiet while we were there but sitting in the bar having a drink one can just imagine earlier times with this hotel abuzz with notable aristocrats enjoying one of the finest hotels in Germany. It really has all that character. It was fun to be part of this history even if just for 2 nights. Loved how they kept the old charm while incorporating modern needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't eat at their restaurant (1) because it was a little pricey, but more so (2) it smelled like fuel in the place. Don't know what was going on at that time that it smelled like fuel; hopefully that was a temporary thing.

    This is an older, but elegant property, right in the Old Town of Rothenburg. Streets are cobblestone and narrow around it, so drive slow. In fact, as we approached it felt like we should NOT have been on those streets, due to the narrowness and number of pedestrians. But it is okay to drive carefully to your hotel. Parking is a bit tough due to the tight streets, etc. Best parking option is to let bellman park your cars. It was worth the cost. We were in the building across the street, which was not a problem at all. Roomy, spacious rooms. Some in our travel party had showers that were a bit tricky, due to the sloped wall up on the 3rd floor. Loved having the elevator though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains in our room were too small and let the light in, affecting sleep. This could easily be remedied. (room 393)

    Fantastic location, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived for Dinner a half hour or so prior to our reservation time the hostess wouldn't seat us until our reservation time despite the fact there were available tables..... and the waitress who took our order was a bit snippy with my wife....hate to have to say it but it's true and I felt you would want to know.

    Central location. Right across the street from the Christmas store.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors are very crickety and we could hear our upstairs neighbours walking around. We requested a queen sized bed, and received two twin sized beds pushed together, which would not have been an issue, but they were at different heights.

    The hotel is very well located, close to the main plaza and many of the tourist sites. The hotel and hallways have a wonderful atmosphere. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a fun experience. Great view from the room. Room was large and very comfortable. Nice comfortable bar area with a view if you wanted it. Restaurant was nice with good food and great ambiance.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: