Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kirchenallee 45, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#49 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6294 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room got very crowded but that could be because we were there at the busiest time!

    Fabulous location, friendly helpful staff and overall a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Hotel did not grant my reservation and gave me a very uncomfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reservation was for a Double Comfort Room but they gave me a Single Standard! The arrogant manager said that in periods when Fairs take place they don't take room categories into consideration so they just cannot grant what you reserve.

    Location and Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, directly opposite the railway station. Very comfortable and clean rooms. We were given an upgrade to a mini suite and it was lovely. Good breakfast and helpful friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a comfort double room and got a single room.

    The location is great, just across the road from the main train station in Hamburg. It has a pool with a water slide which I have never seen at a hotel inside a city. Good variety of food and drinks for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very close location to Central Station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bathtub, but that was fine.

    Very close location to Central Station. Free transportation ticket to travel locally even to Airport. Swimming pool was also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    .location, cleanliness and excellent staff at reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Could not adjust temperature in shower. No WiFi in room. Iron delivered one day later than requested. Room 621

    .location, cleanliness and excellent staff at reception

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Hamburg in three days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had only one criticism. As our room faced the sun all day it became very hot and there was no air conditioning. Opening the windows at night to cool the room down was not possible as the noise from the street through the open windows was too great.

    Ideal location near the centre of town and all the transport links. The hotel also supplied a 3 day pass for free travel on the trains and busses. The member of staff on the information desk was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good position, no air conditioning so beware during summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms should be renovated, as furnitures appear to be from the eighties. Moreover, however, we were quite unlucky because during our stay in Hamburg air temperature was close to 35 °C, and the hotel is not provided with air conditioning (nowhere in the structure, maybe with the only exception of breakfast room). We found our room very hot when we entered and we only succeeded in reducing the temperature by opening all the windows during the night. Although everything was known before the trip, air conditioning should be something to have as given in hotels nowadays

    The hotel is well positioned in Hamburg. You are really close to central station (where you can take metro to go substantially anywhere you like in the city) and you can also find several restaurants and fast foods close to the hotel. Staff is nice and breakfast is really good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    needs to attend to finer details of guest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning and better wifi signal - need to update wifi and at least provide/offer fans to guests particularly during very hot weather

    Staff were professional on check-in. It was very hot in Hamburg during our overnight stay and this was the only hotel on our itinerary without air-conditioning. The wifi was sporadic and so our stay was not as comfortable as we had experienced elsewhere. Breakfast was busy but well run with a large range on offer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    I had a fabulous stay and will come back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit attention to bathroom cleanliness and the carpet. Otherwise everything in the room is perfect.

    I love the prime location and the amenities. Staff are so helpful and friendly. Swimming pool area and breakfast are awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but no air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!! I melted on both nights I stayed, and as the hotel is very central to bars, the railway station, opening the window meant that it was very noisy. Two of the worst nights sleep ever. Probably great in the winter! The rest of the hotel couldn't be faulted but sir conditioning is a must nowadays.

    Lovely hotel, great staff, very helpful. Free ticket to use on local public transport which was handy for me going to the airport. Good choice of breakfast, also great bar snacks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    would choose this hotel again for the convenience to the railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pillows come could be better firmness. the one gentleman at reception needs to be aware of how curt he is with guests. the ladies at the desk were more polite . the gentleman at information desk, whom i called Mike, was really pleasant and helpful.

    the rooms were decorated with care. the windows allows for refreshing air at night since the rooms are not air conditioned. the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Central Hamburg Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't control the temperature of the water in the shower. Also there was no air conditioning in the room - we were on the 5th floor and it was extremely hot and uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was very good. The hotel was just across the road from the main train station in Hamburg. The pool, spa and water slide was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Fab hotel. Awful bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so soft that my back was in agony the next morning. I could hardly get out of bed it was so sore. I haven't had issues with my back in years.

    Fabulous hotel. Location couldn't be better. Right by the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Pool and training area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location near the Central station but very noisy. The WiFi didn't work. No air condition which meant no sleep at all in a very hot Hamburg. I think this hotel needs to modernize

    Pool and training area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only draw back for us was no ac and we had to go down and ask for a fan. A hotel of this quality in our opinion should have a fan for every room if no ac is standard.

    It has a nice sized room and the bed was comfortable. They have 3 dry saunas with different temperatures and a wet sauna how wonderful. The whirl pool was actually warmer. In our travels thru Europe we find whirlpools are to low of temperature. The breakfast which is included was a very nice variety of dishes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Second time we stayed here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the condition of a small sofa in the room--was a bit worn and dated.

    Super friendly staff! Beautiful pool! Spa services were great! Very convenient location across from Hamburg Hauptbahnhof!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Great, clean & spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and rooms towards front of hotel are very noisy (outside noise - traffic and drunk people)

    Great, clean & spacious room. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Pool area is fantastic but could benefit from a bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what I was looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything can't fault this hotel. Directly opposite train station, Close to shops and bars and the facilities are brilliant. Visiting from England

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    We arrived driving a VW Multivan which is quite a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived driving a VW Multivan which is quite a large vehicle and it was no problem parking at the hotel garage. The staff at the garage was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was amazing, the free travel card was very much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay was perfect apart from there was no a/c or fan in the room, so it was very hot in this hot weather

    Breakfast was amazing, the free travel card was very much appreciated and the spa facilities were great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Very courteous and helping concierge staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few front desk officers were curt and disinterested in responding.

    Very courteous and helping concierge staff members. Hotel provides free rail bus and ferry passes for the duration of the stay. Location is very good and is right opposite to the central station which makes travelling inside and around hamburg very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for all the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roooms are not air conditioned and have no fans. Unfortunately you can’t leave windows open because of the street noise.

    Helpful staff, health suite, breakfast choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    Not what I expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just spent a night for a business trip. The light was not working and there was not staff to fix it. The room was extremely warm around 35 degrees and they have no A/C, but they provided a small fan.

    Staff is good and efficient. Location is excellent for business trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    If you want to be across the street from the train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strange place. Hard to explain except that it had a “shining” vibe in the hallways, a giant water slide in the middle of the building, and no air or fans. It was a heat wave and unbearably hot in the rooms.

    If you want to be across the street from the train station, this is your place. If you want a gigantic covered water slide out your window, this is also your place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Location, excellent breakfast till 11am, friendly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in the room. When we first walked in the porter ignored us but greeted aother guest who probably was better dressed.

    Location, excellent breakfast till 11am, friendly helpful staff with the porter(s) being the exception. Fast daily cleaning of room but doubt it's thorough ness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    next time I will choose another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room without a/c, bad wifi connection and the hotel staff was not very friendly

    location, breakfast and the hotel relax zone (swimming pool, sauna, etc.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    - Location, the hotel is very close to Central Station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Small elevator;

    - Location, the hotel is very close to Central Station, metro, and bus station, - Free travel pass up to 3 days, good value, - Breakfast are included in the room rate, - Not far from shopping Pde

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone who looks for a good hotel!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As other guests complained, the pillow was far too soft, and the lack of aircon can be problematic in hot days.

    Excellent breakfast, great location, very easy to travel from airport to the hotel. The SPA is fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Won't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No help with luggage, breakfast bread rolls now terrible, too many stairs to get to the lift (difficult with heavy luggage)

    This hotel has deteriorated in standard...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tea/coffee facilities in room, no kettle. the bar only serves cocktails.

    lovely ambiance, spacious, excellent breakfast, no card required for lift

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location for transport and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although there is a little fridge there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Although this hotel could be considered quite expensive it is very worthwhile. The location is brilliant...as they say location,location,location. From Hamburg airport to this hotel is a 20 minute ride on S1 underground to Hamburg Central station, then walk across the road to the hotel....couldn't be easier. The staff are very nice and helpful, the breakfast is varied and plentiful. There is a lovely piano player in the evenings in the bar Tuesday to Saturday.The beds are very comfortable and there is a little walk-in alcove where you can put your clothes and suitcase which is very useful and unusual (we had a 'comfort' room)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice breakfat buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a room at the back of the hotel. Since it was so warm, had to sleep with window open, so would hear a lot of noise coming from the alleyways and adjacent streets. Ask for a different side, if you are bothered by noise at night

    Very nice breakfat buffet. Enjoyed the euro-therme and gym facility. Very nice that 3 day transit pass was included. Amazing value!! Will definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, amazing swimming pool, slide and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decoration in the room a bit old fashioned

    Very good location, amazing swimming pool, slide and spa Very good breakfast Old Europe charm Free transportation ticket for the duration of the stay Very good concierge with cheaper tickets for sightseeing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and clean and fit for purpose rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our group had several single rooms that were very small but fit for purpose. Attached hotel pub refused to serve us late evening even when other guests were still there. We were served other evenings but poor attitude of staff.

    Great hotel location opposite railway station and walking distance to local attractions. Clean and tidy throughout. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a great location, located at the city center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some construction working next to the hotel and there was a loud noise under our window that started from 8am... No A/C in the room- I think that it is about time to understand the global warming and the fact that summer get hotter in Europe. TV had no entertainment channels in English (only news).

    Good hotel in a great location, located at the city center in front of the main train station. Hotel is nice and modern, our room was quite big, clean and with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good, richer than the average breakfast in Europe. The pool and the jacuzzi were great, really refreshing option for a morning or evening swim (hot water).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Everything excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, excellent and comfortable rooms. Staff very polite specially Mrs. Katrin Glander. In front of the central station. Excellent location. We will come back soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location but poor Wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible! Bad connection and most of the time i couldn't connect. I would not recommend this hotel for business purely because of the bad wifi - it was very frustrating & not what I would expect from a hotel that I paid 220 euros a night for!

    Good location literally opposite the train station & breakfast was Good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel location, room service, and varieties of foods
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dimension, facilities and price as some Hotels in Hamburg include open kitchen with more facilities such as coffee maker

    Hotel location, room service, and varieties of foods

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    some never, air conditioned and better hotel next time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -bad wifi -no aircondition -room like a sauna when warm whether -minibar broken -sink leaking -ventilation dirty (mold) -price/quality rate bad -noicy from the street side

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    a/c would have been nice. at least fans in rooms on hot days
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hardly any wifi at rooms; very weak if any no a/c, so on warm nights need to sleep w windows open, then becomes very noisy

    good breakfast good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a one night stop over except for the lack of air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning! Hard to believe a 4 star hotel does not have air con. We arrived on a reasonably warm day around 25 degrees, had to leave the windows open to get any air, the room was super hot when we checked in as the room faced the afternoon sun - and it was impossible to cool it down. Our rooms also faced the main street opposite the train station and it was impossible to sleep because of the noise with the windows open. In the end I rang housekeeping in the middle of the night to ask for a fan - a small portable one was delivered so I could at least shut the windows for quiet but the heat remained.... I cannot imagine what it would be like in high summer. Its a shame as the rest of the experience was outstanding.

    Loved the pool facilities and the slide - our 7 and 9 year old girls couldn't believe it when they saw there was a slide - and it was heaps of fun for the whole family Breakfast buffet was the most comprehensive I have seen in our 5 weeks travelling around Germany and was delicious Staff very friendly and helpful Location was so convenient, right opposite the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Superb location just downtown Hamburg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition in a 4 star hotel at that price. Temperature in the room was some 30° with no possibility to get it just a little cooler. (This is of course due to the high temperatures in Hamburg during my stay.

    Superb location just downtown Hamburg. Nice staff, clean room. Garage service was also very good. Very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.0
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice touch with the champagne at breakfast. Great location, across the road from central station. Wish we had more time so we could use the pool, it looked inviting. Maybe next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The property is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a great location. Easy to access all sights. Staff were all lovely and polite. Couldn’t do enough for you. Very helpful. Huge choice for breakfast. Was beautiful. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Would definitely recommend staying here. We will definitely be staying here again if we return to Hamburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was fantastic for convenience to other parts of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were few toiletries in the room, the staff were somewhat helpful but could have been better.

    The location was fantastic for convenience to other parts of Hamburg; the hotel room was quiet and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the bed. It was too hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were very poor quality.

    The breakfast was excellent. Buffet style but very good quality food and lots of choice. The location was also good right beside the hauptbahnhof with easy access to the main shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is tired and is in need of a refurbishment. It’s quite expensive for what’s on offer. No tea or Coffee facilities in the room and no Irons and ironing boards in the room.

    Good Location, good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably only specific room issue at 1st floor (not an entrance floor). It failed to work ventilation fan at the bathroom. Couldn't open the window due to noisy in the city till midnight.

    Very good breakfast. Good location in front of central station. Room card could be used for three days train/bus ticket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    OK stay, but one very poor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One evening brought a cup of coffee and sandwich home with me and wanted to eat it on the open hotel terrace, but was asked to leave and told I could only eat stuff there that I purchased at the hotel. There were no signs mentioning this anywhere and it was a large open terrace. Also poor internet connection in my room.

    Location good. Large and ok breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Short stop in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested a double bed and got two single beds. The location of the hotel is close to a bad area of the city.

    The location is close to the train station. The indoor pool area is amazing. The room booking included free public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and excellent breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in room // no AC in room// our room was at the back side of the hotel and it was very loud during the night and early morning with deliveey trucks and garbage trucks

    Breakfast was excellent // staff was friendly // bed was comfortable // room was very spacious with lots of storage and a nice modern bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Hospitable stay with central accommodation for a god price and value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat hard with electrical outlets if you need to charge laptops/phones, but not a big problem. Wifi was so-so In my room there was some sort of ventilation outlet in the hallway that emitted a slight smell of smoke which was a bit unpleasant. There was a door that I could close though so problem wasn't that huge then.

    Very hospitable staff. General environments were very fresh and even though hotel in itself is somewhat old they have updated it very good. Rooms are traditional hotel rooms, nothing more, nothing less. My single bed room was very spacious. . Breakfast was very good - great selection of just about everything and even an omelette station for your personal order!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great room, very clean and comfortable, the check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was quite small. Although I traveled alone I must say I was expecting a double bed, but maybe this was an oversight on my part while booking.

    Great room, very clean and comfortable, the check-in was quick and uncomplicated, location superb right in front of the central station, particularly convenient for short stays. The breakfast had a nice selection and was absolutely delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was the best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi network in room was lousy. Could not connect in room. However, wifi network available elsewhere in hotel.

    Location was the best. Right next to train station and subway network. Hotel offers transport pass for entire stay. Awesome for visiting the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    OK but would have been better if they had offered me another room with a working router
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet access in my room, no kettle available for tea and coffee as ‘not enough for every room’

    Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean, breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Extremely rude and unfriendly at reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elderly lady that checked me in was extremely rude and was not willing to help or give information!! I really felt uncomfortable and not welcome at all, the same happen at check out ...... a young gentleman helped me and it’s almost if he was just not interested at all!!! They clearly have a problem with the staff at reception. It was really a bad impression of not so bad hotel!!

    Breakfast was good and the staff was extremely friendly at breakfast!! Great location ...... opposite Hamburg HBF!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Due to current weather, the temperature in room was too hot...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to current weather, the temperature in room was too hot and I did not found how to adjust this. Only heater are available, no cooler. Due to proximity of the rail station, opening the window was not an option. Despite this, thanks to the other assets of the hotel, I will stay again at this hotel for further trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Very ordinary hotel next to a glamourous one.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a run down hotel and rooms were ordinary. No room internet or very poor reception, to ask guests to use internet in public places in hotel is madness. It is a horrible rabbit Warren of a hotel with odd signage. Needs a major overhaul and good tidy up! Room mini fridge wasn’t working. Told staff twice about it but still no action.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Classic quality retreat in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way to room across stairs

    Classic, beautiful hotel with excellent service, wonderful breakfast and amazing location. Free subway day passes were a great surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Seeing the Hauptbahnhof from one of the top floors is great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathtub is too narrow. I fit in just right. It is for slender people, but not those who are kind of overweight. They then have the other option of taking a shower !

    Seeing the Hauptbahnhof from one of the top floors is great ! Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel right next to the central station, rooms are a bit old but clean and soundproof. Breakfast is very nice. The swimmingpool and wellness are ok, also a bit dated but clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Can’t stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi has never worked properly every time I’ve stayed there, the smoking lounge smoke leaks into the entire hotel so all the hallways and even some of the rooms reek of cigarette smoke (especially the lobby), and their delivery trucks park right outside the guestroom windows with their engine and machinery on; they come very early and wake you up and stay for hours.

    The staff are really great, kind people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel to stay at, close to city and comfortable. Organic produced products??? Sustainable???
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rich breakfast but where is the organic produced? Sustainable ideas? Who are their clients? Today everyone wants organic produced products and a sustainable profile on the hotel. So, you have things to work with to be a competitor for me and others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very business like. As a leisurely traveler it was a bit uncomfortable walking in with my walking/hiking clothes on while everyone else had suites and dress clothes. Also, the whirlpool was not hot. At the end of the day, it did nothing for stress and tension.

    Liked the location. Straight across the street from the central train station. The pool was nice and there was a water slide.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little bit hard and the pillows a bit big

    The location was excellent-just across from the central station so access to and from was easy. The room was very nice- the internet connection excellent. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for short break.. Very easy to get to from the airport. Oppposite main station and bus links. Lots of places to eat within a short walk. Pool and leisure facilities a real bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.0
    not a good choice at this price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    terrible wifi, disturbing alot for getting me check out faster despite the fact that I requested late check out and you confirmed it.

    it is clean and central but the internet connection is poor getting DC every half an hour and if you make a late check out via booking,com the property is not responsible for that. they will tell you that you should have made such arrangement directly via their website.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold, couldn't see any form of heating in room. Stayed Mid-February.

    Staff were very friendly and polite. Hotel had good facilities, good location opposite train station. Room looked over back of hotel so heard no traffic noise. Good breakfast and "free" 3day travel pass is a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in the city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style partly outdated (early 80th)

    Location near central station, use of extensive spa area included, piano bar, public transport ticket included, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    All in all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be more friendly and the service at the bar was not good. Also the sauna area at the Spa could be cleaner

    Very good location of the hotel, close to all the main attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing and convenient stay in the middle of beautiful Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only item that did not meet my expectations was the worn out robe I received at the pool.

    My stay at Europaischer Hof was excellent. I was greeted by a friendly staff and my room was quite comfortable and very quiet at night. I had a wonderful massage during my stay and I highly recommend getting a treatment during your stay. The breakfast selections were outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    a charming hotel opposite hauptbanhof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    right in front of the central station. an old fashioned hotel with modern facilities. rooms clean & comfortable. good breakfast served. Also the 3 day travel pass is a bonus to commute in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel. Can't say enough good things about this. Breakfast is fantastic, nice staff, cosy rooms, great wellness area with everything you need. Hotel is close to everything and if you need to go somewhere you get tickets so that you can ride the bus for free. Love this place and I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, convenient and nice location, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hard to regulate the temperature in the room. The windows are big, but there were people talking loudly (at the roof?) in the night. So it was the choice between a too warm room or noise. Not good for the quality of sleep. An AC unit would help.

    Good hotel, convenient and nice location, nice room. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: