Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Empress Hotel 3 stars

Wuermtalstr. 99, Hadern, 81375 Munich, Germany

#175 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 594 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, bed was not that comfortable. Breakfast was also a bit sparse and not always well stocked. It seemed you had to get their early to get a good portion of goodies.

    This is a well situated hotel very close to the UBahn and a very quiet hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a water leak in the bathroom. The floor got all wet after taking a shower.

    The room had a great view of a garden and even a balcony. It was also very fantastic to have a fridge in the room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had an allergic reaction to the bedding and hardly slept. We had a room in the accommodation at the back of the main hotel and were kept awake by the main door slamming shut every time someone came into the building. The mini bar fridge was located right at the end of the bed and started humming loudly as soon as we tried to sleep!

    Proximity to the Kbo Kinderklinik and U Bahn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was not working on both of my devices (iPhone and Microsoft laptop) and even they say it it is first time they saw this- this is not helping me, but hotel in general was nice. Also breakfast had no vegetables which also a minus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Git only luke warm water in shower in the morning which got me a quick start to my day.

    Friendly stuff, nice bed, room big enough, clean and pretty quiet regardless of being next to a busy street. Good breakfast. Definitely worth the bucks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    We really enjoyed staying at this hotel! The hotel is not located in the city center, but you can get there easily by U-bahn, it is just a few stations away. The hotel location is very quiet so you can take some rest after a long day of walk, and sleep well during the night. There is a biergarten just besides the hotel, where you can enjoy some beer and typical food! For those who do not want to take the breakfast at the hotel, there is a gas station next to the hotel where you can find good coffee and croissant! The room and bathroom had a good size and there was also a lovely balcony in our place. The bed was very comfy as well! The room we stayed also had a minibar and a fan, which was extremely helpful as the weather was pretty hot those days... We recommend this place! :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was old fashioned. Pictures at Booking.com were too promising. WLAN connection didn't work or was very poor.

    Room itself was nice and modern.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couch (expanded into an extra bed) was very uncomfortable, squeeky and felt unstable. Although the rooms have a kitchenette, there are very limited utensils provided to make use of it. It is possible to get some extra ones on request from the reception, but it is not convenient. The wooden floor in the room was scratched and largely discoloured. This may have contributed to the impression of it being unclean.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast selection limited, however reasonable. The location is convenient, if you are looking for accommodation in that district of Munich: supermarket, underground, pastry shop - all within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit smelly toilet room, no mold though.

    Probably one of the best hotels in Munich. Perfect accommodation, 150 meters tot he Grosshadern U6, clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better lighting in the small passage to the backside-building of the hotel. We had our room there and in the evening it was too dark there.

    Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a little issue,There is no English instruction about how to use the safe on.

    The location is close to the Underground,Also there is beer garden besides it.The staff is nice and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the receptionist was quite unfriendly (the blond one), which made the experience a little bit worse. But when her shift changed the rest of the ladies were very pleasant and helpful

    I like the very friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and quiet with comfortable bed, made us feel like home! Breakfast buffet was nice, with everything we needed. Good location, in a quiet neighbourhood near the Ubahn station with only 15 minutes to the city center. Definitely would consider staying there again!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, old furniture, low quality breakfast

    The room was not on the main street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    water to cold for showers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No business center, no computer, no printer opportunity.

    Access to metro station, supermarket and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed, clean room and near the metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Your workers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The metress was too soft. I hart my back.

    Nice comfortable hotel. Staff very helpfull. Veey good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    located in a quiet place but with parking place (extra cost). no shops and supermarket nearby. a bit expensive.

    room is big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is quiet. Nearby to metro ( direct line to center = 15 min) Very good restaurants in neighborhood. Large room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tea and coffee station in room

    Cleanliness Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is a bad smell from the toilet's pipeline...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms/beds and little over priced

    Close to the Munich U6 line, clean and quite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good location.beautiful hotel.enjoy the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reliable staff people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly costlier for a hotel of this size.

    Extremely friendly staff and well maintained rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Very good coffee, breakfast, Wifi. Excellent staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was very nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room size was good too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was too hot

    Comfortable bed and clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was not working.The hotel is overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    everything perfect!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are old so.. not White anymore..

    Close to the Munchen Hospital

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    The location may not be convenient for those who wanna go into the city center

    Breakfast is very amazing. Room is clean and comfortable. Staff are very helpful. Supermarket and pharmacy near by.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    located in beautiful area close to public transport for ease of travel . Relaxed hotel and lovely staff. Been there 3 occasions and always a good experience .

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My room was different from the one of the photos, it was on but much smaller, I would have liked staying in the room I thought

    Nice breakfast, really quiet

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    You can hear anything from the hallway, we've been woken up in the middle of the night and in the morning because of the loud clients.

    Breakfast included in the price room was ok. It's nicely decorated but not very well consolidated so we won't come back.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was like a sauna, there was a sky light but I couldn't keep it open because of rain. The blind was pretty see through so it didn't keep the light out. Noisy in the morning with house keeping. The garden path to the rooms is too dark at night, it should be better lit.

    I stayed in room 502. My room was gorgeous, really comfortable bed, lots of room. I had good wifi ( I know some others said theirs was bad)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't have air conditioning and we had a week of 35+ degree weather. It was hot and unbearable for much of the time. They do not have laundry facilities.

    The staff really make this hotel. The front desk receptionists are all very friendly and helpful. Very close to train station and supermarket. WiFi was good Nice garden

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    The hotel is very far from the city center, in an awful area. The staff was very unfriendly. Although we have requested an early check-in, our room was not ready even at normal check in hours. We received a room at the top of the building were it was hot as hell. There is no air conditioning and during the summer you can't even breath in the room. The room was very dusty, there was hair on our bed sheets and in the bathroom, the room was far from clean. The kitchenette is a bad joke: 2 forks, one spoon...and of course a lot of dust. In the end we only stayed there a few hours and decided to change the hotel as it was impossible to stay with a baby in these conditions. Of course, they charged us for the entire stay without apologizes or explanations.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi for company PC and VPN was hard to get due to invalid certificate of the web page. Quite small breakfast room. Small car garage for not so high cars - approx. max heigth of car entered is 2.10m.

    Good location - near the underground station Clean, modern hotel, 2 years old, most of rooms are in separate building located in small garden 10metres behind the main building with reception and breakfast. Useful rooms, nice & clean bathroom, small balcony, 03dcl mineral water free in room.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very poor breakfast.. Simple and missing already something at the table. Room was noisy sometimes I had the impression room window was widely open.

    Beautiful cherry trees I could have seen out of my window!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurants iin the immediate area were very limited. I was first put in a room on the second level and right on Walmturstrasse, and to cool evenings welcomed windows open. However, these rooms are VERY noisy, particularly on the street side of the property. Was changed to a room in the rear building. In this room, the bath fan didn't work and the shower drain was VERY slow. Though the room did the trick for a business trip, will look elsewhere before returning.

    Location close to Ubahn is a big plus to this hotel. For the most part, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    the only thing we didnt like was actually happening after we left. One of the staff members called us after we left about some word doc files we sent to the hotel to print out. She acted histerical and stressing about what they were for and she didnt understand that we already printed them. It has nothing to do with our stay but having her on the phone in the middle of driving and trying to explain her that she doesnt have to be worried caused us some stress at the end.

    rooms were spacious and with modern furniture - realy comfortable stay

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At some moments during the day it was difficult to get good internet access. Moving to the bar helped. If internet would be high speed it would be perfect

    everything. Nice bar next door for decent food and a pint of beer.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was very slow in the top floor, The curtains are poorly constructed and come off when opening the window door.

    Very comfortable, clean, friendly staff, solid furniture

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no sausages or mashed eggs during breakfast door to parking - stay further from them with your car or they will crash into your car bumper :)

    interier and design friendly and nice stuff on reception perfect bed clean underground parking lot

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast.

    Cleaning, confort.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No shopping centers in the vicinity.

    Near to subway station. Very quiet surrounding.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was hot and cold plus water pressure was all over the place.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom and shower would need a make-over or better cleaning

    location is ok, quite rooms at the backside of the building, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from downtown, rooms need ventilation solution because there is no air conditions

    Breakfast is very nice, rooms are clean, place is quiet

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor wifi, which is a requirement for a business trip.

    location,

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Couple

    Weak wifi as our room was at the end of the corridor

    Quite rooms nice garden a all round quite calming atmosphere would recommend

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Couple

    Strange path to the backhouse and echoing hallways.

    Staff was excellent and breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff, clean, newly remodeled room, great breakfast. Less than 2 blocks walk to subway U6.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff attitude, they are very friendly, hospitable and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff, the details of the train system and what to see in the city.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not working properly - very slow and not secured; the the ramp leading to garage is too narrow

    Nice staff, nice room

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Empress Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: