Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Forsthaus Schöntal

Kornelimünsterweg 101, 52066 Aachen, Germany

#2 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Aachen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    a comfortable stay in a nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weekend was very hot, the room did not air conditioning. breakfast was basic.

    the location is excellent and the staff were friendly. we were only there for one night. it would be a good place to spend more time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for overnight, bring snacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was disappointing. Breakfast was bread and cheese (I don't eat meat) but fruit or pickles and veggies would have been welcome. There was a full house for dinner and I felt mine was just put on a plate. I was also disappointed that it wasn't really in a wood - a fairly busy road outside and we were only one street away from the outskirts of Aachen.

    The staff were very helpful, the room comfortable, it was nice being next to the pony stable and seeing the children riding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    good for an overnight stay , clean and comfortable, ample parking spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower fitting needed a repair and some of the fixtures in the bathroom were loose.

    Room was clean and simply furnished but had everything you would need. The food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Not a holiday place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very rigid,Breakfast had to be finished at 9 am The restaurant closed at 8 pm and was locked up They had no lounge or sitting area . The bus, to Aachen goes only once per hour,stopping at 19.00.

    The room,the beds and bathroom were ok No elevator made it difficult to claim to the second floor. But we got help from the staff. Very rustic restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Very friendly staff who welcomed us. Lovely breakfast in original settings. Helpful staff who helped us with directions and travel information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A gem of a find in the forest and ideal if you have a dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the bed...............it was too comfortable, great for my bad back. I slept so well I couldn't get up in the morning!

    The Forsthaus is located in a forested area just outside Aachen. For us as dog owners there were excellent opportunities for heading straight out with our dog on the many paths that start from the hotel. We own a large breed dog and were given an excellent room where she had plenty of space. We had all we needed and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. We ate in the outside restaurant area - the food is really good with varied choices and vegetarian options, lots of it and value for money. This small hotel (only 10 rooms) is family run and they are very busy as they also run Pony Riding Stables, but they are not so busy that they cannot give you the time to make sure you are welcomed, looked after and offer a warm, personal and friendly service. We will be returning here next Spring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful peaceful country stay - very restful after busy day in beautiful Aachen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would really recommend improving internet access - please don't underestimate how important this is when one is in a country where there is little in one's own language on TV, one needs to contact home, and especially somewhere like this where the wonderful calm and countryside surroundings mean no other local evening entertainment in vicinity - and rainy evening curtailed the idea of long walk! Internet fell out of reach so often it was more frustrating than pleasure. Thanks!

    Lovely calm surroundings. Very clean rooms. Friendly staff. Facility to purchase drinks in corridor at all times. If weather had been better, excellent outdoor seating and childrens play area. Lovely walking areas all around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Country hotel near town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was subject to quite a lot of road noise.

    It was like staying in a country hotel although near the city.The beer garden and restaurant was particularly good and was obviously popular with the locals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful place for a much needed rest.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a weekend the parking is very limited due to there being a riding school adjacent to the premises . Only two reserved parking spaces for hotel.

    The hotel was in a beautiful setting with a lovely outdoor area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful setting close to town centre but poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were both very small and the bed very hard. Breakfast on the first morning was very basic with no juice and no choice of tea or coffee. The second morning, however, we were offered tea and coffee and given ample orange juice.

    The evening meals were very good with a good choice and very reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    When there is heavy rain, the gutters drip noisily!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When there is heavy rain, the gutters drip noisily!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    Unfriendly,would never come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had to be finished at 9 am! The restaurant closed at 8 pm.No food or snack after that time

    location in The forest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff clean rooms view on forests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise street

    Good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the restaurant/ bar closed at 8 pm

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stop off with a dog - lots of good walks...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to stop off with a dog - lots of good walks through woods.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Next to wildlife park, big biergarten with BBQ .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to wildlife park, big biergarten with BBQ .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    I was only there 1 night but everything was excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was only there 1 night but everything was excellent; the food, the beer and the bed. Conveniently close to motorway and easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Perfect room, friendly staff, best food, wounderful nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room, friendly staff, best food, wounderful nature for walking, welcoming staff when travelling with little dog, recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    The room was bright, well appointed and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meals were rustic in style and well cooked, but for us the portions were too large!! Although close to the road it was not intrusive,.

    The room was bright, well appointed and comfortable. Room was a good size and the shower excellent. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. If in the area I would certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    5.8
    clean, nice location next to the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would expect a little more luxury for the price we paid; no soap in bathroom, very hard mattress, breakfast good but simple

    clean, nice location next to the woods

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    We have stayed here a couple of times before and our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We ate in the beer garden, but were advised we could not order from the specials menu, as this was for customers only eating indoors - not a major problem, but did not really understand the logic of this!

    We have stayed here a couple of times before and our stay this time was as pleasing as previous occasions. Staff were welcoming and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.9
    Quiet location but still close to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi worked in restaurant but not in rooms.

    Quiet location but still close to city. Excellent restaurant - though closes early. Next to pony riding stables which is excellent for pony lovers.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    This is my second stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is my second stay in this hotel. The setting is lovely on the edge of the forest. The staff were welcoming and obliging. My room had a balcony, which was lovely to sit and relax on. The weather was fabulous, so I was able to use the large beer garden. My meal was of good quality, reasonably priced and of hearty proportions! Breakfast was good and nice that it is served on the table

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very welcoming and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress on the bed was extremely firm!

    The staff were very welcoming and accommodating................nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and well appointed. The place has a fabulous beer garden, both covered and uncovered. We ate at the hotel in the evening, the food was plentiful, delicious and good value for money. We would not hesitate to stay here again and will certainly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    The staff was very polite and helpful.
    • Couple

    The staff was very polite and helpful. In addition, the breakfast was abundant and also the restaurant service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    Close to Nature for walking/biking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to Nature for walking/biking taking a bus for 15' to Aachen-Center also appreciated

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    It was located near the forest and the meal was great but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the other guests but not a biggy.

    It was located near the forest and the meal was great but not too costly.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: