Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior 3 stars

Hansestr. 3, St Lorenz, 23558 Lübeck, Germany

#18 of 47 hotels in Lübeck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2982 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free tea or coffee available (you can order tea from reception, but at €2 per cup it is way overpriced).

    Very friendly, attentive and efficient staff. Beautiful and spacious rooms with a great bed (only the bathroom is a bit small by comparison). Excellent and copious breakfast, including delicious small breads and kiwi fruit. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, and has ample parking spaces (although the small garage may require a bit of manoeuvring if you have a large car).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room on the top of the building, great view but you can feel the floor is shocking sometimes and it seems there's some machines in downstairs. illumination is a little bit week.

    I like breakfast and staff is friendly. Location is very convenient, just in the opposite of bus station and the room is quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room, corridor, reception area and restaurant were all so clean, there was a strange smell in the corridor. It may be the type of detergent used, but it was a bit too strong and strange to my taste.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, and was close to city center. Very ideal for short stayers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in very late in the evening with 2 sleeping kids. Reception didn’t have english speaking person available, so it was quite an hassle to sort out parking and carrying sleeping kids with luggage to our room. Another issue was the WIFI quality, basically there is no coverage

    Great room, location, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a little friendlier.

    Very comfortable beds (firm but very comfortable pillows and duvets). Staff spoke good English. Great location with only 10 minute walk to city centre!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Moving suitcases, etc. from parking area to room involved dragging suitcases up several sets of stairs.

    Location, location, location. Nice breakfast room with many food options. On-site parking beneath the hotel. Close to major bus and train stations for those traveling without a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No access to gym. No air condition. No kettle or fridge in the room.

    Room was spacious. Very clean. Good for work and rest. Very comfortable bed. Easy to connect WiFi, stable , reliable connection. Big flat TV. Hotel is located close to city center, just in-front of bus station. Good value to money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite expensive, but Lübeck in general seem rather expensive.

    Nice staff, clean room, comfy beds. The parking lot was full, but we could use the underground garage for 8 Euros per night. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was overnight construction on the street outside the property that was not mentioned in the Booking.com profile or my confirmation email. The hotel was apologetic but said they had no other room to move me to, and gave me a small apology gift when I checked out. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very basic for the price - I got a significantly better room in Berlin the night before for much less money.

    Staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was ample and good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard bed, not much soundproofing between rooms, rude young waitress… not my fault I could not understand her language, no need to roll her eyes and flounce off. All the other staff were fine.

    Very nice room staff who helped with the bed softening process, good breakfast, but would have been better if there was a toaster, quiet room where I could open the window. Wifi fine. Very convenient to both buses and trains. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm struggling here.

    It just ticked all the boxes for us. Most surprising was the quietness of the room (even when we had the window open all night) considering how close it was to a busy street and the main station. It was very well located for us. The main city highlights were only a 10 minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am still searching for the things I don't like. When I find them I will inform Booking.com.

    I stayed in this hotel twice and love it. The room I stayed in is big with comfy bed. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of the city and restaurants. It is near bus and train station. An underground parking is nearby if the hotel parking is full. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs as the hotel is made up of 2 or 3 different buildings. There are lifts but not to all levels. Stairs from the entrance of the hotel to the reception area.

    Nice personal hotel, just a few minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof and just a short walk from the city center. Comfortable beds. Spacious rooms (we had a triple one). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower - water temperature issue for both rooms 221 and 222 when running at the same time (from hot to cold to hot to ...). Have mentioned it to the front desk when checking out

    + quality of the service - welcome - availability - customer orientation + cleanliness of the rooms + quiet (though there were significant roadwork going on)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available on site. Only a few hotel parking places. Had to park my car two streets away. This was not made clear at the time of booking. I chose this hotel as it was a good location and had on site parking.

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility of ventilation and heating did not work as described in facility list, especially the ventilation totally did not work for 1.5 days (of total stay of 2 days). We reported reception in the morning however we were not given any feedback if the ventilation was fixed nor when. When we backed hotel in that afternoon we told reception again for this issue, we were told tenichal people would check it but when tenical people could come was unknown, and we did not get any feedback if this could be fixed. Till very late when we asked reception 3rd time, we were told tenichal people could not come and replace of room was a solution. It was very unconvenient for us to move to a new room that late time and we were unhappy with the way of customer service. We believe communication and feedback could be improved .

    Good location, clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky that there was one space left in the parking lot. Otherwise we would have had to find space on the street which would have been almost impossible

    It was was within walking distance of the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was silent and good. Good location and parking outside ok but difficult to get to since the street outside has a lot of traffic. Near to the center of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, it was a bit depressing as we had booked for three days, so we left after one day and stayed two nights at a lovely hotel in Koldingfjord in Denmark.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom.: The door is completely in front of the toilet, so uncomfortable to access it. Room: the room we were given faced the street and the bus station. Not a nice view and noisy from street noise. Car Parking: The parking spaces they had were all full.

    Location: Fairly easy to get to centre/walking. Staff: very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be a bit better. Some rooms were small but they changed it with a bigger one which was very kind of them.

    Very satisfying and good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tricky access to the hotel by car. We where lucky though and got a parking place right outside the entrance and it was free of charge.

    Excellent location within a few minutes walk from the city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal place for a short stay in Lübeck. Easy to find by car and easy access to motorway when leaving, and yet within a few minutes of walking to the central parts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was essentially non-existant unless one was among the first 6 or 7 to arrive. Otherwise parking was across busy street in public, parking garage. Public transportation is available right across the street. Walk to the city center is pretty, but a bit far and across busy streets.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Comfortable, pretty room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor room had ceiling that sloped down for roof angle, reducing headroom somewhat at an exterior wall, but this was a minor issue and easy to accommodate.

    Breakfast selection was extremely diverse, fresh, and of excellent quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and quite crowded.

    Very friendly staff, and a great location right by the train station. Clean rooms and a good breakfast included. Surprisingly quiet at night and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great, great location just a few minuts from the train station and 1 minuts from the bus station. Room was clean and beds were great as well plus excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful to my mother, who needed help getting up/down stairs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second visit to the hotel. At this time, we have experienced an absolute disappointment on all counts. We booked a Triple Room 22 m² for three adults, and got a close Double Room with an extra bed. The windows of the room out on a noisy train station - we could not ventilate the cramped room at night because of the noise. At breakfast we waited constantly cold greasy omelette with cold hard overcooked bacon. And this is only part of the disappointment - I do not want to write about everything. Our visit in Lübeck was marred.

    -

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room,small bathroom,no fresh air,strange smell from the room(like stinky socks),several stairs to reception.

    Location,near bus ZOB and train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not very considerate. Smokers beware that the smoking rooms were not available and the "terrace" is outside in the freezing rain!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at the breakfast was not perfect. No coffee/tea-making facilities in the room. And a little bit small room.

    Bed was comfortable, breakfast was tasty and personal was friendly. Really nice view from window - all seven Lübeck towers!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very late at night, and parking was a challenge.

    Breakfast was good, and the location was great. It is a short walk to the Holsten Gate. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking place not possible to be reserved (but there is a public parking house of Saturn nearby for 10 Euros per day)

    location, breakfast, cleanliness, nice staffs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent and quiet position, very close to the railway station and near to the city center (about 10 minute walk). My room was spacious, clean and quiet. Very rich breakfast (but with not many sweets). The staff is very kind I strongly advice a boat trip to Travemunde (about 2 hours, but you can come back by bus in 30 minutes)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not so good. There were not so much to choose from and there was mold on the fruit.

    Easy to find and close to the railway station. Quite close to the old city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very comfortable family room. Spotlessly clean with new bathroom and good air conditioning. Well located opposite the main railway station and about 1 km from old town centre. Would recommend and would stay again. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi. Slightly difficult to find a parking space, but the Lindenstrasse is free so go there directly.

    Clean and fresh. Very close to the Altstadt. Good German breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very exiting environment, by the railway station, butik not too far to walk to the city center.

    Great that we could use the garage (8 eur), as we came with a full car. Clean and nice hotel, good for a stop-over.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything particularly. We were able to swap from the room allocated which was noisy and cramped. Our welcome was warm, but other staff were generally disinterested.

    Convenient location. Effective air con. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noice in the morning from the traffic below (2nd floor). Possible to wish for a room higher up in the house if you know about it.

    Comfortable stay, clean room, good beds and a good breakfast. Great location next to the railway station and old town. Easy walking to everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A convenient location, the bed was so comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We loved being able to open the windows and let in the cool, fresh air.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is managed by a large unit placed under the window. It performs the task, but not without some noise. Rooms are not spacious, but acceptable.

    Good location for exploring Lübeck, short walking distance to the old city gate. Breakfast buffet assortment good. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was good just outside the old town, close to the gates, close to the railway station. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak WiFi in the room

    In front of railway and bus station, and walking distance to the old town central area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowded breakfast room. Could do better for vegetarians - same spoon for bacon and scrambled egg.

    Everything worked ok. Close to the centre. Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast Excellent location close to the old town and train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff a little stand offish Air con could have been better

    Nice room good breakfast great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, clean large room, welcoming staff, really nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and welcoming staff, good breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right at the bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room smelled of smoke

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent location near to main station and sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and quiet, comfortable room. Very good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent locations only 400 metres from the Holsteiner Tor. Exellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check out

    Comfort and quietness of the room. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tricky parking..its in their basement. can be tricky for big cars.

    very central very cozy nice breakfast plus an area for drinks lovely staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited of parking area

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very handy for the station and only a short walk to the Holstentor gate into the centre of Lubeck. The quiet room that I requested was just that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Staff very helpful. Location perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excellent as was the complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage parking was too tight. Breakfast room not great, felt uncomfortable with eyes from the staff on me constantly.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Promised a bath tub and was then denied when we arrived at 6:00 p.m. By a rude receptionist.

    Close to train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking

    Very good breakfast. Nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking facilities is terrible, and it spoiled our stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean hotel, friendly helpful staff. Service at breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a reserved parking spot was not acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near to town centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Uninspired interior design.

    Great location if you plan to get around by rail. Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good. The room was comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location close to the center, everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast worked well and had all the necessary ingredients needed. Free Wifi was a good touch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy, located just a stort walk from the city centre/Altstadt. Quite tight garage, but ok with normal passenger car. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: