Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Filmhotel Lili Marleen 3 stars

Großbeerenstraße 75, 14482 Potsdam, Germany

#28 of 31 hotels in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1698 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location isn't perfect, a few miles out of the town centre. For us it was a few minutes' drive. There are buses, though.

    It's a truly delightful B&B. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Car parking (on the street) was easy. A very good breakfast, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not all the staff speaks english, but they help you anyway.

    They clean the room every day. The breakfast is complete (eggs, cheese, meat, yogurt, cereals, cakes etc.) and the quality is good. The staff is cordial and the cinema style is awesome! Possibility to pay on the last day and especially by card (Germany is lacking about credit cards). My room overlooked on the backyard, so it was very quiet in the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great!

    very clean and comfortable rooms, nice movie-theme everywhere the staff war really nice and helpful, we were asked if we are smokers and offered a room with a balcony, which was really great! the breakfast was amazing, everything was fresh and lokal and very very tasty! the bulgarian restaurant nearby was also really tasty :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi redirects to a login page, which my laptop is chronically unable to handle. I got around this by using my phone as a wi-fi bridge, but this kept cutting out for no reason. Granted this is a very specific (and minor !) problem, but it would be so much easier to just give a network password. It would also be extra nice to have a fridge and kettle in the room.

    Good breakfast with a wide variety of choices, served at reasonable hours. Comfy beds, good shower, very spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the underground garage is very tight for non-European drivers. If a legal parking spot can be located on a nearby street, take it and stay in it for your entire visit.

    Filmhotel Lily Marlene - true to its name - is located near Babelsberg, Germany’s answer to Hollywood. The area’s main attraction however, is Potsdam - a twenty minute bus and streetcar ride away. There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel. The hotel itself is large, labyrinthine, and pleasingly decorated in keeping with its film theme. The rooms are modern, bright, well-furnished, and immaculately clean. The young women at reception spoke limited but cheerful English, and were helpful with directions. WiFi is available in the rooms. Breakfast is included is the room price, and was the best and most varied that we enjoyed during our tour of Germany. Parking is available at extra cost in the underground garage, but must be reserved in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival I found an empty bootle of water in a wardrobe left by a previous guest. It means that my room was not properly checked by the room service before assigning it to the new guest. But besides that, the condition of the room was very good!

    Comfortable beds, quite a spacious room, good localisation. Personnel is friendly and helpful. I also liked the decorations in the room - movie posters framed on the walls were climatic and attractive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sink was clogged, wirh water dropping on the floor, but nobody did anything about it. One night, the warm water was brownish...! The carpet didn't look too fresh.

    Nice, light eoom with windows on two sides, bathroom recently renovated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff did not know english very well when we checked in they did not informed us about breakfast hours. we went to the lobby to eat breakfast at 10:40 and they did not let us eat even though there was still food on the table because breakfast ends at 10:30

    the lobby was cool the room was ok the staff was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - completely satisfied !!

    Obliging staff, great breakfast, excellent large room, convenient underground parking, film themed room and bar. Good location close to Potsdam centre ,trains and buses. Good sound proofing from street traffic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems with this hotel. Breakfast room was a little crowded... possibly all guests chose the same time.

    The building had a lift which we appreciated. Breakfast was superb. the room was clean comfortable and pleasant. Once you are aware, there is a bus stop quite close which gives rapid access to the Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good location. In fact, there are 7 km from Sansucci Park and 4.5 km from Potsdam centre. No tempting restaurant nearby, so you'll have to go by car to Potsdam centre for dinner. The room was big and clean but the furniture was a little old, and the bathroom door look bad painted and old (see photo). So in the bathroom I felt I was in a public bathroom. Our companions find the bed sheets broken! Inadmissible. If you want just a bed and a breakfast you may make this choice. Otherwise avoid!

    Free parking on the street, if you try a bit. Good breakfast but if you want an espresso you must pay extra, very unusual for a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a long way from the city center. The breakfast was okay but had to wait for warm eggs both boiled and scramble.

    The personale were very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Forget about parking on the streets anywhere in Potsdam. We left our car in the hotel garage and took the bus into the center to see town and park.

    After reading some of the other more negative reviews, we were very pleased. The movie theme was not overdone and the room comfortable. Generous breakfast. Safe garage parking, but paid extra Eu 6/day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi connection was a bit spotty in my room

    Filmhotel Lili Marleen is an excellent choice if you are looking for a cheap hotel to stay in Potsdam but you don't need a central location. I was visiting apartments in the Babelsberg area so that made the spot perfect for me. The town is easy to reach because there area number of public transport stops in the area (bus just on the nearest street, S-Bahn and tram stop after a 5 minute walk). The staff is helpful and the room is tidy. There is an excellent restaurant in the hotel with outdoor seating possible and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly tacky room décor with some film posters, but the restaurant/bar area looks much better, especially if you're into old cinema. Some furniture in need of upgrade.

    We stayed in a basic but good-sized room with a balcony and a bathroom. Everything looked neat and clean. Just what we needed for a stop on a long trip. Super-helpful, friendly staff was a huge bonus. Nice breakfast included in price. Parking was available in the underground garage, which was a relief, because all surrounding streets were packed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    helpful receptionists,a choice between two rooms was offered,the restaurant and the food,10 to 15 minutes walk to S-bahn,which takes you straight down berlin

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Spacious nice and clean room. -Photos correspond to reality. -There is opportunity to regulate the heating of the room. On the radiator there is a switch, so you could set the preferable temperature. -Spacious bathroom. (Clean, bathroom fixture it is new.) -Very good breakfast. -Quiet and calm place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit far from the city center but bus pass regularly. Two bus stops are very close, count ten minutes to the Railway main station.

    My room was very quiet, large, clean. The bathroom was clean too, with a nice shower. The bed was good, seemed new. The breakfast is abundant (self service) and available very early (6:30). The decoration of the hotel is entertaining. Photographs of past and present stars in the corridors, in the rooms, in the restaurant. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware parking on the street outside. We were looking for 'yellow lines' but, instead there's a sign on a pole that indicates where you can't park. We got a ticket!

    Funky decor, lovely spacious room, great breakfast and nice evening meals. The hotel felt very much part of its local community and it was only a short bus ride to Potsdam. I liked the way the hotel was full of German visitors, most I think were going to the Bebelsberg film studios nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet/wifi through some strange system with only one activation code per room Parking is not really parking, just a street with not so many options available (but still there were places).

    Location was good - 7 minutes drive to downtown, 5 Min to the lake. The room was spacious and the breakfast remarkable, even fruit salad! The restaraunt provides nice meals, but nothing super-special.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception were not forthcoming at all! The location is extremely dull and had very limited options for eating out or shopping for groceries. It was impossible to shower without spraying water all over the bathroom. floor.

    Breakfast was very nice. The was large and had a balcony overlooking a (slightly untidy) garden. The location is convenient if you come from the A9 highway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great, highly enjoyable with no complaints and many positives. I will stay again, both Babblesberg and Potsdam are well worth visiting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite far away from train station

    Clean, good breakfast and comfort bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit far from S Bahn

    Very neat, tidy with themed rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Spacious room with balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen Service at night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, Room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was very small.

    Spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nvt

    Ontbeit was top

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything which I did not like

    The bed was really comfortable. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner

    Good breakfast, comfortable beds, clean rooms, very silence,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no laundry facilities - hmmm what does a traveller do with dirty clothes????

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cook was away for the weekend.

    The staff were extremely helpful, the hotel is neat, tidy and has an interesting theme. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - if the garage is full (which is always), there is a problem with parking nearby.

    + breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location not so easy to find

    Room was meeting my expectations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work

    Nice room Nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful and polite staff. Perfect room. Sufficiently varied breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and comfortable room which was a surprise. Good brekfest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't feel welcomed / poor english spoken and very cold guy / the room looked a bit old

    one of the cheapest place in the area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found nothing to dislike.

    Charming little place with a good breakfast. Fun with the movie-inspired theme.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from other guests on the corridor.

    Great breakfast ! Very nice crew.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were atrocious, just incredibly rude. The WiFi was slow and I had to get a new login for the WiFi each day. The walls were thin; I could hear the people in the room beside me snoring at night. The staff are the main reason I'd never stay there again.

    The bed was a great size for a single and very comfortable. Room was small but very clean. The free breakfast had a good enough selection. The theme was great too. Buses outside brang me straight to S-Babelsberg and Potsdam Hbf. The windows were great for blocking out street noise.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My mattress wasn't super comfy.

    The decor in this place was spectacular. The room was pretty but the dining area was a movie overload! We sat at breakfast gazing round the walls and discussing what we saw. Great fun.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated, carpet on the floor.

    Facility a bit outdated, carpet on the floor in the room. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall a nice stay based on a low price.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We got rooms far from each other in separate buildings. WiFi was not working really well. Garage had plenty of free places but was low and narrow.

    Clean, easy to access, functional. We didn't miss anything. Movie theme was charming. Nice restaurant with good and plentiful breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn t filled back the breakfast, you have go there in time or you can t pick your food.

    The hotel was very nice and clean. I loved the film posters!!! :)

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a nice 20 minutes walk to Potsdam University. The rooms are cozy and clean. The bathroom in my room had just been renovated. The breakfast is fantastic. There is a nice patio for a pleasant afternoon beer.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen in the restaurant did not work during the weekend (only beer). We spent there a very hot day (35C). In the absence of conditioners, it was very difficult. Opening the window was also a problem because our faced a quite noisy street.

    Everything is more or less OK. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work. The room was not ready until 3.00pm which distrupted our plan.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good and cuzy restaurent - room wes nothing special

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room. only two pillows for double bed. No bath accessories. No parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The corridors were long, and it takes time to get to far rooms.

    The theme of the hotel is really nice, and strolling around the corridors was fun.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice room, amazing breakfast and really original decorations.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location! 15 minutes walk to S-Bahn

    Spacious room

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location for the Potsdam, near S-bahn. Nice breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unfriendly stuff! No restaurant around...

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Group

    Good breakfast..

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Acces to internett was 0 6 euro for parking No parkings outside

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the locations is far away from downtown

    The hotel is clean and big

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location a litle outside of everything. Restaurant closed on Sunday and Monday.

    Parkinghouse Big room

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room strongly smells of cigarette.I requested non smoking room but it was not realized.

    Good breakfast and friendly staffs.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One has to take a bus to get to the hotel from rail station.

    Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No major complaints.

    Large and clean room. About 15 minute walk from Babelsberg (S-Bahn station).

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Filmhotel Lili Marleen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: