Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior 4 stars

Schützenstraße 11, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80335 Munich, Germany

#42 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The original room that we booked did not have A/C so we needed to upgrade due to the heat. Also around the front of the hotel in the afternoon and evening there are a few drunks hanging around which can make you feel uncomfortable.

    Nice hotel and well presented. Once we had upgraded the room it was much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and Nice staffs The hotel is newly renovated , location is superb you can go to the center easily and also just cross the road to go to the main train station. Best of the best, the staff is very helpful . He helped us to book anything for the trip Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near of the hotel is Plenty of Drunk people and they are using the area as WC

    Near of the Main Train station, so do not need to walk long distances to get the right Metro or Tram, is in Front of Karsdat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small lip from the bathroom to the bedroom caused us some pain and is a trip hazard and you could hear the next bedroom. Also the street noise in the morning can start early on a week day.

    The location is good and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud construction works on Monday - not the hotel's fault though, it was the neighboring store..

    Very classy hotel, good location. At first we received an average room - the size was ok, but the amenities were a little dated. Most of all, the air conditioning did not really work. They upgraded us to a very modern room which was excellent altogether.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Alpine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback to this hotel is that it is close to the train station. That may be a plus for some. Very little noise from the train could be heard in the room,but there were always a few drunks hanging out drinking near the station.

    Loved the staff, they were so willing to help. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finish your travel payed top price for nice hotel, and you can’t even make yourself a brew you have to PAY for one for go hunting for it

    Room was nice but there were no coffee or tea in room, had to ask for a kettle and then pay for a brew and after that go hunting for teabags milk not what you expected when you have just come off a flight and payed top prices to stay also we had to pay an extra 20 just to park the car which we didn’t know about till we got there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in first room although it had the most character with traditional bavarian wood carvings and we would have been happy to stay in it.

    Staff were great. Josep very helpful when we changed rooms. We expected to drop off the bags as we arrived early but were allowed to check in immediately. Upgraded to new room as our first room was in unrenovated section and was very hot without air con during mini heat wave. Breakfast worth the additional cost and very good selection available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible beds, poor breakfast for the money you have to pay extra, not the best area considering security lots of bums outside hotel. We found bed bugs in the room that the hotell said was not in the room, but to of us was bitten and had to visit the hospital while in Munich. Also lacking a gym in a hotel that is suppose to be 4 stars.

    Nice friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in my mind. They were helpful and I did enjoy my stayed. Maybe one note: after 8 PM you can see a lot of homeless people out side which is not the hotel responsibility.

    Beds were comfy, Staff always there when you need them. I asked for a late check out and they gave me 2.5 hours extra. Some room have no AC, so make sure when you check in to tell them. Location is great, walking distance from Munich hfp and most of the attraction. comparing the same facilities with other hotel in the area, This one consider the cheapest with great option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guys believe it or not it's almost perfect!

    Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Munich central train station. Great staff, the reception girl told us everything we need for Munich, and even circled many famous restaurants on the map. Kindly upgraded our room and it's awesome! Lovely welcome gifts and high-quality cleanser kits. Everything is ONLY 1 EURO for Mini bar!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is situated in the noisy zone of the tram, tram bell and sirens especially at night. It was hardly to fall asleep if you are not real tired. Also, there is no air conditioner for the first room offered to me.

    Great location, so convenient to walk around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is on side of a busy tram line , 2 nites of rumbling trams, deafening sirens , vehicles engine sound, late nite people making a lot of noises. ; really most restless 2nites in Munich

    friendliness of front staff , helpfullness, comfort of room, location to central traiin station gd & walking distances to visitors attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First we got a room facing to Bayerstrasse. It was very noisy so I asked a room looking for inner courtyard. I was much better from the street noise but the room entrance doors are so thin that you can hear every little noise coming from the aisle, like slamming of the doors, loud talking on the isle from guest passing our door. Plus from both room we can hear everything from the neighboring bathrooms (showers, toilet flush....) that was very disappointing for me in a high class hotel like Excelsior. I am a light sleeper so could not sleep well during our stay.

    The enteriors and the room and the whole hotel was very nice, stylish. Location was very close to innercity. Staff were very polite and helpfull. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff force to say hello to us after i complain, i dont know why they hate Arab ppl .many hotel i stayed they respect us . Iam an owner of company and a girl in reception call cloudia so mean and rude she was shouting at me instead of saying sorry . She dont admit that shes wrong and dont know her job . She only know how to shout iam not her kid . She should go to course how to have manners with ppl . Shes the pic of the hotel . I will never stay in this hotel again respect is most imp . I came with my money not for free to get this bad treatment . Let yousab , old man in night shift and the cleaner manager give lesson to them . One person can ruin ur well-known as a big hotel like you . After first visit they were very rude and i come back only coz i love the location . I come back i saw a change and they were welcoming i got shocked but it didnt last , when some1 is acting he cant hide hes feeling . If u like to sleep in dark room then this room not good as the black out not thin and mot hidding the sun the most thing i hate in the room .

    Location , staff call yousab and the old man in night shift was soo nice . Cleaner manager after i complain , everyday he came and be sure to clean my room . He deserve to appreciate him .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the hotel was amazing I was not aware of the 20% charge u have to pay on arrival in case you use mini bar or have breakfast...this was refunded but was not aware

    Beds are incrediblely comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were so soft! The staff went above and beyond to answer questions and they were incredibly welcoming. The location was fabulous—a close walk to Munich Old Town and great restaurants. We loved the coffee shop right across the street too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    vinakotek restaurant..... very expensive, very small and a lot of people per m2... cant to talk normal ..food not excelent in comparation with the price..... I'm sorry but I dont liked....

    reception people , always ready for to help......at any time.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the bar had been open, but seems to be seasonal only!

    Extremely warm, welcoming and attentive staff, clean room with excellent amenities, great location. A very comfortable place to stay for a solo traveller!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe 22 EUR is a little bit steep for breakfast, but it was really good though.

    Excellent service minded and friendly staff. Professional service at breakfast. Clean and spacious rooms. Surprisingly good sound proofing, given that there's quite a bit of activity outside the hotel. Will come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, professional and helpful staff Some of the rooms are fresh after renovation, made very comfortable and nicely Beds and pillows in new rooms are excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the bedroom - onto the wall of the next door building.

    We were in a top floor room 508. Great room that has clearly had a recent refurb. Absolutely no faults here. Also there was a small entrance hall including the wardrobe. The further door into the bedroom made the room even more private. The bathroom was all sharp with new tiles and shower. I would suggest anyone wishing to book checks that their room has been modernised. The only issue we had was the 'view' was looking out onto next doors wall which wasn't particularly attractive, but the hotel can't help that. The general appearance of the hotel is fine if a little hard and echoey and not an overly attractive colour in the corridors. Next to the hotel through an adjoining door is the restaurant where we had a few drinks and a lovely creme brûlée after a meal out elsewhere. The restaurant is inviting and worth a visit. Overall we would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a real gem, it is a 2 minute walk from the station and very close to the main city centre with all the shops and sights within walking distance. The staff were brilliant and the hotel throughout was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Alpine
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We were able to check in early and received an upgraded room, which was wonderful. The hotel stored our luggage while we travelled to Rothenburg for 2 nights. Their restaurant was very busy but we were able to eat in the lounge area and the food for fantastic. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The problem is, that their connected Bistro/Restaurant , it is always booked out, you can hardly get a table in the evening. It would be better PR for the Hotel, if they would give priority in the booking for a table to their hotel-guests. Coming back to the hotel after along day when you are on business there in Munich, and then been told, we have no table - we felt that a bit off-putting. You have to try somewhere else to eat.

    We stayed there a year ago, and will come back next year. The Hotel is very well located close to all amenities . The reception is very friendly and welcoming . The breakfast is excellent and the service and attention as well. Our room was large and all what you need- was there. We would recommend the Hotel to everybody who wants to explore Munich or is there for business.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy from trams. But didn’t bother me so much as my partner. Will not stop us staying again.

    Good location and great wine bar. Staff were excellent, polite, courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few facilities. Very small room. Staff knocked on door very early to clean room- they woke us up. That is not right, they should let us sleep

    central and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much I noticed.

    As usual, the front staff and lobby staff are very friendly, noticing need of customers. Room was clean and can make it nice and warm while out side was minus 2.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the room, dinner, breakfast ate out and had breakfast across the road in a coffee shop much better value for money

    Great location easy for trains to the airport. Very convenient for central train station and great location walking around town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Two suggestions: a little wider choice of warm bites would enhance much the quality of the (already expensive!) breakfast. Also, a coffee/tea maker in the room would please any traveler in a rainy / snowy afternoon.

    Despite the early arrival, we have got a spacious room with separate dressing room on a high floor, as requested. Large comfortable bed with soft pillows which my wife enjoyed much (I did not but doesn't matter!). Very good and diverse breakfast. Great location with quick access to public transportation (superb: tickets available at front desk!) and also at walking distance to the Old Town (Alt Stadt). Very kind young and competent staff. Vinotek restaurant excellent too with good choice of local and international wines and tasty meals (even the small ones).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, but still comfortable.

    Newly renovated rooms, large updated bathroom with luxury toiletries, robes and slippers. Located on a pedestrian only street that is only a few steps from the train station but away from the noise and congestion. Hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Old Town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I forgot to not choose a room in front of the main street and the noisy of the city train was very bad for all the night long; the pillow was a tragedy and there was no alternative; the room temperature was not good, especially in the toilet, and it was not possible to adjust it even calling the staff; the breakfast cost was too expensive (I knew it) and I was forced to go out; the gim is available but in another hotel at the end of the street

    this is the third time I stay in this hotel for my job. The hotel is in a perfect position, in front of the subway, walking distance to Marienplatz. Staff is very prepared, gently and operative. Room was comfortable and cleaned. I will continue to use it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location is perfect. We also enjoyed the interior and decoration of the hotel. We did appreciate the items in the minibar available for Euro 1 and when we departed the staff offered us bottled mineral water!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was great but I have to tell that the human relations department of booking.com is a disgrace. I contacted them for a job interview, they answered that I am not qualified for the job which is a blatant lie, and after you cannot even contact the hr department. This is barbarism at its best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent. They were very friendly and most helpful with everything we asked of them. The facilities in the room, including the bathroom worked perfectly. The shower pressure was good and water was hot. Best of all, everything in the minibar was only 1 Euro per item. For once we did not feel ripped off every time we consumed something from the minibar. Well done Excelsior management and staff. Highly recommend this hotel for individuals and families.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As typical for old buildings in Germany, the non-smoking room had a slight smell of smoke which made breathing a bit uncomfortable.

    Excellent location right opposite of the Hauptbahnhof. Super friendly service, early check-in and late check-out were no problem and I got a free upgrade to a bigger room. Cosy room in an old-fashioned style, no noise during night time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Very comfortable and smart room. Great bathroom with an excellent array of toiletries. The staff very friendly and helpful. Wonderful bar. Location excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly, there is nothing negative to say about this property. Book with confidence.

    What a beautiful hotel! We booked 2 rooms; both were very spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel/rooms/bathroom were all very well maintained. Photos on the website are true to reality. Breakfast was very good, as was the restaurant on the main level. Staff are well trained, helpful and friendly - English is not a problem at all. The location to the main train station couldn't be better with an underground passage just steps from the front door of the hotel. There is a grocery store, department store and coffee shop right outside the door (it is a pedestrian only street so nice and quiet). If we are ever in Munich again I would look forward to staying at the Excelsior.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a few steps from the main train station and a short walk to Marienplatz! Excellent location! My room was excellent and the staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was exceptional and the hotel bar experience was one of the highlights of my stay! Overall an amazing hotel to stay at in Munich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Spacious rooms. Perfect cleaning. We attended the New Year's celebration in the hotel's restaurant, which was absolutely fabulous, with food and wine to a high standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall everything went well, but there was nothing WOW about the property. Our room was a little small (we did get the cheapest room) and the carpet was spotty from stains. Just nothing to really set it apart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is incredible that in a 4 star hotel in the week between Christmas and New Year the hotel bar is closed for winter holidays and there is no where to hang out or have a drink when it is cold and snowing outside. Also restaurant is very small and always fully booked.

    The hotel is spotless clean and in a very good location. Staff are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Rooms were gorgeous and spacious. The hotel was in an excellent location, within close walking distance to all the major attractions. Having Munich hbf (central station) so close was a plus as well. The Christmas decorations were charming and made the hotel even more magical. The staff were kind and helpful. The buffet breakfast at a cost of 22 euro per person was worth the price, we were full all day from it. Lastly, everything in the minibar is only 1 euro!! The first hotel I’ve ever stayed with such reasonable prices! We will definitely return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small but as we only used it as a base - it did not impact on our stay. It was very quiet.

    The bed was extremely comfy, both mattress and bed linen. The breakfast was good and the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK.

    We booked a standard room as only staying one night. Bed was very comfortable and nice size room with good bathroom facilities. Lovely buffet breakfast available for extra cost but would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little uncomfortable but I didn’t request an alternative, so not the hotels fault. Breakfast delicious but a little expensive.

    Large well appointed rooms, comfortable. Excellent location. Helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we checked in we were told we had a room with one bed, when we had actually booked two singles. Then we got to our room and it did in fact have two beds. It was confusing.

    The location was great and it felt very homely and warm. Our room was big and the bathroom was beautiful. The €1 euro minibar was a surprise and a treat. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is extremely noisy at night if facing on to the street front. Music, people & trams all through the night!

    Staff were very nice, excellent customer service. Rooms & facilities were also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful authentic German ,decor just renovated,beautiful Xmas decorations made our stay even more special and the staff were so friendly and helpful....Bonus...older part of Munich,beautiful upmarket shops great location for shopping and very close to amazing Xmas Markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is expensive, but there are plenty of places outside of the hotel to eat for less expense.

    Hotel is located ideally in the old city, right in the middle of the Christmas markets. Staff were friendly and professional, meeting all of our needs eagerly. Room was spacious and comfortable, very clean. Nice view. We have stayed here several times and intend to do so again. It is expensive, however, so plan accordingly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a double edged sword. Great for centre of Munich and next to train station, but very noisy during the night because of train / traffic noise.

    Everything about the hotel is great - cleanliness, room size, location to centre of town, ease to reach, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable, and had a lot of closet space. There was a nice mini bar. The bathroom was big and had great amenities - soaps, shampoo, etc, and bathrobes. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is across the street from the train station and a huge department store called Karstadt where the hop on/hop off buses come by. The staff were very friendly and kind. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, if a little dear, nice bathroom.

    Lovely hotel, excellent staff on reception and Josep the porter/concierge was really helpful, we had a suite which was French style Louie XIV, it had some dirty marks on the carpet that needed attention.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, for the price we paid it was excellent value for money.

    Staff lovely, very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. Our room was great, interesting view out onto the street. Excellent location really close to Munich Central station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Alpine
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nothing!

    Awesome hotel in a very central location! Definitely will stay here again in Munich! + recently renovated rooms + with good soundproof in the rooms + we had separate toilet and bath (with bathtub!) + lots of towels in the room + any item in minibar just for 1 EUR + they offered us bottled water at the checkout for free + great audio-system for apple in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask for bathrobes, when you book an Alpine suite at $1,000 USD for two nights, this should be standard.

    The property is located in an area that was very difficult to locate. Once we did, we were glad there was valet parking. All of the streets were torn up and because it was located by the trains, noisy at best. If yo want to experience the shopping, by all means do book here. The on site restaurant was crowded and minimal seating is available. The food however, made up for the crowded conditions!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our hall, the noise from the streets could be loud. The staff kindly offered to change our rooms (our group had three), but we had already settled in by the time the noise became a factor, and we stayed put.

    Property was beautiful (even the rooms that haven’t yet been renovated) and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Food in the bar restaurant was the best on our nine-day trip to Munich, Salzburg, and Vienna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location just walking distance from the train station and in front of a really good department store. Hotel has been renovated since we were last there and it is fantastic. Room was beautiful and very comfortable. Bathroom were lovely. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovations were underway, so things aren't quite finished, so bear with them.

    The location is excellent and the staff at Hotel Excelsior are some of the friendliest and most helpful we've ever experienced in many years of travelling worldwide.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Nice facility

    Lovely hotel and good location. Restaurant and bar closed on the day we stayed. Used room service and it was good. Nice size rooms and great bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work going on both inside and outside the hotel. The noise outside started at 7.00 a.m. so a lie in was impossible.

    staff were very friendly. Quite close to old town area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy - had a room (429) which faced onto Bayernstrausse - there was also a draft from the window. Maybe the double glazing needs to be investigated.

    Location was ideal for both the railway station and all the Munich sites. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction at the front door was disruptive..... spoiled the experience of walking into lobby

    Desk staff super helpful in every way. enjoyed the complimentary cold water and fruit in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn't realised prior to our holiday that so much of Germany does not have air-conditioning.

    The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is good under normal circumstences, however it was under renovations and extremely noisy. they were clever enough to transfer us to a good hotel without extra charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but have fans. Building still being renovated

    Lovely boutique style accommodation with newly renovated rooms. Very comfortable rooms. Helpful friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast and service to match. Would stay again. Close to station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't have any complaint: everything was just great!

    My stay at Hotel Excelsior was just great: nice hotel, good position and staff extremely kind and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighboring building was under construction and often times they would work late into the night, which created lots of noise disturbances. The hotel did try to help with this after we complained one evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work in the bedroom. Was very hot there first night. Had to get pedestal fans for the room!!! Didn't like the early start that the construction workers started. 6.30am!!!! Every morning. Not impressed with that

    Beds were extremely comfortable... Stayed in a lovely room. Bathroom was beautiful. Enjoyed the breakfast even though a little pricey per person. The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on two separate nights (en route to and returning from Venice via train). The first night we had a fabulous room. The return journey we were given a less impressive room (for the same price). Both rooms were good, but the first was much more spacious. The staff were very helpful. Excellent location if travelling by train and amazingly quiet considering it is so centrally located. The restaurant was fully booked on arrival, but lots of places to eat nearby.(We forgot to pre-book.)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was poor to the extent I couldn't use it. Rehabilitation work was going on which was a little bit disturbing. The carpet was stinky.

    Location: near the train station, within a few minutes walking to the main landmarks such as Marinplatz. There are shops all around the place ( supermarkets, cafés ..etc. Staff: very kind and helpful Décor and cleanness: clean and the decoration is fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only warning is this the street is quite noisy at times and even with the window closed we could hear street cars and (louder) conversations very late into the night.

    The room itself was amazing. We were graciously upgraded to a suite. The staff are the most professional and friendly that I encountered the entire 2 1/2 weeks I traveled.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member upon check in was the rudest I have ever encountered. The was a small issue with the booking and she accused us of lying when we explained we had called the hotel previously to rectify the issue. Not worth the money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Currently there is a renovation/construction in the hotel. The staff deals with that very effectively - my room was upgraded and I was not bothered by the renovation process (except minor things) but I would have liked to be informed about renovation going on before arrival

    The hotel has one of the best locations in Munich. The staff is very friendly, helpful and addresses all the questions/concerns professionally. The breakfast in the hotel is great and there a nice restaurant where you can have dinner Also the bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was undergoing remodeling...EXTENSIVE REMODELING. We were one of only 9 rooms occupied. The daytime noise is horrible. Then upon check in we were informed there was no heat! 30 degrees F and no heat!

    Great location with a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: