Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wyndham Köln This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Breslauer Platz 2, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#130 of 232 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2506 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel with great location and freendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing which I didn't like.

    Location was ideal for me as I was attending the meeting closer to the hotel. Hotel is very close to the main Cologne train station which was very useful. Staff was very cooperative and friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move hotels on the second night as the power went out and they couldn’t fix it. Staff handled it well and the next hotel was nice, it was just a pain!

    Friendly, helpful Staff. Great location- right outside the main train station!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.7
    modernist brutalist "sleep and run"place with very small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, with an even smaller balcony about the size of a coffin. Surroundings can be noisy: if it's not the trains it's the people. A good nights sleep, even so.

    1960's modernist building immediately to the south of the Hauptbahnhof. Good bed & beddings, great area for supporting facilities like restautrants, bars & supermarkets. Despite saying that parking is difficult, the central area has many underground car parks with reasonable rates overnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Next to the train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems the bathroom was renovated but they kept the old sink, it was yellow and cracked. Otherwise it was pretty good.

    It is right next to the train station, it’s a simple and nice hotel. Wifi worked great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect. Hotel is small but very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room service - restaurant could use more amenities. elevators take a long time. very small.

    Silent, beds were nice, service, small gym, close to everything. Easy access.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being by the main station it was a bit loud at night.

    Great location! Directly opposite the main station. I stayed here the night before the cologne half marathon so it was perfect location. The room was quite small but big enough for one person. Double bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities too. The bathroom had a bath as well as a shower which was a luxury! Also strong WiFi connection. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I could leave my cases behind reception after checking out as my train wasn’t until later in the day. All in all very satisfied although it was relatively expensive for one person. Perhaps due to busy period with the köln marathon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    It was okay, however next time I will have a special requests
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was opposite elevator, I could hear everything. Also, it is strange that in Germany there is no woman protection policy, which includes not giving females rooms near elevator for safety reasons. Also, room itself had a cracked sink and little too old in general - requires a refurbishing.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Definitely my first choice when returning to Koln. This accommodation adds to your Koln experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location at reasonable rate. Just directly in front of central station where you find all the foods and services you want. Within minutes walking to main historical sites, museums and Rhine river. In fact it’s the best experience among the hotels we stayed in various Europe cities over past 3 weeks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No bath but super power round shower head was fantastic.

    Convenience to station (which was a priority). Reception personnel super friendly. Breakfast wonderful selection. Waiting staff and Barman/service great. Wonderful view of upper part of "Der Dom". Orange and/or (lemon) water and fruit at reception for thirsty/peckish guests. Did not use the gym so cannot comment. Short walk to river. Only compliments for our first visit. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and friendly the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems with our rooms which i must say the situation was resolved very professional and hotel manager dealt with very quickly good customer service.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly the rooms were clean and tidy very central to all attractions and cathedral so close within minutes walk good reputable hotel chain.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    I enjoyed visiting Cologne, a lot of it was because of Wyndham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room window was probably close to a smoking terrace, and smoke got in my room. I had to close the window.

    A very nice hotel. Great location, adjacent to the central train station, and close to the Cathedral, Rhine river and many more. I stayed in a small and very comfortable room. Very quiet. It was clean when I got there, and the cleaning staff kept it that way my entire stay - as should be.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Early check -in as against my previous check -ins on the same trip to frankfurt &cologne.A very graceful and cooperative lady on reception on the day of my check-in.sorry lady I don't remember your name but I remember you by the space in your upper front teeth since I am a dental surgeon.i wish I could correct it but I was there in cologne just fr one day.i was really impressed and thankful fr your appoach to customer. Thanks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff can not speak English very well bit still helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not so fine,too far away from the stop

    The staff can not speak English very well bit still helpful to tell us where wecan get the one day ticket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Handy for the station and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather small for the price. Previous occupant had been smoking in the shower room. Area outside window used for storing rubbish and as staff smoking area.

    Reception staff very friendly. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation work taking place on the room floor, not too much of an issue on the friday but would have been nice to be warned that they would be working on the Saturday morning too!

    Fab location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a bit pricey compared to other hotels I've stayed in.

    Great location, very close to the main rail station and the centre of the city. Managed to get a very good price (almost half of what I would have been paying in one of the other hotels nearby).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were renovating the place and I think it's unacceptable to be drilling and hammering on a Saturday, period. But to do so around 6pm-9pm is just unacceptable. That's my reason for not recommending this hotel to others, it's just too expensive in comparison to the amount of care they apparently have for their guests, which is none.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The staff was mostly friendly and welcoming, with the exception of our check in lady, who was rather rude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    New, clean room in excellent location. No complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Excellent location, great view from our room of the Dom and train station. Our recently renovated room was clean and comfortable with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location wise it is super close to the cathedral and there are a few restaurants around there, otherwise it is a bit of a walk to the city centre.

    Nice hotel, comfy bed and pillows. Balcony with a view of the Dom was a bonus! Appreciated the 5 or so channels in English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe about the hotel was the problematic WiFi, which only properly worked on one of my three devices, and wasn't very fast.

    The hotel was literally opposite of the train station, and a 3 minutes walk from the cathedral. The staff were extremely polite, and answered all my problems with ease. On one of the days my phone had issues, but the staff kindly gave me a map of the city, and spent around 20 minutes kindly explaining how to get to all the landmarks I wanted/they recommended, and even ordered me a place for dinner. The room was nice, if a bit small. The bath was very big and everything was spotless. The air -conditioning was great, and the bed as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was in a perfect and fabulous location, which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a perfect and fabulous location, which is right across the road from shopping centre, bus/train station, Cologne Cathedral and few places. The room was lovely, which is comfortable with both bath and shower. The breakfast was beautiful, fresh and healthy in the morning. The receptionist was lovely, kind and friendly, who gave us a map of Cologne as gave us advices about transport for next day to the airport. I recommend you all to go for this place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Just super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not so fast but working,a little dirty walls,but not bothering me

    Everything was perfect...room cleaned ,comfortable,also bathroom,3min from catedrala,and bridge,river,center..perfect,room 614 had small balcony on the corner view of catedral

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Was good for a nights stay to catch an early train the next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be refurbished and carpets very stained

    Was good for a nights stay to catch an early train the next morning right next to the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    First hotel with a.c. all trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in at 10 PM on Wednesday and asked front desk clerk where we could get something to eat. She told us that all restaurants were closed. The next night, walking back from the river we passed about 50 restaurants in full swing between 10:30 and 11 PM.

    Air conditioning!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A 5 star hotel.....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little fridge would be nice. But it's not a major thing can still survive.

    Location, room was good, bed was nice. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a brilliant experience which was faultless

    The staff were very friendly and helpful... the facilities were of a high standard and the room excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Check in staff were super helpful with getting us sorted as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in staff were super helpful with getting us sorted as we were running late and quite stressed! Free Haribo in the room was a really nice touch. Ended up being a very brief visit but would love to spend more time here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Less hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on the other side of the dome but Opp to the station,, I was not given a double bedroom as per my booking, the male staff person told me that hotel is full n cannot do anything for you,, it was very disappointing at 10 pm when I checked in, it was a matter of one night so we adjusted the train bogie type room!!! But in the morning staff Lady Isabel apologised n made my breakfast free, Thnx to her full support n warm gesture..

    Breakfast was good..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely responsive to our complaints. We suffered from wifi-connection failure on the first day but the staff managed to fix the problem promptly on the next day. And we finally got connected, they were so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location near the train station but far enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is clean and well maintained its a little tired and in need of a facelift.

    Excellent location near the train station but far enough away to not hear the trains, comfy bed and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and well located, but not a 4 stars hotel for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was older than expected and the room smaller than expected. The mattress was very soft, probably old, and that led to backpain in the morning. I felt that the hotel was not a 4 stars Hotel. I would not repeat.

    The Location was very good. The staff was very nice and that imporved the experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little small. No double beds available so my wife and I had to share a small twin bed.

    The staff was amazing. The gentleman that was at the reception when we checked in was super helpful!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay near to the center in a OK hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two elevators, in a building with 10 stores

    Arrived by train, very near to station. In the city center, you can do everything by foot. Smaller rooms in an older hotel building. Rooms are quit, no noise from outside (room on the nineth floor)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but old furniture and tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very out-dated furniture and design. Rooms are tiny and crowded. Bathroom is also very small, old and had a leaky toilet.

    Great location for visiting Cologne

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Location next to train station was so convenient for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location next to train station was so convenient for us. The breakfast was the best we have had in Europe. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, just outside the train station & very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just outside the train station & very close to the main attractions such as The Dom Cathedral, Ludwig museum & Old Town. Room was comfortable & staff were pleasant. Check in & check out were both quick & hassle free. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Best German Hotel I have been in the last 25 years - Great for work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Complicated Wi-Fi method, that could be made easier with the most updated methods that are put in place in other Hotels, Airports, Stations, etc. Air Conditioning could be modernized with a more effective new switch. I could not change the Air Flow, I could not change the temperature in the room. This is frustrating in all German Hotels - There is no tradition of Air Conditioning in Germany, just open or close the window. Television with only one English Channel, (only CNN that it is politically incorrect and sometime rude), whish You could have other News Channels, like SKY NEWS, BBC NEWS, Chinese News in English, for Your foreign guests / Business people. But, as I said before, this is a problem in all GERMAN Hotels - German do not need it, so every other guest must behave like a German!!!

    Near to everything I needed to visit and work, great Breakfast, complimentary water, tea and coffe in the room with kettle, privacy and very helpful staff, especially at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location right near Cologne main station, beds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny, shower pressure was bad, rust in the drains in the bathroom.

    Great location right near Cologne main station, beds were comfy, staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Good if you plan to wake up at 6 am and be out for the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The currains didn’t close fully, so they are as good as no curtains. Very noisy outside because it right next to the road and the train station. The facilities are very outdated. Felt like in my grandma’s old apparentment.

    Staff and the view of the Dom. Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    If you get it for discounted price, it can be considered.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small. Even though I booked two similar rooms, my colleague got bigger.

    The bed was comfy. Hotel was extremely close to the centre. Good connections to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    While we had to pay extra for breakfast, it literally had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Velvet on the bed headboard had handprints on it, could do with a little brushing.

    While we had to pay extra for breakfast, it literally had everything I could dream about to have for breakfast. Awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    When we decided to stay a second night, we were told it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we decided to stay a second night, we were told it would be 218 euros rather than the 113 as the first night, because there were only 2 rooms left. We checked booking . Com and found it for 159 and 5 rooms left, and 168 on Wyndham’s own website. We mentioned this at reception, and she checked and said, oh sorry I didn’t have the updated info, and gave us the 168 rate. She was pleasant and apologized, but it leaves you wondering.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location,just near the station,not far from the center...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - when they clean the room, they put velvet sofa cushions just on clean white pillows, and i doubt that they change them after each guest. so i felt uncomfortable each time when i put my face on white pillow. We remove them from the bed, but on the other day - they were again on white pillows...Hope they were clean enough. - last time we stayed hotel gave 2 bottles of free water in the room each day, and it is still indicated in their room rules. But we have only 1 bottle for 2 people each day.

    Great location,just near the station,not far from the center, we stayed 2nd time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Location is good only if staying for a night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and need a refresh. The walls need painting, the carpet is very worn and not clean.

    The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Value for money. Rooms are nice and clean. Literally across the central station. They even provide complimentary tea, coffee & bottled water in your room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female receptionist who checked us out. There was a problem with our invoice and she had no problem showing us that she was annoyed. Overall we had a good stay..

    Location of hotel is great! Next to train station and walking distance to Colognes famous attraction the Cathedral. Lots of shops and restaurants near by. Room and bathroom/toilet was a bit on the small side but it was just me and my 5 year old daughter so not so much a problem. Not ideal for two adults. Beds were super comfy, room was cleaned everyday and tea/coffee facilities and complimentary bottle of water stocked up everyday. Breakfast was unexpectedly really good.. they served continental as well as hot food. Breakfast staff were very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    The position is excellent and the staff is really helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The position is excellent and the staff is really helpful and kind! I forgot personal belongings in the room and they were so kind in finding everything and shipping every thing to me very quickly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was delightful :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot, seriously it can be very unhealthy to be in such a close place with 24 degrees. It would be great if you put the temperature down in the bedrooms or let the guests to do it themselves as per their own necessities. The shower of our room was changing from hot to cold suddenly, burning your skin or freezing you up, not a big probkproblem is you do it quickly. However, we informed the kind lady of the reception and hopefully it will get fixed soon.

    The location is excellent, the bed was super comfortable and everything was really clean. We were delighted by the fact that we had a great place to sleep, being in the centre it could be quite noise but this hotel's rooms are perfectly isolated and we couldn't hear the noise from outside unless that we open the windows which we had to because it was way too hot in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    The location was great, just outside the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff in the morning shout across the corridor in front of each room to ask if they would like the rooms cleaned so if you want a lie in, this is not possible. Asking the cleaning staff to be discrete and Having do not disturb signs would be helpful. They also don’t provide tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    The location was great, just outside the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, delighful breakfast, friendly staff and an outdated yet clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were dated and felt old-fashioned. It's a shame that a four star hotel in this great location does not update its rooms to make it feel more luxurious. There was no mini-bar or fridge available to store my breast milk, also after having asked for one.

    Very friendly staff. Very clean rooms. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Close to Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little noisy late at night with passing pedestrians. The room was very small, it was impossible to pull a chair out from under the desk.

    The hotel is ideally located being so close to the railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice location and very good staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit dodgy. The rooms are a bit old but clean none the less. The breakfast spread could have put some halal meat choices.

    Location very close to train station. Clean room. Adequate amenities. Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice view of the cathedral & river Rhine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Shower aside the location of the hotel is excellent and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was not great. Went hot then cold then hot again without warning. Hopefully this will be fixed now.

    Shower aside the location of the hotel is excellent and breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Carneval craziness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were all marked up, you would get whiffs of someone smoking once in a while, and the door to the little balcony did not close fully so you got a draft.

    The staff were absolutely lovely, they were all dressed up for Carneval and greeted us with the warmest smiles. They even helped us find out if any of the attractions would be open or not due to Carneval beginning the day that we got there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture and carpets are old and worn. Not what I expect for a 4 star hotel. Appauled by the status of the furniture. For the price and the room appearence it is quite disappointing

    Room was clean and in a great location! But condition of furniture leaves alot to be desired. For a 4 star hotel it needs some serious renovation and up keep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good for a week end stay - but not good if you wanted a drink on Saturday night
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need re decorating big time, one big minus we came into the hotel at 11,45 pm, went to the bar for a night cap and was told by no good tone from the barman that he was closed . I asked what time do you close and he said 12 but everything is cleaned so we couldnt have a good night drink. I know its only small but the tone of his voice was quite sure that there was no way we were going to get a drink.

    Breakfast was cheaper than advertised on Booking when you order on arrival and it was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, just 1 minute from Hauptbahnhof,...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, just 1 minute from Hauptbahnhof, especially if you have early morning flight or train. Quiet, cozy and clean room, comfortable bed, tea/coffee and kettle in rooms. 24h front desk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall...Very good location and nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service could be better.. Tootbrush kit had to be taken from reception instead they could have sent someone easily. Lifts could be better. they are very slow.

    Good location....easy check in....allowed late checkout without any costs and staff was very good.... Good price...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just there was a bit of smelling of cigarette smoke in the corridor but not in the room.

    Very clean and comfortable. Location perfect if you need to catch the train very early. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    Room was not up to 4star standard. Room was noisy , so could not sleep well > Property needs upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The were 2 single wooden beds in the room. It looked like the YMCA. For Euro 300 per night, I was appalled. The property is tried and needs serious upkeep (painting, cleaning , upgrade) For a 4 star hotel, it seemed a 2 star. I wish they could visit Dubai and we can show case a 4 star hotel and show them the benchmark. The attitude of the staff was "we are full". nothing can be done even though this is the 4th successive year I've stayed there. I asked why I don't get Wyndham Points and I was told because I book through BOOKING.COM. They said I should book direct the next time to receive points. Advice: if you on vacation, stay elsewhere. Its sort of a business hotel...but not up to standard

    Location only.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    A very good location with perfect connection options via...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As for a four-star hotel and the price, I would actually expect much more. The room was surprisingly small. The wardrobe in the room didn't even have door, just a curtain to hide the contents, which didn't look or feel too elegant. We decided not to take breakfast, as it was quite expensive.

    A very good location with perfect connection options via public transport, also close to the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice but limited service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed. We were informed that it was because all staff was at company's event. We'd have appreciated more disclosure and apologies for that. That was not he case.

    Location of the hotel and spacious room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, especially for travellers needing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small.

    Fantastic location, especially for travellers needing to catch an early flight to the airport due to its proximity to the main station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice location - that’s about all I can say
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not booked properly by Booking.com. I was supposed to have two large rooms to hold two adults and one child each, but only received one large room and one small room...though was expected to pay the same amount for each room. This is the second hotel I booked through booking.com and another one which left me disappointed.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive at 19€ per morning!!

    Comfy beds. great location for traveling by train as it is directly across from train station. Everything within short distance, cathedral only a two minute walk!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Definitely a good choose and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame about the piped American Christmas music in the middle of a German city with its own traditions.

    This hotel is right next to the station and so really convenient for the centre of town - really good for Christmas markets and Cathedral. Lifts to all floors. Really good selection at breakfast, including hot and cold buffet. Firm comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for Christmas market and to all amenities. Location is absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was a little disappointing. One cross trainer a treadmill and a pair of dumbbells. Sauna and steam room advertised on web site in sister hotel 4 km away.

    Location could not be better. Room very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    The shower in the room was amazing.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are more like cushions but no issues.

    The shower in the room was amazing. Even though workers next door were working on builders site still slept like a baby as bed was so cosy and room was so warm! Bar staff very friendly and hotel staff. Didnt use toiletries but they had a wide variety which was nice in bathroom. Comp haribos and water. So easy to get to if you get train to the station its literally across the road. Great value esp for location. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment on that. Would def stay again!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always stAy here as a starter to our European holidays as it’s cosy clean and has a superb location .opposite the Cologne Main station and within easy walking distance to the old town trains ,trams,buses and the U Bahn all on our doorstep.staff are always kind and friendly .we love staying here as every room we have ever had had wonderful beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good location right across from the central station but not noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really comfy, free bottled water, tea coffee just not enough milk, very clean. Five minute walk to the cathedral, we went for the Xmas markets which were very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.4
    Please renovate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear wyndham, Remember modern talking? Or i am looking for freedom from David hasselhof? Well... your rooms do 😜! Please Please update your rooms.... the locaties is so wonderful, but your rooms are soooo 80s. Old, dirty carpet, outdated bathrooms... and a wonderful view looking to the dom. So Please renovate. The view deserves it!

    The location is great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.2
    Horrible hotel. Just horrible the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Old smelly and just not the standards I had come to experience at Wyndham hotels. I tried getting corporate help but they where not helpful at all. Don’t stay here. Bad hotel. More like a cheap version of a knights Inn or old Motel 6.

    I’d never recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.6
    Great location but in need of refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in dire need of re-furbishment. Furniture in the room was worn and tatty, no mini-bar of tea/coffee making facilities and only one plug point, which is away from the bed on the other side of the room. There is also one single lift serving 10 floors, so queues for it when busy must be awful

    Perfect location right by the main station and cathedral

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    excellent would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to moan about

    location opposite station and cathedral, staff were excellent friendly and helpful, rooms was clean and well presented and breakfast a good choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.6
    Good location but noisy, wi fi was slow and rooms and bathrooms in need of modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reception staff were unfriendly, the room was too small and the bathroom was not clean and smelt of urine.

    Good location - some staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: