Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstrasse 94, 09548 Seiffen, Germany

#6 of 13 hotels in Seiffen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, quiet with a great location in Seiffen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only complaint was that the Internet connection was terrible.

    Very nice hotel, quiet with a great location in Seiffen. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Cute theme throughout the hotel in keeping with the town of Seiffen and it's toy making history. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection of items.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the traditional restaurant was mediocre.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Appreciated both the complimentary water and the elevator. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the scrambled eggs and bacon. Staff were kind and helpful. Hotel location was city center and great for shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel in a delightful village - we highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking at the hotel, but there was a parking lot up the hill - a 5 minute walk which wasn't too bad. The only other thing was that the floor we were on was not directly reachable by elevator - we had to carry our bags up another 8 steps (approximately - I didn't count exactly) - after we took the elevator up two flights - which was a little more difficult for us at our age. There were rooms on floors that were at the same level as the elevator which I think next time I will request.

    Excellent location, wonderful restaurant. We've stayed here before and adjusted our trip to include it this vacation as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    I would love to come back in christmas time
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are traveling abroad and rely on a working WIFI, this will be an annoying disappointment in this place. Reception only works as of 8 am in the morning, but then might be still late. Both things nothing serious, but given the price per night annoying.

    I had a surprisingly spacious single room. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Löts of tradition but pöör choices and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking 6 spaces for 40 rooms over flow is 400 meters from hotel up big hill, room size small, no ammenites refrigerator water kettle or safe and Resturant poor quatey and value.

    Sauna

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Easy access to shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wifi connection in room. Hard bed, but nice pillows for a European hotel.

    Perfect location for a shopping trip to Seiffen. The bed was a little hard, but I expect that from Europe. The room was large and comfortable, though the wifi was not strong in our room. The restaurant is absolutely delicious and very accommodating for children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location, welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was parking. The restaurant had a large group for a late dinner so we had to park way up the hill and it was raining and cold. Everything else was amazing!!

    The staff was great. Spoke very good English and was able to help us no matter the hour. Our room had a nice view of the church.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception desk not very welcoming and acted like we were bothering her.

    Perfect location. Room was good size, very clean and quiet. Breakfast was wonderful and dinner in the restaurant delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location! Very clean. However experience very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had read on line how friendly the staff were and was incredibly surprised that my experience was quite different. I cant say that anyone was friendly or outgoing, and wanted to make sure that I had a great experience at their hotel. Very disappointing in that respect. Restaurant merely adequate as far as quality of the meal. Nor did they even ask...especially when I barely ate anything.

    Great location and hotel very quaint.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    10
    The place to be, whether for a short or a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi was a bit weak

    I loved the style. If you're fond of the local craftmanship, you'll love it. friendly staff, best food in town (both restaurants) right in the middle

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    The staff were great and the town quite lovely, wished I could stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to send a box home and they offered to look after the arrangements for me which was appreciated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    This is one of our favoret places to visit in the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We love the town

    Location, Location, Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Need new towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels

    Need new towels. The ones provided are very worn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice room. Quiet, elegant, friendly. Exceptionally good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Our most pleasurable stay in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't think of anything we didn't like

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Great breakfast, delicious food in restaurant, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, delicious food in restaurant, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Best hotel in Seiffen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Right in the heart of Seiffen. Nice English speaking staff. Comfortable room and beds. Quaint decor, perfect for Seiffen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Lovely stay for a shopping trip to Seiffen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the center of town! Loved it! Very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Lovely hotel, staff, and location. Best breakfast buffet we've had in a long time! Simply superb!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.3
    This is a nice hotel in a very special town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the rooms need an update. The shower is horrid and the pillows are terrible. I went to the desk to ask for double pillows for each room and it still wasn't enough for comfort. The mattresses are old and really need replacing.

    This is a nice hotel in a very special town. We have stayed here twice now and the first time was better. The hotel has 2 restaurants and they are very good. The little Italian cafe has a bread salad that is outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great central location. Nice touch by hotel to pick us up from the train station and drop us back off at the station. Comfortable room. Tasty breakfast buffet that was included.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    10
    This hotel carries on the wonderful charm of Seiffen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was okay but nothing to write home about. And if you show up towards the end of breakfast, food is pretty much picked over. However, their two adjoining restaurants have GREAT food and service.

    This hotel carries on the wonderful charm of Seiffen...with a different hand carved wooden doll marking every door! Staff is delightful and so accommodating, both in the hotel as well as the two adjacent restaurants. They met our train in olbernau gruenthal, which eliminated a transfer to a 45 minute business ride. That's customer service at its finest. Our second stay here...and won't be our last!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    We loved everything about our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved everything about our stay here. The staff was fantastic and although they did not speak much English, they went out of their way to satisfy all of our needs. Our arrival was delayed by a very bad storm and we actually had to help a man lift up a fallen tree that blocked the entrance to the town! Therefore we didn't arrive until midnight when the reception is normally closed but we were still greeted by a smiling woman who waited for us to arrive! We loved this hotel and town!

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.9
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For myself I felt the beds were a little firm.

    Location was great! Easy walk to most all of the shops and attractions in Seiffen. The breakfast was well appointed and restocked throughout the posted time. Elevator was a bonus but it stops on half floors if mobility is a concern call ahead.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi in my particular room was not strong and neither my iPhone nor my iPad would connect. I had to gone into another part of the hotel to get these devices to connect. My PC did connect in the room.

    Lovely hotel and very helpful staff. The room was great.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Cute and good for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Little old

    Cute and good for family

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.5
    the staff's helpfulness in helping us load the car on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lack of parking - also we found the layout of the hotel confusing

    the staff's helpfulness in helping us load the car on our departure

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: