Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Flair Hotel am Rosenhügel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Valwiger Str. 57, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#8 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    We will be back, again, again and again
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no concerns what so ever

    this was now the seconded time we stayed at the Hotel am Rosenhugel. As before, our stay was comfortable and we felt just like at home. This is a family run business and it shows that the folks love their place. The place is sparkling clean, the rooms are well appointed, complimentary coffee in the room. The breakfast is superb, after a not so good dinner in town, we went to bed saying we are looking forward to breakfast. There is a little garden you can read and rest, you have a great view onto the Mosel and the Reichsburg. We can only recommend a stay at the Hotel am Rosenhugel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Balcony Bliss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike during our two night stay. The restaurant isn't always open for dinner so this needs to be made clear on Booking.com.

    We had a lovely, comfortable room with our own balcony which overlooked the river and the pretty town of Cochem. There was an honesty bar downstairs so we bought a bottle of German sparkling wine and sat on the balcony in the evening before going out for dinner. We even had an umbrella to put up which was very welcoming as it was extremely hot! Breakfast was plentiful and served in a pleasant restaurant. Lots of choice and good quality ingredients. Ask for a room facing the town and the fairy tale castle on the hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Everything we expected - and MORE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very modern, clean and well appointed hotel. Staff were helpful and polite. Rooms are clean and comfortable and typically sized for most European 3-stars. Having a 'Castle View' only added to the overall enjoyment of our stay. Breakfast was delightful with many options from which to choose along with a magnificent view of the castle and town. Another nice amenity is that beverages are offered on the 'honor system' from a refrigerator on the lower level and payable during checkout. For the fitness minded, there's a small but well-equipped exercise area and sauna. And for those curious about the Wifi - it's the BEST we've experienced in a German hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely views and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double beds were a little on the small side. Plastic backed mattress protectors is a big no-no.

    The view from the balcony was superb. Even the rooms to the side have a good view. Location was some way out of town on the opposite bank to Cochem but that meant it was very quiet. Several nice places to eat and drink along the river within 5 mins walk. Breakfast was plentiful, typical german style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great room and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was people staying in room around the corner from ours smoked almost non stop on their balcony. We had to go inside and shut all windows to avoid the second hand smoke.

    Great hotel with comfortable beds. We had a room with a balcony with a view of the castle. Breakfast was awesome with a huge variety of food. Had dinner one night in restaurant and it was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Nice place; great photo graph point for Cochem Castle; great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very-well runned; the staffs are really nice and helpful (the help me to find a sports bar); the best photographing location for Cochem castle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Best view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel had the best view across the river of the town of Cochem and the castle, but still an easy walk to town. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hope to come back someday !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with great views of the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are very firm. I had to use an extra duvet as a mattress cover to get to sleep. The lone waiter that works in the restaurant at night is rude. The one dinner we had was also not very good quality which surprised us since breakfast is so great.

    The breakfast is outstanding. They have everything, from meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, sausages, croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, muesli etc... The view from the breakfast room probably can't be beat in Cochem. You literally facing the river and castle. They also have an honour bar which was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, lovely place. I highly recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the beds a bit too firm for my taste.

    I had a room with a balcony and a castle view and this just made the trip. So beautiful. The hotel is quiet, very clean and the staff very friendly. The breakfast room view is amazing and a great selection of food for breakfast I also enjoyed the honour bar system in the basement - made it very easy to pick up a drink or a snack at the end of the day. Great place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was limited hard standing parking which meant a number of guests had to park on a grassy sloping field alongside the property. Not so convenient after it had been raining. Also, Restaurant hours finished a little early in the evening. When you had been out all day it felt a bit rushed.

    The front of the hotel had a good view of the castle which made for a lovely breakfast or dinner setting. It is outside of the main town so quieter but still within easy walking distance. The food quality was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Castle views in the "wrong" hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in is not until 3 which is very late

    We managed to book the "wrong" hotel - we were in Cochem a few years ago and on a walk realised that we should stay on the opposite side of the river to the town in order to have a view of the castle and town etc so we saw a hotel and thought its name was "Flair" not realising that Flair is some type of chain. So when booking for July we saw this hotel, it looked the same although I thought it seemed a bit further out on the map and its name was Flair - anyway it is a bit further out than where we meant to be but, crucially, slightly higher up so amazing views. Its still only 10-15 mins over the river to the centre which is no hardship except in a thunderstorm one night. Good parking. Our room was at a corner with a balcony and a great view of the castle and vineyards - large and clean with tea/coffee/water in room. Breakfast excellent - all you could want with range of cooked food etc. Make your own tea and large pot of coffee brought - why do so many hotels not do this but bring a cup of tea and then give themselves so much work replenishing tea and coffee? You can eat outside overlooking the town. They also have a restaurant for dinner plus a gym, sauna and solarium and bike rental (we didn't try any of these) and a "trust bar" late at night when the hotel is closed which we didn't use either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great for the price; Friendly Staff - Beautiful Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower is small, Not a lot of toiletries, beds were a little firm could use a mattress topper. Thank you for the free wifi but it kept signing me out or it could just be my room location.

    Breakfast was great, Sauna was great. Friendly Staff will to accommodate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All super

    every once in a wile you come across the perfect place. Friendly folks, great service, great location, great rooms, great food. We had a wonderful time. Easy to walk into town, great view onto the Mosel and the Reichsburg. After your time in town you come to your hotel and you have an honor bar that misses nothing, have a night cap and watch the river go by. Great breakfast buffet, had a great dinner as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A nice family run hotel in a quiet location, ideal to explore Cochem and its surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't use the internet connection, as one needs an 'internet ticket' from the reception. Easier access is common nowadays.

    as usual in German hotels, the breakfast was more than one could wish. The hotel is located on the outskirt of Cochem, but that way it is in a very quiet location - even when the Christmas Market was ongoing in town. There is free parking space on the hotel premises, and across the street.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and a lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Every think
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every think

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Everything the pool was great especially with the hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the pool was great especially with the hot weather we had

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Location and view to vineyard and Cochem castle from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location and view to vineyard and Cochem castle from balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no Air condition

    Very, very clean. Perfect breakfest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast! Good wifi internet. Very kind staff members.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.5
    Will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food rooms

    Friendly clean nice side seeing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    A real nice suntrap on our balcony with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real nice suntrap on our balcony with lovely view. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Cochem
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection wasn’t secure.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, great view of Cochem Castle from the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Near enough to perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful and clean, fantastic breakfast, very helpful staff. In all cannot fault. Thanks for a lovely few days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Want the best view in Cochem? This is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not my first time staying at this hotel. Great views, experienced and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE WiFi

    IT is complete

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    The best value stay in Cochem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was spotless.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bed!

    Great location, food and staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.1
    The following were positives: (1) a reasonably quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cochem is THE place to stay on the Moselle River. Unfortunately, it is a long walk from the hotel into Cochem - doable, but exhausting. We walked into the town the first evening for dinner, but chose to eat closer to the hotel the 2nd evening - there is a limited choice of restaurants close by with most being in other hotels - and in our hotel the 3rd evening. If we had it to do over again, we would stay closer to the town. For the day we spent touring Cochem, we took a taxi from the hotel - about 8 Euro - to the castle, toured the castle first, then walked down the hill to the town, and eventually back to the hotel. We could not have done all of this walking; the walk up to the castle is long and steep. And, driving into Cochem or to the castle is not advised due to parking being very hard to find and costly. The only other negative was the elderly lady working at the front desk who was there morning, noon & night - perhaps someone's family member. Her English was completely unacceptable for someone working the hotel desk. (Maids and wait staff in the restaurant spoke good English.) We were unable to inquire about other restaurants, the explanation as to where we could park was terrible, and basic questions about attractions in Cochem went unanswered. The biggest problem was that, even after asking to see the dinner menu and telling this person we planned to eat at the hotel restaurant that night (our 2nd night), she failed to tell us that we needed to make a reservation AND place our order by 5:00 PM. When we showed up at the restaurant at 6:30 for dinned, we were told we could not eat there that evening and were turned away. We did make the appropriate reservation for the 3rd evening.

    The following were positives: (1) a reasonably quiet location; (2) the room - clean with adequate storage space, a good bathroom, a good, firm bed, and a balcony with a view of the Moselle Valley and the vineyard right next door; (3) convenient parking; (4) an excellent breakfast buffet; and (5) good food at a reasonable price in the hotel restaurant - although see accompanying negative comments.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WiFi was sometimes difficult to access.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Location was quite convenient with good views.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.3
    The view from the balcony is fantastic, looking directly at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room No mini bar Breakfast is ok

    The view from the balcony is fantastic, looking directly at the Mosel, Castle and town. It's only a short walk into the town which was pleasant, even in the rain. In my opinion its the best hotel in Cochem. I've stayed there twice now. There's a free unrestricted car park, a very small outdoor pool for the summers and a lift.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are quite thin so you can hear other people in the corridor outside the room.

    The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice. the staff were all very friendly. Beautiful view from the room balcony and from the breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    loved the room, the view from the balcony, the gym, sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were unable to eat there on our night of arrival because we needed to pre book. this forced us to look else where, and it was three more days before we tried it out. which was a shame as the food was fantastic, and if we had had the chance to eat there on day one, we may not have gone else where. and the wi-fi is very hit and miss

    loved the room, the view from the balcony, the gym, sauna room. parking facilities. fantastic food. its just a great place to stay. we will be back to continue to explore the area.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.2
    I would like to say stay away and leave this place to me,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to say stay away and leave this place to me, but I won't. If you have a view of the castle everyday you wake up you can't help but feel you're in the right place. I have been in this hotel 5 times now. It's great.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    If you want the best view in town you must stay here, A very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want the best view in town you must stay here, A very nice breakfast to start the day, Friendly family run hotel. The staff is great.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Great view, friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great view, friendly staff, great breakfast

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: