Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Erbprinzenpalais This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lindenallee 27, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#16 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 795 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the stay and recommend the guest house it is first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SUPERIOR SUITE
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly, we stayed in the guest house that was associated with the hotel. The fit out of the room was high class and spacious with good size bathroom, plenty of parking we were able to park right outside the room. The breakfast had a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Well worth the trip.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Familiensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Almost a castle very close the incredible castle on the hill, we were spoiled with half a house--2 huge bedrooms over two floors with an enormous living room, directly by the garden with a terrace and chairs to sit outside, gaze over the pond and into the forest. The staff was warm and helpful both upon check-in, at breakfast (which was delicious and generous--served in a most elegant room on china) but also at check-out, when we were a bit late leaving. Amazing experience for such a small price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The staff allowed us to store our bags while we explored the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff allowed us to store our bags while we explored the city since we arrived much earlier than check in time. They also showed us a sitting room we could wait if we wanted to. The cleanliness was great, and we loved the free breakfast. Overall, we will definitely stay here again if we come back to Wernigerode!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place to rest between hiking tours in the Harz mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In such a grand place I expected our bedroom to be bigger and contain more than just one chair. A pity the restaurant has been closed for good.

    Well, the name says it! A Palais! The communal rooms are sumptuously furnished. Breakfast is an excellent affair - white starched tablecloth, candles, and a fantastic buffet. The hotel is situated away from the center of Wernigerode, but easily reached on foot. A fantastic park is nearby. Parking is easy, just outside the hotel, and free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building and room, a wonderful stay at a uniquely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I only have one complaint. When we were about to check out there was no receptionist even though it was within the check out time. The only person there was the lady who worked at the breakfast room, and she didn't know how to operate the checkout system, which was turned off. The receptionist had left a note for her about our checking out. I had to give her the payment for our stay in exact change and the poor lady was so embarrassed about the situation.

    This hotel lives up to its name in terms of the architecture and the appearance and size of its rooms. It is indeed a palace. Our room was massive. The largest room I have ever stayed in and it looks like the room of a prince. It had a very high ceiling, located in the corner of the building so it had two walls with massive windows, overlooking the hotel's pretty yards. The toilet didn't have a bath but it was a good size, proportionate to the room. It is also located very close to Castle Wernigerode and the town itself. The breakfast is a relatively good selection of continental breakfast. Speaking enough German would definitely help, though, as is often the case outside of big cities in Germany.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was so bad that most of the time was basically unusable. I had to use most of the times the internet from my phone. And that was also bad because the hotel is situated in a location with low signal and no 4G coverage.

    Room was big and confortable, big windows, good view. The service was very good and there was also a bar open till 22. I recomend the beer - it is fresh and local. Breakfast was excellent and coffe was very good (Davidoff Coffe). We wanted expresso machiato and the staff was nice enough to make us some.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    The staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI connection is not so well. Needed to stay at certain place in order to have signal.

    The staffs are friendly. Easy to park just in front of hotel. The hotel has lift to carry the luggage’s to upstairs. The location is easy to walk to town and just right below the castle. Not too far to visit both.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice location just below the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit too soft in the middle, mattress would need to be replaced.

    Nice location just below the castle. Good breakfast buffet. Wifi was working well in the room, but was quite slow. There was a balkony in the room, but because it faces the castle hill and it was so close to the woods, you could barely even see the sky...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the Area of the Hartz Mountains with the Steam Train Ride to the top of the Brocken Mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel did not provide evening meals, so we had to walk into town where there were several good restaurants. Fortunately the walk only took 10 minutes each way.

    Excellent Breakfasts. Comfortable Bedroom with good view over the town and to the distant Brocken Mountain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Amazing staying! Twin instead of double
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room really had twin beds sitted close to each other.

    1. The location is really close to the castle 2. Atmosphere is very old style, romantic and very calm 3. The breakfast is super amazing and delicious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was slow at times.

    - Situated just below the castle. - Very close to the city center. - Very rich selection of food for breakfast. Especially for a small German town. - Nice interior.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and efficient staff. Atmospheric and historic building. Very good breakfast, and breakfast starts 7.30 which is good for long days walking. Comfortable clean room. Excellent value for money. Nice view from room window. Wernigerode is an attractive atmospheric town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    We are enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Familiensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the setting. This is a beautiful property with a little lily pond. The rooms are big and suitable for the travelers with family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in a beautiful old villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable hotel in a beautiful old villa. Delicious breakfast. Rooms are simple but comfortable, the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic personal and a very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    A quiet and genteel place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location had a beautiful woodland view, the place had 'old world charm'.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    nice stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Familiensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be more options. Standard Breakfast for a very nice place didnt match,.

    Location, staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit old-fashioned, but ok.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant quiet location just a reasonable walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast,continental plus bacon and scrambled eggs and good coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is amazing! That's so delicious and really enjoyed it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi didnt work with iphones, bed uncomftable

    breakfast! incredible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Großes Doppelzimmer/ Fürstenzimmer
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too dark

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    very nice staff, excellent baskfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air-cond, will have mosquito in summer, a bit pricey.

    very nice staff, excellent baskfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful staff who spoke excellent English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was nice.

    Friendly, helpful staff who spoke excellent English. Fantastic breakfast. Nice private bath. Reliable wifi. Location very close to the Scloss and the old city. Room cleaned every day.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.6
    great breakfast, 5 min walk to the town hall, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    outdated eighties classical design

    great breakfast, 5 min walk to the town hall, comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    Close to the castle and to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the castle and to the old town. Breakfast was super!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    10
    Quiet location but easy walk into town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet location but easy walk into town center. Helpful staff.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: