Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf

Kaiserstrasse 20, Pempelfort, 40479 Düsseldorf, Germany

#63 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1291 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General impression like I am watching you not to steal anything! Tv had a lable of anti theft, welcoming water had 4 euro price on it. Postcard written and no one replaced it. Ugly bathroom and highly uncomfortable. Every bath soap was capsulated in the wall as against taking home with you! Colours depressive and hated it. Never come back even for low rates!

    Only the chairs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice standard room - nothing fancy but a great location. You walk through hofgarten and are in the old historic town. Right around the corner Nordstraße offers nice shops and hipp restaurants and coffee places. Although the location does't have a parking lot - there is a parking garage across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is about a 10 minute walk from the main town centre which is full of bars and places to eat. Staff were fantastic and very helpful. Nice bakery just across the road for a bite to eat if you don't make breakfast within the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in bathroom No kettle for tea/coffee No clock in rooms Not sure if fridge was working- no indication Safe too small Pillow too flat No offer of assistance for luggage No warm & friendly approach, very few words exchanged(no how are you, how was flight etc as we first arrived & for remaining days until the very late last evening (by a tall,young,cheerful fluent English speaker)

    Bed was extremely comfy as was duvet Temperature of room was brilliant Cleaning extremely high standard Lamps on either side was very thoughtful as was the door separating room to bathroom Hangers in closet brilliant Bathroom modern and spacious with easy sink taps and shower taps

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a great value for money - good location, room was spacious and clean, good internet connection. Staff was nice and friendly, especially Italian lady at the reception desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin bed consists of two seperated single beds and not very comfortable, pillows were not nice also. There was no plug nearer to the bed, all plugs are on the other side. There is no complimentary coffee, tea or water but just haribo jelly :)

    The only good thing for the hotel is its location, just a couple of minutes away from Ubahn and tram. There is a big iron in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The place is TERRIBLY managed and the staff are lazy people. A few examples. On the 1st day I reported the shoe cleaning machine was missing cream. For almost 2 weeks (!) of my stay the machine was never filled with cream. When I asked staff how that was possible, I heard: "Because we have no cream on store" ;) Also when my colleague wanted to have a drink, we heard that unfortunately the ice machine got broken. Like a week later the machine was still broken (I guess they need to bring some specialist from the US to repair it... ;) All the hotel is non-smoking, yet every day in the morning the staircase was full of cigarette smoke. They do have cameras, they do have smoke detectors, but what they don't have is incentive to get to work and do anything about it! There is beer in the bar... bottled. Thank you very much, I will buy in a shop then. I asked the reception staff to post me the invoice via email, and I left even TWO email addresses (just in case). The invoice was promised to reach me in 2 days time. After one week I called them - they promised to send asap. After ten days still nothing. Guess what? They had lost the piece of paper where my email was recorded (!) so they sent it via traditional postage HAHAHA. So if you appreciate the location, plain breakfast food, and cleanness, but at the same time you are not too demanding and don't really care that others also do not care - go and stay there. It is definitely affordable, and - for 2-3 nights - it is bearable. Otherwise, stay away from that place!

    Excellent location (by an underground station, tramway stop, and with lots of shops and restaurants nearby, quite close to the Old Town). Very friendly (however, not too helpful..) staff. Perfectly serviced rooms - they are really diligently cleaned! The rooms are well isolated so it is very quite inside. They are cosy too (yet, all the furniture and most of equipment is like 30-35 years old..). Also one will appreciate the solid heating during cold winter days :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The room seem to be renovated with a very nice big bathroom. Also the room itself is large with comfortable beds. The style is kept old fashioned or cosy, with a special checkered carpet design.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at this very nice hotel on a number of occasions due to its value for money and excellent location. This time, regrettably a couple of the reception staff found it hard to communicate in a manner you would expect. Gave the impression they were doing you a favour. One of the lifts was not working and the corridor drinks were not working on a couple of floors. No computer facilities to print off your flight boarding card.

    Excellent size room with large TV, plenty of storage space and a fridge. Very nice recently renovated bathroom. Unfortunately the shower floor was not angled towards the drain causing water from the shower to drain onto the rest of the the rest of the bathroom floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor of room (i.e. walls) could be doing with a little freshning up but that is nit-picking.

    Location is great, quiet area and only 10-15 mins walk from city centre. Beds were comfy, room and bathroom clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Otel Was full they gave us rooms from next door apertment with 1 bathroom& toilet for 3 rooms. The available hotel rooms was very very small.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy, would not recommend this hotel

    nothing, from the unpleasant greeting by the receptionist to the noise whole night long by the prostitute next door, it was a nightmare

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom amenities could be better. Drinking water should be provided free from the hotel.

    It’s very close with the metro. 1 stop to the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests were a bit loud after hours. The hotel is a bit noisy. Furniture is a bit old-school, but also added to the city charm.

    Hotel was nice, safe area, friendly personnel. Breakfast was good. I found it a good value for my money. Room was clean, comfortable, and the property was within walking distance of the old city and cool stuff to do (fair, German bars, shopping area etc.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place to park the car although on booking we filtered for properties with parking. The room looked oldstyle.

    The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service slow, 13e breakfast expensive for continential. Charged for water in the room, not advised we had to pay presumed it was complementary.

    Clean. Family room nice lay out for 4 friends travelling, bed sheet and towels changed daily. Choc left on each bed from the cleaning staff, nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LED lighting in rooms is a bit cold. There are some smaller alternatives but the main lights are LED. The staff on duty sent me to a supermarket that was closed. I think they should be aware of opening times, a occasional smile would be nice too! When we arrived one lady seemed to be training another in and didn't seem to be in great form.

    Very nice rooms, spacious with good size TVs, lovely bathroom. There was a fridge in our family room too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was terrible. We tried to make an adjustment to our booking two days before and there was absolutely no help from the hotel at all. Do not expect this hotel to help think of solutions for any issues you might encounter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    €478 for two nights during the A+A fair and then charged me €4 for the bottle of water left in my room.

    Very comfortable bed and lovely big high ceiling room. Good shower which is always a bonus. Nice breakfast as well for only €12.90. Great location for the Altstadt. Lovely and quiet especially as the hotel is in such a busy area. I had 2 great nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms quite small, breakfest very average. The scramble eggs were so firm we couldn't takae a bite. need to refresh all the rooms and the common space. Hotel next to the main street but the windows were sound proof.

    As always friendly staff and great location. Just a few steps from the lift which can takes you down to the subway. 10 min walking from the city center and the river. Very close to the airport as well. We have had a big like 65'' TV in the room and a new bathroom. It means they invest the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our company has come to the Excelsior a number of year's now and I am glad to say that after last year's disappointment the service and the facilities are up to a good Excelsior standard again. The staff at reception were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and WiFi was working well. Breakfast is always outstanding and the bar service at night was very efficient. Some rooms could do with a little updating but there is nothing to complain about. There is only street parking available around the hotel and to find a parking space in the evening is a challenge. There is a parking garage over the road which has plenty of space but costs around EUR 19.00 per night which is very expensive. The tramp stop is very close to the hotel with fantastic connections to the Altstadt, exhibition ground and airport. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely be back next year. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a 10min walk to city centre. Rooms were very well kept and clean. hotel was modern and nothing bad except the price of food & drinks however this was in line with the city prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a bit small but ok, but no any space for things you need to put there. Night curtains don't protect the best from sunlight.

    Very nice hotel, my type in short! Great bed, even single is wide enough to be sleep very well. Clean, easy access to metro stop (in front of the hotel), good wifi, friendly staff and quiet allthough it is placed in very busy street. Lights were very good in my room! Staff is absolutely helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really friendly, especially this happy young woman who welcomed us to the hotel. Room was a bit small but pretty, clean and soundproof: we appreciated the thing that there was a communicating door between the bedroom and the entry. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room very hot ,with windows open very noisy in morning from traffic etc ,no T or coffee facilities no UK TV channels !

    Great location for bars and restaurants ,close to trams to city centre ,hotel clean fair size room comfortable bed ,shower etc,friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot and no air-co. After summer this could be an advantage ;-)

    Hotel is easy to find, walking distance from city center. Next to the park and close to Rhein promenade. Spacious room with comfortable beds and spotless bathroom. Baroque-like interiors and very nice lobby. Great breakfast. The TV channels were not available, but I was proposed free breakfast instead.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a room with no TV on first night. Complained and was told that one had to pay extra for TV in some rooms !! Promised me room with TV for second night. Got that but most channels were scrambled. Strange

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My cousin had a trouble breathing inside the room, maybe because he was allergy to the dust of the furniture and bedding.

    Hotel's location is nice, quite close to the subway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs always smelt of tobacco smoke. Not the best pillows I have ever had.

    Breakfast very good with plenty of variety, rooms were large and comfortable, excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was happy with it all

    Lovely big room with good sized comfortable beds, really good bathroom. The room was lovely and quiet, the buffet breakfast was excellent value for money and we were able to get to the old city within a few minutes walk through the park. Our friends also booked rooms with you and were also very satisfied. I would have no problem with recommending the hotel to others and will definitely check for availability if we visit again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service wasn't great. At one time we ran out of toilet paper and telephoned reception to ask for more. Receptionist told us to come get it; asked if it could be brought to room and was told "no" with no explanation. Another time we were lingering at the reception desk trying to work out what attractions were in the vicinity. We asked receptionist for a map, hoping to get some advice and we were handed the map with no supplementary info. We then stood at the reception desk talking amongst ourselves about where we were and making markings on the map with a pen. After quite a long time the receptionist offered to help, but in a manner which suggested it was a chore. Most times at hotels the receptionists are eager to help and make markings on the map showing where the local attractions were. But even in this case when the employee intervened they didn't provide much useful information.

    Pleasant hotel in a good location close by the Old Town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a fridge but there is not coffee or tee machine in the room.

    The room is big enough for all of us. It is clean. the bath is clean. the staff is knowledgeable. Near both metro and tram stations. There is a park which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel, in side the park there is a place for children to play.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no TV at the hotel, at all. I mean there is a TV on a wall but I guess just for decoration,No AC in rooms, so could be quit uncomfortable, no coffe machine or tea kettle, grumpy stuff during night shift. If your room is on the 6th floor the lift goes only to the 5th, and there is no phone on a 6th floor so no wake up calls if you need one. No parking you have to park somewhere nearby and breakfast is 22 euros per person, I think expensive but it is just my opinion.

    Location is great and good breakfast,good quality wi-fi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel said Rooms were soundproof. They were not, we didn't sleep as next door talked until late in The night. It said smoke free but stair case always smelled of smoke. Found hair in the cooked breakfast Member of staff in the afternoon clearly did not like her job, very sullen.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at the top of the building. Excellent space but poorly designed and decorated. Sloping roofs aren't designed for tall people. The room certainly didn't look like the website photos.

    The beds are so comfy. Good location to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking at the hotel. The parking garages in the area charge anywhere for 15-21 euro per day. Street parking seems to be more expensive or limited to residential passes. There also was no Air Conditioning in my room. So I had to sleep with windo open and fan pointing directly on me. If you are staying during summer time this is something to consider.

    Location to Altstadt festivities. Short 10min walk to the river. The room was large for the price and very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Νο blackout curtains, didn't block the light. Bathroom needs renovation, seems too 90's. No parking provided by the hotel.

    Clean and comfortable room. Nice beds. Good free WiFi connection. Good location near to the center of Düsseldorf by foot in 15 min. Available Parking buildings near to the hotel, the nearest in 5 min by foot for 19 euro per day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi on the 6th floor where was my room its really bad. The doors on the 6th floor are really old and dont offer a feeling of security.

    The room was really conmortable and clean. The hotel is in a very good position near the center of the city about 3 min by tram or metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really poor contact with the hotel. I sent two messages via booking.com and two via e-mail. The first one I sent on Apr 21st. No reply. I asked for an invoice almost 4 weeks. Really poor customer service. Not happy. I'm still waiting for an invoice.

    Localization was good and also rooms are clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was located in the attic of the hotel, next to the heating system. It was not an ordinary room. Imagine that usually this hotel has 5 floors and I was hosted on the 6th floor. Even the elevator stops at floor no. 5. In the moment I booked such an uncomfortable room, nobody warned me about it. The room had no phone, which was inconvenient because I had to wake up at 4.30 in the morning to catch the plain so the staff couldn't call me. Hopefully, my alarm worked and also somebody from reception came in person (yet it's not normal not to have a phone).

    The hotel was easy to find and has a very good location. The breakfast is varied and kitchen staff is excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- The apartment was in third floor and did not have an elevator . I did a lot of effort for my bags. 2- The internet connection was very very very slow , almost dead. Probably They have one lan connection for the hotel and the building. 3- It was around 15 minutes or more walking to the end of konigsallee street. 4- The apartment was not clean. 5- The apartment had a small bathroom. 6- The shower had a big step to climb , not suitable for disabilities or old persons.

    1- The staff give me an apartment in another building instead of a room , the apartment was big and had a refrigerator .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed having the facilities for a hot drink in the room.

    The proximity to all other facilities - town, city, river, church. Well located and easy access to trams. I liked the walk through the nearby park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Novum Hotel Düsseldorf is absolutely wonderful! Place of the hotel is super near to everywhere. Just next to one of my favourite area ( Nordstraße) . For me and my family it was fantastic . We are looking forward to stay again . Best regards! Arif Erdem Ocak

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    simtimes you could hear oeople above you in the middle of the night talking. Luckly they stopped soon and i could sleep

    Highly recommended. I have booked a single room and got a wounderfull double one. Really non smoker hotel. On of the best hotels that i have been in in this category.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We made the booking 1 hour before we arrived. When we came, we got a room in the 6 floor, we had to cross a balcony to get into. The was no lift to this floor. The hotel have few rooms in a dark small hallway, like it is not a part of the hotel itself. It was very strange and spooky. Nothing like the other part of the hotel. Hotel staff couldnt or didnt want to change us a room, and refuse to refund us. We left the hotel despite the fact that they charged us for 185 euro (for one night). We couldnt stay there. It is a fraud hotel! At least for who is staying in the 6 floor!!!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in the corridors

    Good spacious room and good insulation from roadworks that were outside Staff very friendly and multi lingual Also good public transport links

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the bathroom would have been cleaned a little more. Other than that, if you like to stay in a clean looking room that hasn't been updated since the 80s, which I do, this is the place.

    I liked the location. It was next to a big park and close to a lot of restaurants. Some good, some bad. For being a pretty touristy town, this hotel seemed to be situated in the local neighborhood,which I prefer. Himmel & Ähd is two blocks away from the hotel and has the most amazing food and good cheap beer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were shouting in the hall or smoking cigarettes without premission! When we wanted something they replay: I'm alone and can't help you so they need more staff!

    The hotel was: clean, near to stores and city! It was clean and cozy! Warm! You had metro 5 min from the hotel and 10 min to the centrum! Simply amazing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second stay in this hotel. The room we had this time - on the 3rd floor - was very dated and shabby, the bathroom was small with green old bath and broken tiles. To check out we waited 25 mins and the reception staff was unfriendly and rude. We won´t definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are not really helpful

    Good location if you need center but little far by walking from train station. Park is near hotel. Comfortable room. Good but not great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest a roofless small square inside the hotel for smoking

    Hello I like the staff they are so friendly and respectful The cleaniness of the Hotel The breakfast was perfect and well arranged The reciptionests were very very kind and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable, room was very clean and quiet, thanks to double windows, friendly service. The hotel is very close to the underground. The Alt Stadt, Kunst Palast Museum and the Rhine river are within walking distance. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit outdated, lights partly quite dim and the wifi didn't work at the time of our stay.

    Location was excellent for our purposes and we slept well. Room was clean and very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very warm needed to keep window open

    Very large room with comfy bedroom. Breakfast excellent, extremely good value for money. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms would be even better with some simple tea/coffee facilities in them.

    Very comfortable. Friendly, clean and a great bar area for winding down. Spotless bathrooms and spacious family room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area around hotel is (was) being reconstructed. Dislocation for Japanese community. Elevator has limited capacity. Bathroom was a warp back in time (80's).

    Good room. Clean and spacious. Quiet too. Proximity of U-Bahn.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not that helpful, we paid so much money for standar rooms adn the first night they told us that wifi is broken in the whole Dusseldorf because rusians attacked :o . Of course we manage to connect to every place around dusseldorf so that was completely @£$%& !!! Also the reception charged one whisky more to our group because they were confused with the room numbers (one glass was double charged) and they refused to pay it back to us.

    The bed was really good, clean bathroom, one stop from the old town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We wish you would have offered us bed and breakfast - it was 99 euros for our 5 night stay. A tea tray in the room would have been nice.

    Comfortable Bed and good bathroom. Warm and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for an iron which was very old and very low quality. I couldn't iron the clothes using it. There was no iron service in the Hotel.

    Great location. Few minutes to the old town and just 1 minute to the subway station. 20 minutes directly by subway to the Messe Dusseldorf. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old and small room. Poor facilities. No air conditioner - but was given a small fan. No customer service. Asked for a kettle, had to come downstairs and get one from the receptionist myself. Old elevator. Grumpy staff.

    Location is good. Close to the subway (3 min walk)- only one stop to the city center where everything is.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old fashion rooms and furniture ,room keys were headache ,no air conditioner small lift only for 2 person,LADY at the reception is very cringe ,high pitched voice if you LOSE the key they will CHARGE 50 euros for one key that infact in 50euros all the hotels keys could be made tip of the day=DO NOT leave your key in your door other wise hotel will take it and will charge you even, though they wont show you the cctv footage

    cant really think of anything good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly. Housekeeping were external employees and reception had no control over their performance, and that is exactly what reception told me. No one to help with luggage. No parking. No laundry. No room service, only a pizza menu for delivery and they do not speak english, so I had to ask help from reception,.and receptionist answered that he cannot order food for me cz he's busy!!

    Bed was comfortable. Coffee was tasty. Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. Ventilation was poor. Temperature in room was over 30degrees.

    Very polite and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Perfect location for access to the Messe for Caravan Salon. Very clean an lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy street with lots of traffic and tram.

    Fine room, with a modern bathroom. Spacious room. Nice hall and overall look. Great value for the money! Location is good — 10-15 minutes on foot from old city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. it wasn't excessively hot and a fan was provided, however it was quite noisy and wouldn't be that effective if it were hotter.

    We booked a triple room which was very big. Our daughter was delighted to have a bed of her own rather than a sofa bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fire exit way with an electronic door and a bottom out of the door which everybody can open it, it was my first time to see such system. They should inform the guest about this before giving him the room. And the hotel can make it a single room with separate exit way.

    Frindly staff, Good location and proper price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were staying was cozy and old. Receptionists are great, but they're in charge of check in/ check out and the bar at the same time, which is slowing down everything in the lobby. There's just a fan in the room, so in the summer it could be hot.

    Hotel placement is great. It's nearby U-station, so it will take about 5-20 minutes to get anywhere in Dusseldorf. Also, the Altstadt is in 10 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked have spent more time there but there's always another day More of a personal basis hotel

    Went for business trip Servive was excelente and staff very helpful dident have breakfast as I was meeting other groups in other location but judging the comfort and quality of service and food it was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 of 3 workers at the lobby were kind of impolite, nut one of 3 (a woman) was extra nice. The is no iron in the room, only some weird ironing board, which doesn't work well.

    Clean, nice, cheap, great location, free computers with printers, lot of space for work on the first floor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too laud...defected Windows..couldn't sleep well because of much noise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not enough for 3 person...and the TV is not working without sending people to fix it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude and unhelpful staff member on the night shift

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the city, the shopping and the hotel being quute near and yet very calm and secure.

    The location and the size of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is worth the money, and the renovated bathroom is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: