Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Excelsior Hotel Ernst am Dom This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Domplatz / Trankgasse 1-5, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#2 of 231 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 800 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    I would stay in the Excelsior again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Piano room off the lobby, the restaurant, the grand staircase and spacious hallways, quick elevators, perfect location across from the cathedral, and a breakfast buffet to please all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Very beautiful hotel situated in on of the historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very beautiful hotel situated in on of the historical buildings. Exellently located. All of the staff was extremely friendly, proffesional and effective. Made me feel really welcomed. Breakfast was very good with nice variety of options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a sweet with nice view but the windows where locked which we didn't like.

    Everything especially the staff and the very king receptionist Elizabeth who guided us about the most important attractions in Koln.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Everything was nice they managed our rooms I would like to...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice they managed our rooms I would like to thanks for Mr. Tim for help us i appreciate to him and all the stuff in the hotel they have a good communication

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Money well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traveling with a child age 6 and this hotel went beyond expectations in ensuirng the chiild had the same outstanding service as the adults. The room had a robe, slippers and welocme package with age appropriate items. The resturant onsite was outstanding and our head waiter paid special attention to the child in our party but all the chidren in the resturant - they were given age appropriate activities to entertain them while waiting for the food bit also took them into the kitchen to make thier dessert but also to order the dessert for the rest of thier party based on what they knew each like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say anything negative really.

    Everything was really nice. Room, location, breakfast, bathroom, cleanliness.. Something that was extra special was that our dog was taken care off like it was their own. Definitely an advisable hotel if you want to bring your 4-legged friend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    best location down town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    best location down town next to colon central station and main attractions and shopping street everywhere is reachable by walking spacious rooms free mini bar nice shower helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It certainly comes with a price to stay here compared to most other hotels in town. I do not have any major complaints, but let me mention a few minor things which could make this hotel even better. A bathtub in addition to the shower would have made the room even better for those people who like it, also given the price of the room. Air conditioning in the hallways of my floor (one of the higher ones) and in the elevators was not at the same level as the one in my room, while it certainly was not bad it was clearly a bit warmer there (might not even be noticeable during cooler seasons though). There was a welcome card in my room, which is a nice gesture, but it had a different guest’s name on it. Valet parking brought out my car fairly early on my day of departure, which caused it to heat up quite a bit in the sun on this hot summer day, so would have been better to do so at an agreed upon (later) time. At some point the cleaning staff must have turned off the main switch in my room’s hallway, but for some reason this only prevents the bathroom lights from being turned on, while you can still turn on others, was a bit confusing but easily solved by calling the reception. Besides the main lighting control panel there are also the same control panels in the drawers of your nightstand, very nice but easy to overlook (I only noticed them just before I left).

    Excellent location, right in the city centre. Hard to find a better spot in Cologne. Stayed in a new ‘Grand Superior Double Room’ which was spacious and had perfect air conditioning: nice and cool in my room while it was around 30 degrees Celsius in the city, so it made for a great retreat from the summer heat. Room was very clean (cleaning staff came by more than once a day). Easy to use lighting controls via a single panel, so no need to look around the room to find all the switches when you want to go to bed. Free drinks in the minibar (no snacks though, but that’s probably for the better). Room was very nicely furnished and came with a great bed (with more pillows than you can ever need). There was a tablet on the desk in the room with which you supposedly can order all kinds of services/find information on it, but I did not use it. Excellent bathroom, albeit of a slightly smaller size, with a really nice rain shower and defogged area in the mirror. Valet parking came at a reasonable price. Excellent breakfast buffet with great service. Overall very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely traditional hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, I was surprised that the decor in the bedroom itself was a little tired. But it was also very charming.

    Gorgeous old style hotel with lovely traditional features: wood and marble, generous bathrooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The facilities were OK.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was hot sunny day. The first room they provided us didn't have the air condition, but just "fans". We were explained that the air condition system was not installed at some of their rooms. But we could not accept the hot room and asked them to provide the alternative room.

    The facilities were OK. The room was quite. Every staff was gentle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING.

    Everything was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was big and comfortable with great WiFi. Everything is clean and the location is perfect. Can't wait to get back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.0
    Overall, the stay was lovely. There were some rough patches but, I’d stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ended up having several issues with my room. While the staff promptly came to fix what they could, it really took away from the relaxing ambience I was hoping to achieve. Everything could not be remedied. So, I felt like it was not all that I’d hoped it would be.

    The hotel is absolutely stunning! The location is perfect with the best of Cologne literally right outside the front door of the hotel. I loved the breakfast, the piano bar, and the service. The staff was friendly, professional, and responsive. I really thought it was a great experience overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grandeur and elegance of the past revitalised.Very elegant stay with impeccable attention to detail.Most friendly and attentive staff with professional expertise .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Business Trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet room, the hotel has the best location in Cologne as it's in front of the Cathedral and 1 min walk to the train station. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Just too good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The hitel has a vintage opulence thst is charming right in the city center.we booked two rooms. Both rooms were really nice. We unexpectedly got upgraded to a suite which was amazing.the staff were very helpful and solution oriented. They even hsd a bed,towel, bowls and a bag of treats for our doggy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Well known Hotel at a good location with a very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rates are quite expensive, but I suppose you get what you pay for.

    The breakfast spread was exceptionally good with lots of choices. Not sure if this is a German thing, but they had honeycombs hung for guests to carve out themselves. This is a very well known hotel in the area, and the location is very central with easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Real five star with the service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon heating was not sufficient and noisy but staff immediately solved the issue by adding a portable heater without noise and great heating.

    Perfect staff, perfect illumination in the room, perfect desk, nothing to complain. Fast and delicious room service, very good breakfast with eggs benedict cooked to the taste of gourmet. Classic hotel with old style but modern equipment, modern communication, pad in the room to arrange facilities and even order food. Concierge was very helpful. Not an issue not to have fitness or spa or business center in the, you do not look for them in Cologne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Luxurious with warmth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    This is a luxury hotel par excellence. The service is beyond compare. Formal, extremely efficient but always friendly. My hotel of choice in Cologne. Wonderful location, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Attention to detail at it best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail at it best! A little pouch with organic toiletry for the children, as well as a little teddy bear in the baby’s cot and a rubber duck for the bath. So very thoughtful! They also organised warm milk / chocolate for the children in the evening. These little gestures made the stay even more memorable. Everything was impeccable, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful. You’re in for a treat if you plan to stay there. I can only earmly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Central but over priced for what it now is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was already expensive and then an additional €34 for breakfast - too expensive Very poor wi-fi in the room - constantly having to re-log in if you put laptop to sleep or phone not in constant use No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Many rooms are just inwards facing a concrete roof Beds are comfortable but very low to the ground. Bascially the height of two regular mattresses in total. They do say the mini bar is free which is ok if you drink beer - otherwise no benefit

    Luciano - the Italian door man was very kind, helpful and interesting. Always ready to help with bags and organise a taxi with a smile. Very central Big rooms and nice decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    It doesn’t get any better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had to leave! I wanted to stay another week just for the bed alone!

    Perfect stay in a ideal location.... The hotel room was so comfortable, bed tv, shower , heated floors in bath, food , service. There is nothing bad to say. It was a dream.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Everything was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Everything was just perfect! Staff took care of us big time.. it was just the perfect place to go back to after strolling through the Christmas markets :) Super comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    The happy birthday cake Thought and Patrick the head waiter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated a coffee machine / coffee in the room as an extra touch which is usually standard

    The happy birthday cake Thought and Patrick the head waiter from your restaurant was just excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Perfect luxurious family friendly stay in central Koln for the christmas markets!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was 10, but breakfast was nice but not memorable.

    Check in was quick and easy. Concierge staff were super helpful recommending restaurants and the best christmas markets. extra attention for the little ones (both under 2)! room was beautiful and perect for 4 people. so close to the christmas markets made it super easy for Kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, classy and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is quite expensive.

    Suite was large, comfortable, clean and overlooking the Cathedral. Hotel is classy, but staff is warm and friendly. We had a great time!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner and I were celebrating our one year anniversary so I decided to book the Excelsior Hotel Ernst am Dom as I have wanted to for many years. My high expectations were met and exceeded; lovely staff, a beautiful and spotless room (with free mini bar!) and such an amazing location! We even had a limited view of the Cathedral without paying extra! I would love to go again, and would definitely recommend this amazing place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel which goes the extra mile for children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It couldn't have been better

    We are a family with a four-year-old son. We like a bit of luxury from time to time but are always worried how our son will behave and whether it will really be fun enough for him. But when this hotel says that it is family friendly they really go the extra mile. From giving him his own check-in form, to all the many special little treats he got throughout our stay, he was really made to feel welcome. All without for a minute taking away from the sheer luxury of this fabulous hotel. The location couldn’t be better, right opposite the main attraction of the city (The Dom) and in amongst all the action. Just one example of exceeding expectations; although parking may be costly in the city centre, seeing our struggles with our son and the luggage that comes with him the man on the door made every effort to keep our car out front of the hotel (and ‘tis no Ferrari) for the majority of our stay so we could always access our stuff and saving us the cost of one night’s parking. Thank you all for a wonderful stay. We hope to be back one day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the Piano Bar was unfortunately a bit bland.

    Very lovely and comfortable hotel. All staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is the best so far of any hotel I have stayed at. There is a huge variety and superb quality, e.g. the scrambled eggs at the buffet are moist rather than the usual dry fare. There is also the option of dishes prepared to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A fabulous experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no hot water on first night but this was quickly remedied.

    The staff seemed to really care without putting on a show. It was five star luxury but in a relaxed friendly way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious classic hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful to have a few usp ports by the bedside.

    The hotel is 2 mins away from the train station. Faces the catherdral, it's a classic luxurious hotel that is well woth staying in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in Cologne could not be more perfect. The welcome and assistance of the staff was excellent. Very professional creating a welcoming, calm and relaxing atmosphere with a personal touch. Cologne around the Dom and Station is very busy but once inside the hotel they could be worlds away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    A great hotel at the heart of Cologne, overlooking the Dom and its square. Great eating in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion the bathroom had a very bad smell coming from the shower. Staff tried to fix it but it did not go away. Staff were very apologetic and offered us free membership of the exclusive hotel club for one year. These things can happen in the best of houses, never mind hotels.

    A very impressive hotel with great staff and comfort. Breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Attentive and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat troubled that other guests seemed to have issues with their bills; however, we did not

    Attentive and helpful staff. Bath was large with plenty of counter space,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Simply the best hotel in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Absolutely top notch. The best and most personal service. This is a proper five star hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent room with uninterrupted view over The Dom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Amazing objects but not people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the night of last saturday (sunday morning 3:30 am) the guy working at the reception was so rude and boorish when I asked him if the bar was open. Also another old man employer working near the stairs found me lost searching for the exit in the afternoon treated me as a thief and shouted that the exit is near the coil.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Donna Romans and Haxenhaus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is pricey but worth it. I try to splurge on one hotel during our travels.

    Close to the train station and the Dom. Close walk to Rhine and old town as well as pedestrian shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect in every way!

    I booked a room for my daughter and her new husband for Saturday 22nd April. The original wedding venue had to be changed from the Rathaus in Koln to the Rathaus in Porz due to the demonstrations. After an incredibly stressful 24 hours the Hotel Ernst pulled out all of the stops and upgraded my daughter and son in law to a suite! They were both ecstatic and the kindness and help of the staff in the Hotel Ernst was just fantastic. I've heard their visit was "faultless" the venue "absolutely amazing" and the staff and venue were outstanding. (Apparently the breakfast was "superb" too!) Thank you to the staff for providing an excellent end to an excellent day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Old-fashioned luxury short walk to city centre and train
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with getting wifi on iPad and apple laptop though staff were very helpful in arranging alternatives.

    Large and impressive shower and bathroom. Luxurious bed with feather quilt and pillows.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Brief but most enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free parking facility would have been good but good accessible parking available just across road.

    comfortable beds. nice clean and attractive room with little external noise. Public areas very attractive. staff helpful. good location. breakfast expensive but good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    The room was vry comfortable with extra cleanings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was vry comfortable with extra cleanings and complimentary bites and refreshment activities. The staff were very friendly in compare the Holton hotel where staff were very careless. The friendly environment gives a good image of Cologne hospitality and culture that is very important. I have travelled a lot and many people especially those from Africa and Asia obtain impression as if European are cold people. Therefore, the friendly treatment of clients is very important what the hotel had. Well done

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Well the price was quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well the price was quite expensive...Okay, location says it all, however considering breakfast is not included in the and you have to pay more than 30 Euros pp extra, it's definately pricey!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location and definitely 5* accomidation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge male was very rude. Others were ok though. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room but you can order them.

    Location is opposite gothic cathedral, steps from Philarmonie and museums etc. Steps from train station too. Great location. Standard of accommodation was super. Space, quality, comfort were all excellent. Room service was also good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    You must stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too squishy for us but don't let this deter you; the rooms and beds are magnificent.

    This was an over-the-top experience. They spoiled us AND our 8 y.o. daughter. Every hotel can learn much from this staff who were extremely pleasant and helpful in ways you wouldn't imagine. We didn't want to leave! The grounds were so beautiful. We can't express enough how nice the staff was.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Friendly, professional welcome in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired and could do with a facelift. Air-conditioning is obviously very old and filled the room with a funny musty smell when turned on. Paid wifi (€22/day) is terrible - slow and unreliable

    The location, a few steps from the main railway station and opposite the cathedral, couldn't be better. Staff are fantastic, professional and friendly. Excellent breakfast. Asian restaurant in the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower hose was perhaps a little too strong! But only a minor comment

    Excellent service from the check in to check out. Fantastic late check out time. Breakfast was good but with the Xmas markets right outside we didn't need both days with hotel breakfast. The piano bar provided a great atmosphere for an evening night cap away from the hustle. Perfect atmosphere. The room was clean and turn down service was appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    A very beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no swimming pool. The spa is tiny, not really a spa, rather a room with a steam bath and a sauna. No massage service in the hotel, this was a little odd.

    Very beautiful and classy hotel, with excellent service. Amazing restaurants. Excellent location. Very classy interior touches, even the smoking area looked adorable. Rooms are beautiful and very elegant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    The Ernst is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my birthday and from the moment I booked in, until we checked out, everybody made me feel extra special. We love the Ernst and the Staff and the restaurant Hanse Stube! That's why the Ernst is our Special Place and that's why we keep returning year after year!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Top Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were received super friendly and got a nice aperitif on arrival as our room was not ready. The room had an incredible view of the Dome and the service was really great. We are certainly happy to come back here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast let down our stay. The restaurant and staff were a bit stiff & the selection was lacking for a hotel of this calibre.

    The room was large, spacious and very comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.0
    No coffe maker in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffe maker in the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Incredible location and a really lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location and a really lovely room. The staff in particular the concierge were all so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel , Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets are small

    Everything except the blankets

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Well situated .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to get any WiFi in the room! Staff were helpful, but still had no internet!

    Well situated ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noise

    Nice polite staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Very convenient and superb service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    An Oasis for the senses after a busy workin day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, bed, lights & colors (decor), staff, service, breakfast - everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great service, fantastic rooms, the best location in Cologne...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, fantastic rooms, the best location in Cologne tourism

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    friendly staffs and good location. Never think about another stay when you reach Kolon.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was poor

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel and staffs...kids friendly hotel as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everythings was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Facilities

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    This excellent hotel is very well situated and the staff
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don’t like carpets in the bed-room; it‘s not hyginic enough.

    We really liked the breakfast buffet very much😋

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Excellent room, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Excellent room, very friendly and helpful staff. We really felt at home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Well designed old style hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well designed old style hotel. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed in the hotel staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very in your face door man who pushed very hard to get a tip, very off putting

    The room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    location is perfect, in the middle of cologne few minutes walk into centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.0
    *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *****

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful. A 5 stars with no fuss

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    more christmassy

    great service very comfy beds lovely hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Dated facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Hotel ideal location to train station and all christmas markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in room

    Ambience and friendly polite staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel, surely the best of Koln

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: