Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PLAZA Hotel Föhr am Bodensee This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Albrechtstr. 73, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Germany

#28 of 28 hotels in Friedrichshafen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 744 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location if you are planning to attend the show
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The girl at reception was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. Hotel is quite worn and barely fits 4 star standard

    Good location if you are planning to attend the show

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean and good rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 23:50. We have waited for 20 minutes for somebody to come for check-in . After they mistake the reservations and we had to wait for another 45 minutes to have our room. Totally 1 hour for check in after 3 hours driving and after midnight .

    Clean and good rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Rude customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my 2nd time in the hotel and it was very unpleasant because of customer service behaviour. The lady in the reception tried to force me, to pay for 2 breakfast when only 1 person from my room decided to eat. It was very sad finish of the holidays.

    The room's were clean. The localization of the hotel isn't bad but it's around 1,5km from the centre of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not get the room I paid for and they would not accommodate. Charged us for an extra bed we did not have. View from room was a parking lot. Rude and unhelpful staff at reception desk. Nothing was within walking distance. Hallways were dated with stained carpet. AC did not work efficiently.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Fairly priced. Staff were pleasant. Rooms small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Picture on Booking.com shows a picture of a hotel on lake Constance which is 2.4km from Hotel. This is for illustration purposes only and is not a picture of this Hotel. Slightly misleading. Specified twin beds but were given keys to a room with a double. Eventually got it changed. Room small. 26 degrees and A/C broken but a fan was supplied although really noisy with window open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    It was conveniently located and they are very kind about...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Wifi did not work. 2) Reception forgot to tell housekeeping to do my laundry twice. 3) Dinner menu was not to my satisfaction. 4) The temperature control in the room was broken. 5) I heard the parking lot noises all night long. Terrible sound proofing.

    It was conveniently located and they are very kind about allowing an early check-in. They also gave me the number of the taxi service I could use during my stay. Both were very helpful. The housekeeping was very friendly and did a great job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Really comfortable after tiresome day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the door lock for room 417 was irritating. The hair dryer was not working.

    Really comfortable after tiresome day. Location is good for people who do not want to drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    The stuff really rude, inappropriate and not able to serve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff really rude, inappropriate and not able to serve the customer, the bathroom old and badly equipped, the bed that was supposed to be a double bed but was composed of two single beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Bottle of water om room table was subsequently charged as if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of water om room table was subsequently charged as if it had been in mini bar. No indication it was not a courtesy as I have had in other snd less pretentious hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced and loud
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they say they are a 4-star hotel and can't even afford to provide hand soap or shampoo for the bathrooms, I think there's a couple of stars too much promised. The sound-isolation was poor, we could hear the traffic all night and the noise from the room upstairs and from the corridor. The breakfast was ok-ish, but again not what I would have expected from 4 stars.

    The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Thy had parking space available and there was a bus connection to the centrum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.3
    Thoroughly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift to one of our rooms (semi-underground withcoach parked outside). No help available to assist with luggage. Noisy (main road outside). Rude breakfast room staff. No lactose-free yoghurt. Grudging supply of artificial sweeteners. Thoroughly disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Not the expected place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not a 4 star hotel. Although it charges as one. The receptionist was very unhelpfull and told us that they are trying now to match to a 4 star hotel level. The parking is not free they charge 8 euro but parking space is not guarrantied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar tiny and without freezer (was relevant to store my aunt's medicine), payed parking even though it's outside (unfortunately a common practice)

    Good breakfast, comfortable room, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could only find 2 tv channels No tolietries in bathroom No tea or coffee in room Had to ask for wifi to be connected

    Nice large double bed Private and quite Staff were helpful Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.0
    Pictures of your site and reality are so far away that we thought we were at the false place.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personel of the hotel was unfriendly, unhelpfull. The family room was ok for 2 personne the third was sleeping on a bad caoutch. The descrption we had from the hotel and room was the biggest uncorrect one we have ever seen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    My first visit to Friedrichshafen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and location were not what I expected so in that regard I was disappointed.

    The room was nice and clean. Pretty standard hotel room. It did have a balcony which was nice. I booked the room through Booking.com. The price was fair for the accommodation at €64 per night. I am glad I did not pas any more as I would have been disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Not a real 4 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No toiletries! No Air conditioning (they offered free use of minibar with only limited drinks instead!), Leaving the balcony door pen leads to entrance of lots of insects into the room! awful wifi, almost no connection! Not helpful staff!

    clean, nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    The response time of staff was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they gave on arrival was a very small room in the basement. When I questions after seeing the room as j had seen different room on pictures while booking online , they corrected them selves and changed the room to one I had booked... What if I had not asked, i would have been saddled with same bad room The AC did not work ... I had to open he window and let the mosquitoes come in and trouble my small daughter :( Breakfast did not have good options for people like me who are vegetarian ( I had to manage with breads yogurt etc... No hot breakfast... Not even to toaster to toast the bread)

    The response time of staff was very good Very helpful staff esp a person named Pablo and another of his colleague Rebecca

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.6
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not smiling. Towels were not clean. Room was not ready Not informed that parking must be reserved before it, i had to remove my car after i parked.

    I was not able to check in in the planned time, the room was not ready before 1 pm ! and i had to leave my ga Towels was not clean, Some red spots on it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Only stay here if you have no other hotel option available in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was awful, codes were changed every time you left the property so you needed a new code to reuse the same wifi facility. You also needed two separate codes for two devices!!! The staff was good but were unable to fix the issues promptly. Parking was limited and parking spaces around the property were negligent. Breakfast was not free, sparse fare with no way to even toast a slice of bread. We had to spread cold butter and cream cheese on a cold slice of bread! Not worth paying 9 euros, Instead walk to the Rewe across the street for coffee and croissants for less than 4euros. I would not stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone unless you really have no other choice in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    great value with bit of issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower area was poorly built, the tap had literally no flow of water in the washbasin, and our room (unfortunately) faced the road so it was noisy. However, these things we oversee...what we really did not like is the hotel's unpreparedness for the amount of cars who'd booked parking on site and no policing for it. We booked parking and paid EUR8 however because of no policing, someone took our carpark. And no refund was offered...

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    A bit isolated, but comfortable, with a great breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet simply did not work from any location other than the lobby. In spite of the desk clerk's insistence that the system was working, it did not. The group of people in the lobby area with computers was simple evidence of that truth.

    Although the room was quite small, it was comfortable for one person.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable but poor wifi !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in bedrooms Only in reception so not good for business travellers away trying to keep up with offic work

    Breakfast varied and good service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning and Internet did not work, but both advertised as included. Brought to the attention of hotel staff with no help.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff, don't forget to book your parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is limited. Make sure you book it when making the booking. The room we were given was facing the main street. That meant that we had a noisy room if we kept the window open.

    Comfortable rooms. We had a nice stay. Breakfast has planty of options. Smiles all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    4.6
    We will not book this hotel anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took an hour to get the WiFi passcode. The receptionist did not bring it to us even promised. After calling the room service, somebody else print it out for us in a very short time. The receptionist did not know that children stay for free in an existing bed. The receptionist gave us the worst room in the first floor at the street and said that there is no other room left, even I asked 3 times. We could not sleep the whole night. The next morning the manager told us that they have plenty of other rooms and that it is not true what her receptionist said. She where sorry about it and just offered her business card for another time, which is in my opinion too late. She better train her stuff better.

    Toilet is clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    good value but would not suit everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should be able to get a Drink from the bar at 10 pm on Sunday. Road noise

    Air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay, wonderful staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have kept a Owen for boiling milk and water for kids

    Excellent place to stay, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice and clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    large and comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    staff were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was without airconditon but management offer free minibar drinks

    Its the location I liked most

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    A lot of noise at 7am each morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of noise at 7am each morning. It was a room with a partial view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    We stayed for a night on our 3-day bike-trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for a night on our 3-day bike-trip. Good price-value and comfortable rooms/beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Simple menu in the restaurant, don't have many choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple menu in the restaurant, don't have many choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    A Hotel with good standards
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High room prices

    Clean room.Breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Simple, outdated hotel whithout character good for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Ambiance & Feel Outdated, old whithout character

    Bed was OK Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast - which had to be paid extra was very basic
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - which had to be paid extra was very basic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Good place with lake view
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place with lake view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfort, cleaning, quality/price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The number of negative opinions i've read on this page. Inexplicable.

    Comfort, cleaning, quality/price ratio

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    WiFi Internet access was out of order.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi Internet access was out of order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is close to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms close to the road are quite loud.

    The location of the hotel is close to the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    Room is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    Bad wifi in the hotel room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad wifi in the hotel room. Did not like my frends rooms in the basement.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better are not very comfortable. Bathroom shower leak and the floor is filled with water. Rooms are small

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.8
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi at all

    Price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Arrived early by bicycle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early by bicycle. Left bags and they were in room when I came back. Staff friendly and food good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice clean room, comfortable and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice clean room, comfortable and quiet. Food mostly acceptable. Nice wine in restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.4
    Beds are uncomfortable, showers are basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable, showers are basics

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    4.2
    !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They say its a 4 star hotel is more like 2 stars, far from the main town you'd need a car to reach there or walk 25 min, or take a near by train that comes every 1:10 min, also the staff are friendly but not helpful enogh. The internet is free but very poor, the rooms are clean an suitable, there is no water poiler in the room and the hotel tea is tastless. They close at 10 pm so unless you have your room key to enter the hotel you have to find some where else to stay.

    !!!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.9
    Room size was adequate as was the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Signage for parking was only visible from one direction, a little tricky to find.

    Room size was adequate as was the bathroom. Decent parking in the rear of the hotel .

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    6.3
    Cheap accommodation, might have been a very luxurious 4 star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Far away from town center.

    Cheap accommodation, might have been a very luxurious 4 star hotel in the past, but more like a 3 star. Very clean, and neat.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    Easy to find, the room and the bathroom are clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived late when the reception was already not working. It was difficult to find a parking place and could not get a voucher to buy some internet use.

    Easy to find, the room and the bathroom are clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.2
    High fare as I reserved one month ago(Euro130 per night).
    • Business trip
    • Group

    High fare as I reserved one month ago(Euro130 per night). But I noticed that it's down to Euro60 per night at the time I checked in. This really upset me. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.0
    Nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I hate it when I pay for a extreme simple room 200 euro per night, we booked for 4 nights and still have to pay for Internet. Room was very simple and nd maximum value 70 to 80 euro

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.8
    The Interior was clean and not broken or else, also there...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi costs 6€ for 1 day, the floor in the Room was filthy, only one tiny Pillow in the Bed. The Bed and especially the Pillow was a desaster, the badest night since years.

    The Interior was clean and not broken or else, also there was a aircondition

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    4.6
    The staff was in general very friendly;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The airco didn't cool down the room at all. I had a room on the back side of the hotel (my preference) but it's impossible to leave the window open as it's noisy; delivery trucks arriving from 6:00 in the morning. It's strange to me that you have to pay the room at the time of arrival and not pay the complete bill on check-out. The hotel is constructed of next to each other standing buildings but not connected on the inside; I had to go out to enter the part of the hotel where my room was. They claim that most rooms has view on the lake: I didn't see any lake or Alps, it might be that only the rooms on the top floor have these views.

    The staff was in general very friendly; receptionist and restaurant people on day of arrival. Food in the restaurant was OK. Check-out was not really professional.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.1
    Not enough Parking facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough Parking facilities. Parking needs to be payed separately.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Good clean hotel with free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Off the beaten track. Too far to walk into town, or anyway too far to walk back again.

    Good clean hotel with free parking. Good breakfast, wifi works.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    Der Preis unterscheidet sich vom in Internet geschriebenen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Der Preis unterscheidet sich vom in Internet geschriebenen Preis

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean but could do with a refurb downstairs.

    Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    The location was good and the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey for what you got.

    The location was good and the staff was very helpful. The resturant was fairly decent but a little pricey

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: