Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Markt 1-11, 01814 Bad Schandau, Germany

#9 of 16 hotels in Bad Schandau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 806 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Very clean, nice pool and sauna area on top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directly across the river is a train track with very loud cargo trains passing by all night long. Parking (€15) should be included in room costs.

    Very clean, nice pool and sauna area on top floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel have a very good welness and spa center, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unsecured and slow internet connection is absulutely out of date. The beds is ok. In general, this is a 4stars hotel at maximum and only because of wellness...

    The hotel have a very good welness and spa center, very nice and clear swiming pool. Rooms are enough spacy. Breakfast is good, but nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Very nice location by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was part of the bedroom. The hotel is under staffed. People waited very long for the food and drinks in the restaurant in the evening. There was only one bartender in the hotel bar after dinner and the bar was full. We managed to get our drinks, but two ladies that came in after us was told that they had to wait for one hour for their drinks. The bar pianist played and sang so loudly (amplified) that we had to go out into the lobby with our drinks to have a conversation. And even there it was still very loud.

    Very nice location by the river. There is a very nice day time terrace. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi connection, this hotel has not working wifi connection. If you conplain you are going to get credentials for non existing network in lobby. If you really count on it you will get in trouble because it really doesn’t work at all. Its ridiculous... Non english speaking personal. Low level of service in restaurant - its possible to wait 15-20 minutes for a beer after you take the menu by yourself and ask somebody if you can order something considering the fact that only few tables are full. The main reason for this are unskilled “children”. The price is not matching the experience. Not very professional approach, the employees are not aware and cannot reccomend any activity around the hotel. Quality of the beds is low. Went down mattresses.

    Perfect breakfast, nice hotel garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The most lavish breakfast buffet outside the Sunday Brunch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most lavish breakfast buffet outside the Sunday Brunch at Broadmore, Colorado Springs, US. Could not begin to sample everything but what I did was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall a delightful property that is tarnished by unqualified staff and mismanagement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel is absolutely not attentive to customer’s needs. Usually not qualified, not flexible. Check-in is infinitely more bureaucratic that it needs to be, many forms could be simplified in one document, even in Germany. No look-up to the system to identify a regular customer. Tries to make money where it should not. On prior stay, was charged a late check-out fee even so I had informed the reception and obtained agreement. They failed to inform me that they would charge extra. This is supposed to be a five star. Customer relation is more like 1 or 2 stars. If that. People must have noticed as the occupancy rate was pretty low on this start of the vacation season. Also beware that some of the rooms are very small and it doesn’t have functional A/C. This is really a pity and wasted resources: the hotel has so much potential yet it is totally mismanaged. I wish a chain like Hyatt or Marryott would buy the property and turn it into the diamond that it should be.

    Location, great Spa on property, access to Toscana Spa as well. Great restaurant with beautiful terraces overseing the Elbe river. Palace-like architecture, fully renovated to meet modern day convenience. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice view, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with key for our room, because of the storm, we had to always ask stuff to open us the door. It is expensive hotel.

    Nice view, location. Rich breakfast. Hotel is very clean. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Wellness areas are beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usually in all Germany no WiFi in the room!!!! Not enough seats in the restaurant, even in evening and morning!

    Wellness areas are beautiful! Very nice and friendly staff!!!! Alll!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Not good value, surprised it was a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was poor and not acceptable. Cannot do business with such poor wifi in the rooms, and there is no place in the lobby to conduct business. Beds and mattress' were cheap and uncomfortable for such a hotel. No cable TV - no international news stations or movies Waited 1.5 hours from order to dinner

    The hotel was nicely reconstructed Breakfast was good but for 20 EUR you would expect that Wellness was also new and clean. Food was good but pricey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    It is not 5 stars hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed in this hotel. Turns out that superior room is just simple room “for them” as I was told at the reception.... why to use all those dandy words? I’ve booked a room and did check in with my 8months baby. Nobody offered baby bad. We were put into the twin room (such tiny beds I’ve never seen). At the check out I’ve complained and the answer was “you should have asked”... what???? In 5 stars I should have been offered!! When we went to Spa, the receptionist was in sauna herself, so she run out to meet us in a bath towel... nobody helped us with baggage (not even offered)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Had better 3 star hotels. Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable with pillows so soft you might as well not have had them. The Wi-Fi is non existent. And the bath room window was only frosted half way up, the building opposite had windows a level higher that could see straight into the shower.

    Location was good in the centre of town. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was immaculately clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was without issues, dinner took sooooo loooooong -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI - absolutely horrible. Unstable, didn't work majority of time when I was trying to work. I had to use mobile data at the end.

    Breakfast was without issues, dinner took sooooo loooooong - 2 hours. Hotel bar is perfect, I recommend Fridays and Saturdays when there is piano music.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee is mediocre to say the least, Wifi/Internet was non existent most of the time (as I have come to expect from five star hotels). The area itself can be a little slow, but I recommend taking a day trip (Bautzen, Dresden) or going for a hike.

    To say this is a very nice hotel seems like an understatement. The hotel itself (we had a suite facing the river) was great, then add the wellness area (sauna, pool and gym) and an amazing restaurant. Staff was friendly at all times, maybe a little "spaced out" or confused sometimes. The bar is okay (especially giving the area) and YMMV depending on who works the night. I would definitely recommend and I plan on coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Well kept and charming hotel. Would definetly recommend anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiter at the night bar. Slow and kept forgetting. Returned 3 times to the tables near us to double check on the room numbers as by the time he reached the bar, he forgot. He forgot to bring peanuts to our table as well. Maybe a minor issue, but still not completely 5* standards. Bartender on the other hand was excellent!

    Staff speaking english / czech, all polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    A nice visit, but next time I would choose another hotel due to the bad internet issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet, does NOT WORK. The staff blame other factors in the town rather than dealing with the problem. The front desk staff were very grumpy when I asked for a discount due to lack of internet. A 5 star hotel in 2017 that does not have internet, yet they claim on both "booking.com" and there own site that they do, I find misleading and totally unacceptable. This is sad as it gave a bad feeling on what was otherwise a nice hotel.

    The wellness area was really nice. The room was a little dated but the view over the Elbe river was fantastic. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Great wellness, big rooms, would have liked the option of booking a rate without breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed is made up of two separate matrasses, which is not comfortable. When booking online we chose a room rate including breakfast and on checking out we found out on the invoice that the breakfast had been very expensive - which made me think I would have rather booked without, but that hadn't been a possibility which was a bit of a letdown.

    The staff were very helpful and went the extra mile by booking us a table at a restaurant when there wasn't space to eat anywhere in Bad Schandau. The Wellness Center is amazing, with a lovely infinity pool that overlooks the Elbe river. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the place/the room Elbepanorama is not quiet enough due to huge train and steamboats traffic. We booked room Deluxe Elbe panorama with King-size bed - I have to say that 2 standart beds side by side doesn´t correspond to King-size bed and so to the offered level :-(

    Excellent Breakfast Nice Elbepanaroma

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad service at the restaurant on the terrace, with overpriced food (especially considering the quality of it), unpolite staff. It was a big contrast to the breakfast area, where the food was great and the waiters super nice and attentive.

    The room was big and clean. We traveled with our 1,5-year old son who got his own little robe, a crocodile shape soap and some kids shower gel - very nice details. He loved it. Excellent breakfast. Good variety of bread, croissants, sweet and savory things, fruit, prosecco, etc. The location is the best, right by the water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The poor internet connection The quality of the toilet paper could be improve

    The beauty of the environment and the kindness of the employees and also the food!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One night in a double room was 200€, view on the street, wich was pretty loud even on a sunday morning, no balkony, the television was really bad, pixelated and far away on the side of the bed. In the main toilet cabins in the basement there was too much space between wall and beginning of cabin wall, so I could see the bottom of the woman peeing next to me through the reflecting wall. All together little unimportant things, but we expexted a different kind of comfort for that much money.

    The staff was friendly, everything was clean, breakfast was nice outside with great view on the Elbe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    3.3
    No wifi in the room, although I have notified that to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, although I have notified that to the reception, they didn't do anything to solve the problem. The annoying thing in the whole that they confirmed the superior room with wifi in it. Although I have requested double bed with matrace for 2 people, I got 2 single matraces pushed together, didn't even complain for that one.. No way that I am going there again, for this price there are far better offers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Very hard beds, not comfortable at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds, not comfortable at all. Otherwise ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    A Bad Schandau, must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient location. Beautiful views. Nice staff. Near the spa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    clean, friendly, location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    clean, friendly, location, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Professional and friendly service, great environment,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional and friendly service, great environment, delicious meals in hotel restaurant. Definitely will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two fire alarm during night sleeping.. No internet working..

    Good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room Elbblick
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise generated by the trains

    Good breakfast Excellent air conditioning Great terrace with views on the Elbe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid parking, slow internet in some areas of hotel.

    Good location. Excellent breakfast. Free access to Toskana Therme.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room for 210 € was "looked" to the street, not to Elebe :( the only dissapont! all other-super

    super!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Łack of internet

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Spa terrace restaurant room big and nice view on Elbe river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet speed service for dinner

    Spa terrace restaurant room big and nice view on Elbe river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    I recomend it for your relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry friendly staff all most czech native speaker. Clean and comfortable accomandation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean, very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean, very nice location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    great pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great pillows!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff - we would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cold water in the swimming pool.

    Very friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    no air-conditioning in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air-conditioning in our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    2.5
    Massive hotel, with 5 star prices and 2 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms. Old furnishings, small tv, completely filthy remote control. Staff are untrained, and in some cases rude

    View was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Spa on the roof with view on Elbe river was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small TV screen. Feather pillows.

    Spa on the roof with view on Elbe river was amazing. Restaurant and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Big bedroom. Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Not repeating again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not worth the 5 stars. It felt like a regular 4 star hotel for the price of a 5 star.

    Nice stuff, nice area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Happy Wellness weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No respond beforhand on conciarge service??

    Spa, clean rooms, restaurant dinner and breakfest

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.0
    The headline Thermal-Bad is not ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The therme pool was far away. In the therme I couldn't pay with the hotel card.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    restaurant's staff are irreproachable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception's stuff are unfriendly

    restaurant's staff are irreproachable

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44