Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel FREIZEIT IN This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dransfelder Straße 3, 37079 Göttingen, Germany

#8 of 28 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    I really just loved the design of the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend asked for help to send flowers up to the room and the only response he got, was an email asking for credit card details, without any information about the kind of flowers or the prize of the flower. Also my shower tended to flood the bathroom. When I asked to clean the bathroom, it took them over 5 hours, even though I kept asking for help. They also never offered me to change the room, even though I stayed for 5 nights. The breakfast was pretty standard, nothing special. There is also no water or tea in the sauna area.

    I really just loved the design of the room. It was clean, they had an amazing shower gel, body lotion that just made me relax and feel great. Also loved the small details of the room, like being able to turn off all lights in the room while laying in bed. From the gym you had a great view over the city, as well as from the sauna.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay especially for relaxing journey with your family
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not understand the necessity of the gate for the parking lot.

    Location of the restaurant for breakfast. Roomy and the view outside was gorgeous. Good to walk around the area in the morning in a suburban atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything relevant

    Everything! Clean, comfortable, very large room, excellent breakfast (huge choice plus omelette prepared on the spot). On top of that the staff was extremely child friendly. They spoiled our little one with puppets and chocolate. Even a small pedal car to drive around the corridors!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Great for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More care with dietary restrictions and allergies to avoid cross contamination. Also the heating was not great.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was clean and modern and room service was prompt and tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall a very good choice, especially when looking at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downside: The "double bed" had a 10 cm abyss between the two single beds. We prefer a real king or queen size bed with one huge sheet, not two single beds just posing to be a large bed.

    Overall a very good choice, especially when looking at the great spa and fitness facilities, and the closeness to the Autobahn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has anything you would need.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not for free, which I did not expect for an open air parking and a location out of the city center . For Sanua they also charge extra, although the info leaflet in the room says it is free for hosts. The hotel is so big.... it's infrastructure is nice, people were friendly, but the hotel misses some warmth and coziness. I wonder how the atmosphere would be if the hotel would be well filled. Probably there are plenty of business happenings, weddings, etc organized in the hotel.

    The hotel has anything you would need. People were friendly, the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    High hotel standard with luxurious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel had a very high hotel standard, nice and pleasant personnel and their breakfast was near to luxurious. They have their own restaurant which also gave us a memorable dining experience. The hotel had a guarded parking which was appreciated from our side.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, fantastic facilities, comfy rooms. Highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful rooms, helpful staff and great facilities with the pool, sauna & squash etc... I hope to stay here again in the future!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Wellness area is really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants did not appeal to us very much. We found an excellent small restaurant in the adjacent village however.

    Wellness area is really good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.0
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet speed could be improved.

    Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff. Super flexible cancellation policy. Overall recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Best sauna ever, very good breakfast, location is not far from train station and city center, clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome Sauna !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Okay for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good WiFi, no VPN block

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    My second time staying. Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in room could be a little better. The restaurant dinner menu could have more lighter options.

    Breakfast was super

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Great breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I took a shower the water went on the bathroom floor even if the shower door was closed.

    Great breakfast! Good fitness center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Loved it!!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast buffet ever...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    The saunas and the whole SPA are really awesome - at least 7...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View from our room was on an ugly roof. Internet worked on the laptop, but not on phones. Paid parking. Instead of one big bed we got two small ones :/

    The saunas and the whole SPA are really awesome - at least 7 different saunas! This is the best hotel SPA I have ever seen. Very close to the highway (<1km), but you don't hear the noise. Ideal when you are traveling and want a nice SPA stop very close to the highway. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.6
    We have been traveling for 3,5 month.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been traveling for 3,5 month. From Sweden to Spain and now back. This is by far the best hotell during our trip. Often there is something you like and dislike but here everything was perfect except for the early checkout, 10.30 ;). Everybody was helpful and very serviceminded. The room was big and light. Comfy beds. Lovely shower. We had dinner and was so well taken care of by Andras and his colleges. The thona and seabass was perfectly cooked and beautifully decoreted. The environment lovely and relaxing. Breakfast had everything you would want except Oatly milk!!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Large room, modern bed furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was functional but could be updated/refreshed. Good food at the restaurant, but was expecting more choice since they advertise 4 different restaurants on site... we only found one opened...

    Large room, modern bed furniture. We have not sampled the spa, but it looked good.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for seminars and conferences, although we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly, due to several traffic jams, we were too late to enjoy the Vital Spa section of the hotel. Next time, for sure.

    Excellent hotel for seminars and conferences, although we booked the hotel for its proximity to the autobahn, as we were travelling through from south to northern Germany. Wonderful reception staff, who gave us some good local tips for dinner. Also the breakfast buffet was sensational, with great variety and an exceptional array of loose-leaf tea choices. The breakfast waitress couldn't do enough for us. We made the effort to drive the five km into the inner city of Göttingen, a beautiful university town full of "Fachwerk" frontages and cobblestone streets.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.5
    There is so much to say that words lack and so much to learn...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Parking costing 8€ 24h which I hope they might think to include for clients that are staying not just passing by for the costing of a stay

    There is so much to say that words lack and so much to learn from this beautiful culture and people, Respect, Warmth, Cleanness, Kindness...

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    4.6
    Cold room, breakfast ok, but bad Service in breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold room, breakfast ok, but bad Service in breakfast room. Reception also Not very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated and very clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully decorated and very clean; great spa, pool, and fitness area... they even have bowling!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too warm in the room. Air-conditioning expected in such a big hotel.

    Wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    5.4
    Kanne Kaffe fürs Zimmer 17,50€.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kanne Kaffe fürs Zimmer 17,50€.....

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Hotel FREIZEIT IN traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: