Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ferienhaus Ostrauer Hof

Dorfstraße 1, 01814 Bad Schandau, Germany

#12 of 37 Holiday rentals in Bad Schandau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 apartment reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 20:00 the restaurant was closed but we know this earlier during the day so we took the car drove down to the river Elbe did some shopping at a gas station (water, snacks, beer). That's important to know! The TV-set didnt work, but who wants to watch TV with that beautiful setup around the house!

    Especially loved eating breakfast outside on the lawn. Calmness. Surrounded by Mother Nature!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is good, but could have more variety (there were mostly eggs and pork). Other than that, nothing I could complain about.

    The bed was extra comfortable and the room had a kitchen, so we were able to prepare some things for dinner. It's also close to the historical lift and the staff was very nice. The room is very cozy and the city is a very pleasant place to spend some days. The hotel is in Ostrau, but it's easy to get to Bad Schandau from there, either by bus or walking down the forest. They also give you a guest card that you can use for taking the bus (and ferry) for free to the center and the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. We needed medical care during our stay and they arranged everything. Beautiful and quiet location. The restaurant was delicious, especially the Spatzel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10€ for babybed

    Great Hotel in super calm village near all the trails. Food+Breakfast was excellent and we really liked the atmosphere if this spot. Its way ore calm then BadSchandau and just 5min away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work and phone reception was very weak. Mattress was uncomfortable, bedroom door could not be closed without force and the walls and floors were thin enough that you could hear other people talking in their rooms. Electric cabling needs work - the outlet behind our microwave had exposed wires. Heating worked fine for us but a couple in one of the rooms came to ask if our heating worked because theirs had not been working all day and it was freezing. We were told check-out is between 7 and 10am and tried to check-out at 7am but there was nobody there. Waited 15 minutes and were told by the husband to just come back later but we had to leave to catch a flight. Surely all these are fixable and can be improved on. I cannot in good conscience recommend this place.

    Quick check in process. Room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building we were in only had 3 parking spaces so if we didn't get in early we had to park up the street and walk. The Wifi was very weak in our room. We had to sit in the kitchen to get half of a signal.

    The breakfast was very good. Offering hot eggs made 3 different ways and a large selection of meats, cheeses, breads, and fresh fruit. Apartment was perfect for our family of 4 giving us our own room away from the kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit further from Bad Schandau, car is recommended, but there is a possibility to take a bus for free once you are checked in.

    2nd time we were there, all as expected, very nice accommodation for amazing price, owners are kind, bed is comfy, everything clean, kitchen has every basic tool you need and the guest card grants you free bus to town. We will definitely keep returning there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no internet in the building were I was staying even though in the webpage it is advertise that the whole property had wifi. The owner already knew about this problem but he didnt do anything to solve it, just recommend me to use my 4G connection which in this little town there wasnt. At check out I kindly asked for a discount due to the WiFi problem and they didnt offer. On top of that they wanted to charged me for the parking which I didnt use. No one was at the reception when we arrived, and it was specially cold at night. DONT BOOK HERE

    Nothing special

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant attached is a bit pricey with average food on offer. The atmosphere could be improved with a more traditional decor and friendlier service.

    Very friendly, family-run holiday flats (3 buildings), set in the centre of the hamlet of Ostrau, with immediate access to walking trails - great for hiking! Very good breakfast buffet. Holiday flats have been lovingly restored from older farm buildings, giving a cozy and comfortable country feeling. Views from the top of the building were beautiful. Surrounding areas are lovely, offering views across the fields to hills and nearby rocky craggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They had construction starting from 7 am that sometimes lasted until 10pm the whole time we were there. The wifi did not work very well.

    We stayed 5 nights here. The location of this property could not have been better for our visit to Saxon Switzerland national park. Most of the iconic hikes can be done from the property without driving. The room was a small apartment with kitchen. We had a very nice time except for the construction in the property. The owners were very nice with the pet. We did not get breakfast but were able to order fresh buns every morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Hosts were incredibly kind and went out of their way to help when I had computer issues with some personal admin. It is family run and the daughter has particularly good English. It is lovely peaceful spot and we hope to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish mansion of XIX century with fahrwerk style of building, nice view from the window. A housekeeper helped to get keys despite of the late check- in at the night time. Picturesque suburbs of the hotel, the center of Bad Schandau- in 45 min of walk through the park and historical elevator. Same distance is in 7 min to drive. All the pots and pans are in the room- a kettle, coffeemaker, fridge, etc. Nice place for those, who value a comfort of small cozy places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pretty, clean and comfortable room with a large balcony! Extraordinary good breakfast. Quiet location in a small village near to starting points for hikes!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In some places its obvious that the buildings have quite a history to look back at. But in combination with the price tag that is really nothing to complain about.

    The amount , variety, and freshness of the breakfast. The owner couple is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel warmly welcomed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fine walking paths are just a few hundred meters away. The beds were good - and a small kitchen allowed us to cook water and warm food in a microoven. However we prefered the local restaurant situated in the groundfloor of the house.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    High above Bad Schandau, in a beautiful scenic part of the village. Close to walk in the Sax Swiss mountains. Easy to reach with a lift and a 15 minutes walk through the woods. Too high to reach easy by bike, but we could look in bikes in bad Schandau at the Tourist Info. Great service there also.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not usable.

    We had a family apartment, which was fine for us, but under equipped if you really wanted to cook anything. Breakfast was served at a nearby hotel, and was very good. We were interested in the Spa in town. Most other guests were hikers. The location was great for either, assuming you have a car, for which there is parking out back. The family apartment had a lovely porch off the bedroom for lounging, (or drying out your bathing suit)and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help us. When our taxi didnt show up, one of the staff drove us to the train station. You can catch a bus from the station or Bad Schandau, up to the hotel, vice versa. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and takes about 25 munites. We didnt have a car so this was helpful. You can also walk down in around the same time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking I did not realise the property is quite far from the train station. There is a bus at half hour intervals (upto 530 pm only) but we took a taxi which cost about 18 euros. The only issue we had was that the owner did not speak English so it was difficult to communicate anything.

    It is a very peaceful and beautiful place to stay. You can go down to the village by a quaint lift but to reach that you take a 15 minute walk through a dense forest. It was very close to nature and relaxing. The room was spacious and had a small closed balcony which was decorated nicely. Kitchen was well-equipped.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a bit compact.

    If you drive a car and would like to explore Saxony Switzerland National park, I would highly recommend Ferienhaus Ostrauer Hof. Very friendly host, super reasonable price, spacious and well decorated room. The family room we stayed even does have a mountain view and a nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very kindly treated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large Apartment. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean, comfortable apartment. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No elevator . The mattress was too soft and not straight.

    Kitchenette facility is good. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite comfortable and very easy to get to Bad Schandau and also Saxon Suiss and Ceske Svycarsko.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good....

    Very clean,hear everythihg. Was halpfull with our late check in. Will came back...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice accomodation with peacefull atmosphere. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very nice place, a lot of nording walking and bike routes; Very very quiet area; excellent starting point for trips around Saxony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft

    Excellent breakfast, a huge variaty of food e.g. cake, scrambled eggs, many types of cheese. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff provided great tourist information and maps which were extremely helpful in making the most of our time spent in Munich.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By car it's quite difficult to go to Bad Schandau

    Really big appartment with lot of space Kind and helpfull owner delicious breakfest

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very spacious, modern and impecably clean. Our host was very nice and gracious. It was an unbelievable value for the money spent. The location was very quiet and their was a great dining restaurant for lunch and dinner right next door.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment was clean and nice. It was great that we had a small functional kitchen. For those without a car, the bus stop is very close. It was great that we could just start our hikes from the hotel in the morning. We didn't try but there is also a restaurant at the side of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited places to eat. Recommend guesthouse on way up bluff.

    Great hiking location. Cozy farmhouse atmosphere. Breakfast was great. Our room had a wintergarden, nook that was delightful for reading.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I knew there was no internet (like much of Germany - I think most people must use data-roaming) and I speak German, so could watch the TV for weather etc, so not having access didn't bother me.

    I was lucky to be given a bigger room than the single one I had booked and it was great - fridge and facilities for basic homecooking were just what I needed, and there was a TV. The location is really great and there were lovely views over the rooftops from my windows. I had no car but read the info online about buses from the station and there was one a few minutes after my train arrived so that was fine. I knew I'd have to bring up supplies from Bad Schandau but the walk up the hill is not so bad - there is a well-stocked supermarket in BS that opens until 8pm. There are a couple of restaurants in Ostrau but they seem to get full pretty quickly and people tend to eat early. The breakfasts at the Ostrauerhof were excellent and well worth the extra cost, especially if you are planning to go walking and this is an excellent base for that. I did find that getting around to other walk-start areas, for example to Kurort Rathen is quicker and easier by train than bus. The buses from Ostrau are every hour or so and seem to connect well with the ferry to the station.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not aware that no shampoo or soap from the hotel but finally the owner's daughter gave me some !

    Good location for my hiking destination, Nice breakfast and owner is helpful with advice.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, quiet location, lots of opportunities to hike in the area, good trail from Bad Schandau up to Ostrau. Also close to the bus stop if you don't want to walk to or from town. Breakfast was awesome! Room was very nice, staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You'd probably need a car to get to Bad Schandau center as it's a long walk (and uphill coming back).

    The whole appartment was clean, modern, well equipped and decorated with taste and in a nice area. Welcome was kind and helpful. Parking is easy.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little bit too far from shops, cafes and other facilities. Breakfast room is too small and is full of people in mornings.

    Very large apartment, very comfortable and quiet. Family atmosphere. Not far from attractive touristic sites.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We informed the Guesthouse trough Booking.com we will arrive after the check in time, however he somehow forgot to mark it. Anyway, no reason to complaint, we could check in at the end.

    We spent one night there before we started our trip in the national park. The place is really well located to start or end your trip or even just enjoy the area. We received a perfect two-bedroom apartment with a balcony and a well equipped kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a good place to stay. The room was comfortable and had a nice balcony. It is, however, not in the center. We had a car so it was not a problem for us, but check if you’re planning to use public transportation.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "Ferienhaus Ostrauer Hof" is located far away from bad Schandau on a high plateau. The information on booking.com 'that this Accommodation property was not affected by local flooding' already misleading, because it sets a proximity to Bad Schandau, which is not given. For travellers without a own car is this accommodation alone bad because of the bad connection by the public transport. Suitable is it in Ostrava to buy any possibilities. So we were forced to choose the overpriced breakfast (9.-€ P. P.). It offers a range of while all discount products and crisp bread. There was coffee but also plenty but this tasted horrible. The advantage of the coffee was so horrible that you no later than after the first Cup be awake. Also, the juices offered for breakfast are only inferior fruit juice drinks. That's why we found clearly overpriced alone the price for breakfast. We would have gladly paid the price for a quality higher quality breakfast. The rooms are extremely noisy and poorly soundproofed. So, you can hear every step which is taken in the room above you and when showering in the next room you get the impression it would be showered in the middle of your own room. Instead of the promised kitchen we found only a very small Kitchenette recess. Room decor is brightly checked together, so that they appear unkind furnished. Also the work carried out in the bathroom etc. are of noticeably poor quality craftsmanship. The shower head reminded me of models made in GDR times. Also there were no toiletries, even soap in the bathroom. The room was cleaned once during our stay, which would be OK, if we had been informed about it. The owners are professionally friendly. Mr Marx (the owner) is complaining about competitors working with Czech personnel, the lady who cleans the rooms at him but also from the Czech Republic. No one was present in the guest house to check-in and we had to call, so that we could move into our room.

    The quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: bad if you want to visit the city or have more than one restaurant option for dinner

    Location: ideal if you want to go hiking into the park, and come back to have a quiet nigth

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately the staff that made up our room had forgotten towels, and we were not provided with any soap or shampoo. For travellors on a big bike trip, these were pritty important at the time.

    Gorgeous room, and absolutely stunning breakfast. Best I've had in Germany so far.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was 9 euros, which I found a bit pricy as I am not a big eater, though the selection was excellent. No wifi.

    Spacious, it had a little kitchen that was an added bonus if we had known about it prior.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet!! We were charged 10 euro for the dog, which I usually would not mind, but I was not told about it until when I went to pay. I thought it was very expensive for what you get.

    Cute room with a little enclosed terrace. It is located in a beautiful area. We wished that we had more time to hike and explore.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All good. Time for Brits to explore this part of Germany.

    Walks into Bad Schandau using a lift taking us to valley below. Tram ride to waterfall and walks in astonishing scenary.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Family apartament was huge and fully equiped! We loved it :)

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet access.

    Lovely apartment with good cooking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the cleanness

    the location

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location and nice host. In the nature but easy to reach. Cute little room.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no soap to wash hands

    location, renovated old house, silence, free parking

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no balcony

    plentyful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The room The breakfast The location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was so quiet and close to the countryside and gorgeous views

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Ferienhaus Ostrauer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: