Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Stresemannstr. 49, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10963 Berlin, Germany

#303 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5072 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Berlin break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very central a short walk from underground.friendly helpful staff. Rooms adequate for price. Buffet breakfast fresh with lots of variety.Great stay would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered food delivery and when finished we didn’t want to keep the trash in our room so we phoned the lobby and asked where should we place it (instead of just leaving it in the hallway as others guests do). And first of all, they didn’t offer to come and pick it up and when we brought it downstairs the lady at the front desk asked my girlfriend to go outside and find a trash can because they “had already too much trash”. It was completely unnecessary and rude. I guess that’s what you get when you try to be clean and dispose the trash instead of just leaving it in the hall. It was just a bag with empty hamburger boxes and french fries leftovers.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value hotel in a convenient location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was not powerful enough for the hot weather, even on maximum and that made it uncomfortable at night.

    The breakfast was good, the staff very helpful and the location was also good for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is close to transportation transit points and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is the same all the time. Cleaning services should be improved as always look like done in a hurry.

    The hotel is close to transportation transit points and within a walking distance to the city center. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Rooms seem to be soundproofed given the high number of people I’ve seen at breakfast. Recommend it for 2 adults only, with the sofa extended ( 1-2 children) there is no space to move for 2 persons. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Room is spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast lacks of variety. Some small complications with the system on arrival, but it was resolved quickly.

    Room is spacious and clean. Personal was very kind and helpful, especially the "Romanian' lady at the reception. Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Continental breakfasts were exceptionally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfasts were exceptionally good. The positioning of the hotel was disappointing. “City Centre” tagged on the hotel name was misleading though, and we would not have selected that hotel if we knew in advance where it was actually sited. However, the staff were excellent - very efficient and very friendly. The rooms were on the small side and very basic - with no wardrobe space or drawers at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    The room I booked had a bed sofa and when I pulled that out,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I booked had a bed sofa and when I pulled that out, I was obvious that they never moved the sofa to clean under it. It was dusty and had debris and papers. They need to thoroughly clean the rooms! Other than that, the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the botel is very clean , the room service dont change the bed sheets even after 3 days, they just rearrange the room. We had an early flight leaving and asked for some packed snacks, confirmed it 3 times, yet they didnot prepare it.

    Location is excellent. Breakfast was fresh abd lots of variety. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was clean and staff efficient .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, no egg fry or omelette. The most boring thing was TV. Almost all German channels. Only one English Chanel which was not working either. No room fridge and room size was just OK.

    The hotel was clean and staff efficient . We stayed with a family of four and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The stay was really enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very often the reception was too busy to answer our questions! Breakfast is boringly the same.

    The location is perfect: not far from central places of interest and at the same time in a quiet street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    We loved Berlin, friendly people, great food, great hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We should have stayed longer

    Excellent Location with friendly staff, great breakfast, we had intended to use public transport to get around, but found that we were so well located that we could walk everywhere. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few more items with breakfast--porridge/oatmeal/different and fresher fruits would be great. this is a busy place at breakfast and at times it was hard to get a clean bowl or not bump into people as you tried to make coffee or toast. It's nice to have complimentary breakfast but we would have likely gone elsewhere due to the chaos of breakfast. Also--we booked 2 rooms but only 1 was ready at check-in. This wasn't really a problem as we were able to stow our luggage in the one room. However, the first women to check us in suggested we pay for both rooms at the time when the 2nd became available. Apparently this wasn't correct because in checking into the 2nd room another staff member asked "Why would she (staff member) say that to you? do you plan to pay for the rooms?" as if we had run off and neglected our initial bill! I'm hoping this was a language disconnect but it made me feel like I had done something wrong. We got the room and there was no issue, but it was a little off-putting. Also the rooms are VERY small so with the addition of luggage there was little room to move about. Also note--We booked through booking.com and Holiday Inn will NOT honor your frequent stay points when you do so even though we couldn't find rooms on the hotel's website, only through booking.com..frustrating! Perhaps booking.com could warn people of this?

    The staff on the whole were very helpful and knowledgeable. The first woman who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful! The breakfast was good (not great but satisfied most in our family of 5 including teens and a finicky 11 year-old). The location was great--within easy 15-30 minute walking distance of major sites and very close to subway. They have ample luggage stow areas that we used with no difficulty!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel choice for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't find acceptable or reasonable about this hotel.

    Excellent breakfast choices available. Great value for the money. Friendly and courteous staff. Clean room, lobby, breakfast areas. Easy walk to the subway station. Well run hotel, and would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    As we arrive very late around 2am as our flight was delayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we arrive very late around 2am as our flight was delayed the staff were great, they supplied us with a extra bed for my daughter at that time was excellent service. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in Berlin. Very close to Checkpoint Charlie and other tourist places. We walked everywhere--to Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate, Topography of Terror, and more. There are also metro and bus stops nearby. We caught a bus from Berlin to Szczecin, Poland, so we just took the metro to the bus stop. We also took the metro to our starting point for a hop-on hop-off bus tour. Beds were very comfortable, and breakfast was great. The fresh fruit was a delicious way to start each morning!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is very good, there is a supermarket near by, the staff are friendly and you can enjoy a good breakfast with everything fresh and good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Holiday Inn express great for budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have been a big rubbish bin on every floor. When you are traveling with a toddler still in her diapers it's always good to dispose off the soiled diaper quickly rather than leave in the room bin and breathe that stale air.

    Good room service. Friendly staff and very helpful too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Clean rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hope early breakfast, becouse our flight left very early. It was little uncertain how its success🤔The previous day staff said us . "ask that In the morning the colleague" And In the morning the staff was not sure have we got It... She asked it the other person... So meant to stay without breakfast, but eventually, however, it was arranged👌So In the future clear instructions for the staff, yes or no, , thank you.

    Clean rooms!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely hotel. The location is fantastic with lots of great places to eat near by,and close to many attractions. The room was very clean and comfortable as was the whole hotel. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff some of the best and most helpful we've encountered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Relax zone after bussy day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking could have been a bit cheaper..but, o.k...it was city centre.

    Very clean hotel. I would say with a lot of "fresh air inside". Quiet, great place to relax after whole day walking in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable budget Berlin stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could have been more helpful by accepting the delivery of our lost luggage or by telling us that they had not accepted it.

    Comfortable bed, and easy walking distance to some key Berlin sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    We were travelling with two children and a nice surprise was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling with two children and a nice surprise was that an extra bed for the older one was double! So the kids could sleep there. Breakfast stsrts at 6:30, good for those who wake up early:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    fabulous breakfast and included in the price, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    construction in progress (almost finished) next to the hotel

    fabulous breakfast and included in the price, excellent location very close to Podsdamer platz, ice machine available, interior garden, very friendly staff (Cati Petrescu)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Not so Good, i Will not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty Window, very slow elevators, not Good breakfast, smaller room than it seemed, TV not working, shower not properly holding Walter inside, i asked for a nice view and it wasn't

    Staff helpful, clean, close to metro, fast internet,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, nice little bar area, spotlessly...
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money, nice little bar area, spotlessly clean, breakfast satisfactory and staff helpful and pleasant - great central location too - generally a little gem of a hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good quality to price ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2 beds instead one, hard mattresses, a bit too slow internet, only 2 sugar packets for two coffees and two teas

    hotel staff, clean rooms, breakfast, bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    A Step to the Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleaning. No one cleaned my room during the time I left for the day at 8 a.m. and returned at 14:00. I'd put out the "please clean room" sign, and just assumed that was plenty of time, but I returned to a room in the same state in which I left it. Room service didn't knock until about 15:00, at which time I was resting, so waved them away.

    Well-laid out breakfast buffet, easy to access, although the only cooked item was the boiled egg. Loved the machine for dispensing butter and the other machine to give a slurp of Nutella! Desk staff very friendly and helpful. My TV was adjusted five minutes after I asked for help. Location is superb--minutes from a U line and a perfectly do-able walking distance from Potsdamer Platz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has parking but they charge so much ,we found a parking spot around the block and left the car until we left after our stay.

    This hotel was great The breakfast was the best ever . We had a great stay convenient to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for seeing Berlin sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tricky room key.

    Convenient location near the Anhalter S-Bahn station and Check-point Charlie. Basic room accommodations at a good rate. Nice breakfast. Helpful friendly staff fluent in English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is nicely located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no safe boxes in rooms. The choice of food on breakfast was very limited and there was nothing warm except some chicken meatballs. Mornings in the room was - at least for me - too bright :(

    The hotel is nicely located. Our room was rather small (after preparation of 3rd bed there was no more place left) but very clean and equipped with (working) AC. The breakfast was good but choice was very limited. The staff was very helpful. It was very quite in the room (yard side).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy because of the next building which is under construction. The breakfast was almost the same 4 days in a row, not very rich, but good quality.

    Location of the hotel is very good. We asked to change the twin room with a double bed room and there was no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, short distance to U-bahn/ s-Bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brekfast was poor: not many choices and small space.

    Good location, short distance to U-bahn/ s-Bahn. Italian restaurant with garden just across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Basic amenities all there but room design left much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I booked the hotel in MY name using MY e-mail address & MY credit card. On arrival there was no trace. Hardly surprising as it had been reserved in my friend's name. Totally inadequate hanging space. Rail 9 inches long for 2 people for a week!! No drawers either, only a few very small shelves. Staff very helpful & gave us extra hangers but that did not remedy the room design fault.

    Shower good. Water hot & good pressure. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    I like all the things above that I rated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was alternating hot and cold shower. Last day only boiling water. Not very comfortable when on holiday and looking for some rest.

    I like all the things above that I rated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the bathroom. I needed a toothbrush but had to go down and get it instead of it being sent up because they didn't have staff at 0830 in the morning

    Very friendly staff. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Modern hotel, good value for many.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in the room; same breakfast every day.

    Good location near underground station (5 minutes walking); nice, quiet, spacious room; kettle and tea/cafe in the room; friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Short 2 night visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point, only continental breakfast but plentiful.bbc news only on TV but wasn't working

    Staff excellent,very helpful .rooms spacious clean location good for a lot of sites checkpoint Charlie 10 Min walk.reichstag 25 min we found most places easy to walk to and public transport great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    I asked for a tripple room and the third bed was a sofa.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a tripple room and the third bed was a sofa. The room was so small, that we had to walk over our "beds" . No space for our clothes. Never a wifi connection. Big dissapoitment!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    A very disappointing stay on numerous levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room, lack of lighting, hot water system wasn't functioning properly, lack of cleaning of room and top up of tea bags, towels, tissues, etc, carpet stained and also needed a vacuum, staff not very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent customer services by Joseph, front desk receptionist. Excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist front desk was Joseph when we checked in. Joseph is very nice, courteous, and assisted us with all our needs. He has an excellent customer service. We had a wonderful stay and the buffet breakfast is superb with fresh breads and good coffee. Will stay again next time we visit Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was quite old and not very clean. When we arrived I immediately noticed a strange smell.

    Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice. Location is great, just a 5 minute walk from the metro station "Anhalter Bahnhof". Overall I was satisfied with choosing this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, walking distance to Checkpoint Charlie,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double beds are a bit narrow. The rooms are comfortable for short stays, but not very large.

    Good location, walking distance to Checkpoint Charlie, Potstdamer Platz, Mall of Berlin. Excellent breakfast, clean rooms, value for money. Supermarket across the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    All you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient hotel by location and by design. I felt like it had all the qualities of a hotel for a weekend stay in Berlin: convenient location, public transport nearby, clean and small rooms, friendly and helpful staff, easy to check-in and -out, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Easter holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During the holidays there are a lot people and it is difficult to find the table during the breakfast

    The hotel is about 800 m. from Potsdamer platz. There are few shops near: Lidl and Netto. The hotel is cosy. There are few computers on the ground floor with printer. Staff is very friendly and open to assist in any your requests. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall the hotel and location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the breakfast, there was no hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, etc) like other Holiday Inn Express locations. Parking was pricey (I paid €44 for 2 days).

    The staff was really courteous and efficient. The rooms and restrooms were a good size. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Recepsion's staff was very good, in particular Dona,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The supplementary bed was very uncomfortable. I recommend more attention in room's cleaning.

    Recepsion's staff was very good, in particular Dona, really available. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    stressfull
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the cleaning lady never clean our bathrooms during our stay and the parking was extremely expensive.

    the hotel was close to downtown and they spoke english

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    cleanliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was not good. Also we didn't find the checkin experience not so great. not even complimentary bottle of water was given

    cleanliness and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cooked breakfast buffet option would have been great and perhaps leisure facilities like a swimming pool or games room. A safe in the room would have been great also.

    Lovely beds. Brilliant and accommodating staff (Furkan). Loved the option of having an umbrella to borrow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    On the whole we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a little smaller than expected.It was ok when the sofa bed was not down but a little cramped when it was.There was noise very early week day mornings from workmen in the adjacent building which awakened us.However, we put up with the inconvenience.

    The location was very good.We could walk to most places of interest.Reception at the hotel was efficient.The breakfast was quite adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm, we had to have the window open for the full time we stayed which seems like a waste of energy with the heating also on (considering it was snowing outside). We were unable to alter the temperature of the room with the thermostat.

    The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The room was a good size and the bathroom was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Not so good not so bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets was a little dirty. They never changed our towels. The breakfast was poor.

    Frederica the girl in the front desk was very kind and she helped us a lot. We loved her.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, great breakfast, good value, housekeeping average
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Housekeeping was very patchy. They gave extra towels, forgot to keep milk sachets sometimes tea bags. Cleaning standards were less than satisfactory as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Busy. Good to see other places and culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information in room for near by things to do places to go ect. Reception was very busy when we arrived and at times during our stay so we had to look up online which took up alot of time. Would have been good to have info in room

    Was easy access for travelling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Overall good experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variation in breakfast, especially if one stays for a week. Maybe a choice of baked/scrambled eggs with bacon and or sausage. Rest was good

    Clean, immediate hot water. Comfortable bed and quiet environment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Hotel location in the centre and the room bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities weren't in very good condition such as the shower. Check-in could be more friendly.

    Hotel location in the centre and the room bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, Great location, lovely staff especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Wheelchair Accessible - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Earlier check in time could have been more helpful, but great service was had.

    Excellent hotel, Great location, lovely staff especially the reception people, very friendly, spoke excellent English, could not have been better, will use this hotel again definitely. 10/10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    excellent hotel for city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    tv, selection of international channels, we had no CNN or BBC, so we only watched TVFrance in English. quality of tv was not good either, after a while the sound would get bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Great location, good value for money and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a great value for money location. Close to the city centre and a transport station. The staff there were excellent. Breakfast was continental but lots of choice and very fresh. There was a bar just to cap off the evening!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Convenient base to explore town or yearly film festival, has everything but not the romatic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby and breakfast area missed atmosphere, but clean and convenient.

    Good base to explore Berliner film festival. Potsdamer platz walkable distance, transport 500 meters. Rooms spacious. Breakfast was good taste and fresh, although it missed typical scrambled eggs, bacon etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location if you want to stay near Potsdamer Platz or...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was very small even for a one person. TV channels mostly in German. Selection of food for breakfast could be better (no scramble eggs, bacon, nuts, frankfurters...). No closet/wardrobe in the room, just coat rack with few hangers - not enough. Couldn' t open the window wholly. You just feel they save on everything. Rechargeable soap and shower gel, no other free toiletries. Towels weren't ironed. Hotel is ok, but, it' s a pity because it could get much higher evaluation with few improvements.

    Great location if you want to stay near Potsdamer Platz or you are in Berlin because of Berlinale. Clean rooms. Excellent WiFi. Hotel doesn' t have restaurant, but there is a lot of great taverns around (two Italian with good pizza, fantastic Asian 3 min walking distance...) and two supermarkets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Good sleep and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were nicely cleaned and bed was comfortable. Room also contained a nice couch, which was unexpected. Staff at the reception desk were very helpful and fluent in English. The hotel was also 15 minutes walk away from a lot of the Berlin landmarks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Served as a place to stay during daughters swim meet and that’s it. Overall experience was not good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait until 3pm to check in despite being there with toddler. Was told “room wasn’t ready yet”. No refrigerator or microwave in rooms...was taken out since our last stay in 2016. Had to rent a cooler which we were overcharged for. Also had to purchase separate room that was too small. Definitely do not recommend this hotel to anyone with families. Overall experience was terrible...would never stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location and reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was not prepared, linen for 3th bed where missing even the room was booked for 3. Personal was too busy to say hello or smile while people entered, eye contact with quests was very low.

    Good location and reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy, quick efficient & clean. Very helpful when we needed to ask for anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was always a bit too warm for us and the view wasn't all that great from our room. Apart from that no other complaints at all.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, checking in and out was a breeze. bed was extremely comfy, the shower was easy to use and the hotel was quiet no loud noise. The breakfast was always refilled when low on certain things and always packed. selection could be more varied, however we enjoyed the crossiants & the fresh juices etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel located a bit away from all the "action". Bus stop is almost outside the hotel but the metro is about 10 minutes walk. Good breakfast and the room was comfortable. The reception was always busy but with lots of information broachers on sites and visits etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding location. As recently retired 64year olds, my wife and I are completing our bucket list of lifetime “want-to-dos”. Traveling Europe by rail is on our list. This location was ideal for seeing all the sights in Berlin. Perfect to access all bus and subway stations. Also, we do not speak German and fortunately many of the staff spoke English. Morning buffet was outstanding and was included in the rate. Highly recommend this location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    All in all the stay at Holiday Inn Express was worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV stations are extremely poor for English speakers. BBC World was not available as promised.

    Room was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was good & receptionists were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.3
    breakfast was okay, however they can include more hot dishes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not so clean. We found empty bottle under the bed. Room was small and not enough space for family as they converted sofa to bed for kid.

    breakfast was okay, however they can include more hot dishes as I could find only boiled egg & meat balls.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff were amazingly helpful and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really hot. Aircon wasnt on so had to open the window.

    The staff were amazingly helpful and the breakfast was decent. Continental but plenty of choice.Hotel was about a 20 minute walk from both checkpoint charlie and the brandenburg gate and was close to the underground station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    The hotel location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was somewhat small for three persons. When arrived and checked in, the third bed (sofa bed) was not ready and we had to move to another room. The breakfast contained only cold dishes and the choices were limited.

    The hotel location was good. Near the city centre, but also in a quiet district. Public transport stations were very close. The rooms were clean and the personnel was helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space of the room: Felt conjugated for the family stay especially for the price paid compared to elsewhere

    Location, cleanliness, accessability to the train and bus stops. Pub and a breakfast option

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well placed hotel to visit Berlin. Breakfast time was always very busy but staff replenished food regularily. Easy to get to hotel from airport using train system.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location was great and within walking distance to public transport. Compared to other hotels in the city I think this offered the best value for money and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Great value hotel. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but not great. I like continental but prefer to have a choice of full english too for my family.

    Good value hotel which was clean and comfortable. The bar opened till 1am so perfect for a nightcap. It was a good, straight walk into our first christmas market which took around 10-15 mins to get there.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: