Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Esplanade This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hohenstaufenring 56, Altstadt-Sued, 50674 Cologne, Germany

#82 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1863 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Good quality for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Environment was not noisy but it sounded like they can improve the noise isolation of the rooms. There is no kettle(water boiler) in the room. There was no view of the room. It is just looking at the other apartments.

    Place of the hotel is really nice. Room is exactly the same as it has described in the website. Comfortable bed and small but ok room size. Staff is really friendly and helpful. They have nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Changing of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just after the locking of the door, we mentioned that everything is float on the room, something happened with plumbing, but receptionist changed our room immediately, without any problems.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Clean, beautiful, cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Everything was done quickly. The beds are very comfortable. Good breakfast. Center of city. Close to paid parking. Amazing view through the window on 7 floor. Despite of center of city was completely quiet. Thanks for the hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice location. not too far out of the city center. clean hotel, good breakfast to start the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an additional cost and not at the hotel. having this clearly written on the website would be helpful. it was an extra 20 Euros . Parking garage was near. the room was small than expected. the room was little warm with fan and window open.

    the location of the hotel was near 2 tram stations. easy to get around town on the train. the parking garage was near the hotel. hotel clerk made taxi reservations for us! the hotel was clean and there was an elevator to get to the 5th floor. nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast choice overall was good (apart from lack of gf...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom (street view room) became very hot at night, there was a small fan but it did not help to cool the room, needs air conditioning! Believe garden facing rooms have a.c. Lift in the hotel was incredibly slow and small (max 3 people). Information in the room stated that the hotel attempts to cater for food allergies/intolerances at breakfast, however when I asked about gluten free options staff pointed at their selection of juices...

    Breakfast choice overall was good (apart from lack of gf options). The room was clean and relatively comfy. Location was nice, close to tram stop and not far to walk into town. Many nice restaurants and bars nearby if you don't fancy walking too far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Too hot and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stopped in May, the room was very hot and noisy. Under the windows there is a traffic light and a busy road. The room was very hot and it was just May, there is no air-conditioner, but it's impossible to sleep with the windows open because of noise. The elevator did not work. Of all the hotels in which I stayed in Germany, this one is still the worst.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Perfect position.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect position. Very easy to go around Cologne. Strategic position for shopping & entertaining. Very polite & helpful staff. Very good value for money. I will strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    quiet hotel, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having 2 separate mattresses on a double bed is terrible. Wifi required entering login and password after not using a device for a while, which is quite annoying. If you are coming back late at night, mind the crowds of drunken people on the way through bars/clubs (however, the hotel itself is located in a quiet area).

    Very helpful staff. Very good breakfast with great coffee. Very quiet hotel with only 4-5 rooms on a floor. Our room was extremely quiet and had a balcony. Getting around by public transport is actually pretty convenient: trams 9, 12, 15 are just 3 mins away,16 & 18 that will get you to the city center are within 10 mins away, and train station Köln Bf. Süd is just about 10 mins away. Shoe cleaning machine on the underground floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was great - they were adding something new to the selection every day. The location is decent, and the staff are nice and accommodating. A great place for more than one night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room, great beds, good value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, but nothing special, especially the coffee.

    Very nice room, great beds, good value for price. Lots of nice restaurants in the area while still being close to the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    8.5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -no croissant for breakfast (even if all the rest was very good) -sometimes there was a bad smell in the bathroom (but I don't see anyone else saying this, maybe it was a problem just of my room)

    In this 90's fashion hotel we had a delicious breakfast (which lasts till 12am). The room was clean and nice, we had a big lcd tv screen and everything was functional. The price was ok. I'm happy of my choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    The description said there was parking available which would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description said there was parking available which would lead you to believe it is hotel parking. In actuality there is only public parking on the street or in parking garages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Good price for a nice staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little small.

    The location was perfect to walk the city. The room was very clean and the staff friendly and professional. Salty breakfast was good, not the same amount of options for a sweet breakfast but still nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would expect you to find at least a boiling water in the room to be able to make a tea to the boy. An improvement to the coffee served at breakfast would not hurt. It's kind of colorful water.

    The hotel is very well located, the staff is very kind. The hotel does not have private parking. Underground parking is across the street, 20 euros per day. Great view from balcony (floor7), in the room is a minibar, with very reasonable prices. Is refilled every day when needed. Rich breakfast served until 12:00. From the hotel you have access to public transport very quickly. Advice: buy a family day ticket if you are traveling 2 adults + children (13.50 euros). You can also walk to the Domm or to the Chocolate Museum (30 euro/family ticket) or the Locked Bridge (2.3 km in about 20 minutes). Even on holidays (Easter time), all the terraces along the cliff and the museum were opened.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location, clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room but got twin beds that were pushed together, not great when on holiday with your fiancee! Thought it was quite expensive as well.

    Good location, clean and spacious room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Good place, great breakfast, excellent connection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there during the Carnival weekend and the only thing which bothered us was the loud noise, music, etc coming from the pub which is situated next door to the hotel. Pity....a big minus!!

    The room was very spacious and clean. Bed was very comfy! Breakfast was super....loads of things to choose from.... Metro stop few metres away from hotel. Easy connection to every part of the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for business trip, i recommand it !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No attention +++ like : - No coffee machine in the bedroom, - no little bottle off water when you arrive from airport, tired....

    Good position, good hotel for business trip in Koln

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    reasonable comfort for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room, chair almost doesn't fit behind desk, small bath room, no own parking facility, can be noisy when facing the Ring

    Central location, tidy rooms, good quality bed, free Wifi, solid breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and nice Place
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was with a friend for a night. I like the bed, it was very comfy. Outside in the terrace, you can view the whole cologne. It includes the Dom also. The breakfast is aso with the payment . It was fresh and delicious. There are many restaurants and clubs near this hotel. I recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    We loved the room and bathroom, it was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no coffee making facilities in the room it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room.

    We loved the room and bathroom, it was very clean. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely and friendly staff, great location. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift kept breaking We asked for a wake up call early hours in the morning for us to get our plane but they forgot..

    Breakfast was lovely Great location Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    Room was quiet and beds comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathrooms were a bit small. Shower was also small and had curtain, which I don't particularly love. Some smell coming from bathroom.

    Room was quiet and beds comfortable. Breakfast was good, especially the savoury part. 5 mins walking from 2 metro stations. Beer in minibar was surprisingly cheap (eur 2.50)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Family hotel in the shopping area of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee/tea facilities would have been a bonus.

    Rooms are small but ok. Beds are good quality. Hotel serves a great breakfast. Friendly staff. Location is great if you want to go shopping. Its close to the best shopping streets. It's rather far away from the old centre and the most important museums.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but if you don’t expect to stay in the room and use it for sleeping only then it is fine. Only real downside is check-in from 3 pm only - this seems unusually late.

    Very good location, good breakfast, friendly service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Ok for a short Cologne stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated the big pillow, but got a smaller one as a replacement. Room didn't have air-conditioning, which might be a problem in summer. The windows are very good, but if you have to open them the street is very loud. There were constant dripping noises; I guess from water on the tin windowsill.

    Central location, very friendly and helpful staff, ok breakfast, very clean. Charming building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    I shall stay here again, exhibition time, next year.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A slight criticism is that the shower was a little small. I am also not a fan of shower curtains.

    The quality of this hotel was a welcome surprise. I was attending an exhibition over 3 days in Dusseldorf but was unwilling to pay the ridiculously inflated prices for local hotels. With DD just 25 mins away by train, staying in Cologne was a no brainer. Friendly staff, a good breakfast and a spotlessly clean room suited me very well. 4 underground stops from the Hauptbahnhof. A terrific bar around the corner for super Schnitzel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place, convenient location, quite reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is difficult and costly : on the street almost inpossible, Covered Parkings minimum 20 € and a bit further away. If you want quiet rooms ask bazckside or higher floors.

    The hotel is well located in Köln, with many shops, restaurants nearby. Friendly people, good room, fine bedding, very clean. Good breakfast. Excellent quality/privce if you take the lowest price i.e. no cancellation possibility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    A nice place. Recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel obligates you to hand the key to the reception whenever you leave to out. I find this unnecessary.

    Best for price; location is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location, simple accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom with the smallest shower I have ever seen. Very small room.

    Excellent location close to the Belgian quarter and the old town. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    I had a great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One has to return the room key when leaving the hotel. Reasons given were the costs involved when the guests lose them. I felt a bit like a child doing that.

    Staff was friendly. Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was good. Room clean and comfortable. Staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area a big party area and was noisy at night. Staff moved us to another room that was quieter.

    Breakfast was good. Room clean and comfortable. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The view from the room was nice, we also had a balcony and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the old city. In the morning there were some men working and drilling next to our room, we could hear the noise. We were early in the city, and it was not possible to get an early checkin before 15:00.

    The view from the room was nice, we also had a balcony and bathtub, even aircon. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Centrally Located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 5th floor smell was not really pleasant. The wifi connection was not really convenient as you have to constantly enter the password provided to be able to use it.

    A decent centrally located hotel in a lively area. Public transport is easy to access and there are several grocery store nearby. The room was spacious enough for 1 person and the bed was confortable. The check in was really fast and efficient. Overall it is quite old but suitable for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A Kolner-gem - small boutique hotel offering all one needs for business or leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower space was a little small and on a VERY hot day - only some rooms have airconditioning. However the fan provided helped a lot and we had a comfortable night

    Location on The Ringstrasse - great. Very clean, great breakfast, staff extremely friendly. Could secure our bicycles downstairs. Quiet, very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safebox at lobby

    The location is very good and the breakfast time was until 11 that was greate. The nagative point was safe box that is in the lobby not in the room. Public parking is nearby and it's charge is 20euros per night. The variety of breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Old hotel but convenient for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is located very close to the metro station Zülplicher Platz. There are several restaurants and bars in the neighborhood, also some party locations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    Fair priced $$$$$$$$. No sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unknown to us, we got there during fair time. Price was esculared so we thought the price was a reflection of the hotel - not! Hotel and usual price was 1/3 what we paid. Sewer smell as you walk in (which they seemed to know about) so we opened the window. Revelers kept us up till 4:00 am. With only a couple hours sleep, the next day's drive was harder. Parking was tough. Tight places in a public garage across the street and down a ways - $24 euros! If you stay here understand the street it's located on changes names several times along it, so if you're walking it is very easy to get lost even with a map.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    Location versus price and size
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, didn't bother the second morning, small rooms and bathrooms, smallest tub I have seen in a hotel, might as well just have a shower, no deal for parking too pricey for what's offered

    Location, surprisingly quiet, friendly staff, free wifi, big telly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the wifi could be a little more stable, 'cause the speed floats from very slow to good.

    Everything was just as it should be, no reason to complain about. Good cosy room, everything whatever I need was there, even a bath, not just an ordinary shower. Everything was clean, breakfast had a good variety of meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.9
    Basic but clean room and bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi per device with user and login. At nighttime, outerdoor is locked. Very slow elevator. The paintings in the breakfast room.

    Basic but clean room and bathroom. Free wifi, breakfast also basic but cheap and plenty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that their wasn't any English channels on the tv.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Makes big difference when staff knows the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    A good value for money; recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes could hear people in other rooms showering or closing the doors... not a problem at night but woke me up very early in the morning...

    Very friendly staff, good location: lots of different restaurants, shops and supermarkets in a minute walk. 2 min walking to the tram stop; different tram lines, 15 min walk to the old town, university, etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and functional room :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, especially Alexander on the night shift! The location was excellent close to the centre only a short walk or you can take a tram, room was clean, basic and functional they had travel plugs available at reception which was very helpful :) would definitely stay here again. Also the eggs at breakfast were super tasty!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Bathroom with bath tub and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very bad smell in the room when we checked in. Few options for the breakfast. Far away from station and city centre but good connection with public transport.

    Bathroom with bath tub and balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Review of room number 63
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst thing in this hotel is the lift - it's so long to wait for it and it's always busy and crowded that it's better to use the stairs instead When we first entered the room we smelled a hard smell of the sewer system There's just one (a bit heavy) key to the room that you need to leave at the reception desk

    The hotel room looked exactly like on the pictures...just the bathroom looked better in real Our room was very clean, even the carpet (no need to have slippers in winter) I have read reviews that the hotel rooms need to be renovated, actually, they are quite stylish for me More than enough sockets in the room (at least 4 available-without anything plugged in) Wi-Fi: DL 13,7 Mbit, UL: 0,5 Mbit, latency 35 ms I liked the breakfast Lots of supermarkets nearby (Rewe, Edeka, Lidl...) Every day after the cleaning they put a little sachet of Haribo candies on the bed :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    Everything you need in a 3 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * There was a bit of a bad smell in the room, but after contacting the reception, they solved it directly :-) * The breakfast was until o'clock (instead of 12) because of the IMM trade

    * Good location * Good price/quality * Soundproof windows!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.9
    Clean basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room, but since we didnt spend much time there, it didnt matter too much.

    Its a quite basic hotel but very clean really. The breakfast was very good, also the location - 10, 15 min till the city center. The staff was also friendly and provided us with all the information we needed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, with a few downsides !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Our room was very cold, despite the heating being at its max (room 31) - We booked a Double room, but it was two single mattresses joint and the "crack" in the middle of them both, made it quite uncomfortable to sleep. Same with the bed covers, they were 2 single duvets for a "double bed", so made it also uncomfortable to sleep with.

    - Great breakfast - Good decent facilities - Clean Place * Hotel had an issue with the water and we were informed last minute, thus we could not shower on our departure morning. Receptionist was aware of our dissatisfaction and without us asking for it, she offered us a compensation. (Great Customer Service !!!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.5
    Great stay in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was too small.

    Friendly staff. Were able to answer our queries and helped us book a taxi to Cologne Main Station as it was our first visit to Germany. Its a family run business.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good location with good tram links to all other parts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing of any significance.

    Very good location with good tram links to all other parts of the city. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Good-sized room overlooking main road but excellent sound-proofing so no noise. Above-average breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel with ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room and room was very stuffy

    Room was comfortable and clean, the location was fantastic and the staff were great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    Very nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are not sound-proof, I was able to hear what was happening in the nearby room all night long lol

    Everything was great, the staff are very nice and friendly, the breakfast is very good, the bed are comfortable and the location is in a very nice location in Cologne in a walking distance from all the main attractions

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel, close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one of the days that we were in the hotel, there were constructors drilling and hammering inside the hotel at 9 am in the morning. No hotel provided parking. Expensive parking in the neighbourhood.

    Breakfast was great. 10 min walk to the shipping district. 30 min walk to the Dom. Many good restaurants and supermarkets in close vicinity to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Great choice for a couple of days in Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities and space of rooms are not spectacular; they are also no soundproofed

    The hotel is very good. The service was very attentive, and the breakfast is exactly what you need to start the day with energy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Central, clean with customer friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water heater from my private tea.

    Location & price is good. Staff were very customer friendly & welcoming providing information of Cologne.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.0
    Hot and noisy room
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    we were given the only family room which is located on the first floor overlooking the street. This room does not have aircon and the week we stayed in Cologne temperatures hit 36c on some days making the room unbearable. At night we had to have the windows open for the heat but the main street outside is very noisy with lots of cars and on most nights young people walking past shouting etc after leaving the nightclubs which are close by. On the weekend this went on until dawn!! This is a hotel for a short business stay.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The romm was clean and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The romm was clean and confortable Staff is friendly and reception is open around the clock

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very ok For gay people next to schaafenstrass

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find out how the ventilation worked.

    The bed was super comfortable. Room size was more than ok. Breakfast was super.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good breakfast, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good breakfast, very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Central Cologne family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, central Cologne, convenient location.

    Clean and affordable. All one needs in a 3 star hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, good Food and nice Quarter
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrom smelled badly

    quiet, good meal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very good breakfast, friendly staff, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very good breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is small

    Cleaners and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Simple but nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Cheap clean and reliable with a filling breakfast! (Great coffee)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid parking but that’s me being picky as that’s not their fault as it’s not their parking space!

    Very clean and surprisingly stylish room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast and location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast and location are great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very charming stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, charming hotel, fantastic breakfast, great room service, thanks a lot!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was lovely and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely and fresh. Location perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Good place to reach everything
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location between the shopping street and the party area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as fancy as it looks in the pictures.

    Good location between the shopping street and the party area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel in brilliand location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slight smell of drains in bathroom

    Very nice compact room, location, breakfast and staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Staff are amazing and location is quite good too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are amazing and location is quite good too. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic accommodation in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Fantastic location, spacious, comfy room, delicious breakfast and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Esplanade traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: