Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Filser This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Freibergstrasse 15, 87561 Oberstdorf, Germany

#27 of 33 hotels in Oberstdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 461 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Second time we have stayed and we will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows excellent quality but different from home! Tea making facilities in room would be nice.

    Food exceptional in hotel's excellent restaurant at good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    great stay, comfy, clean, fresh breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a bit small

    Due to a severe storm I had to abort my mountain bivouac and booked a hotel room in the late evening. Around midnight I arrived and the friendly receptionist guided me to my room. The breakfast included fresh fruits and milk products and the pool /spa area was clean and comfy. The hotel is nicely located in a calm street but close to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Excellent Staff great Restaurantant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not that comfortable and blanket a bit too short.

    Super friendly Staff. Great restaurant with wide selection. Restaurant is very nice, excellent staff and great value for money. Breakfast is very good. The outside Sauna is a nice plus

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.9
    Room pics do not match with what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Plus Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room pictures do not match with reality. You think you get modern room but you don't and they say it is OK cause it is just for illustration. I say it is NO GO!

    Breakfast was really good. Sauna was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.4
    Traveling Mom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is no 4 star hotel in my view. While breakfast was ok (just ok), the Food for dinner (half board) was terrible and some of the worst coffee I have ever had. Also the high chairs for kids had cushions on them that looked like they had not been cleaned in months. The rooms were clean, however the lay out was not good for families. The bathroom door was a sliding glass door which you could not shut all the way (so all the noise in the bathroom could be heard loud and clear in the whole room) and when the light was on in the bathroom the whole room got bright which woke up our child. The bed for our child had a super thin mattress that was worthless so they ended up sleeping in our bed. The single room for our guest, was the size of a closet and thus rather over priced. Although the pool was a good size, Pool area and wellness area were too small to be considered a 4 star. Wifi super slow. The price for the rooms was too expensive for what you got.

    Very good location, close to the center of town. Clean bathroom and room. Super friendly staff in the restaurant and at reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Superb Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise in the corridor despite a Do Not Disturb sign and the breakfast is only ok. Also be aware of all the naked people in the sauna/ steam room if that might make you uncomfortable.

    The pool is great, the location and staff are great. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    The swimming pool and sauna are perfect to relax after a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was pretty small and the single bed was really small.

    The swimming pool and sauna are perfect to relax after a long day. The views from the balcony were beautiful! And the breakfast was rich and a lot of variety.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Perfect vacatin hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, such a great hotel.

    Amazing location. Amazing sauna. Bed very comfortable. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Top
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna where is everyone naked...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    MPL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound noise attenuation in a room, due to the old house.

    Location, sauna, pool, food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    All in all very pleasant stay , would com back to the same hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My. Bed was too hard

    Staff, location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    The breakfast was wonderful and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was wonderful and staff very helpful. The location was great and about 10-15 mins walk from the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Plus Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee amenities in room

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Spectacular view from our terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay and helpful friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was wonderful, facilities very clean, staff friendly and very helpful and good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Nice hotel ,excellent room and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say....all good

    Really friendly atmosphere and friendly staff and service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.7
    Kein 4 Sterne Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is very slow and weak. Sauna is working only from 12.00?!?! Too expensive!!! Not recommendable !!!

    Friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the guests were unfortunately not up to the hotel's standard!

    The hotel was excellent! The breakfast too and the room very comfortable. The swimming pool and sauna v. good.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    Really nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in a house away from the main hotel building. Probably very nice once, but now the hall in front of the room smelled and some tiles in the bathroom were loose. Same applies to the spa area. Ok but not very new. Oberstdorf Therme is close by and offers a good alternative. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because if included cosmetic treatments. We tried to book some right upon arrival but could only get massages, no cosmetic treatment. To be fair we were there outside of the high season.

    Really nice and helpful staff. Cards and ideas for hiking. Guest card giving a lot of reductions in the town. Town in very easy reach. Bike rent for free. They are currently renovating a part of the hotel so it will probably be really nice then. Room with nice sunny balcony. Nice breakfast included in room price.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    The Filser is a very nice hotel located in a heavily...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi did NOT function in my room on the first floor which was a serious problem for me to conduct business with my customers. Reception tried numerous actions to resolve the issue but without any success. They advised there was a hotspot on every floor yet I could not get connected unless I was on the ground floor. That is not acceptable. They advised they would have the Wi-Fi technicians resolve the problem in my room or that section of the hotel. The very narrow 30 kph streets are a challenge to negotiate when you can't see around corners at intersections. The kitchen warmed the breakfast rolls and bread in the oven each day but it dried them out too much and compromised the taste. I would suggest they discontinue warming the bread and rolls.

    The Filser is a very nice hotel located in a heavily populated hotel/apartment tourism area. The hotel and rooms are nicely appointed and quite comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They speak excellent English and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Even with GPS I had difficulty finding the hotel as the Filster also has several apartment buildings near by the hotel and the hotel sign is partially blocked by trees. Breakfast was very good with lots of selections. The half pension meals were good and a nice convenience as it's difficult to find other restaurants around the area unless you know the area. The onsite parking is good but crowded and when people double park where they are not suppose to, it makes it quite difficult to exit the parking lot. The owner of the Filser greeted guests at dinner and made sure to ask if everything was OK. She seemed genuinely concerned with guests enjoying their stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.5
    Location, breakfast,dinner & staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wanted a twin room but none available, we were told that is normal in Germany eventually got a pullout sofa made up but unnecessary disruption on first night, awkward when booking groups. The difference in comfort & superior rooms was not worth extra 200eu.

    Location, breakfast,dinner & staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    9.6
    A very nice hotel right easy walking distance to the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Somehow the bed was not completely comfortable. Maybe I'm just soft.

    A very nice hotel right easy walking distance to the center of oberstdorf. The double room was a good size. The staff very friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Pool a decent size. The view from our balcony was stunning. They even gave us wipes when we checked out to make sure our hands were nice and clean!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is awesome.. Sauna and pool after a long session of snowboard was highly appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Very nice renovated room, clean and comfortable, stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Very nice renovated room, clean and comfortable, stayed in Hotel Filser for the second time and would love to return

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    I like every thing in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    I like every thing in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice little hotel. The pool was nice and the rooms are big and comfortable. The location is good, 5 minute walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable room and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Finding it

    Comfortable room and excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    The breakfast is wonderful as is the pool.
    • Group

    The breakfast is wonderful as is the pool. Friendly staff and clean hotel!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.3
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location Good bedroom

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and made you feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were very helpful and made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and accommodating staff, very good garden sauna,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and accommodating staff, very good garden sauna, very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    10
    The rooms were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were excellent Staff friendly and helpfull Facilities great Breakfast really good

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Filser traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: