Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel München Freising Airport 4 stars

Dr.-von-Daller-Str. 1-3, 85356 Freising, Germany

#8 of 8 hotels in Freising

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privelege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle to the Munich airport is an unreasonable €10/person. The bus is only €2.90/person. It's only a few minutes away by foot and runs every half-hour. Breakfast is expensive, but several places for food are within a 10-minute walk.

    a 10-minute walk to S-Bahn and railroad to downtown Munich Freising is a town worth a visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was not adequate. That is the only thing that did not meet our expectations. Everything else was excellent!! Unusually hot day -- so the room was warm - air flow poor.

    Excellent location, staff and service excellent!!! Would recommend it -- except for the air conditioning!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty run down: filthy and sticky carpet, only one power outlet worked, curtains ripped and hard to move, window frame broken, no air conditioning. They really need to renovate the place!!

    Location easy to get to from the airport, restaurant has great food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was facing Main Street and train tracks why even with windows closed it was super noisy the whole night, couldn’t get proper rest! Always ask for a room facing the backyard

    Clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tight. No space for suitcases (this is an airport hotel- people will have luggage) The shower was very tight and the drain wasn’t working properly. We flooded the bathroom while taking showers. The shuttle to the airport is 10 Euros per person... overpriced in my opinion.

    Good location -walking distance from the train station and to the city center (Freising)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spotting trip to Munich 10 minute walk from Freising station, or taxi (€5 - 2018), Airport is 17 minutes by bus (635) every 20 minutes, costs 2.90 single, Munich City Centre 25 minutes by fast train (40 minutes S-Bahn) costs €13 day ticket

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wi-fi was a bit slow and I had to close and reopem my browser continually to keep communicating.

    The breakfast was excellent but it would be great to have more healthy choices, like skim milk, fresh fruit, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room didn't look especially clean.

    Good breakfast. Good location, just a short walk from the S-bahn station (we had arrived at the S-bahn station by bus from Munich airport). Short walk to Freising town centre with a variety of shops and eateries. The noise from the main road was not great and we could have the window open at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not meet our expectations. We booked a room at an interesting fare but without breakfast. Sadly the breakfast costed 21 EUR per person. For the garage we were charged 15 additional EUR. Globally the extra costs almost doubles the prices we had to pay making the choice of the hotel no longer competitive. Additionally the hotel is outdated and need restoration. It is a former 4 star hotel but cannot be longer ranked in such a category. During the night the air conditioning was noisy and it was difficult to sleep.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast charge is EUR 16 in advance or EUR 21 same morning. I walked to a nearby bakery for a coffee and a roll.

    Great Location within walking distance to train station and to the town center with plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street outside was noisy but we kept the window shut and the aircon did a good job of keeping us cool.

    We got a very reasonable rate for a one night stay after a late flight. Location was easy to get to by bus from the airport. The check in was really fast and friendly staff on reception. There is a restaurant /bar next door for having a drink. The room is comfortable and clean and all you need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room, even in a cold March. Bedroom part of two floor room only had a tiny window that could be tilted open. Parking quite expensive at €15 per day.

    Large clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel just got up my nose. The staff in general seemed rather uninterested. My room was on two levels, I had to climb some steep narrow stairs to get in my bed. If you have this type of room, better check the door upstairs, mine was unlocked. The WiFi did not work in the morning. Oh and don’t go to the restaurant in the evening, it is a joke. The lunch I had in the canteen that day was twice as good at half the price. The coleslaw that was “included” with my choice was literally the amount that fits on one fork scoop. The breakfast was half way decent but the coffee was literally undrinkable. All this for a steep 140+ Euro figure.

    It is a mercure hotel so the standard mercure features are good. The personnel at the breakfast where nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blanket could have been longer and thicker.

    We liked the fact that it was close to the bus and train station. It was very clean, with a very nice bathroom and a beautiful view towards the river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privelege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor carpeting might do with a changeover as they look a bit worn. Big double bed, but with two mattresses which was not the best option for a family of three.

    We stayed for a night in the old hotel which has a charm of its own. The staff were very helpful and friendly, tending to every need we had. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable.We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the river so there was a nice view and noise was not a problem. Tea and coffee in the room is always a nice plus. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices for everyone in our group. The hotel is a 10 Min. drive from the airport so the location is very convenient. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were just there for one night between flights. The receptionist was very kind. Our room was better than I expected with many little touches like extra lighting, storage cupboards, an empty fridge that we could actually use, and a beer opener! We were in the older building and loved the big windows in our corner room. Everything was updated nicely and in a very thoughtful way. The wifi was very fast and facetiming family was no problem. The bed was very big and comfy, we had a great sleep! It was about 5-10 mins walk into the center of town and 25-30 to the brewery. We'd happily stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Info on booking site says there is a shuttle serivce to the airport but in fact there was none. You have to take the public bus which is reasonable & frequent but drops you a good 8-10 minutes walk away.

    Comfortable room, good sitting space and desk, dressing area, tea-coffee provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a stairs on the way to the lift. For someone with a lot of luggage it could be difficult may be..

    Location - not in the middle of nowhere, like usual airport hotels, but in the center of a small town with several traditional restaurants. Free parking at the entrance of the hotel, limited places but still. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a hotel near the airport to catch an early flight the next morning and I'm so happy I chose this hotel. Staff was friendly both at reception and in the bar, the room was great, seriously it's almost better than on the photos. They have an airport shuttle for only €10. I will definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think €21 for breakfast is much to high and would recommend trying to get a room including breakfast in the price.

    Good bus and train connections to Munich or the airport, the bus is less than €3 and easy to use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the price for that value at all. And moreover they charge separately for breakfast and a lot, they charge separately even for sauna. I had a twin room (as I was on business trip with my colleague) and !Attention! they charged us about 10euro for Wifi per day for each additional connected device! Only one device per room was included! Come on, guys, what is wrong with you, its the 21st century, not the 11th! If you squeeze out maximum cash of each customer, they will never come back and some day new customers will run out.

    There was enough space and and a fridge, that is what I liked. Staff was quite friendly, when I asked to send me an invoice per mail, they did immediately and I received it in time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the design of the hotel..the hallway doors and wooden vertical 2 color pieces, the lighting in the room was great, the entry area, desk area, windows outside that were openable, and the great bathroom design with tub and mirrors front and back, with great lighting. I stay in hotels all over Europe and this is one of the most pleasant. The staff was so lovely and helpful...they were wearing their drindl outfits for Octoberfest..and looked adorable. They helped me for almost an hour, to print out some documents...with smiles and were very personable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very very poor in our room and only 1 device could be used at any one time, though we didn't find this out until the next morning. Not good when there are two of you and for the price we paid we would have expected an awful lot better! The handbasin in the bathroom would not drain properly. One bedside reading light didn't work properly. One wall socket for the standard lamp didn't work.

    Lovely bright room with very comfy bed. Underground garage for our bicycles. Fabulous evening meal at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean, lots of nice extras including free welcome bottle of water, great soft bed ,and wonderful bathroom.Walking distance to several nice restaurants, and some cute shops in the town of Freising. Less than a 10 minute ride to the airport, with shuttle service available for 10 E a person. would absolutely use this hotel again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle from airport after 20.30, so had to pay for a taxi. We had a room in the old building with no aircondittion and it was very warm even with windows open and the fan provided. Despite being a nonsmoking room the room smelled of old cigarette smoke. Bathroom very small. Carpet stained.

    Liked the location close to Freising train station and walking distance into town. Freising is a sweet little town and makes it a great airport hotel that is only 10 min away from the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is considered an aiport hotel, however, it is 15-20 mins away fromt the airport and the cost of the taxi was 25 Euros each way (total of 50 euros). I moved from a city center hotel to the airport hotel due to my early flight. Had I known the cost of taxi and distance I would not move (hotel fare was comparable with the city center hotel).

    Staff was nice and forthcoming

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking in the hotel area costs money, i dont mind the basement.

    quiet and clean, big room place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning....too hot in room!

    Great price without breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not good value for the money

    close to the airport but yet in the middle of town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privelege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did only the minimum, rooms were not tidied up properly

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet environment and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get transportation to and from airport.

    Clean. Good sized room and very nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition, room was hot and could not sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Fantastic mid priced hotel, 5 mins walk from bus/train station and town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath tub has some detergent stains/residue on the bottom.

    restaurant/breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was rude and noncopeative

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find parking space. Very slow check in.

    Big and clean room. Good beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet conexion is very bad

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taste of smoke into the room

    Location, equipments

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very cooperative. Our flight to Munich arrived early in the morning and they were able to arrange a room for us by mid-morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff very unfriendly and unhelpful

    room itself

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very good location. Pleasant Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi is so slow and bad for use

    Breakfast is good and it is nice experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to airport for early flights. Freising is an interesting old town with good shops and places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricked us into buying the breakfast, it was horrible and would of NEVER had paid the price $42 for something that is free anywhere else

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was free and it was easy to walk to the town centre. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    trains can be noisy if the window is open.

    Location. Close to Munich airport, yet in a town with restaurant options

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet access was difficult at first (perhaps my computer, not sure)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Cosy bed and quiet room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the was very bad, two floors very small not comfortable

    locaion and staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smells

    Location, Environment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was horrible

    nice people clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free internet limited to one device.

    Closeness to airport and easy access to Freising town centre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuttle

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a good location. There was nothing around hotel.

    Free upgrade. Very kind receptionist . Room was Ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were so impressed with the hotel and the town of Friesing that we would love to have a longer stay next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be helpful to have a printed instruction for getting to the Munich airport from the hotel to provide to guests.

    Very clean/tidy. Friendly/professional staff. Lower restaurant had excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Food service in bar was appalling. We waited one hour. The waitress said the cook was new. Then later arrivals were served. We left unfed. We also had poor quality service here last year. Never again as there are excellent restaurants a few minutes walk away in Freising town centre.

    Hotel well situated.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was not clean. The carpet was dirty (with several stains) and filthy, and the furniture did not give the impression of clean. items from previous guests near the armchair. The overall impression of the room is negative.

    Very good breakfast Good location Staff

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Couple

    It was on the outskirts of town not in the center, but that was manageable because it's a small town....The price of 280$ was rather steep given that the town has no cultural significance. We haven't paid that much in the main cities of Spain, Austria or anywhere in France!!! -We didn't need an AC because it was cold but if it were warmer that would've been a problem because there was no AC , just a fan... There was no reimbursement for a shuttle /taxi (25€ one way ) like there is at the Marriott 5 km down.

    Our upgraded room was very comfortable even though there were only three hangers between two wardrobes!!! They brought us more upon request. Staff was very efficient and had a good command of English. They even gave us a small , homemade map which was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was nice clean and quiet 👍

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast very expensive €21.00 and was average in terms of options.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    food in restaurant was poor and expensive..

    location 10 mins from airport, room was nice..

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had dinner in the bar late in the evening. Quick check in & check out.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: