Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Europäischer Hof am Dom This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Appellhof Platz 31, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

Review Score

Based on 1571 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    4.8

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall was not sound proofing, so we could hear everything from next door. It was really hot in the room. There's no air con so be careful if you book it in the summer.

    Very helpful staff. Good location, just a couple of minutes walking from the Dom. The property is quite old and only has one lift that can carry no more than 150kg. We actually liked the old style lift. It's a special experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    A bit dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty carpets old fashioned furniture carpets in building need repairing and cleaned.broken light fitting no cover on bed light exposed .no bulb in light fitting. No kettle in room.

    Clean sheets not too far from train station .although we had a job to find it.central for shops though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.5
    Overall pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work on first floor where our room was.

    Best thing is the location, very close to attractions. Our room on the first floor, Wifi was not working there. It only worked on ground floor. Had to park in parking garage nearby which was reasonable cost. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely awful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I must say not all of them, but a couple of the guys in the reception were not helpful at all, we ask about how to get to a place and the guy was simply not interested to help not to get disturbed; but definitely the worst part is that they have a guy "living" in the hotel and is the most disgusting thing, the smell of the floor where the guy stays is absolutely awful, I stayed at the top floor and coming down the stairs you could already smell him, he lives in the second floor and when I complained to the reception they mentioned there is absolutely nothing they can do since the guy lives there, what a disappointment.

    The best about this hotel is the location, really near from the Dom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was not included in price of room, it was quite hot inside.

    The hotel was quite good, the staff was very nice, clean room, bathroom was ok. The size of room was good for this price. Very good localization.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay in Koln and in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is old fashioned and in need of some modernisation but then it would not be such good value for money. The fact that there seemed to be no staff on duty after 10pm was a little worrying.

    This hotel is great value for money provided that you do not have high expectations. It is budget accommodation so do not expect 4star facilities. I found it clean, comfortable and centrally located. No breakfast is provided but there are plenty of nearby cafes and coffee shops. The staff were very helpful. At the beginning of my stay I could not get the WiFi to work but the receptionist sorted me out when I mentioned my difficulty. The location was perfect for me and I felt that it was good value for what I was charged.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    3.3
    I left in room most loving toy of my son.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left in room most loving toy of my son. I called day after to help them to get the toy back. But, they didn't do anything. Toy old 6 years does not have value for anybody expcet big emotional one for my son. They should find it, but they didn't care. An very very dirty room. Carpets are total disaster.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.3
    For the price It is an okay place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi is very poor in the room. We booked a three persons room, with two great beds and the third bed was not so good. It's noisy.

    The normal beds are great. The location is great. Staff were awesome. Cleaning service is great. There is a large parking garage (Dumont qpark) next door which is very cheap. €7 a day (sun-thu) and €10,- (Friday - Saturday).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    6.3
    Be careful if you book. The location is great. The hotel condition isn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being restored, and my goodness it needs it. Our room was better than some (and a good size) but the carpet was filthy, stained and unpleasant. Other guests reported faulty electrics. The lift - when it worked - is tiny and rickety.

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and the location is truly excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    Would come back for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its old, hygiëne is ok...Its for friends for a weekend OK! Also if you just want a bed for the night. The sleeps OK, shower is just fine and the people in the lobby are nice to you!

    The location is perfect, just 10 minutes from CS and the Dom. Hiroshima/Nagasaki park is with summer weather a most go to (people chilling, eating, bbqing etc) Everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    Above Expectation Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit small and the door could not locked. The train station is a bit far away from the hotel, needs about 10 mins walk. It is torturing when carrying with luggage.

    The staff was friendly. He gave a lot of information on the restaurant and places to see in Cologne, as it is a small town and can't find much information on website. The room was spacious and generally clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Proximity to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets are as if last cleaned/installed in the mid-19th Century. Needs replacement as soon as possible. No coffee maker in room.

    Proximity to railway station. Neatness & quietness. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good old German hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have very tiny lift that works funny sometimes. You still need to take steps to get to your room. Wifi is not free and not very strong signal (it seems). But if you have an access to Unitymedia wifi spot, that barely works. Make sure to ask for hair dryer upon Check-in if you need one.

    The location is perfect. The U-bahn station is right in front, and you can walk from Hbf or the main shopping street. Although the building faces a busy street, the room has double-glazed window so no problem at night. The building itself is very "classic" you can enjoy good old German hotel feeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is very central.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old and needs serious renovations. There is no wifi in the rooms. If you have luggage good luck with that because there is no lift either.

    The location of the hotel is very central. The room I have stayed was clean and spacious. I needed a clean and quiet room to stay for one night, and the hotel met my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    3.8
    NEVER again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lift was so bad it was almost comical, the reception was unmanned at night, beds were awful and there was no curtain or blind in one of the bedrooms parking is also a nightmare

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.5
    It was a really cheap room, so I did not accept much, it...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a really cheap room, so I did not accept much, it was clean, the bed Ams bedding was new and comfortable but the rest was old and basic.. but again for this price I am not complaining...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing proximity and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The proximity to the Center was amazing, you could walk out of the door and be at the cathedral in 3 minutes! There were shopping centres extremely close too so you were never too far from essentials. The beds were extra comfy and we’re made everyday which I wasn’t expecting. The value for money was phenomenal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    3.3
    The worst hotel ever that I have found in my life! Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst hotel ever that I have found in my life! If you see the photos of this comment you can see how bad the hotel is. Fitted carpet is dirty, dusty, full of stains, torn carpet,.. I booked the family room for my family, fortunately they didn't come because of illnesses.

    If you want a hotel near the city center, it's good for the position.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced hostel at a great location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty walls, damaged carpet, the springs of the bed were sticking out making it uncomfortable. There was a TV but no service.

    Only the location was great. The paid amount does not correspond the actual value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    4.6
    Very old place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old place. Carpet old, stained and with holes. Very noisy place, music all night, not able to sleep at all. Very short duvet not able to cover all body, feet left out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    4.2
    Very bad hotel, please do not go there!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive room for the bad state of the hotel and the room. No wifi in the room, no breakfast, no parking place near the hotel. The lady in the reception did not know absolutely nothing about anything.Very bad experience.

    The location near the Cathedral

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.5
    comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator didnt work, so i up my case to the 3rd floor. The wi-fi connection does not work in the room (at least on 3rd floor no wi fi). There's no hair dryier in the room, so dont forget to ask for it at the reception at once. In my room somebody has left earings at the sill, so i concluded that the cleaning was not very meticulous.

    comfortable bed. very close to the train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Because of the bed springs, me and my friend couldn't sleep properly.

    Location was the best and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    2.5
    Horrible stay, disgusting hotel, I felt terrible in there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worst hotel I have stayed in in my entire life. The carpets are full of stains, there is a horrible smell, the WiFi doesn’t, it looks like it hasn’t been refurbished since the 1960s... I don’t know how someone thinks it’s ok to make people pay for rooms like this, this is a scandal. I have never felt so disrespected as a customer. Don’t go there, this is an absolute scam. It is actually way too expensive for what it is. This place is absolute trash.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    6.7
    Overall fair staying experience. Recommended and value for money due to good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleanliness... The carpet of the room was very dirty with big spots, although it was not smelly.

    The best of the property is its location so value for money. The location is fairly near to main train station. We were in Cologne in chilled days, the heating was perfect. The room was of big size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    2.5
    The worsest of the worst hotels in which i ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most discusting pleace where i ever been, dirty and carpets looks like never been changed, matresses are already very bad, toilets smell so bad, carpets are ript and not repaired.no vending machines or somthing where to buy water or coffee in morning.

    Nothing. Lady who was there done her best she offered me to choose from 3 rooms the best. Thanks for that, but they still was very very bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t have a kettle, but there’s coffee shops everywhere. Ended up having a allergic reaction to the towels or bed sheets but that started the before we was leaving. Had booked a double room meaning one bed but got a triple room.

    Location is perfect. Staff very helpful. After reading the reviews was a bit hesitant to stay, but everything was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    4.2
    The only thing good about this hotel is the location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old. The room had very dirty old carpets (see picture attached). In my room the nightlight was missing. The place is loud because it seems to be booked mainly by party people. For this old accomodation without any comfort not even half of the price that I paid would have been fair. This hotel should not even be listed here in Bookings. I wish I could have my money back.

    The only thing good about this hotel is the location. The people working there are OK. The rest is just awful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator was small and sometimes didn't work. The sinks were in the bedroom not the bathroom and finally the room looked terrible! The walls weren't finished so there were places still unpainted and loose sockets hanging from the wall. The carpet was horrendous, almost every square inch had a stain and it certainly needed to be changed years ago to accrue that amount of stains!

    Nice staff, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great employees, they were very helpful and let us check out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small,

    Great employees, they were very helpful and let us check out an hour later, free of charge. Room was clean and as expected. The location was perfect, close to shopping, bars and clubs. Parking right around the corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.2
    Basic but good value accommodation in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel felt rather tired and in need of some TLC. Also there was a periodical rumble from underground trains that pass below the building.

    Receptionists very friendly and helpful with excellent level of English. Great location in a quiet street just 10 minutes walk from main railway station and cathedral. Basic but good value and accommodation. Room was clean and a good size with a comfortable bed, good TV and wifi and a decent bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.0
    CHEAP BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! Book only if you are desperate and there's no other choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very run-down hotel as if it's in a war-torn country. Described as "Simply furnished room with a TV and telephone." The TV was so small and there was no telephone in the room. I needed neither but the false advertisement bothered me. On the website, in a single room, room facilities were advertised as follows: Room size 12 m² Simply furnished room with a TV and telephone. Room facilities: • Tea/Coffee Maker --> THERE WAS NONE. I HAD TO ASK RECEPTION FOR A KETTLE WHICH WAS KINDLY PROVIDED BUT NO MUGS/CUPS SO BRING YOUR OWN • TV --> VERY SMALL • Telephone --> NONE • Hairdryer --> NONE • Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock --> NO ALARM CLOCK BUT SINCE THERE'S NO PHONE AND RECEPTION AT NIGHT TILL 7 AM, I DOUBT THE WAKE-UP SERVICE EXISTS • Radio --> NONE • Free toiletries --> 1 TINY BAR OF SOAP + PACKET OF SHAMPOO • Toilet --> OK, IT WAS THERE • Cable Channels --> NO TV SO.... • Bath or Shower --> IT WAS THERE • Carpeted --> YES BUT VERY, VERY DIRTY WITH LOTS OF STAINS The description states "This hotel offers soundproofed rooms". This is definitely not true as I could hear the laughter of guests in the room across the hall as if they were in my room. The floors are also very squeaky. There was free WiFi but the connection was not great at all!

    Good location near the central station, the night staff was helpful, the heating worked in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.9
    I was lucky to find that place last minute after being stranded in Cologne due to a storm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating insufficient, TV without remote control and not all channels, slow internet

    very nice staff. Rather basic facilities, no proper heating, external heating element needed. Clean everywhere, everything rather simple though. No working remote control for the TV and rather slow internet. Price more than decent for booking in the late afternoon only.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    5.0
    If its not the last hotel in the country...avoid it!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! The carpet of the room was the most discusting thing i have ever seen. The sink was inside the room instead of the bathroom, 2 of the beds were very uncomfortable and the 3rd bed was was a chair-bed that had length 1.50m!!Also the elevator could fit only one person at a time and worked only until 22:00, after that you had to take the stairs to the 3rd flood!!! Also the wifi was so poor that we could hardly log in!

    the location and only that

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    4.2
    The front desk people were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets of the room were extremely dirty! horrible! the bathroom had urine smell. The room looked so depressive. I wanted to throw up! We asked for another room and thankfully they were very nice and gave us one with a better carpet and clean bathroom.

    The front desk people were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    7.5
    Top Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are not big problems. Just the lift is toooo small. I had to go up and down by stairs to 4th floor each time(good exercise lol). The parking garage is not marked and is very narrow. So when you arrive at the hotel by car you have to park somewhere in the street far or near the hotel depending on your luck and then take garage keys and then go park your car.

    This Hotel is the second time I am staying in. That says a lot :) I like the location(just in front of the cathedral we can see it from hotel window :) ). This time it was a family room with four beds and balcony :) loved it. Bathroom was nice and clean. If I return to Cologne I will for sure stay here again ;) All in all good. Budget + Location = Top Choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    Excellent, but we are not nit-picky and we are seasoned travellers around the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi in the room. Cleaner carpets - actually need to be replaced BIG TIME! But not as bad as the hotel in SF!!

    If you want a hotel that is central. value for money , clean sheets and towels daily and a bed for the night(s) then this hotel does the job. Lets face it, when you travel most times to a European city, a hotel is for sleeping, not for spending all day in! Staff were friendly and helpful. DOWN SIDE: Wi-fi is free but really only accessible in the lobby. DO NOT look at the carpets! Nightmare! But despite their appearance, probably sort of clean but they certainly do not look it?? Overall and as usual, if you want some budget accommodation with not everything top notch, this is a great hotel, if you want everything as you would find at home - stay at home!! We had a great stay in Cologne!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    5.0
    Overnight last minute stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated. No light bulbs in some lights, carpets torn and dirty, no hairdryer or tea making facilities as advertised. No breakfast. Needs complete refurbishment.

    Good location short minute walk from Hauptbahnhof. Ok for an overnight stsy only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything looks very outdated and dirty. The shower was broken, we couldn't hang the shower head on the wall. We got the keys to another room where the shower barely worked. The rooms were supposed to be non-smoking, but they were definitely not.

    Location was very good. Parking around the corner in a closed garage. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    5.8
    Cheap and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is fatiscent, the carpet was dirty and there was dust on my closet. Not properly cleaned!!!

    The hotel was 4 minutes walk from the Cathedral

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    6.3
    Just outside the metro station, in a quiet area from where...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room windows are quite old and with some drafts, not ideal in winter time. I had to keep the heath on all night. Hair dryer and kettle are not in the room, as booking may suggest, but available upon request. Bring your own tea and coffee if you plan using the kettle.

    Just outside the metro station, in a quiet area from where it's very easy to reach attractions and shopping with a quick walk. Hotel staff is extremely kind and helpful. The structure is visibly old and would need some restyling, but it's clean and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    4.2
    give it a miss
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't do breakfast hence would better call itself pension or so. Then, the overall state of the place is deplorable: tapistry torn and loose everywhere, with many stains and dirty. The 2 passenger elevator is like a closet that has been squeezed in at too late a stage. The TV set didn't work. Cologne has better places to offer; skip this one

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    6.3
    it s a convenient place to stay for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpets are worn out and make poor impression. it would be nice to have some glasses or cups in the room for the tee. )the receptionist provided with the kettel but was nothing to drink from

    central location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    3.8
    The location is not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems like nothing has changed in the hotel since 1986. Including the carpet on the floor. You will get a key a big key, if you lose it you'll have to pay EUR 300,- (no electronic card) The hotel clearly doesnt invest in anything anymore. It is a cash cow for the owner. We asked for a fohn, but there were no working fohns anymore. The staff is reasonable friendly though and it's not dirty.

    The location is not bad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    5.0
    Good rocation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved 2 beds in 1 room but thay didn't have. In the room, hunging only very thin curtain, in the evening you can see hole room from the outside. No drinkglass in the room.

    Good rocation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    4.2
    Very bad experience. Paid over 140 Euro for a hotel that should not charge more than 70 Euro at the
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    No internet the first three days. Very small room, shower-tube not working (very inconvenient to take a shower!). Not breakfast offered.

    Location close to Metro

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    4.2
    Location is central to the city sights and bahnhof.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was horrible. You could feel the metal springs in the mattress, there were holes in the carpets throughout the hotel, the paint was chipping off the ceiling in the bedroom, the internet has not functioned for some time - the staff said that it did not work well with Apple devices ? There was no breakfast offered which is the usual for German hotels. All of this for 120 euros per night? I could not sleep on the mattress and left after the first night. Unbelievable. I am surprised Booking.com even offers this hotel on their site

    Location is central to the city sights and bahnhof. The women at the front desk tried to be helpful and were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    3.3
    Don't book it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty floors, elevator not working properly. No coffee in the building. Fire instructions in the room were from room of other side of the floor. Double bed with two sides against the wall.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    2.9
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Never ever stay at this hotel, it’s a very basic hotel, not clean, I have stayed at better hostels, the staff were rude, they also said I lost a key and charged me £225 from my debit card which they did not say they were going too, the bed was uncomfortable and the room very cold Really was one of my worse experiences ever from all the hotels I have stayed at

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    3.8
    Its not all about the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dont check in after 10pm, it will ruin all the good things about the hotel. Elevator/Lift shuts down by 10 pm, (so beware those of you who will do a late check in) and if you are booked on the 2nd to 4th floor, you're in for an intense workout. Unhelpful staff after 10pm, Wifi is NOT FREE.

    The location is perfect. Location is good, very near the Ubahn station, and a few walks away from the Cologne Cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    3.8
    A place to stay when desperate or if each euro is a big concern.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The common areas were dingy and poorly maintained with dirty, torn carpets in the hallways. There was peeling wallpaper on the bedroom walls. The shower head mount was broken off and I had to hold the shower head to bathe in the morning.

    Location and price were acceptable for my needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.1
    The great staff and location really saves this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free wifi. If you think you can watch a bit of Tv instead, think again, the tv channels do not even work and keep cutting out 97% of the time as the reception is so bad. The hotel prides itself on its soundproof rooms (according to the hotel description write up). Soundproof rooms are certainly not the case... I could hear the people in the next room watching tv, the people outside/in rooms out my window talking so loudly, the people in the halls moving around so loud. Not an easy thing to sleep through. Also another thing in the ad for the room facilities was tea/coffee making facilities - nope, none.. The hotel really should not advertise things they don't offer.. Oh, while the hotel seemed decently clean (just a bit old and dated inside- my bed sheets also had holes throughout) - I found 2 hairs on my bed and pillow case...

    The staff were so friendly and helpful! The location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    5.4
    We are used to much nicer properties
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very run down. Carpets needed replacing in communal areas. Elevator is just a bad joke. Holds two people or one with a case, when it works. Our room was between second and third floors which meant we had to drag heavy cases up half a flight, or down half a flight of stairs.

    Central location, fairly close to railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    5.0
    Location near city centre, location near public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small room, noise from underground trains, reception closes after 22:00, old building, relatively expensive.

    Location near city centre, location near public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    3.3
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a smoking hotel even though there are signs of not smoking, the workers and the guest smoke and you can smell it in the rooms. As soon as you open the door of the room you want to leave right away. The carpet is full of stains, very dirty, from 5 lamps one one works!! No heating!! The toilet is full of humidity and the light is poor you can hardly see. It used to be a good hotel it seems but it is abandoned and the stuff is not even helpfull. The elevator was also broken, the only thing which could be of a help. The parking situation in the area is difficult but the dtaff was not even helpfull to recomend a place to park. We are totally unsatisfied and this hotel could charge 30eu the night!! 50euros even though is not so much,,.it´s too mich for the conditions.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    4.6
    Location was great - max 10 minutes from main station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for shower -> got bath We asked for nonsmoking room -> got smoking one We asked for separated beds -> got big one Elevator is not working between 22:00-07:00 Wifi access has to be renew every day and new password is provided on reception TV remote control was not working Heating seemed to stopped during the night or early morning -> a bit cold in the morning Carpet was not really clean, room had old furniture, pictures do not reflect reality

    Location was great - max 10 minutes from main station and Dom by foot Staff was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    4.2
    Overpaid for super basic hotel - bring your own travel kettle.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet was filthy. The curtains were dirty. There were holes in the wall. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room or the hotel. The hotel has no iron or ironing board. The room smelt of cigarette smoke. This whole hotel needs an overhaul. I paid way over the odds as it was booked last minute and I will not be staying here again. Location was good!

    The bed sheet appeared clean. The shower was hard which I personally like but it could also have been interpreted as painful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    5.0
    Heavy renovation needed asap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are horrible! The need heavy renovation, since everything seems deserted. The carpet was extremely dirty with stinks even from blood, the bathroom was old smelly and dirty. One of the windows broke and we couldn't close it. The elevator stopped operating after 22:00 so we had to use the stairs. In one of the rooms the water sinks were seated outside the toilet room near the beds. A power socket was broken and was simply covered by tape. The closet was dirty and stinky.

    The location was very close to the old city and the Dom. The bed linens were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed

    Not really sure why there were so many bad reviews on this place. It wasn't fancy, but it definitely was a good place to stay. Everything in my room was clean -- the bed wasn't that comfortable but that's really the only complaint, especially since most of my time wasn't spent at the hotel! Felt safe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    5.4
    Dirty room,nice view,close to the Dome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty,I have never seen a carpet that dirty in all my life!Groust!This hotel needs an urgent refurbishment and cleaning!!!

    Location of the hotel was great-near to the Dome and with a wonderfull view.I liked some antique features in the room-very high ceiling,small balcony with pretty old columns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.1
    Hotel in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is possible to park in the park house near the hotel, but unfortunately, there is really a little space. If you have a bigger car it is almost impossible to park there, but it is always worthwhile because to park outside is expensive.

    Hotel is really good located, not too much from the city center. We were accommodated on the third floor so we had the really good view of Cologne cathedral, especially it is nice at night. The rooms were comfortable. I recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    This hotel is close to train station and cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is close to train station and cathedral. Nearby there was a supermarket (REWE) with great sandwiches freshly made. it is very clean and staff is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    2.9
    Shockingly bad !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was shockingly dirty, so was the bathroom ( someone's stools were floating in the toilet!!) the carpet I can't even describe how dirty and stain it is.. . one of wall lights was totally broken and one of the sockets on the wall by the bed was totally gone and the cables kept with tape , so dangerous!! In a family room that you rent for people traveling with kids !!! We were charged 73 Euros for one night in this room .. I would not have even 25 Euros if I saw the state of the room.. very disappointed and dissatisfied customer!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.1
    Location is fine, on a good day you could walk from Hbf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet wasn't included, you have to pay for it.

    Location is fine, on a good day you could walk from Hbf. On a rainy day though best to take the tram - 1 station from hbf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    3.5
    Dump
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's tired & worn out ;falling apart light fixtures hanging off the walls & not working,carpeting stained & smelly & worn through with holes everywhere ;elevator for one & doesn't work! Almost 95.00 euros for crap!

    Nothing !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    3.8
    Avoid, there are much better places!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired looking property which has had it best days. Owner unreachable even by receptionist when there was a problem. Nobody on duty from 10pm to 7am.

    Receptionists friendly and within walking distance to City centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    3.3
    Oh dear!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough time to go into everything, the stay was a disaster, had to change rooms x3, power cuts, no wi fi connection, offered an uncleaned room to shower in.

    Nothing positive, sorry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    2.9
    Stay at your own discomfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV had very bad reception and most of the channels were not working. There were no other toiletries except for soap, shampoo, and tissues. The bed had stains. I had to use wet tissues to clean them off. The quilt had stains (looked like blood to me). You can them them through the quilt cover. I asked for an upgrade but the Receptionist gave me a room with similar conditions.

    The only thing I liked about it was the Receptionist on our last day. Her name was Nora and she helped me with printing and stuff like that. She was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    5.8
    Wifi didn't work in room, so they gave me free WiFi in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV didn't work. I wouldn't have used it much, but they never looked into it while I was there.

    Wifi didn't work in room, so they gave me free WiFi in the lobby for the whole time of my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.6
    Affordable stay in the centre of Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, a short walk away from the old town and most of the city highlights. Clean, spacious room with everything we needed. No breakfast at the hotel, but there are plenty of cafes a short walk away. Staff very friendly and informative. Secure parking for a small additional fee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.1
    Not keepong up with the age of Internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI is so slow that I got better performance at your typical airport which offers these free of charge. If the Hotel should charge 4 euros for 24 hours, at least make it worth the money! Right now I am not happy at all. I wasted a lot of precious time just trying to read my emails: Took me 1.5 hours to read about 90 emails. Totally unacceptable

    The location is good, very close to the train station, but the direction how to get there is not exactly clear.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.8
    Location was good and large bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi fi is not free, so I decided to pay 6€ for my two days stay for internet, but when I payed wi fi was available only in the lobby, and not on my floor and not in my room.. So I gave money for no reason since I couldn't use it. Also 3 times people were just entering my room without knocking while I was undressed...

    Location was good and large bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.7
    It just has a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - During booking, I checked on the box to get "free wifi" but upon check in I was told to pay Eur 5.99 if I wanted wifi for the duration of my stay. It's not much but they could have been upfront about it and not have the choice to have free wifi on booking. - for the price of the room, I expected more in terms of bed comfort.

    - I like how close the property is to most of the tourist spots - It is within walking distance to the Köln HBF station - the room was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.0
    I don't prefer to stay in this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There weren't any sound insulation. I could hear what was the next door listening, all the sounds coming from the street... And there's a police station nearby the hotel, lots of police sirens... I wouldn't sleep if I wasn't too tired. You have to pay an extra for the internet connection but there weren't any connection on the 3rd floor. It works nearby the Reception. Pillows were too soft, weren't comfortable. And they serve no breakfast. I didn't know it, so it was disappointing too...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location, linen and bathroom were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floors were dirty and needed vacuuming, the hotel is old and in need of updating, there was some noise from the street but this soon stopped

    Convenient location, linen and bathroom were clean. There was even a full sized bath which I made use of.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Europäischer Hof am Dom Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: