Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Forsters Posthotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Maxstraße 43, 93093 Donaustauf, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Donaustauf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 743 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very traditional but modern house; with good restaurant room was spacious and modern bed was good breakfast buffet has everything incl. good german drip coffee parking is right in front of the building (free public parking lot)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is always a problem with cots: even though we request it over booking, the cot is never there. Usually there is no vegetal milk available, which is difficult for a family with milk allergies. So we just bring our own.

    Large and clean room , friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked very clean and tidy at first. At a second glance there were some "leftovers": toothpaste in the sink, hairs in the bathroom and some skid marks in the toilet.

    Large room, new facilities, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, Spidernet on chandelier, small spider on toilet-paper, shower drain is to small-slow, delivery noise in the early morning, bathroom window is to low and people can see you from other rooms.

    Big parking, big room & bathroom, special entrance in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed had a big problem: two or three slats for each side were broken, so sleeping was uncomfortable, but we found it only in the night. We told it the day after at the reception, and they gave us 10 percent extra discount. All in all, they are nice; but we don't know if they were really unaware of the problem with our beds as they gave us the room...

    Very convenient position. The wellness area is nice, with two different saunas and a steam bath and other facilities. Rich and good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is probalby one of the worst Hotels ive ever stayed in, this is saying something given ive travelled the world extensivly for business and pleasure. Room facing a Main Street very noisy! No AC extreme uncomfortable, Insects in our room, No TV, Staff not helpful, White Wine ordered served warm. Extreme disappointing, the whole place did not reflect the booking.com website, at the price applauding value!!!!

    Very little i regret to say

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room with air conditioning (as advertised) when we got there we were put in a tiny room in the attic with no air conditioning. We are a family of 5 with 2 dogs. The weather was very hot. We complained and was moved into a larger room. The size of the room was great, but curtains were hanging off the window and once again No airconditioning!! We complained once again and got told we only have a certain amount of air conditioned rooms. We asked why then, do they not advertise it like that. They called me at 1500 and said I could move rooms again, by the time we got back to the hotel it was 2100 and myself and family were just too tired to move a third time, especially as we were leaving the next day. When we checked out we made it clear we were unhappy with the service. They were rude and unhelpful and refused any kind of discount. I will not be returning there next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath little compared to room, at the reception a couple of time nobody available and we had to ring the bell. Air conditioning not available in our room. People prefers to answer you in German than in English.

    The size of the room, the cleaness, the breakfast, lots of international channels available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (1) One of service ladies is not so nice. (2) The internet is not so good in the room. (3) If there are some stuff like cream, fruits are available in the Sauna, it will be perfect.

    (1) The place is quite nice. It is close to the Walhalla. And also this town is quite nice and not far away from Regensberg. (2) The sauna is quite good in the hotel. There are different options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was rather small and could have been easily made larger, but was fine for the two of us.

    Lovely area around Donaustauf, very easy to get the bus into Regensburg. Hotel with very good facilities, good restaurant and a large, comfortable bedroom. Very pleasant staff made us very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were very unpolitted customers/guests in the hotel who did not behavior themselves properly: watching YouTube video in the restaurant during the dinner as well in the sauna (unacceptable behavior). When you pay 130 euros for a dinner (couple), you definitely do not expect to face this kind of unpleasant and unacceptable issue. As well when you go to a sauna, taken mobile phone should be vorbidden. How can you relax in sauna having 5 mans besides you, watching a YouTube videos in a very high sound volume. All other customers left the sauna because of this situation. When we complaint to reception, the answer is unacceptable either: "We can not do so much because we have a contract with the company of those 5 mans" (that was the answer from a reception who showed she does not have any customer expectation mindset). The outcome of this answer is that the hotel cares much more about 5 unpolitted customers instead of others. Which is the target of the hotel from strategic perspective? Which kind of customer this hotel wants to achieve? We will not go back to this hotel, unless the hotel present us a mitigation solution.

    The location of the hotel is very nice, Walhalla, Regensburg, etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dirty (spider webs in the lamp, shoes footprints in the bathroom, dust in the bed header). The decoration was outdated (which we knew) but there were patches in the carpet that gave us the impression the room had been heavily used. The room was located all by itself next to the service elevator and the staircase that led to the restaurant - we couldn'the sleep after 6 a.m. though it was a holiday with all the noises coming from the outside (the door was like cardboard).

    We wanted to visit the Walhalla temple the next morning, so the location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid room on the village side which is immediately on a street, trucks in early morning traffic is not fun.

    Clean, super professional and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of miscommunication with the staff, as something mine was lost. But they tried being helpful.

    Location and comfort. Bathroom is very spacious. It is around 5 km from A3 motorway, by the Danube.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked windows, presumably since they have air conditioning. Don't know if they are unlocked in cooler weather for folks like us that prefer fresh air and no mechanical noises.

    Appreciated the locked bicycle storage area. Excellent breakfast. Air conditioning was nice since it was a warm evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find the main entrance with parking place in the night - Google maps directed us to another entrance (bar/restaurant).

    Nice comfortable room. It was a wedding downstairs in the restaurant but we (2d floor) heard nothing. Good breakfast with a range of meals. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Very nice, big space, nice food, good Parking , quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really far from the nearest city.

    They have a great parking place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no cofee-machine in the room

    a coffeemachine would be nice...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really....!

    The Staff, awesome, the hotel, lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the case

    Friendly staff, cleanliness, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great Hotel - worth staying here than Regensburg

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sized room. Friendly staff. Well appointed. Good parking and nice terrace restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was open in the room at night, because of the summer temperature and the street was very loud early morning.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashion room, under the roof , with no airconditioning

    The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location. The room was very clean, and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was marvellous with a big variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Therecwas not muchto see and do in the town.

    Very nice staff, lifely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the highway, reception open around the clock, minibar beer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and clean... We enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna is wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, room and service. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place. Nice location near by A3. easy a free of charge parking in front of the hotel. Excellent breakfast. really good quality for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad pressure of cald water almost hopeless to use it partly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, nice clean room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good.Plenty of choiches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition in the room

    Breakfast choice was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small Car Park - Got a €10.00 parking fine for parking in public car park

    Great Hotel - will use for business next time and location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great and also the restaurant.Beautiful hotel located in small dinstance from Regensburg with plenty of outdoor activities around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and quiet room . Nice staff and various food on breakfast . Worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfy room, kids happy with wifi facility

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a bit too hot in the room

    very nice stay, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family was happy and relaxed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We arrived shortly before closing of reception. Receptionist forgot to give us WIFI code, and when I went back she had already computer switched off. Thus no wifi... Also no phone reception in room and corridor. Also our entrance chip key wasn't coded well, thus we had difficulties to get into the hotel later that evening. No 24h reception. Wellness facilities closed for maintanance.

    Hotel not far from highway. Nice breakfast buffet. Big clean room.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of the centre. It took a good 10 minutes to get into the centre on the replacement tram and then a 10 minute walk to the centre. ( Sept 2015)

    Family run hotel. The owner pleased to talk about its history. Car parking a great bonus. Pleasant breakfast room. Room well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When reserving the room through Booking.com, I requested a quiet room on the top floor, but we were put on the first floor with the traffic side. This may be due to the fact that I booked a tripple room. In the end it was ok and not too noisy. Also there was no opportunity to book a massage at the same time for 2 or 3 of us, if booking we had to go one after the other which isn't really ideal for 1 hr massages. In the tripple room, the shower had no door, there was no shampoo or conditioner provided in the bathroom, or any small toiletries usually provided in a hotel. The third bed wasn't a free standing bed, it was a fold out - but was fine. The restaurant did not have a variety of food options, only German food and 1 vegetarian dish.

    The sauna facilities and the location of the hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was nice. The staff very kindly let us check out late without any charge and this was much appreciated. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really bad wi-fi,old furniture,bathroom with the tube which had dirty curtain,window just above the terace where breakfast was served so you hear everything from 6.30 a.m.,no air condition,breakfast is average but coffee machine is terrible

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First we get a very old furnished room right above the kitchen. We complained about the noise. We get another room: right above the disco where a party was going on. We complained once again, the third room was quiet but the interior was horrible. (106) The hotel is devided in two parts, the new part has reasonable rooms (no airco) the old part is disgusting! Stains on the carpet, shower with a curtain in the bath, thin matrasses, thin pillows. The breakfast was not okay, flies everywhere. Don't go!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bit loud at night time till round midnight. But it was Saturday, so you will get this pretty much everywhere.

    I did like pretty much everything in that hotel even that I was there short time. Overall I did stayed in quite few 5* hotels and they were not as good as this one. Price good and location good. Really nice place for walks.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I found it weird that restaurant staff did not say good morning, and I was even holding a cute baby.

    Great family room. Enjoyed room service of high quality food. Location near Walhalla is nice, though the town is nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After a good night on the way out we were surprised that our room on the return smelled unpleasantly of drains. However, the room was changed to another without hesitation.

    Good place to stay between Luxembourg and Prague and return. Helpful and friendly staff. Spacious room. Dinner and breakfast both very good. Easy parking. Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing to declare

    The hotel room is value for money, friendly and professional staff, the quality of the breakfast is a strong point for the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very German. Good parking. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The "open bathroom" concept

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is rated 4 star no air conditioning ????

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not enough bikes to hire and couldn't help with our request. Poor assistance.

    Location and the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    Family room not very suitable for a family with little kids due to open space bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and excellent kitchen

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Family with young children

    No air-condition wedding location so very noisy

    spacious and clean family room

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fitness / Sauna - excellent kitchen

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Family with young children

    feather blankets (allergy)

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant is amazing, convenient parking.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Forsters Posthotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: