Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Freiraum Berlin 2 stars

Buchholzer Str. 5, 10437 Berlin, Germany

#30 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfasts were amongst the best I've ever had in any holiday establishment. The staff were very friendly. The room was basic as described but perfect for my requirements. Great part of Berlin!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds were a bit too soft so we didn´t get very good night sleep, but then again it´s a matter of taste

    Personal was extremely nice. Public transport, grocery stores and cafes were in a walking distance. Room was cozy and morning buffet had something for every taste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a convenient location for the Kultur Brauerei from where we were hiring bikes the following day. There were lots of eating places nearby. The buffet breakfast offered lots of choice of delicious jams, fruits, cereals as well as breads, hams, antipasti etc. The room was spacious. It was a quiet location despite being in a city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble with the wifi and my room was right by the main door of the building so it was loud when people came in and out.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft and cleaning standards are different from Italian ones. They didn't clean the bathroom for all the week... but everyone was very kind.

    Staff was very kind and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to call the staff and wait few minetes until they are opening the place. In the morning they stopped the water without telling us.

    Tasty breakfast. nice stuff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - old appartement, hence squeaky floors - worn out furniture - no wi-fi, I reported it to management and was told it was not possible to fix it over the weekend. When I asked for a small compensation for no WiFi available, I was told to use it in a restaurant (another porch) or free cancellation + find another place to stay with working wifi. I guess it's simply not polite and not friendly.

    Breakfast! A wide selection of dishes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The appartement (no.11) would need redecorating (painting the walls). The double bed was extremely soft (but that is subjective).

    Oppulent breakfast buffet, friendly and professional staff. Appartement very spacious, well equipped kitchenette. Parking for 10 eur/day in nearby parkhouse. Cool neigbourhood. Directly on U2 underground line (Alex, Zoo).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV had little to offer but CNN, as all programs on german channels are dubbed. It would also be less inconvenient if the person preparing breakfast spoke English too, although he was polite and acommodating nonetheless! All in all great value for money!

    The warm sincere welcome made the beginning of our journey so much better! The room was fully equipped as described & it felt overall very clean! Comfortable bed and pillows and the room was indeed very quiet! The location was quite good, only a 5' walk to both the U and S station, tram stop just at the corner and the neighborhood was lively, full of places to have a drink or even a late bite!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not modern...but oké

    Nice location...great space...good bed...very nice breakfast. Restaurants and city transport nearby. Very nice host and staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on ground floor and a couple times (in 6 days) were awakened by passersby.

    Comfortable room, essential cooking amenities and table. Staff tremendously helpful with advice on things to do and how to get around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't great and it would be good to have 2 keys as wd often came back at different times.

    Breakfast great and great location. Room comfy and well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was perfect: quality, variety and taste. The pension is very close to the metro station and located in a quiet and pleasant neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a little slow. Not too bad though

    Very nice room. Clean and comfortable, and friendly staff. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, and close access to trains. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor basic and tired, with cracked basin/tiles and sagging beds. Outside of building covered in graffiti.

    Perfect location: central but quiet; very friendly and helpful staff; lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable.

    Amazing breakfast, good position, nice stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast, good located!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No one around to manage check-out upon departure at 07:30 on Sunday morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My no frills room was more rustic than what depicted on the photos.

    Friendly staff and very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is a little higher for what it is offered. But overall it was a great choice

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice

    Very friendly staff, breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fine hotel in a very nice area of Berlin (Prenzlauerberg). Lot's of restaurants and bars very close (as well as Kulturbrauerei).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom doorway needed to be painted

    Fabulous breakfast selection

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything excellent, best in Berlin

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked 'proper" English tea!

    Very quiet location but easy reach of transport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't expect the room to be so rustic. There is no bar or restaurant on site.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable. We had a room a bit far from the main building and the WiFi connection was bad.

    The position is very good (a direct train from Schonefeld airport and a direct subway to AlexanderPlatz) AMAZING BREAKFAST!!! Large room

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really easy to get to, nice area, awesome and really helpful staff. Our room was warm and cozy and had everything we needed. I wish we could have stayed longer and I definitely recommend the place!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Washing machine was broken but it wasn't mentioned. So I tried using it and ended up with very wet clothes. When I called the "hotel" they said there was no one on the premises and no one was going to help me. 2. Shower head is also unstable 3. TV in the kids room is broken

    The apartment was spacious and was perfect for us, a family of five. Location was good. Not in the center of touristic attractions but close by on foot or by trains. Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh food, wide range to choose from, good coffee. There was some malfunctions with the equipments but all in all, my family and I had a great time and would visit again. Very kids friendly apartment with some toys in the kids' room. The ice cream shop a few streets have down have very good soft ice-cream!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff could not find the reservation first, but then gave us a better room.

    The bed was very comfortable, breakfast buffet very nice and tasty and the location excellent near all the best bars and shops in a nice area.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    just advice for everyone when the Owner be there do not expect to make check in easily so pray to not meet him otherwise everything OK

    every things was nice

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were offered the room different from the one which picture we got after the reservation. There were no information that the rooms are located on the ground floor. We had to wait about 30 minutes at arrival for somebody to come as there was no information in the order confirmation that the visitors should call the personnel. It was very dark in the rooms - the light is poor. We (couple) stayed for 3 nights and there only 2 very small shampoo bottles for the whole stay: they do not renew the used ones.

    Location, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I booked in internet it was confirmed as a "familiar room" with a double bed and an additional sofa/bed, with a child up to 4 years included. I was traveling with a small child. When I arrived, I had to pay more for the "extra" cost of the sofa to be used as a bed. And this was not specified before, and anyway wasn't an extra bed.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we found the beds and other facilities in our room excellent and it was very quiet and restful . The location was very good only a short walk to the tram to the city and to the north.a wonderful hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - There was no 24h-reception. - There was no air ventilation in the room. - The breakfast room was in the different building - The pension charged 1,5% surplus when paying with card. This was not mentioned when booking the room.

    -The location is great: in the heart of Prenzlauer Berg. Public transport is easily reachable. The breakfast was great, especially the coffee.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was ground floor on the road side so a bit noisy( pedestrian more than traffic) and a bit hot as no airconditioning( it was a heat wave though)

    Excellent venue. Basic but good,clean room with self catering facilities. Decent buffet breakfast. Very good value for money. Really good restaurants nearby and good transport access.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    worth every penny...clean and spacious rooms... varieties in breakfast and it is included in the room rate... and staffs are very helpful :)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Worth every penny...breakfast is included...had variety of choices. .staffs were soo kind and helpful..beautiful and clean room 😁

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfasts were amazing and the staff was very nice. The apartment we stayed in was very cozy and perfect for a family.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking is difficult. The rooms are good but not excellent.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff. .

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location, very clean and cozy room. a very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room. It exist but didn't work well

    Clean. Nice. Comfortable. Very good staff. Good price

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The helpfulness of the staff and owner, a 24 hour supermarket next block and all forms of transport available very near.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    Very close to Ubahn and Bus

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Pension Freiraum Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: