Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fortuna 3 stars

Hauptstr. 7, 79199 Kirchzarten, Germany

#5 of 10 hotels in Kirchzarten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great Hotel and owners/staff were very helpfull, very spacious room, very clean. The location was very convenient to shopping, supermarkets, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't get the key out of the door. OK if you know how, but very irritating when you don't

    Good value for money and very good central location. Room was fine and beds comfortable, and all facilities were as you would expect, clean and tidy with lots of space. Car parking is good, with room for many cars, although it is not secure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very comfortable well run hotel with excellent food. The staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel has a very good location and this would make a fantastic place for a short or longer holiday. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I may have missed it, but a description about how to access the parking area would help first-time visitors - in extremis, air con for the rooms might be useful, but in my case, although it was hot, there was enough air movement to keep me cool.

    Friendly, helpful staff, location good for my needs - presented me with a simple journey to the northen outskirts of Freiburg. Plenty of parking space on site with easy access. Room well-equipped and comfortable, bed also good - room had balcony overlooking hills and the Black Forest. Life is tough sometimes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room so was very warm

    Good rooms in a central location. Free car parking. Excellent restaurant good location for other places in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location as base for touring the Black Forest, frequent train service into Freiburg only 15 mins away, friendly staff, good breakfast and restaurant, town centre location and quiet at night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything really. Maybe air con for hot summer nights although we didn't need it in Sept.

    What a gem of a find. We decided not to stay in Frieburg but in Kirchzarten a 10 min train journey outside the city. So glad we did- Kirchzarten is lovely and the Hotel Fortuna in the cobbled square was a real find. Family run and so helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had typical German food. Well cooked and tasty but huge portions -one meal between 2 is plenty. And reasonably priced. Room excellent - cosy and comfortable, spotlessly clean and good hot shower. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal was really weak at night when more people are using the Internet. It worked again in the morning.

    The hotel was comfortable and clean. The room was spacious. The location was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is in a good location in the centre of Kirchzarten next to bars, restaurants and shops. Our room was very spacious, comfortable with good quality furnishings (with settee and armchairs ), clean and quiet. Hotel has a spacious car park at the back with easy access to hotel and lift. On our floor, at the lift landing, there are tables and chairs to sit at beside the French Windows which can access the balcony. Breakfast was good. We ate and drank in the hotel restaurant and the meals were very good. The hotel is family owned and the son and daughter were polite, helpful and friendly. The staff there were very friendly and polite and made us feel welcome. Great place to stay and we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic, family-run hotel. Wonderful rooms with balconies. Quiet yet centrally located. The son of the family managed the hotel very efficiently. He was extremely helpful, this greatly enhanced my stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Website made it sound like there was a pretty view from the balcony, but basically it was the parking lot with a glimpse of the hills in the distance. Not what I had hoped for, but it was better than nothing.

    Right in town, easy to walk around

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioning.

    We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was right off the main pedestrian area with restaurants, shopping and close to hiking areas. The hotel was quiet, great breakfast room & food and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with a great location and very helpful staff. Kirchzarten is a great base for exploring Germany's fantastic Schwarzwald region. I would certainly stay here again, highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast, comfortable beds, very warm service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, terrible pillows!

    Clean hotel, nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good room. clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kirchzarten is a characterless place and not terribly welcoming.

    Acceptable hotel but a little too expensive for a relatively plain room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    the staff was very helpful and pleasant. the town is great with a wonderful walking system into the countryside. the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wireless did not work properly

    The food at the restaurant is very tasty. The receptionist was extremely helpful. The room was large!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendliness and the professionalism of the staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superbly helpful and customer focused staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    whole experience was good as ever at hotel fortuna

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally located in a beautiful central area. Very spacious, clean room. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choice, but definetely satisfying

    It is our second stay, close to Freiburg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, not far from the train and bus station but also in the heart of the town center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, tidy, typically Germanis Good food in restaurants

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the biggest and most comfortable rooms we had in Europe. A large modern bathroom, lovely views across the town centre to distant mountain forests. The hotel restaurant and friendly staff - exceptional. A very pretty storybook town with all the facilities needed but well away from big city traffic, noise and hassles. A fantastic place to be based in to explore the Black Forest region from. Must visit again with more time next trip.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The WIFI situation. We basically were unable to reveiw anything for our trip. different codes for every device and having to log in via hotel website everytime and a very slow connection (if we ever got a signal) - terrible! We gave up trying to use it after 2 days!

    Room size and bunk beds for children. The hotel is very nice and nicely located in a village. The menu for the hotel restaurant was confusing - no kinder menu, etc!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only that we had to leave.

    A real gem of a hotel, in a traffic free area of a pretty little town, but with private parking behind. I have never stayed anywhere as clean, it is immaculate. Lovely comfy large room with balcony. Superb breakfast, and a beautiful dinner in the restaurant with wonderful service. Our second stay but not our last. Don't forget to ask for the KONUS transport card, we had free train travel into Freiburg for the day.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We thought that there is a bowling as written in booking. Com but its out of service. ..

    The location of this hotel is excellent because it's in the center of the town, close to all restaurants, super markets, bar... In addition, it's located in great area to travel the black forest's attractions! The size of our room (triple) was big and the room was clean and modern. The breakfast is great, and the restaurant is fine too. All in all its really good hotel and worth the money!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was great! Especially Isabella and her brother. The entire staff was quick to help, eager to serve and as helpful as could be. FIVE STARS!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No aircon. It was very hot day

    We had a triple room. it was very sapcious. the room had a refrigirator, which was nice at a summer day. Very clean. Centerd

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was having to leave.

    Friendly and attentive staff. Clean and comfortable and great central location in this charming town. Perfect for touring the southern Black Forest and Vosges mountains

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was bad till very late at night or very early in the morning.

    Room was spacious, comfortable. Power plugs were easily accessible. Location about 6-7 mins away from the train station. Worth for few days of stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Exceptional service! Extremely personable! Excellent presentation!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent room, included breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Was made really welcome. The food and service was excellent. Had a very pleasant stay and the staff were all very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of room. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendliness of staff. Provision of Konus cards for free travel in Schwarzwald region.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hospitable and clean. A beautiful town.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant, efficient and friendly accommodation, restaurant is good, serves traditional dishes with modern twist, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike

    Parking, quiet village, ideal for stop over for a night or 2

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Our second stay and we will come back again

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find and very pleasant overall.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    parking available on site

    close to good restaurants

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a shower booth was a bit small.

    located in center of the town but very quit. Also spacious room and nice biergarten just in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location, free parking, very clean

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: