Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Neuhäusl Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wildmoos 45, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#4 of 19 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Organizing, and special greetings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is great but I was facing the forest. But still very good with 9.5/10 for the location and how near is the activities.

    Organizing, and special greetings. Very classic and every facility you would think of; spa, pool... Staff are very polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stay in Berchesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff had a rest day when we arrived on Tuesday. This seems to be a situation that happens every Tuesday. The bar was closed and dinner was only available to half board guests. As the place is a few kms out of town this was very inconvenient. I suggest the property informs guests in advance that they have rest days. The spa was also closed. Although the breakfast was very nice, we were not offered eggs or bacon and only after filling up on bread rolls we discovered that a warm breakfast is actually available. At the rate being charged we expected a more luxerious hotel. Our booking indicated that we have a room with a garden view. We looked out on the parking lot. There is also no air conditioning and the room is very stuffy.

    The manager advised us that we could buy tickets from the hotel to avoid the queues at the Königsee which helped at lot. She also suggested a very nice route we could drive. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Great indoor swimmingpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really on the countryside. You will have to get there by car. 3 minutes from the Austrian border. One of the personal was not very friendly or welcoming during breakfast. But the rest of the personal very helpful.

    Great indoor swimmingpool. Breakfast was good. Nice bedroom and bathroom. We all in all liked the hotel very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Our week was full of activity exploring this lovely part of Bavaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only German TV channels Only German version of the useful daily hotel newspaper.

    Neuhausl hotel is a superb hotel with excellent facilities for an enjoyable holiday. The location is quiet and beautiful and, being without a car, we made good use of the free bus passes. Our room had a large balcony which caught the afternoon sun and from which we could see the mountains. The indoor pool has access to both indoor and garden terraces with long loungers. Breakfast was excellent and varied. Half board is good value and the dinner menu offers a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    I would like to return for a much longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was done to perfection.

    This is a world class family run alpine resort and spa with stunning views, ambience, charm, professionalism, and unmatched friendliness and warmth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel in the heart of the Bavarian Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing place to stay, the staff went up of there way to assist any way they could from laundry to providing discount cards for local attractions and transportation. Breakfast was terrific, location was very central to skiing and Salzburg. Hats off to you and the staff, I’ll be staying here again. Cheers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, relaxing, spotless hotel. Definitely recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the lobby bar was not open during our stay which was a shame. I think this was down to the limited amount of guests staying at that time. As the main lobby is beautifully decorated and it would have been nice to have been able to relax there with a few drinks and a book.

    The hotel from the rooms to the restaurant was spotless. Super clean and well looked after. The staff were extra kind and very nice, always greated you politely, and were on hand to answer any questions. The food was extremely tasty, with a great variety of choice. The spa has everything you need to relax in, including a range of free tea’s and water (the Physio therm was our favourite)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great Alpine getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a room on the lower level at the end, made WiFi reception a bit spotty. But, repositioning to a chair down the hall fixed all that.

    Quiet location, huge room, and great restaurant with pleasant staff. It was a real bonus having our own designated table for all meals, which made us feel special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful scenery and absolutely clean hotel. The staff were always eager to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, every detail for a traveler was covered

    Perfect breakfasts and perfect dining room restaurant. Bar lounge in the evening was quiet and a pleasure to sit comfortably after a long day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    It was okay, but only for one time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shag carpeting in the room (long hair), the strong chlorine smell from the swimming-pool outside the room and throughout the building. If you offer a breakfast buffet, make it a buffet, and don't stop resupplying the display with add-on foods. When we came almost 90 minutes before the end of the breakfast cycle, the fruit was gone and we had to find the waitress and ask her to bring fruit, butter, marmelade, milk etc. Either offer a buffet or a la carte, but don't charge for an insufficient buffet! That's being greedy. Also, give the guests a choice of tables and don't seat us at a mini-table. Of course, the small size table coincides with the restricted mini-buffet! And when the owner lady comes and asks you in a commanding voice: "Do you still want anything else?" you have to ask yourselves if she meant it or if she was facetious! Don't make us feel like you are doing us a favor, we are paying for it! Bedding was not changed during the entire 3 days. If I ceck out after one day and come back for another night later, I'll get new sheets. Same thing after the 2nd night. We don't get a discount for sleeping on the same bedding 3 nights in a row! And don't give us that "environmental BS" about saving Al Gore's world!

    Gerti, the front desk lady, she has business sense! The size of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This was the nicest hotel we have stayed at while traveling Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally delightful hotel. Extremely clean, comfortable, and friendly staff. We will always stay here again when traveling in this area. Breakfast and restaurant food was extremely good. Mountain location was an added beauty to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful resort easy access to region, not strong customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not find the staff overly friendly. they didn't go out of there way to makes us welcome and we felt treated differently as English speaking visitors.

    Being in the mountainside for a peaceful stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no stable mobile reception. A1 network is only one which works but not in house only on parking lot. Not important if you dont need but if you are expecting important buisiness call, like we did, it can be very problematic. We ended up puting mobile phones on balcony, where A1 signal worked 50% of the time. I would recommend the owner to instal simple mobile amplifier network. Otherwise WiFi worked very good.

    Really great room and location. Personal was very nice especially girl at reception (not owner). House and interior are really one of best looking i seen ever

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    A very friendly family orientated hotel in an excellent location for exploring the local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Am struggling to think of anything I didn't like - and if I have to think about it then there is nothing worth recording.

    Restaurant was very homely with good quality food. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and facilities (Sauna etc) excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in the alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant could have been better, but other than that, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the place.

    The Hotel is located right in the mountains of Bavaria. The surroundings of the hotel looks just like a scene from the sound of music. The room we had was very nice, great to have a balcony aswell. the parking was just outside and there was always room, and it was free of charge. A litte way up the road you have the Rossfeld panoramic road, from where you have excellent views of the area and you can park there for a hike up to the Eagles nest for example. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area was great and there is a sundeck outside from where you can watch the mountains. The gym consists of about five machines from the 80 s. The restaurant was OK, but not more. The breakfast was good with a good selection of alternatives. i really recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    relaxing perfect stressless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had the feeling as coming back home ;" oma" welcomed us , and "farewelled "us - sekt included sorry that we have spent only one night ; nice place, fantastic air and views , good quality 4 stars hotel with all that it means austrian /german mountains atmosphere (more Austrian like nevertheless the border that actually soften surprises you )

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A real perfect hotel in his class;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real perfect hotel in his class; the hotel staff transformed my businness trip overnight in a small one night holyday. For sure I will come back once again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    The food we had for dinner was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know the hotel assigns seats for breakfast ( were not told during check in) and we were scolded and given eye rolls when we were at the wrong table. If you don't speak German this is not the hotel for you. The staff gets very irritated trying to communicate with you. The beds were extremely hard and the rooms extremely hot.

    The food we had for dinner was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    good hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    asked for a harder matress as it is too soft for me. One of the staff told me that the room I'll stay in the following night has a harder matress, and if I don't like it, can change anytime. But when I asked to change when we back from the castle and found it is still very soft, another staff told us that all room are full, no spared matress to change... and said nobody was complained on the matress.... sounds like We are the only people who don't like it...

    good hotel in very good location. near to train station and bus station to the castle. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.8
    The hotel is very good, located in the quite valley on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a suit for 2 nights, and then a double room for the 3rd night. When we leave for the town in the morning, I told that We've packed already , just move our stuff to the room when it is ready. The young lady made a call and told us to stay in the same room with the same price as the room we booked from booking. But when we check out, the lady still charge us for the suit not the price we booked for a double room. Which is really really bad! We didn't want to take the advantage of the suit and don't even need it because my friend was staying at another hotel, and only myself is staying there that night, I need only a room. But they themself told me not to move, and said the same price as the double room, I thought they were just don't bother to clean another room and were trying to treat us good as we stayed there 3 nights.... Well, I feel like been cheated! And I was in a hurry to catch the bus ( otherwise will need to wait another hour and will miss the bus to salzburg), so no time to argue. But will definity don't stay any more.

    The hotel is very good, located in the quite valley on the northeast. the place is beautiful itself, but not suitable for tourist with public transportation, if you miss one bus, you will need to wait another one hour or more. you will need to take bus to the town, and then change another one to the king's lake. The breakfast is very good, and the old lady in the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Amazing small hotel with great facilities and friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low level of English language from menus to personnel

    Amazing small hotel with great facilities and friendly staff very beautiful hotel and rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Nice clean hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from room was good but not fantastic.

    Exceptionally well run hotel, nice staff who try to do best for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took our guest cards back then we found out we could have saved some money in town if we had them.

    People were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, great staff, excellent restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, great staff, excellent restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely secluded hotel with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely secluded hotel with beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Rooms were okey bathroom not what you expect , small shower
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive food was good

    Rooms were okey bathroom not what you expect , small shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Location, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location, facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular. Beautiful property very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Lovely staff, beautiful room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are not suitable to the luxury of the hotel....

    Very nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff were so friendly and accommodating.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was wonderful with the room, and the meals served were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    a good place for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very nice hotel with a strong back to home feeling. breakfast is good. beautiful view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Family treat during the stay from the staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family treat during the stay from the staffs

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, great service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great attitude of staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Room was great location also good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meals good do with a makeover breakfast was basic

    Room was great location also good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Friendly hotel with good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly hotel with excellent restaurant. The half board food option, was, in our opinion, the best choice. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Amazing views at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not comfortable; didn't provide support.

    Location was excellent and the hotel is very clean and spacious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.4
    nice renovated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel is bit dated, only rooms are new spa is not in the condition as on the hotel pictures unfriendly reception and restaurant staff, no family athmosphere limited selection of food for breakfast -you have to order the warm egg dishes, but nobody inform you about it in advance

    nice renovated rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.6
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long drive to Berchtesgaden. Should not be advertised as a Berchtesgaden hotel. high price for what you get. Breakfast minimal. Our bed was raised up on a platform the edge of which was about 50cm from the edge of the bed -- made it easy to trip and fall when getting out of bed to use bathroom in middle of night.

    Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Our second visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathtub was high, and for older people, like us, somewhat difficult to get in and out. We seemed to have no control over the heat, and there WERE some cold nights, but it wasn't that serious. Although it was no trouble for us, we just don't like the fact that dogs are allowed in a hotel

    Our second visit to this hotel. The room and its location were wonderful. The breakfasts and dinners were GREAT

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful Spacious new room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you don't like being around families with children, this might not be for you.

    Beautiful Spacious new room Swimming pool and the garden! Friendly staff Breakfast with homemade products Quiet location near a touristic area

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool area is quite small, so it shouldn't be a major reason why you are staying there. We were there for the mountain region and lakes, not for the pool so it didn't matter to us.

    The staff were incredible. They went above and beyond necessity to make sure we were happy, and comfortable. For example, we arrived late and they had arranged rooms for us (when they could not reach us by email), and they kept the kitchen open for us after closing because we arrived late and hadnt yet eaten. They addressed us by name during our stay. It was a lovely experience. It's very secluded and a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely indoor swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No WiFi for 2 days - apparently this is common due to the area. There was a public computer you could use.

    Lovely indoor swimming pool. Had it to ourselves most of the time. Good breakfast. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff made us feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi was slow, and two nights we couldn't log on at all.

    Friendly, helpful staff made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and well priced. The location is great. The Hotel is beautiful both inside and outside.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    We had to postpone our stay in the last minute by one day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only intermittently internet availability -this can be nerve breaking when in need for a reasonably working connection

    We had to postpone our stay in the last minute by one day for medical reasons - this move was very kindly accepted. I was delighted about the kindness of the staff.; The panorama root is close by and thus it was possible to drive it at dawn with fantastic light and be back for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Quiet place, relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet place, relaxing and peaceful Clean comfortable rooms with traditional furnishing, superb view from the balcony to the Eagle's Nest. Delicious breakfast and dinner, invigorating spa facilities including swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and a salt cave.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    Great staff, lovely location but quite away from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, lovely location but quite away from town

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.8
    Paid for a upgrade which we did not get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to provide our own basics re toiletries

    Paid for a upgrade which we did not get. Booking.com rooms are not given what they are paid for.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    the rooms are very nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms are very nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a room with nice view, got one that overlooks the car park.

    Super friendly staff. Nice food. Quiet and nice room.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful room with beautiful environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of AC

    Beautiful room with beautiful environment!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    It was a very clean and charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very clean and charming hotel. Nice to be in the country.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    average
    • Couple

    average

    average

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: