Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Esplanade Jena 4 stars

Carl-Zeiss-Platz 4, 07743 Jena, Germany

#8 of 32 hotels in Jena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1165 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, but they preferred to have random people sitting with each other instead of opening the second room. Way too crowded and bad atmosphere. Low water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is overpriced and doesn't meet the standards of similar hotels. Had to change room because the mattress was uncomfortable. No coffee or tea in the room (you can ask for a kettle though), no slippers etc. The rooms are pretty dull. The advertised view was disappointing: it was a view over the shopping mall.

    Good location, very nice and friendly stuff, relatively comfortable sleeping, sauna (3 euros extra) and gym. I didn't have a breakfast but the bar was okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows could have been firmer.

    I have always enjoyed staying at Steigenberger hotels and our stay at the Steigenberger Esplanade Jena was no exception. The room was a comfortable size, the breakfast fresh and delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better and the atrium lobby was the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fitness center (Gym) has very limited stuff. Most heavy dumble was of 12 kgs.

    Hotel was a nice location. There is a shopping mall near to hotel and all major big offices are walkable distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more trained regarding friendliness! Neither did the front desk staff do a warm welcome (rough and unfriendly) nor the the check out work well. Sad. Furthermore is hotel stuck in the 90's. Dated, used and not well maintained.

    The location is great - in the center of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator capacity could have been better.

    We highly valued the shower in the bathroom. Parking facility was very comfortable. Also, the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To go to the rooms you take a different lift from the 3rd floor. Now you can think as a security matter and then it is not so bad

    Location and confort. It is just so close to Jena Tower and to the Goethe Galleries, steps from city centre. 15 min from train station by walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels were very old and not comfortable. The restaurant fish dishes were not tasty and not good value for money.

    The room was very clean. The bed very comfortable. The room had large windows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building was under construction. The mini bar was not so good. The bar was very expensive. Some lights in the room did not work. Washroom had no exhaust. Television was so slow during channel switching. Internet keeps disconnectin

    The breakfast was good. There was no noise. Could be difficult to find even on maps as map shows entrance from another side through a shopping plaza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathtub is quite high! It seems it was made for tall people with long legs!!

    Excellent location Excellent breakfast Modern design Big halls, full of natural light and space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent.

    The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, comfortable and quiet. Central location, next to a shopping centre. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful lobby and the internal architecture of the hotel in general. In the end, it was a good idea to stay in Jena instead of Weimar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the wifi signal is strong only in the bathroom

    delicious breakfast, excellent location, right next to a shopping center and close to (in 5-10 min walk) to business district and train stations. Room is clean and the front desk is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent as the days my husband was working, I was able to walk to the Botanical Gardens, Planetarium, Optics Museum, restaurants, the Tower, shops, the old part of the city etc. Our studio room was spacious and very comfortable. Jena is a central location for day trips also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room service were a little too slow. There was a day that I did not have room service till late in the afternoon. But that minor discomfort did not diminish my overall excellent experience at Jena.

    The breakfast was excellent and the bed was fantastic. I enjoyed it so much, that I am coming back to Jena in the future if only to rekindle my good memories of my first time in Germany. Kristin and Michaela were excellent to me, giving me useful information. I hope to learn German to enjoy my stay to the maximum in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the front desk was not welcoming, no smile, and responding to the question "i'm a little early", replied: "Yes you are" ("Allerdings"). Then she proceeded to charge me €10 for arriving early. This was the one chance the hotel had to give me a "wow" and for the sake of €10 gave me a bad feeling for what is otherwise a very nice hotel. What a shame. A smile and a little generosity could have made me a regular customer...

    Comfortable, clean rooms, bathtub

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A double bed rather than two single beds. Something I ate at breakfast contained carrageenan to which I am highly allergic/ intolerant, possibly the small sausages (?). It is worth checking this on behalf of future guests.

    We liked most things about this excellent hotel. However, whilst the drop into the stairwell is dramatic for sure, if I were the parent of small children, I would be worried that they might climb the barrier and fall off! One guest, an older man, seemingly an Italian professor of musicology or perhaps a conductor, decided to play Vivaldi's Four Seasons at high volume via his iPad at the table next to us, for reasons known only to himself (?), but the manageress in charge of the breakfast room soon sorted him out, most diplomatically we thought, and that was that! Our first encounter of such weird behaviour by a hotel guest....anywhere in the world!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just fine. Wifi that is offered for free was rather slow.

    Very good location. We received an upgrade of the room with a kitchen, which had the necessary utensils for cooking, although we did not use the kitchen during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advertised "free" internet was completely useless. I called the front desk and they said the free internet was "a little slow" but the paid internet was faster. They sent me to the service provider who upgraded me for free since it was already midnight and I had work to so. But I wasted a lot of time trying to get the free internet to work. I needed to have my laundry done at the hotel but they informed me that there was no laundry service that day (Friday) since their sole provider was shut down. That should have been anticipated and an alternate solution found. They did not charge me for the internet service upgrade for the second day in compensation for the lack of laundry service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower pressure bit low, no free car park - 17euro p/24h. climate control non adjustable

    comfy bed, well equipped rooms, quiet and relaxed atmosphere in hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Speed and login each time

    Overall choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bottled drinking water was not provided daily

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is impressive. Bar is very nice. Food isn’t good. Rooms are large and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first time at a German hotel, it was really warm in the room. Like turn the heat off warm.

    Great location, clean, food available until 1030.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to provide the parking information, especially the price on booking.com website.

    Excellent location and friendly staffs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was clean and well equipped with big windows and lots of light!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed Not much to be honest

    Location Breakfast Staff Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna not open during the afternoon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room. Nothing to really complain about, but everything is just OK and not more than that.

    Breakfast, large clean rooms, good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little mould in shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very comfortable and the hotel is well located in the city and quite close to Jena university and other commodities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wifi is very slow

    Location Bar Large room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Architecture of the building was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable, nice details.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet was sometimes a bit unstable.

    Breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee machine was absolutely awful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too soft bed and pillow

    excellent location,safe parking place,quiet environment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very accommodating when we requested a later check out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive breakfast

    centric location, nice room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very modern, quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really

    Excellent hotel.Super quality breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive. Alternative and much cheaper options in the nearby Goethe-Galerie.

    Good town centre location. Modern decor.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    see property photo

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too dark. Bedside lights didn't work.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware, taxis in Jena don´t accept credit cards

    Quiet room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highet of the bath Matress too soft

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrogant staff, put me in a room not of my preference, even though i had booked a deluxe room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was very good. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, customer oriented (additional requests were fulfilled without any problem), great location and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost for parking are not included, the room was not preheated

    Nice breakfast, great location, very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff! Also, they do a snack box if your in a hurry in the morning found the snack pack to be full of tasty wholesome food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to use 2 elevators to enter the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wifi slow

    Quite rooms. Central location Ample parking space Wide breakfast buffet choice Friendly personel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Upgraded to studio and was a good choice as it was spacious and had and it met our needs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Networks in the room is not good

    The breakfast is good and elegant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the sheet was not changed, they changed it immediately after I call. The free wifi was poor.

    Staff is really nice, and there's free Sauna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, and great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms circle around the bar area and it was too noisy in the evenings when trying to sleep.

    Nice size rooms, good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room a tad warm

    friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast price

    Practically everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms in excellent condition. Room staff seem to take care to make sure rooms are well prepared. Even little rubber duck in bath:-) Breakfast was delicious with kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. A charming bar area, totally spoiled by the endless (literally) large screen football on show, very loud - it might be worth the hotel considering that not every guest shares the barman's love of soccer. 2. The smoking room is not airtight, so that a faint scent of cigarette smoke pervades the public areas.

    Good breakfasts; perfectly soundproofed rooms.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our first room the internet was very bad but then we moved to another room where it was better.

    The breakfasts were wonderful in terms of food choice and freshness.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows! as most locations in Germany, too soft!

    Lovely hotel, great location next to a shopping mall if you have forgotten any items or want to pick up gifts. Lovely rooms and bathroom, free internet all over the hotel. Very attentive staff who all spoke English very well.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi is somewhat slow, slightly inconvenient when trying to do some work at the hotel room.

    Perfect hotel in the city center of Jena. Can't complain about the days I stayed here!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spa area is great but maybe a jacuzzi? ;)

    I got upgrade to deluxe room, was very happy with the view. It's very nice hotel and room was very spacious, I don't think you get the same size in inter sport tower. (I need space) it was very good choice. Excellent staff!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is a bit out of date, very poor free wifi, breakfast and service in breakfast room so-and-so taking into account that we are in Germany

    Good location, good restaurant with very good service

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - free wifi is useless and disconnects often. no Skype possible, no vpn, ... I contacted reception to complain, they recommended to use the paid wifi service (8€/day) but even that disconnects so often that vpn is not possible. - pillows are way too soft - very hard to control water temperature in the shower

    nice breakfast nice lobby bar

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows seemed rather limp, maybe that's just the German style.

    Really convenient to the downtown core. Open design around a covered atrium imparted a spacious feeling. Room was small but not cramped.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bed was stiff and the pillows are uncomfortable. This bothers me but perhaps it doesn't for other guests.

    Situated in central location. It is close to tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping malls. The hotel is modern and beautiful. Facilities is complete and it is clean. The price is reasonable. Typical German hotel breakfast. Cereals, meat, breads and fruits. Highly recommended if you come by Jena. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The free "Internet" is non-existant. I have stayed there twice now and have had the same non-functional service. I couldn't even load a news website. I called the staff to fix the issue; they transferred my call to the provider who did not help substantially, and the hotel then attempted to charge me for the call. The hotel should not be advertising free wifi available in all areas!

    Clean room with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lift to the Tiefgarage was broken. No spa treatment available during the weekend and public holidays.

    Lovely Sauna, spa area. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Couple

    nothing bad

    everything is good

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Location👍🏻

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Best location with easy access to the old city center. Great connection to public transport.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Steigenberger Esplanade Jena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: