Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zur Weinsteige**** This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hohenheimer Straße 28-30, Stuttgart-Mitte, 70184 Stuttgart, Germany

#28 of 113 hotels in Stuttgart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1363 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice ceiling, furniture and doors decoration.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We called the restaurant to make a reservation and they didn't tell us that no outside table was available. Then we were the only ones inside.

    Nice ceiling, furniture and doors decoration. Very good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three different times, we booked hotels in Europe using booking.com and found that the facilities take those rooms that they normally could not rent and shove them off on people making reservations using the app. In this case, our room would be comfortable enough, if it were October through April, but the room was on the top floor (5th) with "NO" air conditioning and the owner's wife said that if we left the windows open we should get enough air… We didn't!! All we had was a small reciprocating fan that made a lot of noise and did not move a lot of air. Additionally, when we opened the windows the people across the street could look into our room, which meant that you had to be covered up or the focus of peering eyes. We had originally booked this room for two nights, but checked out the following morning and found a hotel with air conditioning.

    The location is only a 10-15 minute walk from the shopping center of Stuttgart, where you will find many restaurants, street performers, and just a comfortable area to hang out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pretty mediocre hotel that is qay overpriced. While the design is nice and traditional, the hotel is quite dated. I stayed in summer and the heat was unbearable. I've been to much cheaper hotels that have a/c. The bed is also of the box type which means a tall person like me couldn't stretch out. It's very expensive and all things considered I was very disappointed. Chains offer better facilities for a better price.

    Traditional design. Modern bathrooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    The Koi pond was lovely & the back courtyard was a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot couple of days and there was only a fan in the room. The window opened onto the street & it was very noisy being on the main street. Staff did warn us & offer to upgrade for a fee.

    The Koi pond was lovely & the back courtyard was a quiet space. Lovely old building also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant and unique place to stay close to the center of Stuttgart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a 2 bedroom unit and one of the rooms was on the front side of the property which faces the busy street and it was a bit noisy if the window was open. We were there during warm days and this same bedroom did not have A/C and got very very warm. The hallway and bathroom in the unit were very warm also.

    A lovely taste of Germany in a great location close to the center of Stuttgart. Two tram stops within a 5 minute walk of the property and only 2 stops away from Stuttgart's main train station. There's a market within a 5-10 minute walk as well. Breakfast and dinner were lovely - the food was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast assortment was incredible and the dining facility was very pleasant. We were there during warm days and our room had A/C and stayed very cool. Our master bedroom had a balcony and faced the back of the property away from the busy street, so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    worth to try, the one and only hotel we love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Outbuilding
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    carpark is quite difficult to park

    this is my second time for this hotel, the owner was very helpful and gave us room tour to introduce the hotel, we have upgrade to the Junior Suite which is fabulous and all the amenity are wonderful, walking distance to the city center and we really love this historical hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    The location was decent - it is a 10 - 12m walk to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Outbuilding
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old, and it does not seem to have been renovated recently. This is perhaps because we checked in early, but the room wasn't that clean. There were clear stains on the bedside table.

    The location was decent - it is a 10 - 12m walk to the city center. The staff was quite nice. She asked what we were interested in and offered us some suggestions on where to go, what to do, etc. They offer a bottle of water and a piece of fruit per guest, which is very sweet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, no air conditioning, although a fan was supplied. Our room was extremely noisy being on the front, trams & traffic passing! So too noisy to open the window.

    Very traditional hotel, very clean with comfortable beds. Lovely outdoor area for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Location not bad, car parking lot quite tight but at hand,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel and definetely not a 4 stars hotel. Room ridiculous small, total lack of air conditioning or ventilation, extremely noisy due to the intense traffic on the boulevard underneath all night long.

    Location not bad, car parking lot quite tight but at hand, breakfast not included but decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 223 is on the Main Street which is extremely noisy. The only way to sleep is to close both windows. But en there is no airlflow. A simple AC would fix this. Or at least tell people that the cheaper street facing rooms are very noisy. No place to have a snack without being in the bar - with the smokers.

    Friendly , helpful staff , very good restaurant , great menu

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The stuff, the breakfast, close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated on a very noisy street, with lots and traffic and trams passing under the window whole night. So, either you have to close the windows, so you don't have the fresh air, either you have to listen the traffic whole night. Unfortunately, we can't sleep with closed windows, without fresh air :-(

    The stuff, the breakfast, close to the city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We felt as if we stayed in a beautiful small castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    We felt as if we stayed in a beautiful small castle. All rooms are unique and very comfortable for stay as for couples and for family with children. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the center of the city. Beautiful garden with roayl fish in the pond is amazing! The owners of the hotel do their best to create atmosphere of the hotel and of the restaurant in modern details but also saving the history of the family and of the previous days. The bar and the restaurant are amazing, with great vine menu! Thank you all for the hospitality and our beautiful stay with you! It will be a pleasure to stay with you again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful family owned property on the edge of the main business area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was patchy and slow. Although negotiating the spiral staircase with luggage is tricky, the staff always helped.

    Zur Weinsteige is a pretty property with carved wooden features throughout and stained glass windows in the dining room. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. We also loved it’s convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. Classic style hotel, spotlessly clean and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms (I bring a travel kettle and my own coffee now whenever i stay here). Aside that, I can’t fault it

    Love this classic style hotel and have stayed there many time now. Superbly friendly and personable staff, spotlessly clean, spacious rooms, great location just outside the city centre and first class restaurant. Excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general the hotel is nice , but I took apartment with 3 rooms but actually it is not really apartment, as they used the citting area as a room and no kitchen, and it has only one bathroom

    It is cozy hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    More of a 'have to' than a 'want to' but decent if pricey.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty pricey for a tiny room with a single bed berth. But maybe that's Stuttgart in general. Last design was 1984, so it seems. If you can afford it, go for a double room, the single ones are fairly claustrophobic.

    Friendly staff, German Gemütlichkeit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Inclining to positive, with a slight negativity :). It is a pitty, it could have been perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the room was noisy, not as much from the cars noise, but from a ventilator which wouldn’t stop for the whole night. Bed was comfy, but the noise turned bad our night. Also, there is no elevator (they can help you with the luggage, though, even if we couldn’t allow the reception lady to carry that for us).

    The very friendly and helpful staff, hotel, bar & restaurant alike. How they have arranged the room with a baby bed, as requested. Rooms were cozy and warm. Cleanliness. The Koi fish pool right in the back was a very good point of attraction for our 1 yo. The restaurant is baby friendly and the food was amazing. We had dinner and breakfast and I must say that whatever we have picked was indeed delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable room, lovely decoration, slightly incompetent personnel, average breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been much better. It was the only thing that disappointed us, personnel were really slow although not many guests were there for breakfast, for cafe and tee and egg we had to wait for the personnel and it took so long (15-20 minutes) that we changed our mind. Fruit salad was mainly Apple and oranges. I just found two grapes in the whole bowl. I wished more freedom and independence from personnel while having breakfast. The room was very comfy and pleasant. Not warm not cold. Unfortunately they had not prepared soap and shampoo. Also no water cooker in the room which was surprising for 4 star hotel. At check out, the reception transferred the room money from our account that we had already paid. We had to wait 20 minutes for solving the problem. They were friendly and polite but I expected them to be more competent. In general, I can recommend this hotel for the lovely atmosphere and antique decoration that I found very beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Very good Restaurant in the Hotel (upper scale food).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Restaurant in the Hotel (upper scale food). The front rooms are towards a busy street, no chance to sleep with open windows. The back rooms are towards a courtyard, I must assume those are pretty quiet. If you are interested in KOIs (Japanes Large Goldfish) they are pretty renowned in that area, and have approx. 80 Kois in the courtyard in a pond.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely service, beautiful hotel, Michelin star restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minimum of 15 minute walk to any shops, and then 15 minutes back (uphill)

    The character of the property was astounding - some beautiful traditional woodwork, old doors, fantastic ambiance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, traditional style hotel near the city centre, 3...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Outbuilding
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms

    Lovely, traditional style hotel near the city centre, 3 minutes walk from the U bahn at Dopplestraße. Spotless rooms, excellent restaurant and extremely friendly, personable staff. This is my 3rd time saying at this hotel and it won’t be the last

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff, would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were so lovely. We got upgraded to a bigger room which was great and incredibly spacious. The little bar was quaint and delightful, and breakfast in the morning was everything we could have eaten and more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with excellent food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the door falling off the armoire

    Very comfortable hotel with excellent food and extensive wine list, limited parking but convenient, and a short walk to the Christmas Market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, really enjoyed the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator to the second floor= had to carry my luggage

    classy hotel, very traditional and felt like an authentic German residence, not a modern sterile hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful choice for a cozy stay in Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Perhaps the only point would be there was no elevator to get to our room at the second floor...no big deal...and the staff was kind enough to help with luggage.

    - Very comfortable, large and clean room - Large bathroom with Jacuzzi bathtub - Private parking available on site (for an additional 8 Euros) a day is a big plus due to scarcity of parking nearby - Courteous and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    Everything was good about this property, except that they...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good about this property, except that they allow smoking in the whole hotel, and so our room smelt of smoke and the bar area was pretty horrible, if you're not a smoker.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked 2bed apartment for my family (2 adults 2 children) for 190 euro a night but when we arrived they said that in their system they have a record of just one guest and that the 190 euro is the price for one person. The lady on the reception said that she will change me 280 euro because there are more people in the apartment and because two beds will be used. I always though that while booking accommodation the shown prices are for the accommodation but not for the amount of guests. Anyway, I have to say that after long talk during the check out I was gived "the better price" of 220. I felt like I was not in a hotel but on the market;))) The parking was not good. I have mentioned in the special request during booking that we need parking. But when we arrived in the hotel garage there were no parking spots so I had to take the last handicap one. The rooms need renovation and cleaning. The loud noise from the city tram could be heard in one bedroom and in another bedroom we could hear a party which was in the building next to the hotel till late night.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is very near the tram stop and not far from the town centre although it is on a hill so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Cozy hotel up on the hill. Very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable enough also every time I move I hear the mattress sound. And the soundproof was pretty poor.

    Staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    A little gem in the heart of Stuttgart.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator. I had a very early check out due to my flight times, the hotel was not able to organize a mini breakfast to go even though breakfast was included in my room rate.

    The beds were comfortable. The bathroom looked amazing and were of high quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming, warm and nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was delicious, excellent food and wines, served by professional but friendly staff with great attention to detail. Way above what we were expecting!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Stylish place, close to center
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom for a family.

    Nice hotel with a very German style. Large apartment, enough for 5. Also very close to city center. Flexible with breakfast timing - very helpful when you like sleepin in...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Small very friendly family run hotel which made a pleasant change from the larger ‘chain” hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm and didn’t have the facility to regulate the temperature other than opening the window which we then had to put up with the traffic noise.

    The friendly family run hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that the location is on a busy street and the trams make quite some noise.

    Convenient location. Cozy, small bar. Good room. We had a small issue with one of the televisions. Not only did the staff quickly fix it, they also compensated the small inconvenience by offering our breakfast for free. That is great service!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Generally enjoyable stay, just not quite as described when booked
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was described as a 3 bedroom, in fact it was a 2 bedroom with a bed in the lounge. There was no clothes storage in the bedrooms either.

    Staff were friendly and the hotel is in a good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    I liked everything except the breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was so little everything were finished, we didn't eat and when we asked about croissant they told us it finished, other kind of bread also finished, Other than the breakfast everything was perfect I loved the hotel

    I liked everything except the breakfast, It was so little Everything is finished before the breakfast's time finish

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Buffet breakfast was worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy as it's on a busy street. Pretty close to everything including transit.

    Buffet breakfast was worth the price. Cool building including koi pond. Great and friendly staff that wanted to make the best of your stay. Handy two bedroom room we stayed in perfect for our group of 3 travelling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Zur Weinsteige makes a cosy home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    My room was facing a very busy street. I could not open the window, yet it was quiet.

    My single room was spacious and homely. The bathroom had a bath and excellent lighting. Breakfast was superb, and served in a room with character. The staff were friendly and very efficient, always smiling. The main train station could be reached easily by public transport, or a twenty minute walk through interesting gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    First date with Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cozy hospitable place with charm, conveniently located next to the public transport. 10 min on foot or 2-3 tram stops to the city center. Charming pool with Koi Fish in the interior yard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Wonderfully retro (retro as in "slighty guady...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm wondering if the "single room tiny bed" concept really is for me. But ultimately it was comfortable and clean and all :-)

    Wonderfully retro (retro as in "slighty guady 1980s") hotel with a charmingly friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Wished we had been able to stay longer at that hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really nice and the bed was really comfortable. They have a fantastic wine bar just round the corner from the hotel itself which I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Quirky hotel and a great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely pleasant staff and top restaurant not to be missed. Waiter, I believe one of the bosses son's , was impeccable , very knowledgeable with his food and wines . The dinner was one the best we had this year, refined but not stuffy. Who said German food isn't refined enough?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    I like the atmospher of the hotel, the break fast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard rooms you can not use the elevator The price little pit expensive The city center is 15 minutes walk

    I like the atmospher of the hotel, the break fast was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great small hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garage is small--completely suitable for a hotel of its size and room count. We drove to Stuttgart in an American minivan, so it was a bit tight getting into the parking space the owner designated for me, but I did it after 15 minutes of forward-backward. The beds are made in traditional German style--bottom sheet, shoulder pillow, head pillow, and duvet. There is no top sheet to go under the duvet. I'm fine with this--and prefer it actually--but some people (such as my wife) who are used to other styles may not like it. If you're one of those, you may wish to pack a flat sheet to improve your home-away-from-home feeling.

    The staff were extremely helpful and had a good service-oriented attitude; there were no problems or requests that they couldn't resolve. The little hotel is family-owned and have instilled a solid working culture in their staff. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options to satisfy both the adults and the children, with muesli, yogurts, fresh fruit (both whole and cut), seven or eight types of bread rolls and three types of loaves for slicing, meats, cheeses, salmon, vegetables, juices, and good coffee made one cup at a time. Eggs were made fresh to order. The location was perfect for leaving the car in the garage. The hotel is roughly in the middle of two tram stops served by four lines that run to the main train station and on to the other side of the city. Trams run every 10 minutes or so, so there are no long waits for transport. The hotel is also located along a hill rising out of the city, so the location is especially convenient; you can walk to the Olgaeck tram stop when you go out, and get off at the Dobelstraße stop when you come back, and both times you walk downhill. ;) The room had a bathtub that an adult could both sit in AND fill it to above toes-sticking-up level! That is always a plus for us!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is worth a travel and we definitely will be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is worth a travel and we definitely will be back to check out the restaurant (which was unfortunately closed during our 1 night stay) such as the wine list with incredible 1000 positions on it. We arrived late Sunday night, the owner warmly welcomed us and checked us in. We had our own Jacuzzi! He kindly recommended us some places where we still get something to eat (we chose a simple but good local restaurant). Breakfast included a small buffet with everything needed to have a good start in the day. The pleasure was our's to be there and we will be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is very carefully furnished and you could tell that the owners (the place is family owned) made an extra effort. Bathrooms are marble, tubs and basins are very new. There is a fish pond in the yard with Japanese koi-fish. The breakfast was excellent with freshly made coffee and scrambled eggs. There was smoked salmon and fresh fruit salad as well as a variety of bread. The service is very friendly. The restaurant boasts a fantastic selection of wines (over 800 German wines alone). The sommelier is very knowledgeable and professional. Being wine-lovers we appreciated his expertise and enthusiasm. And as a special treat we could go down to the cellar! The weather was really hot and we were grateful to the owners to move us to air-conditioned rooms (some rooms are just equipped with fans). The owners and the staff did their very best to make us happy and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Check the room above.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family above with their bouncing children, walls thick and ceiling waffer thin. Owner said they would talk to them, but I suspect it was their son's family.

    A dated opulence which felt grand.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable family room and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of table lamps didn't have bulbs so we couldn't use them.

    Great selection for breakfast and freshly made coffee every time. Good location and friendly hosts who offered recommendation for restaurants as hotel restaurant was closed when we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    Not worth 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at a very busy main road, with heavy traffic passing by even during the night. And trams. It was very hot when we arrived (almost 30° outside); there is an airco machine but the hotel didn't bother leaving the airco on for its arriving guests so the room was also very hot. I don't like sleeping with airco on but with the window open there was the street noise (although the room was on the backside).... so it was a very rough night. The room is rather dark with all of the charming old wood, and it felt very cramped even in full daylight. The bathroom door is made of glass so when you need to pee during the night, your partner wakes up too.... All in all the worst hotel experience I have ever had, certainly seeing this is a 4 star hotel!

    The location was ok: close enough to the city center. Their is a parking garage that closes overnight, and a restaurant (closed on Sunday nights though so we couldn't try it). The breakfast buffet was very good, had everything you needed, and the breakfast lady was very helpful. Nice detail: all ornaments in the bathroom were gold coloured, felt very chique :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly at this family run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade to room with a balcony with view over the Koi carp pond. The room was comfortable yet very traditional. After three weeks of corporate faceless hotels this was a nice change.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    with the big selection of international chains in the area this was not a good choice
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is located in historical building with small windows, the carpets are dated and the air was horrible, after opening the window there is so much noise from the street traffic - both cars as well as public transport, the bed is dated so it is very small and you cannot even stick your feet out because it has a wooden carved desk on both sides

    the only highlight of the place is outside seating area of restaurant with an interesting aquarium, since the owner is champion in breeding some special kind of japanese fish, otherwise the accommodation was average but clean, restaurant ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Very Noisy Place To Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly noisy location on a busy hill and no aircon so very hot. Not far from Stuttgart Messe so long as you go the short way. A taxi took 35 minutes to bring my colleagues going the wrong, long way whereas going right from the hotel and up the hill it takes under 15 minutes.

    Sadly not a huge amount to like.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    Well taken care of, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. NO air con in the summer. No proper ventilation. No space for anything expect the old museum like furniture. Got some space, after removing some of the furniture outside.

    Well taken care of, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel in Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had air conditioning but it was very hot still.

    This is a lovely family run hotel. Only ten minute walk to the town centre. Rooms and staff very nice and the restaurant is quite up market with very nice food. Very pretty foyer and restaurant area and the kids loved the big Koi pond out the back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was a heatwave the room was quite hot but the staff had done their best (as no a/c) by drawing curtains and putting on fan before I arrived. The fan was pretty effective and I think they did their best given the exceptional heat. I can't blame them for the heat and overall it was nice to be in Stuttgart in such good weather.

    Comfortable bed, charming and professional staff, very attractive furniture and property, lovely terrace for delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.8
    Family night in Stüttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room had a/c and the other had just a tiny desk fan. The accommodations don't justify the cost; I don't understand the cost of Stüttgart lodging.

    The staff was wonderful and the two rooms were very helpful with traveling with a family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Very nice place in Stuttgart
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and clean and i had a perfect breakfast. The restaurant is very good and the stuff is doing a good job! I like this plsce in Stuttgart.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A place with character, unique atmosphere and personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite hot in the room and there was no air conditioning. However, to be honest they warned us at reception and suggested to move us to a different room, 20 EUR more, which we refused. Therefor they provided us with a ventilator which actually did a good job. In the end they told us all this in advance, so i don't think it should be taken as a negative feedback at all.

    The gentleman who met us at the reception qas actually the owner- an extremely nice elderly man, very kind and good-hearted. He showed us around, he has an extraordinary fish tank, an enormous acquarium with rare fish. He upgraded our room to garden view and a bigger room and we dis not have to pay. There was free fruit and water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Well-appointed hotel close to the "old" Stuttgart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was a bit sketchy. The breakfast buffet was good, but a bit overpriced.

    We had a wonderfully large and well-appointed room - the biggest we have had on our 26-day Europe trip. It was impeccably clean and new-looking. The staff was helpful. The restaurant had exquisite food and the koi pond was incomparable. Parking was easy and free and secure in the garage and was very much appreciated. The room was an excellent value! You did not have to walk far to get to the "old" center of town. Great decor in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Sweet and charming hotel and restaurant in the city center of Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does suffer a bit from the fact it is very close to a busy road, but with earplugs it should be fine.

    Very welcoming and forthcoming staff, we received an upgrade to the junior suite once they realized we were on a honeymoon weekend! The hotel is in the style of an old wein stübe and very charming like that. Parking is on site for just EUR 8 and the restaurant is of excellent quality with an amazing wine list. The city center of Stuttgart is in walking distance, and it is right next to the historic Bohnenviertel, a cute little neighborhood. Good breakfast for EUR 10 per person.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Hotel worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was just wonderful. Very good breakfast and the gourmet restaurant was just fantastic. After trying many hotels in Stuttgart including Graf Zeppelin, this one was the best. We'll absolutely return to the Weinsteige

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly acceptable, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room at the front was on to the busy main road and not advised to open the window, but the air-cooling mechanism wasn't effective and it was stuffy. Ask for a room at the back if possible.

    very hospitable family hotel, helpful. Central location near the Art Gallery and the Opera, ballet and other main theatre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    - Good choice for breakfast, eggs cooked to order, service...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - rooms looking out to the street a bit noisy - bathroom quite small and old but still functional

    - Good choice for breakfast, eggs cooked to order, service at breakfast quick - Location close to centre and public transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Lovely, old and cosy style place but with very modern bathrooms : )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed on the night we stayed...

    The older gentleman gave me lots of info on where to dine etc. The room was spacious and clean especially the bathroom : ) It has parking facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great service, lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful, family-run hotel. The staff was courteous and customer service was great. The suite had lots of room for our family. Everything was clean. Enjoyed the patio overlooking the koi pond. No complaints at all!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it did not affect our sleep much, there is a tram right out the front of the hotel that makes a fair amount of noise, though not throughout the night. There's also a hospital that has ambulances arriving.

    The clerks were helpful and spoke English. Our rooms were large with plenty of space for our luggage. There was a small balcony on the back side of the hotel from one of our rooms. There was a welcoming bottle of water and apples in our room when we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    Decent stay at Zur Weinsteige
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Outbuilding
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were black stains on the bathroom wall that appeared to be mould. I also think a larger breakfast buffet would have been nice for this quality of hotel.

    The bed was very comfy, and the room was large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    we left a hotel with a wish to come back
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive drinks in the restaurante.

    I liked the atmoshere, very comfortable room, good breakfast, great dinner. The location is not very good if you prefer walking to the downtown because you have to come back up a hill.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Great place for tall people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room facing the road and it was a bit noisy. But nevertheless the good red wine helped our sleep.

    The hotel staff was friendly very and accommodating (we even got a free room update). Further, the rooms were clean and breakfast was tasty. I recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    great staff, good location, comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear the pipes from the room next door really loudly.

    Staff were very accommodating with my late arrival, location was good. I didn't have the breakfast, but it looked really great. The rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    5.8
    Charged 60 euros for laundry!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no laundry service. we were charged 60 euros for 2 bags of washing!!! which I thought was included in the price and when we asked the person who we gave the washing to she said it was free.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Lovely food and friendly family run atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant, friendly staff, quirky atmosphere. Wonderful selection of great German wines. Comfortable and unusual rooms. Family run atmosphere with high quality. Something from another time!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Good Breakfast Buffet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Outbuilding
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, property location in the City is good, but on a very loud street (Tram) so getting a good night's sleep anywhere there is tough.

    Good Breakfast Buffet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Luxury at an affordable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very luxurious. Great breakfast downstairs, and the new menu for the restaurant was delicious, with very attentive and helpful staff. A family-run business with attention to detail.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Awesome stay in family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives about our stay

    Friendly family run hotel. Great facilities. Staff made us feel very welcome and even saw us to our rooms on arrival. Lovely breakfast provided also.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Zur Weinsteige**** traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: