Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Ferienhotel Helmer This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mitteldorf 10, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#3 of 8 hotels in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Neuschwanstein, it’s all about Ludwig 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we remember of.

    We arrived and were welcomed, we had been told to go to “Neuschwanstein” even in the afternoon. Very good location of the hotel. In the evening we had an excellent dinner, drinks, just everything you expect from a 5 star Hotel, even it is only a 3- star hotel, it’s worse to try. Very familiar, very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    A typical bavarian family hotel, very comfy bed, clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, no negative feedback!

    A typical bavarian family hotel, very comfy bed, clean room, tasty dinner, good breakfast. The hotel is close to the castles and located in a panoramic alp environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.9
    confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BREAKFAST

    the only thing they have to improve is breakfast. because if you don't like the restarant you go to another. Central heating' cleaning'BED are perfect. For summer doesn't have AC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    A great place to stay. The hotel looks like a Swiss chalet and is as good as it looks. Our room had a balcony with a view of the mountains, it had plenty of on-site parking, and it was close to Neuschwanstein Castle. The restaurant was great, with fine food for dinner and a good breakfast. I'd heartily recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    10
    Terrific Traditional Hotel with Modern Flair in Center of Bucolic Hamlet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be great if CNN was one of the programs on the TV. I'm a news junkie.

    I loved my two night stay. I was given a spacious and exceptionally comfortable room in the annex, which when I come back, I will ask for a room in the annex. I had a couch, foot rest, desk, flat screen modern TV and a huge private balcony with wonderful view. I watched two little boys bring the cows in for milking on my first night and the second I watched storm clouds build over the rooftops and then the rain, which provided a wonderful sound as I slept. I had dinner both nights in the cozy "Kamin Zimmer," and I enjoyed the home cooking very much as well as the crisp and delicious Paulaner beer from the tap. Breakfast was outstanding with coffee brought immediately and with a smile. I do speak German.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Charming hotel, beautiful countryside. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Something to be aware of is that the bar closes at 10.30pm - understandably perhaps, as it seems to be a family run business.

    This charming, traditional hotel is located in a beautiful setting. With original wooden features, the restaurant and bar area has a rustic, quaint and homely feeling. There is also a picturesque outdoor seating area with views of the mountains. The double room was large, airy, nicely decorated and comfortable; and since the surrounding area is quiet, we slept soundly. The staff were very polite and helpful. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent, as was the dunkel beer in the evening! It is very suitably located for visiting the King's castles in Hohenschwangau. Also, the free rental bikes are a huge bonus for exploring the surrounding areas!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable, warm room with a great location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would change, is to have a kettle with coffee/tea facilities in the room. On a cold winter night it would have been nice to have a hot drink in our room.

    The location of this hotel was unbeatable. We had a room with a balcony that looked on to Neuschwanstein and hohenshwangau castles. It had a very country feel which made it so cosy. The restaurant was superb where we had dinner and breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again in the future.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable Bavarian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed! Typical in hotels in mainland Europe. It was two beds pushed together with two single duvets. Each bed ok as a single bed but it is not a double bed.

    Very warm room with outside balcony. Good bathroom with two basins. Welcoming restaurant and large separate breakfast room. Great location for visiting the famous castles 3km away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2016

    10
    A Fantastic Bavarian Stop Over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are very friendly and give you a real warm Bavarian welcome. The hotel is beautiful. Slightly tucked away but don't let this put you off as the outside balcony still allows you a view of the alps with the sun setting or rising. Beautiful home cooked Bavarian meals served in the bar area with a cracking beer on tap. This hotel is a must for anyone in the area. Well furnished with the little touches that make it special. Would recommend to anyone. Well worth the trip and the price. Don't miss out !!!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    9.2
    Quiet & quaint bavarian style accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe the restaurant could be open longer.

    A bavarian style accomodation, with carved timber beams and flowerpots on windows. The service is friendly and rooms are spacious, quiet and spotless. A perfect base for daily sightseeing trips and visits to abundant natural and historical points of interest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    10
    Great hotel in Schwangau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were extra soft, it could be better.

    Delicious salad bar and coffie. Renting bicycle for free. Great location near to castles and Fussen. Large room with nice view and balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Authentic German house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Allowed smoking in front of the main entrence.

    Everything else was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    I felt like I was in a fairytale. Staying here had such a nice feel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing , loved everything

    I loved the breakfast, fresh delicious food !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    7.9
    The food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    9.6
    Great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi logged us off if we didn't use it for a few minutes and we had to keep logging in again. It worked fine but was a bit frustrating.

    Great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the balcony and the view.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    10
    The staff was friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The staff was friendly and informative. The food was outstanding. Nice slelection of wine, beer and spirits. Cozy and comfortable atmosphere. In walking distance to everything. They rent bicycles as well. There is also a wonderful spa within walking distance of the hotel. The views are amazing. You can see the alps and the castles in the distance. The hotel is also a short drive from the Austrian border and the beautiful town of Fussen. Great place to unwind and recharge your battery.

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2015

    10
    Great restaurant, nice mural painted in our rooms wall, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street was not listed on our GPS and would not have found the hotel without help from people in town.

    Great restaurant, nice mural painted in our rooms wall, the staff at the desk was very helpful! Located in a nice small town with castle views and very friendly people (as was all people we met in Germany)

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    10
    A very attractive authentic German hotel/gasthof with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to leave so soon!

    A very attractive authentic German hotel/gasthof with excellent dining facilities, nestled in an idealized location. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    9.6
    This is a place off the beaten path that gives you a genuine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a place off the beaten path that gives you a genuine feel for Germany and their wonderful culture. There are great resturants nearby as well as public transportation to the castles. The beds were super comfortable, the shower and bath were excellent and the rooms are big. They have a beer room open late for a nightcap before bed. I cant say enough about the great stay we had here.

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2015

    7.9
    I used this hotel on a night stop on my way to Austria and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I used this hotel on a night stop on my way to Austria and Italy, so I am not too sure of all the facilities that the hotel offers to the guest as I understand it is an hotel that cater mostly for tours, families and for long stay as the area is great. I know for a fact that the hotel offer free bikes....lol. All in all a great establishment, typical of the area, very good service, nice bedroom and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is right on the main road to the center of Rothenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had 4 heavy luggages and had to carry them up and down 3 steps to the elevator.

    Hotel is right on the main road to the center of Rothenberg. It has free parking. Comfortable and big room. Service was good. Staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2015

    9.6
    Great facilities,close to everything and bicycle hire for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great facilities,close to everything and bicycle hire for free when you stay there. we had an action packed three days visiting Schloss NewSchwanstein, eating traditional food, and cycling around the lake.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    9.6
    Great location, 10 mins bus ride to Neuschwanstein castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No AC, as it was summer and the weather a bit hot in the afternoon. But it seems all the hotels there have no ac.

    Great location, 10 mins bus ride to Neuschwanstein castle. Great value for money. Breakfast & facilities are also good. I was given a comfortable old style room, very nice. Can rent bikes for free as well.

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2015

    7.5
    Very well decorated rooms, spacious rooms, good location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the facilities in the rooms are basic. There is no mini bar or fridge, there are no tea and coffee making facilities.

    Very well decorated rooms, spacious rooms, good location, comfortable beds, wide balcony with table and chairs.

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    9.2
    I loved this quaint little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved this quaint little hotel. This was the best hotel of our trip through Europe. My wife and I borrowed two bikes through the hotel and rode around the beautiful countryside. We even took a swim around sunset with swans beside us on the lake!

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly hotel, close to the centre of Interlaken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little too soft.

    Very friendly hotel, close to the centre of Interlaken. We enjoyed a superior room with large balcony and fantastic views of the mountains. Hotel parking is limited but we managed to free park during our stay. Five minutes easy walk to railway station and town. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2015

    9.6
    This beautiful alpine lodge style hotel is the perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Based on the map location we thought the hotel was in the countryside and were surprised to find it was in a small town. However we were very happy with the location in the end as we could walk to nearby restaurants. Open farmland is very close to the hotel.

    This beautiful alpine lodge style hotel is the perfect choice for a stay in southern Barvaria, and for visiting Fussen and the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenswhangau. We were delighted with our room - 30 metres square with a large balcony (view of the castles), separate toilet and bathroom, double sinks in the bathroom, huge bed - it was just lovely. The rooms were large and very clean and exceeded our expectations - they photos of the hotel don't do it justice. We found everything new, clean, modern and in excellent condition. The hotel breakfast was simple but good, and the restaurant provides an excellent dinner on weekends and a lighter menu during the week. Service was kind and polite. The hotel is 5 minutes drive from the Ticket centre and car parks for sight seeing at the castles and about 15 minutes from Fussen. The hotel is 1 block back from the main street of the small town of Schwangau so there is a Chemist, a few restaurants and a beer hall within walking distance. Behind the hotel is open space - and we saw 3 deer there Staying in this hotel was a highlight of our holiday.

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful traditional hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful traditional hotel in a great location. Helpful friendly staff and an overall great atmosphere

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    9.6
    I would say one of the best hotels to stay in Schwangay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would say one of the best hotels to stay in Schwangay! View from the room balcony was amazing!

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    9.6
    Pretty hotel, beautiful rooms, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty hotel, beautiful rooms, nice staff

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    10
    The view from our room was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our room was spectacular. Very quiet location and convenient. Hosts were so friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    10
    there was a hill at the back of the hotel where we can see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was a hill at the back of the hotel where we can see neuschwanstein castle!

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! The accommodations were wonderful from the clean, modern rooms, to the delicious food, wonderful staff and gorgeous scenery.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2015

    8.8
    facility, the convenience and total free for renting bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there should be more travelling guide brochures or maps to show aroud this area.

    facility, the convenience and total free for renting bikes.

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2015

    9.6
    Great service, clean and nice food too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service, clean and nice food too! Location is great being able to walk around the town and also be at the Schloss in less than 10mins.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: