Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Thea-Leymann-Str. 11, Westviertel, 45127 Essen, Germany

#36 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3204 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive.

    Modern and clean look hotel, great for few nights. Breakfast is basic but good esp. de mini croissants. Our family room is basically a standard room with extra beds which fit two young children (7 y o). The chilled water around the reception area is great esp for the warm days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double bed room but the room was given with 2 single beds. THey didnt change it even after request. I was told that unfortunately, they dont have a room with double bed. My point is then they should not take the bookings anymore. There was no option to even join the 2 single beds

    I booked a double bed room but the room was given with 2 single beds. THey didnt change it even after request. I was told that unfortunately, they dont have a room with double bed. My point is then they should not take the bookings anymore. There was no option to even join the 2 single beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NO free parking, unless hou have a greenzone-card. Otherwise the parking is 11 euro for the frist 24 hours.

    IT was clean, the bed was good. Enough clean towels. Breakfest is oké, coffee is good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- The A/C was not working in my room 337 and i was knowning that the temp will be hot between 5 to 10 of May (27C+)so i have choosen this hotel for A/C availability, I have stayed 6 days and spoken to four of hotel staffs about the A/C issue but each day they reply that our technision will get it checked tomorrow till my last day, they never offer replacement room. They offer a drink only was I didn't accept. 2- I had kept new water bottle in my room as hotel not proving water at room, however it was removed from the room, i have reported this to the room service abd they told me you might misplaced it. 3- the breakfast was similar with no single change during my stay. 4- No restaurant available in this hotel, it is only the breakfast in the morning and Cafe after 11am. 5- All guest noticed the hotel elevators and coffee machines were very slow in doing their function.

    1- The location close to my conference hall and city center around 0.5 km only. 2- Open space garden in front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing they have it perfect.

    The beds were very comfortable spotlessly clean, no noise in the corridors during the night and the breakfast was excellent, great value for money. Would definitely recommend it to friends - have already done so. and it would be my first choice of hotel if in Essen again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some street noise but with windows closed it was not too annoying.

    A nice clean room. Good breakfast. Close to the centre and a big shopping mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to regulate room temp (too warm). Beds adequate but not especially comfortable.

    Really liked the location. Very good breakfast. Underground parking for 11 euros/day and some free spots 1-2 blocks away (found one the first attempt, didn't find one the second).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air-conditioning could not be persuaded to blow cold air. Only recirculated air. Eventually resorted to leaving the window open. (If the room had been on the "traffic" side, the open window would have been a poor solution).

    Sufficiently roomy, good beds. Very good breakfast. Excellent bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet can be slow at times. No smart tv to airplay and no gym. Breakfast is basic though all nice an fresh.

    Location is great for Essen city centre, ber shopping centre and 8 minutes for town square for god food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, great for families traveling with young children. Spacious and very clean room with super comfy bed, extra towels and pillows. Excellent buffet breakfast. Fresh and nicely presented food. Lots of different items as well as gluten free options. Lovely staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaners threw a personal item from the bathroom. After I complained to the staff, the hotel found the item in the hotel trash and returned it to me. Needless to say, a bathroom product that returned from the garbage is not usable. Lack of professionalism. I do not recommend this hotel. Also the bed is too soft.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom old fashioned. Poor selection of non-german tv channels. Breakfast a little skimpy with no cooked food available.

    Quiet room, comfortable bed , good pillows, clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast poor , no scrambled eggs , etc Not many eating facilities close by , thus needing a taxi into centre Hotel cancelled my booking because card used at reservation had expired . Made no attempt to resolve the issue I Needed to rebook again

    Hotel very pleasant , staff good, room very comfortable Close to U Bahn at Berliner Platz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I lost my supermarket card when cleaning the room even though I was in the reception only for 20 minutes. Failure to find it through both cleaners and receptionist. I do not know why someone took it. The card has 20 Euro point in the supermarket I do not know how can i renew it ㅜㅜ.

    Wonderful location with convenient parking with 11 Euro per night. Nearby big shopping mall with various options for food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was far too small for two adults, the mattress was ' camping ' bed quality. There were no drawers in the bedroom for items that you can't hang up on hangars. There were no power sockets next to the bed to charge mobile phones. The toaster ( only one! ) in the dinning room took far too long long to toast, I don't think it was industrial/hotel standard, guests have to queue up to use one very slow toaster! My key card for the room and to get into the entrance lost it's coding twice within two days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Prices are extremely high in certain weeks for so little service. Breakfast is mediocre and basic with the same cheap options every day for the whole week, no butter only vegetable oil based spread, no fry ups, no egg options apart from the boiled egg, and coffee coming out of petrol station style machine. Room was very small, and bathroom needs a new life. Check in process is very slow, one evening I witnessed a crowd of about 12 people waiting to be checked in, . I sent my denim to laundry, it was written on the laundry paper that items will be returned to the room by 8pm. By the time I realised my denim wasn't returned I had already showered, so had to dress up again and go to reception to collect it in order to wear it the next morning. No restaurant on site which I knew, but to have a selection of dinner options you have to walk about 15-20 minutes which is fine when on holiday, not so much after a long day of hard work.I was there at the time of the IPM Essen exhibition, and they really are taking the piss with the prices almost triple compare to their starter price knowing that those who work on the exhibition will have to stay somewhere and pay it. For the 2019 exhibition I'm definitely staying in another hotel, it is really not good value for money, you get a whole lot better service and on site restaurant for this kinda money elsewhere.

    Rooms were clean and bed nicely made every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size of the room was quite small but it was not a big problem.

    Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Good location - walking distance to shops, restaurants and the subway. Also, about 5 minutes drive away from the main train station Essen HbF. Loved the playground opposite the hotel, always good when you're travelling with a small child. Will recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. Little choice, poor bread (is this Germany?), just below par. Essen is as interesting as a coffin. Obviously this city was heavily bombed during the war and quickly rebuild. It's a drab.

    The rooms are fine. There is a nearby shopping centre with at the top floor an Asian food court. It's cheap and the food is ABSOLUTELY MARVELLOUS!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds are old..very thin matrasses. kids bed had a kind of 4 cm matras...bed/bank verry small size. hairblower taped together because it was broken. shouwerhead attachment broken. big minor for my weeknd

    breakfast more than ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe didn't work, so we had to keep our valuables with the main desk, and the hinges on the wardrobe were faulty, but these were minor issues.

    Desk staff very helpful, and did their best in the circumstances to deal with a couple of problems with the room. Location is central, but in a nice quiet square. Managed to park across the road outside a large red building where parking was free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that the parking is paid, 11 Euros per day while you can park outside just next to the hotel door and pay nothing until 10 AM

    Great location, friendly staff and really good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has not been cleaned after the previous guest left. They then gave us a new room close to the lifts which was noisy and that without any apology or any conversation of any kind.The double bed also needs to be replaced.We always sleep in the Holiday Inn when we visit Essen ,but the service is deteriorating and it is a pity.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free street map with hotel location was not very useful. Money would be better spent upgrading the map to make it more legible. Room could do with some additional cupboards or drawers.

    Helpful staff, good location for public trsnsport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amount of money for accomodation was taken from my card before arrival and at the departure the staff didn't give the slip for card payment. They said that it was a problem with internet connection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little small. Not a great location although not far from an underground station, but nothing of interest in immediate vicinity

    Clean room, comfortable beds, easy parking, good wi-fi. Fairly good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) shower sink not functional and broken cover 2) shower dirty with mildew all over 3)Air Con Control in room without cover and blank cables visible 4) breakfast poor with very low quality incl watered artificial Juices and poor choice of Foods Room category not as booked. I travel a lot and stayed in many other Hotels with lower rates at a much higher Niveau.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast really insufficient, both for sweets (only small croissants available, only in few days one only kind of cake) and savouries: nothing of cold, very few choices. Not at the level of a continental breakfast and very low in comparison of other hotels of the same category. Leaving the room, checking for our things, we saw a spoon and an half croissant under the bed, left from someone before us one week before!!! How about cleaning???

    It's close to the Essen city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallways were either not fully furbished or the works were on a break (plinths missing, walls halfway painted) The parking facilities are OK for Germans, I suppose. The hotel doesn't have a car park but a deal with a private one (located below the hotel). Germans may park for free in the street if they have the necessary sticker. The bed was OK, but could was nearing the end of its life. I arrived on a predictably busy day, but still there was only one person in reception, leading to long delays for checking in (or whatever query you may have)

    The location: 2 minutes walk away from a U-bahn (metro) station and a big shopping mall. Good to know: there is no restaurant as such (only for breakfast - basic but adequate) but you can order from local take-away from reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints.

    I've been in a lot of places, and the staff here was the best. They offered me solution to my needs freely, and really made the stay far nicer than I was expecting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was good. Hotel is in a great location, near the city center, 10 min by foot. Hotel has its own parking garage, but you have to pay the parking ticket. Rooms and accommodation are fair for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet even though it was fairly close to the elevator. The breakfast was very good and all options were fresh and refilled quickly. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us excellent recommendations and directions when needed. The hotel was very accommodating when we requested a late checkout. The excellent location of this hotel is the true selling point!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was amazing. This hotel is a good hotel. We would prefer to stay here again, and also recommend others to stay as well.

    The room is clean. The staffs are friendly and can communicate using either German and English (a very good English for non-native speaker). The breakfast is standard for German-style breakfast, with various choices of breads, coffee, fruits, and most important, they quickly refill everything, so you would not have to wait. The internet connection is good, as we are able to use multiple device using the same login. Rooms are on the smaller side, but would suffice if stay with 1-2 little kids below 5 years old. Public transports (buses, subways, trams) are reachable within 1-10 minutes of walking. Very good place for those are travelling using public transports. There are also a big shopping mall nearby, including IKEA!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Restaurant, with no option for Mid-day or Evening Meals. Limited Bar Selection which only opens at 3pm.

    Great location, Close to Essen City Centre, Underground and Tram nearby in Berliner Platz, Bus 145 from Door to Essen HBF. Nice Room, Great Breakfast Selection, Free Internet, Park in Front of Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Can hardly think of any.

    We stayed at this hotel for almost 2 weeks and enjoyed every moment. Excellent value for money. Friendly staff, neat hotel and a good outside space for the family to have fun. Very accessible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room, but we only stayed one night. poor range of breakfast food.

    brilliant location, big shopping centre just on the other side of the road. helpful staff, comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to not like about staying here.

    Very modern and nicely decorated, the breakfast was plentiful and a good selection on offer and plenty of tables and seats. Whilst being located close to one of the main inner roads the entrance is away from this in a quiet square. The room was comfortable and good to have a kettle included, there is an excellent restaurant (Mongo's) located very close, it is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town, however there is a shopping mall roughly 5 mins walk en-route into the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The (family) room is very small, bed is not comfortable, airconditioning is very loud, breakfast is simple and modest.

    Close to the city, tea/coffee in the room, free parking, and clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better. Instant coffee for breakfast is a no go. They have cups available at the buffee to have a coffee to go, but who wants that...

    Excellent location, perfect for business travel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For longer stay breakfast is a little bit monotonous. Decent choice but there are no hot meals.

    Perfect location on a green square, 5 min walking to the city center. One of the most comfortable beds we have ever experienced in a hotel. Very good wi-fi signal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception was trying to be a friendly one but was not doing a good job. It took around 10 to 15 minutes to check in two people whose booking was together. I had requested for two standard double bed rooms and only single bed type was available. The staff kept explaining the price and space is same when we asked for the change in the room type. Later I understood its given based on availability. When we reached the room, one of the card wasn't working later we got another card from reception to open the room. In short, it took us around 20 to 25 minutes to get in

    The property was like shown in the pictures and pricing was reasonable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average breakfast but included in room price.

    This is our third stay in this hotel. Typical quite small size room . However for a short stay it is very good hotel. Value for money. Recomended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually as I said: Not a lot coming to mind to really complain about. It's a typical holiday inn.

    It's a good straight forward no-nonsense business hotel. Nothing fancy about it, but not much to complain about either. Location is good, next to the Colloseum Event place and very close to the city center. The staff was professional and quick, which I appreciate even more when I'm on a business trip. Wifi was complimentary and fast. Breakfast was ok, but certainly nothing to rave about.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a free parking but she tell me there are so many parking in the sides of the street and the hotel doesnt have a parking garage .. the street very dengerous bcuz so many theives . When i woke up my car stolen .. the reason why . Bcuz the street very very dengerous ..

    Easy check in . Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a large variety of food options for breakfast.

    Great location very close to center, easy to access with the car. Clean, comfortable & a nice green park in front of the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative really to express. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was OK, and the room was OK for just one night with a family of four.

    Nothing negative really to express. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was OK, and the room was OK for just one night with a family of four.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very nice shopping mall very close to the Hotel and you can walk from the Hotel to the center of the city. We stayed there to drive to Movie Park. It is only 20 Minutes to the Park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was amazing. This hotel is a good hotel. We would prefer to stay here again, and also recommend others to stay as well.

    The room is clean. The staffs are friendly and can communicate using either German and English (a good English for non-native speaker). The breakfast is standard for German-style breakfast, with various choices of breads, coffee, fruits, and most important, they quickly refill everything, so you would not have to wait. The internet connection is good, as we are able to use multiple device using the same login. Rooms are on the smaller side, but would suffice if stay with little kids below 5 years old. Public transports (buses, subways) are reachable within 1-10 minutes of walking. Very good place for those are travelling using public transports.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room provided was small and not convenient for 2 adults and 1 child. Beds were also uncomfortable. Unable to make phone calls from telephone in room due to some technical issue all through the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the very slow elevator. A 5 minute wait was normal. The shower is warm enough, but not expect a hot shower

    Apparantly a good hotel, becuase when we used the same hotel as last time. Rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms / poor equipment (no iron / no minibar / only one common washing gel to take a shower - no shampoo / a low standard Breakfast / ... At the reception, they made mistakes during my checking (wrong data added into the computer) and it took them (2 girls+1 manager) 35 min to print-out a correct invoice when I checked out.

    It is clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (and bathroom) a bit old fashioned, sofa in the room was dirty. Room is not soundproof as the website (booking.com) suggests.

    Hotel very close to the city centre (walking distance). Friendly staff. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very uninterested and lazy. Internet stopped working one afternoon and wasn't fixed until the next morning. Breakfast is very basic, nothing special. Won't go there again, you can get much better hotels in Essen for that price

    Wifi had good speed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is pathetic, didn't connect at all. The Milk portion left in the room for tea or coffee was rotten, not sure for how long that hasn't been replaced.

    None

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature was a bit high in the room, dry air during the night, but with window opened it was okay. Breakfast was okay, but a small buffet, so it was very crowded during breakfast.

    Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom complete and very clean. Breakfast was rich!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prepay at checkin was a downside as it 1) never happed to me in my 35 years of intensive travelling and 2) it was NOT mentioned when I made the booking. Also many problems with BOTH coffeemachines at breakfast although I need to say it was extremely busy.

    Good location, comfortable beds, nice breakfast (enough choice, not too elaborate)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the checking in and the checking out , the girl at the reception was very unfriendly

    the couch in the room was very good , nice to sit there instead of hanging on the bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hotel doesn't have room service. the air condition was not very good. the services in bath and toilet was poor. no minibar in the room.

    staff and location was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price comparing with the orher holiday inn near the shoping mall was more expensive and the holiday in hotel near the mall had more facilities than this hotel with a cheaper price .

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we arrived it occurred the twin we had ordered a month before is unavailable. A relocation had been offered the next day, but it didn't happen. However, the room was nothing to complain, so we enjoyed our stay.

    Nice location. Train station in walking distance. Really clean place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small for the advertised 2+2 guests. There is no free parking near the hotel.

    Nice and clean. The beds and the breakfast were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast (not at all the typical German but more an international simple breakfast). In the Sunday morning the cleaning rooms start pretty early and in the same floor there were standing five (5) cleaning trolleys at the same time that make the customer walking not really comfortable..

    Position. Our Room was pretty small but okay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room keys were always broken when we came back to hotel. Even we did our best to keep it far away from mobile. It still didn't work. I don't know why...but need to go up and down to change key is not really convenient for me...

    Bed is comfortable, breakfast is delicious, staffs are nice and location is really awesome to anywhere you want.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    New disco around the corner. Slamming doors to the rooms. Bad quality of wifi connection.

    Perfect location for Essen Messe trips. Very helpful staff, always there where you need them. No problems with really early arrival. Well equipped room with very comfortable bed. Nice view on the patio.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was awefull and the showerhead kept dropping down altough the shower itself was okay. The ridged regime when needed to cancel..Due to canceled contest.. Steep parking price

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no restaurant for dinner in the hotel.. If there were, I would use it.

    Everything was good. The room was not spacious but quite and clean. There was no amenities in the room but you can ask for it at desk. (I got a comb) The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was basic (no hot dishes except hard-boiled eggs), but certainly OK. They could take a look at what is playing on the tv screens during breakfast time: a program on animal poison and its effects of humans is not really my cup of tea...

    Looks like a very recent building, and it was all neat and clean. Very good value for money! The hotel parking is expensive but it was easy to find a place in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't forget to add 11 Euros per day for parking to your bill, as you have to park in a public car park next to the hotel and that is the car park charge!!!!

    What you expect from a Holiday Inn - clean, good facilities and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upfront billing for the entire stay upon check-in. Breakfast is fairly basic and leaves the impression that low cost is the primary consideration (e.g., quality of coffee and bread rolls, fruit salad made with canned peaches in summertime instead of using fresh seasonal fruit)

    Comfortable, quiet room, hussle-free parking with parking ticket coded for the entire stay, location close to city centre and walking distance to shopping mall "Limbecker Platz"

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a promise that the room was insulated, but during a couple of nights there was quite a strong noise waking me up. Also, I would have expected a broader variety of food at breakfast.

    The location was perfect for my purposes - close to the university and the shopping center. It was also very clean, the staff were friendly and I liked the Save the Planet initiative :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny even though it was advertised as family room for 4 people. It is true 4 people could sleep in there however there was absolutely no space left to move around. Not good for family with small children

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacks hot meals/meats.

    Central location of Essen in relation to other cities made it possibble to visit different places/cities easily, while maintaining one hotel as a base stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has been advertise with a free parking. But it was not very clear where is that parking and cost of undeground one is quite high.

    Location is great. Hotel staff food -all one big plus. Will return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain was partly ripped off, there was mold in the bathroom, the room smelled like chemical cleaning agents, the mattress was all bouncy and always noticed the other person when one was moving.

    Location and price were fine, the room was heading to a quiet courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a reservation for double room with sofa bed, but when we arrived we' ve got a double room - and we were 2 adults, 1 child 14 years and one - 12 years. After long dicussion receptionist change the room to apartment, but appartment was not prepared - dirty towels, dirty bed clothes - SOMEBODY WAS SLEEPING IN THIS ROOM AND NOBODY CLEANED THIS ROOM. Very unpleasant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast. Helpful staff. One Receptionist was happy to give suggestions for dinner and provided a map and another filled up our water bottles.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: