Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. North Rhine-Westphalia hotel reviews
  4. Düsseldorf hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf City Nord

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf City Nord This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mercedesstrasse 14, Düsseltal, 40470 Düsseldorf, Germany

#123 of 204 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2555 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    We only stayed overnight due to a stopover, but this was a great place to spend our evening.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the reason I chose this place was the mention of an airport shuttle, which I thought operated regularly so you could book a trip to and from the airport. However, it turns out you need to book it and it costs 23Euro, which is only 2Euro less than a cab. That was disappointing, especially since I'd emailed them 3 times about the shuttle and received no reply until literally the morning we arrived at Dusseldorf Airport!

    The room was great and the whole place looked really clean and new. I loved the design of the bathroom, so the main bathroom door also operated as a door to the toilet alone, allowing another to use the shower and basin at the same time. The breakfast was basic but enough, and the location was great - easy access from the airport and easy access to the city. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.9
    It was definitely value-for-money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have Gym or SPA.

    As expected, the staff did a quick check-in process, what I really appreciate, and then the room, facilities and breakfast were fine. Location is good if you are using the DUS airport.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    Good chain hotel not far from the airport by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold in the room. Breakfast is barely OK, no vegetables, no hot food, only sandwiches and such. Parking 15 euro per night!

    Good chain hotel not far from the airport by car. Comfy bed, teapot in the room. Modern room with USB chargers.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Value for money for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Parking garage 24h (extra fees) clean room, comfortable beds, free WiFi and breakfast included. Within walking distance to public transport (tram/bus/train).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.1
    Very friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds & room too small for family and breakfast plates/bowls/cutlery were a little dirty and bread & croissants stale! A little disappointed as the previous Holiday Inns I’ve stayed at were great.

    Very friendly welcome

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    4.2
    The room service covered the smoke detector with a plastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room service covered the smoke detector with a plastic bag before we checked in, and after we checked out they accused me of smoking in the room and covering the smoke detector to hide it. ( im a non- smoker). And on my way home the called me and told me they are going to charge my credit card with 200 euros and shut the phone in my face. Very Rude !!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    Always this hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa bed was too bad. That would be changed. And parking price is expensive for the customer. I hope that would be cheaper.

    Always this hotel is clean. Breakfast is not bad. For the price all condition is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.8
    Easy to find, easy into City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking charge, no space on roadside so had to use it.

    Easy to find, easy into City. Great value room and breakfast included. Breakfast well stocked and good choice of continental. Lovely coffee. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect deal for a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffet breakfast till 11:30 however after 10:30 only left over food.

    Perfect deal for a family. Friendly staff. My friend is not feeling well and they allowed to bring up breakfast to the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.5
    Decent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant staffs were not quick enough to fill the buffet breakfast. We were in Christmas holidays and may be inexperienced staffs placed due to holidays. No international news TV channels. Though it is mentioned in handout, such channels were not received.

    The bed was comfort. Croissants were tasty. Good parking location in the underground. Room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.3
    Close to airport and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room for family was small but absolutely fine for what we were looking for: one overnight stay close to DUS airport

    Close to airport and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.2
    All was petfect, room, cleanliness, breakfast, staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing negative is that it was far from city center, but we had our car so it was no problem as well.

    All was petfect, room, cleanliness, breakfast, staff and price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.5
    Good quality and price proportion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is nice, only different times for different days confusing, like Mon thru. Thur. ends at 10:00 but Fri thru Sun. at 10:30 which are unexpected and we always missed breakfast on monday. It would have been more convinient to offer one time.

    Breakfast is nice and personnel are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.4
    almost ruined the dusseldorf experience for us
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast capacity not enough for amount of rooms. and when we could sit down at a table after half an hour ,there were no plates to eat off. staff not helpfull. so we left without breakfast. but did pay for it terrible!!!!!

    going away

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa bed side were metal and uncovered

    Very family friendly in a great location just a short tram ride to the centre so no noise no hassle just relaxation when needed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.8
    Free parking options on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free parking in hotel parking lot. Away from metro stations.

    Free parking options on the road. Good breakfast. Descent Bar with Draft beer. Quite neighbourhood. Close to city centre. Descent room size, worth the money. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Düsseldorf visiting the Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We asked about transport to the Christmas markets and were told about the trams. Also the room was very comfortable and clean, and well-designed. This was our first family trip to Germany and we would love to come back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good quality breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was crowded Room was a bit small but comfortable

    Good quality breakfast Friendly staff Hotel is located in a good position: 5 mins to the Derendorf S-Bahn station / Straßebahn stop Very good rooms soundproofing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.3
    Sufficient breakfast,clean room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sufficient breakfast,clean room, friendly staff.Thanks for good stay.Very friendly reception trying to help for everything.Next visit again same hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.3
    Fair enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it is Holiday Inn Express so I don't expect further but, room can be bit more clean with better matless. Breakfast is bit poor compared with the peer hotels. But no complaint as value for money...

    Place was good location for us to go to the place in the city both side of the river. Fair enough the level of room and size of bed, no complaint vs the budget for this stay, less than EUR100 - which is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Good price for four people including breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Additional parking charges were quite high at 15 Euros per day; breakfast on Sunday and checkout were very busy.

    Good price for four people including breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dodgy looking area tho!

    We have always liked Holiday Inn Express hotels they are excellent value this one is perfect for travelling to dusseldorf airport. Good for travelling into own from the nearby railway station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.5
    Simply basic needs fulfilled.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head cannot support itself at wanted angles. No tomato juice. No leafy salad. Long queue for coffee (very frustrating)

    Has everything necessary. Basic & essentials are fully provided. Comfortable bed, hot shower and simple breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Functional and ideally situated, but back to the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff can sometimes be a little cold. Parking in the hotel garage costs a ridiculous premium - very shoddy service and the spaces are very cramped. I'm more confident leaving the car outside, regardless of price. Small but functional bathrooms. The WiFi is decent, but nothing to write home about.

    Fairly ideally situated express hotel at the outskirts of Düsseldorf. If you're there for Essen Spiel and you have a car, there's really very little reason to pay Essen's premium prices. The breakfast is decent, if limited. As they offer no restaurant, you can bring your own dinner to the dining area. A few supermarkets are nearby, the drive to Düsseldorf city center takes less than 10 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Very good price compare with same level hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good price compare with same level hotel. location: a little bit far away from city center. (10 mins drive) breakfast was included with rather good quality. parking fee: 15 EU/ per day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for airport- 6-7 min walk to train station with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived on foot in the evening- poorly lit approach roads. In bathroom, spare toilet roll was on the floor and was wet. Room was very small for 3 people. Shuttle bus expensive 20euros per room ( so I used train instead) Breakfast options a bit more limited than I was expecting.

    Convenient for airport- 6-7 min walk to train station with trains direct to the airport terminal- cheaper than the hotel shuttle bus (2.80euros per person for train) Great coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was very good , comfortable in a peaceful atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some more items to be added in the breakfast specially for Indian / vegetarian guests. Also in the room at least tooth brush, toothpaste, bath soap etc. like small things should be provided.

    Hotel is situated at very peaceful place. Surroundings are beautiful. Hotel staff is very cooperative and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was Very small.

    Very clean and tidy. Staff is very efficient, the breakfast is rich. Convenient for the airport, which was our purpose to stay there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    6.3
    Poor service skills - don't expect a warm welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interaction with the staff is the least desirable part of our stay during our visit on 4-5. October. The person who checked us in, Mohammed, had no personality and seemed to be bothered to help us. He was not warmhearted or hospitable. At the time of check-in we requested a baby cot. Mohammad confirmed that it should be in our room, but it was not. After our return from dinner at 10 pm, we were met by the night receptionist - Catalin. He was very unhelpful and tried to argue with my wife that a baby cot would not fit in our room. When we saw our 19-month-old daughter asleep in the stroller, he said she should sleep on the pull-out couch. Every parent knows that young children are active sleepers. She could easily roll off the couch, or worse, she got her arm or leg stuck in the exposed spring-loaded mechanisms. His second suggestion was to move to a new room, but with 2 kids under 5, at 10 pm that was not an option for us. Finally, we went to the stairs and moved the baby to another room to ours. This process was not easy or pleasant. Very disappointing! When traveling with infants, please save yourself the trouble and reserve a baby bed (Pack'n'Play) when you book online.

    The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    5.0
    Good hotel. Terrible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast staff were very unfriendly. Most things were always empty and they didnt like you to ask for anything. One morning no fruit, no yoghurt, toaster broken and coffee machine not working. Asked for a banana and was told no because there weren't any, even though I could see a whole crate of bananas through the kitchen door.

    The reception gentlemen was very nice. The beds were super comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.4
    I booked and had confirmed that we would be allocated a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was fine just the lack of professionalism or care in relation to the staff.

    I booked and had confirmed that we would be allocated a disabled room. On arrival we were told it was hard luck but the disabled room had unfortunately been double booked so there wasn’t another room available. This is totally unacceptable as my co traveller was distressed by the lack of facilities and was unable to shower for our 2 day stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a 3 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was narrow. Breakfast was bad.

    Quite new. We take an offer and the quality/price relationships was good, because the price was low. Clean, but the room was narrow. Breakfast was included in the price but was bad and crowded. Staff is polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and super friendly staff! Staff were amazing, the lady at reception even suggested a few places to eat in the evening! Excellent service! Close to the centre if you are travelling by car!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    A good quality hotel at a good price but try to avoid the car park!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the two lifts was out of order, the hotel was very busy and so it took ages to get a lift. The car park was very expensive and you had to get the ticket validated every time you went out. There must be a more customer friendly system.

    The room was well furnished, comfortable bed and good shower room. The free breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    3.8
    It was a very bad experience in this hotel. Last time to go there!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Staff are not helpfull. My room was in the 4th floor, during the night I couldn’t sleep at all due to a sound of knocking maybe in the AC tubes, I went to the reception to solve this problem by maybe changing the room, they said: “ the hotel is full, we can’t do anything” !! And they didn’t care or try to solve the problem!! - Location is not good for public transportation passengers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who booked us in seems a bit off when we came and did not tell us where our rooms/other facilities are which was a bit surprising. The receptionist who checked us out was excellent

    The food was good and the facilities were as needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with great facilities, well aired and cool rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived (after a very long journey with 2 children) there was nobody at the reception. The receptionist was standing in front of the hotel smoking a cigarette and having a phone conversation. She saw as getting in but that didn't stop her what she was doing. I have to say that she was lovely when she eventually arrived tho

    Great hotel with great facilities, well aired and cool rooms, very clean. Amazing value for money. Good locations with couple of Italian restaurants near by. Lovely breakfast with many different options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC did not cool during our stay.

    The hotel is quite far from city center. The room is clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. If you came by car, you can park on the basement with €15/day or you can find free parking around the hotel. The breakfast is simple but fine. There are vending machine and ice maker. McD is just 3 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    6.7
    The quality of the breakfast is not ok
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast quality was not ok. you can’t expect a big buffet of fresh items with these room rates and facility offering, but this was one of the least appealing breakfast buffets i’ve seen within the holiday inn express chains. I left hunger afterwards. The check-out took forever. Two receptionists were dealing with one guests, while the rest was waiting for 15 minutes, without an update on how long we needed to wait. Just a simple notification to give you guests a simple glimps would have done the trick instead of ignoring them.

    The price for what they offer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    We had a family room, with 2 adult and 2 children.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived in the evening and wanted to eat something. In the hotel there is only a bar, no restaurant, except for the breakfast. Close to the hotel, however, there are restaurants.

    We had a family room, with 2 adult and 2 children. It was comfortable enough for one night stay. Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, will recommend the hotel if you got small kids or if you are on a business trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Parking kost €15.00 per day however if you lucky you could park for free in the area something the members of staff did not informed us. the Breakfast was quite limited ( no English Breakfast)

    The hotel and the rooms are very clean and the Staff members are Friendly, Quick and Helpful. Public transport and supermarket are a walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel to visit Dusseldorf and Phantasialand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was a bit disappointing and the family room was very small. Also at checking out I needed to pay for the bar drinks but needed to pay cash because somehow the pin machine didn't work

    location and staffmembers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    The convenience of finding the place, the presence of AC ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast left quite a bit of room for improvement. Toaster only toasted bread on one side. Bread quality was poor. Coffee was disappointing, and only UHT milk available. Parking in the cramped P-cellar costs an additional 15 EUR pr night. Would have been nice knowing that in advance.

    The convenience of finding the place, the presence of AC and the reasonable price made it perfect as a short stopover when travelling for a small family travelling with a dog.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    I really liked my stay here at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf City Nord
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was a minus, would expect much more variety (e.g. for vegetables - there were only cucumbers, eggs - only boiled, cold cuts etc.) A small wardrobe would be a plus.

    I liked the staff, very helpful, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, room and bathroom extremely clean, though the room was a bit small, coffee/tea facilities, but overall quiet and peaceful, means of transport quite near to the hotel, close to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We prefer to book hotels with the “no prepayment” options. I booked a room in Holiday inn. Upon arrival I paid in cash but later I got an email which said my credit card has been charged by hotel??? I asked them and they said they will be returned the money but not reversed as yet. Like I check my account in the net, and here that amount is still unbilled. Although I have the hard copy of my cash bill but still waiting for the amount reversed to my account. If the credit card is getting only as the guaranty then why Hotel took the money from an account without informing the customer??

    Great Staff, The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful specially Ms. Isabell.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I am booking a hotel, looking for hotels with free cancellation and no prepayment options. Holiday inn has had this option and I booked a room. Upon arrival I paid in cash but one hour later I got an sms which said my credit card has been charged by hotel??? I asked them and they returned the money a week later.?????? If the credit card is getting only as the guaranty then why Hotel took the money from an account without informing the customers???? And why should have been reversed after a week?

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, specially Ms. Isabell and Robert. Isabell is very kind and helpful person.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    We always try to stay at a Holiday Inn Express and have never been disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was terrific. We were having trouble navigating the city until I brought up the map offered on the confirmation Email and it took us directly to the hotel. It was a life saver. So thankful for the attached real-time map navigation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is ok despite not in a central location
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the vending machine water was over, and at the bar overpriced. Location quite far from the center.

    The hotel is ok, located in a quiet area near Mercedes. The staff is polite. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Close to McDonalds and public transportation, enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Holiday Inn Express needs to invest in having a refrigerator and microwave in their rooms. That would definitely have made my review a 10!

    Close to McDonalds and public transportation, enjoyed the comfortable bed and A/C.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    It is what it says on the box
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant on site so need a short walk to find something in the evening. Unless you try the MacDonalds around the corner.

    Room was comfortable, and good beds. Slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.9
    Pfingsten Sports meeting!!?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there were a large amount of children attending a sporting competition - noise levels were high at all times.

    When the kids left with their minders!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in took almost 45 minutes. Only one desk clerk at peek check in hours. When we finally had our turn to check in, our family had 2 rooms booked and the desk clerk wanted to put us on different floors. After several minutes of going round and round, he agreed to put us on the same floor. Room that was reserved for 3 of the 5 of us was only ready for 2...no extra blanket, pillow or towels. No one told us room key had to be placed in the slot on the wall for lights to work, we had to figure it out on our own. Phones were unplugged. Internet wasn’t user friendly. Overall, we would not recommend thus hotel.

    Free breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.5
    Horror check inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be very careful when you arrive late. After warned the hotel twice, through the Booking app, I got an reply that this was ok. Still, after arriving the night manager had cancelled our reservation and reluctantly made a new booking. It took him almost a half an hour to process this. All this at 2.30 at night with a ten year old child...

    Overall cleaness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Nice clean and modern hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff that worked through a slight mixup in our reservation. Convenient to the airport for our trip back to the U.S. Very good continental breakfast with plenty of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel room and staff REALLY fantastic! Don't know about location. Breakfast options let's this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast disgraceful, even for a hostel. No hot food (except a waffle) in a hotel of this standard?

    Bed excellent. Room excellent. Bathroom excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Being in Germany, I was worried about the language barrier, so it was a great relief that they all spoke and understood english. They booked a cab for my early airport departure and the driver actually arrived a bit early. The best service I’ve had in a hotel in a long time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    4.6
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast finishes at 10 am but at 9 am everything was finished and they didn't care about this situation. While we were checking in the hotel there was a man named Mohamed and he didn't even looked at us when talking and he was so angry about something. My friends were asking questions and he still did not looked at us and was not behaving politely. We stayed in the hotel 3 nights and there were no soap in the bathroom for three days. We used shampoo to wash our hands. And there were many bad things about the hotel. I booked more than 40 hotels by booking.com and this is the first one i am writing..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.9
    Located within 150 metres of tram and bus stops direct to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping forgot to refresh cups and tea/coffee each day. Sofa worn out.

    Located within 150 metres of tram and bus stops direct to city centre (15-20 mins). Car parking underground. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable double bed (no join down the middle!) and pillows. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    5.0
    Well, I've stayed there with my friend 23-25 Feb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well, some decent people at the reception desk would be nice

    Well, I've stayed there with my friend 23-25 Feb. 2018 and i can tell you - the stuff people are simply incompetent there we tried to have a dinner at a hotel by asking a receptionist to help us order it.. and he couldn't be more careless also we both have forgotten our phone chargers in a room, and as mine was quite expensive (25e) i've tried to phone them (the same day we have checked out) and a lady on the phone said: "sorry, we cannot find it".. the same answer on the next day and the day after.. they always promised to call back but never did but i'm 100& sure i left it in the socket, so it must have been taken by the hotel stuff or it's still there, lol awful experience! :(

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is for the people that visit the fair in very good...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are too small and there is no cabinet for clothes, si we must put our clothes on the cheir . Breakfast was pretty poor.

    Hotel is for the people that visit the fair in very good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    4.6
    We have booked a twin room for a business trip and in the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have booked a twin room for a business trip and in the end we ended up in a single room with an extended couch serving as a second bed. Totally unacceptable. How can you come up with that in the first place?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors ,Although the smoking is not allowed at the hotel.

    The hotel is located in quite area. It's 10 min drive from city centre. The room is clean and comfy. The staff are helpful. Available parking on the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    6.7
    Good value, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit quiet and out of the way. Breakfast was very basic.

    Basic hotel, but good value - even booked at last minute. Easy transit to airport via S Bahn. Basic tea and coffee in room. TV had BBC which was great! Cosy room. Clean, albeit basic, bathroom. Free, fast wifi. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with not many facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long queues with checking in and out... Many mistakes made with payments. On the 4 rooms we had booked 2 rooms where double paid. Still waiting for the money to be returned...

    Everything you expect from an "Express" hotel. Low on staff so longer queues as normal. Same person for checking in and serving drinks in the bar...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    Good food, good people. Wondered about the location, not being central, but it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor problem, the lifts seemed slow to respond. Our room was on the fourth floor, but many times we thought, 'let's use the staircase'.

    Loved the people there, housekeeping, at breakfast, the lad on the bar on an evening of Syrian descent, all were very friendly and helpful. The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable. I loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    6.7
    The room were very spacious and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had problems each night with my room door meaning that each night after a long day working at a trade show I would come back to find I was locked out of my room and had to go down to reception and que to get a new key card. In the evennings there was only one member of staff on reception/bar duty so there was a 5-10 minute wait for assistance. The lift was quite loud and I could hear it from my room all hours of the night. I only manged to connect to the internet 1 of the 3 nights I stayed at the hotel.

    The room were very spacious and clean. Great location and taxis were very easy to come by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    8.3
    Always our choice for visiting the Christmas Market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a triple room. Although the main bed was extremely comfortable, the pull out couch for the 3rd person had a thin mattress and was less so. Not bad enough to stop us from returning next year, but still it is a shame.

    We have been coming to this hotel to see the Christmas Market, for years. Because it is not located downtown some might dismiss it as an option. Don't. It is a simple 5 minute walk to the tram U71 which takes you right into the heart of the market in a very short time. You can buy your ticket right on the tram. Breakfast is always good. Simple but filling - variety of breads, sandwich meat, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs, and juices. The coffee is great. Staff are friendly and professional. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing about the hotel. I possibly should have booked the city centre one.

    The reception team were all very friendly and helpful. I would have preferred a hot choice for breakfast but the cold choice was lovely and very fresh. As I am coeliac I was pleased that I was made fresh rolls on request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.1
    Restaurants and Room was very clean and bed very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast very poor. One day i asked if i can have fried eggs and waitress with very rood way said NO. waitress at breakfast never smile, never welcome you. Just clean the tables. They must to know that the first think when customer wait is welcoming and smile the morning!!

    Restaurants and Room was very clean and bed very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    Good business hotel close to downtowm and not far from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual during MEDICA exhibition, hotel price is 3 or 4 times higher than usual rate. Holidayinn is not an exception

    Good business hotel close to downtowm and not far from Dusseldorf fair. Very kind and professional staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    3.3
    Never again...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad location. Cleanness not good. Lobby with water running into the floor from the lobby. Another passenger had its luggage stolen from the lobby when registering. Same personnel for attending passengers, registering and serving drinks in the bar. No vacuum cleaner for the room's mat.

    Beds are OK but small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel in Dusseldorf.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On 17th October 2017 at 8:30am, I lost my sling bag which had my wallet, passport, money and every valuable which I possess. It was stolen from the breakfast room INSIDE THE HOTEL PREMESIS. The act was caught on cctv but the thieves are still roaming around freely with my belongings. There should have been more cameras in the lobby and breakfast room so that the faces were much clearer. Perhaps this is the worst thing that has happened to me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.1
    location- fast check-in , breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room facilities. No closes wardrobes, so it is not suitable for double persons at room. the amount we paid in parking per day.

    location- fast check-in , breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    7.5
    Stayed many times and is handy for the exhibition centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow filling the breakfast table with food and cutlery. First time this has happened.

    Stayed many times and is handy for the exhibition centre. Good parking in garage and in street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    6.3
    Over all good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When Cheak out one day before and I ask about refund so he telme the sops we only refund the 10% of the room charge from your Hotel is that fair or not

    Hotel environment

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf City Nord Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: