Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Europa Hotel 2 stars

Gutenbergstrasse 29, 66117 Saarbrücken, Germany

#34 of 48 hotels in Saarbrücken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WLAN didn‘t work in my room and also nobody was interested in checking that. The room was very small. The temperature if the water in the shower was changing constantly.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In my room there was poor wi-fi connection. And bathroom could be a bit bigger, but it is small for me and there is curtain for shower, I prefer doors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Had fridge which was great to keep things cold. Good location to walk into town. Had fantastic meal in Food hall in Galleria shopping arcade.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no shampoo for the shower and no tissue papers in the room. The light bulb in the bathroom is very close to the shower, which is a hazard. Vey thin walls and doors and noisy Environment.

    Location is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is too expensive for what is offered: Very small room, no shower gel/shampoo, mattress a bit soft and it is quite noisy (I soon realised that when I saw the ear-tampons).

    The staff was kind and it has a very good location in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillow really old and uneven, bed too small, room only 8 square meters, very thin walls, so can hear everything happening around, strong noise from motorway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could hear the guests from next door very well when they open their door. It did not disturb me.

    The location is great, 10 minutes walk from the main station and just next to the shopping centers but quiet. Close to supermarkets and shops you can easily have meals. The single room was small, but is clean and well equipped, with window and curtain. The water from the shower head is a bit weak, but it works. Friendly staff. Internet and television both worked well. No Fridge nor shampoo, but I thought that's acceptable given that it's not expansive. Staff very friendly. For a short business trip it's great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view and the parking.

    Fine for our overnight stay. The parking was in a car park across the road which took us 30 minutes to get out of due to the exit procedure being almost hidden away and instructions small and in German. A ten to fifteen minute walk to the centre which was not to bad. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot in the afternoon n there is no fan or air conditioner. Even when I closed all the curtains, it's still so hot n it's just June so I cant image what it would be like in august.

    The bed is comfortable. Location is good, near the train station n public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy and we slept very well, room was clean and had everything we needed - hotel is close to the shops and bars, just 5 mins walk but tucked away in a quiet corner. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That was probably the tiniest room I've ever stayed in. But it was cheap, so that's fine. It would have been nice to have a second blanket in the room - I was cold and too tired to go ask for another, and ended up sleeping under my coat.

    The employees were very helpful and kind. When I was leaving it was raining, and I was about to walk a long way, and they gave me an umbrella that a previous guest had left. That was so nice!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People are nice

    People are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with better sound proofing.

    Warm comfortable room. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was very weak or missing within the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi fi was bad small rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, uncomfortable. All facilities could be claimed

    Near many restaurants, but the staff was not informative

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quiet at night. Busy street and loud starts early in in the morning, as early as 4:00am.

    Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On zrrival no private parking available.

    The location on walking distance off the center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic,clean and friendly hotel. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. The nearby autoroute very noisy. Difficult to sleep with open windows.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircondition

    Good Breakfast ! 24 h reception !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Smoking room good TV selection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the wifi to work

    Good location. Good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room became a little warm in the sun in the morning

    Staff were super friendly and helpful, room was very clean and comfortable, convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located near beautiful location easily walkable- Ludwig's Platz and Schloss ( castle).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny Charged 10 euros to park motorcycle for 1 night

    Staff were friendly and helpfull with map and directions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot room Noisy traffic in street..

    Big breakfast bottomless drinks Earplugs provided..should have guessed it may be noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small, the shower head was leaking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not Applicable.

    Perfect location to city center. You can take a walk to bar at midnight and was cozy room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everthing

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking lot. Had to park on private area charged

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain smelled of mold Pillows very lumpy

    Friendly staff smoking room did not smell of smoke

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi for my floor did not work. Fortunately, the WiFi for lower floors worked OK in my room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallest room I've stayed in ever.... decorated with tacky cherubs???

    wide range of items at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast we had for a long time. Perfect location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place with good view . Also clean !!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality, smells of smoke, small, not a great value.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small and bes narrow.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very 70s retro look, but that's not my thing

    Staff where really friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is quite small. And one of the drinking glasses we were supposed to use, was not cleaned: we found toothpaste in it.

    The location is amazing. From our room we could see the river and the city center is just a couple of minutes by foot. The lady at the reception was kind and she helped us perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lady to clean the room knocked brutaly at my door and woke me up at 9h20 pretending it was check out time while check out is 11h00.

    Good location and receptionist are helpfull

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Budget hotels don't have to be terrible. This one is. It was extremely noisy. Around midnight I was awoken by drunk guests who were speaking so loudly. This lasted for 10 minutes. I could also hear the snores of the guest in the room next to mine. Just plain horrible.

    The friendly receptionists.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    "Very good hotel, very well situated, close to the river. Excellent ratio price/quality. I stayed 1 night, the room was not big but clean,comfortable and warm during the winter period. The staff is extremely kind, friendly and helpful! They provided me with assistance for everything that I have asked/needed"

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't know that check out is until 10:30 am! It's until 12:00 all over the world! So The cleaning lady had opened the door at us at 11:00 while we were in towels after the shower, very unfriendly! She stood up by the door knocking every minute, although she saw that we were preparing our things to leave, but she put so much pressure and tension to our stay, and made the whole day starts with very negative energy!

    Both, night shift and day shift receptionists are extremely kind and friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning. TV was old and didn't work.

    The staff were very friendly. Quiet location. Short walk over the bridge to the huge shopping area. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV didnt work Too expensive Dirty shower cabin No shampoo or shower gel One of the beds made squicky noise

    Location was good Decent size bedroom Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive, small room, overly hot with little ventilation, claustrophobic bathroom with broken light.

    Useful as an overnight stopover with the most basic of facilities. A 5 min walk into centre of town and access to restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room tiny. Fridge broken.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Group

    basic but clean and tidy ,value for money

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I would recommend very clean and very beautiful very affordable price

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are super small but still nice

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Hotel is easy walking distance to the main train station.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Within walking distance to the river where we were to board our cruise boat.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Refurbishing required. No English speaking. Expensive for the service offered.

    It is close to the station. Convenient for a single night

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV not working

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shower gel and shampoo. Small room.

    The location is perfect, very quite and close to the city center. The staff is vefy helpful. Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Horrible internet connection.

    - Everything was nice and clean. Very good price. - Parking available just next to the hotel, for 8.50€ per day.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, quiet and close to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice funny hotel, nice and helpful staff, absolutely great price, not luxury but friendly place to stay :)

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Breakfast is expensive but extremely good. Room was clean Location is great

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice place, small, simple, clean, charming and cozy. Everything worked well.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small elevator.

    Breakfast was excellent.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Europa Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: