Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fürstenberger Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Fürstenberg 11, 46509 Xanten, Germany

#1 of 8 hotels in Xanten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel lies on a hill nearby where the Roman army once had it's first camp in the region (Vetera I) It's very quiet as it lies well out of town in a protected nature area. The walk from the old town of Xanten is about 20 minutes up hill. The last part of the road is narrow and dark in the evening. The owners were very friendly and helpful and my room was spotless clean. The room had a comfortable bed, desk, small kitchen with refrigerator and microwave and a clean bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very nice with lots of tasty choices. Internet was ok but speed a bit low however sufficient for most tasks. Xanten is home to the spectacular museum in the area where once the Roman town Colonia Ulpia Trajana from around 100 AD was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not efficient and I had to give up trying.

    Cosy rooms in a wonderful countryside environment. Very nice breakfast buffet with extensive choice of delicious breads.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot for our liking which made it uncomfortable. To have the window open the blinds had to be open letting in light. Sloped ceiling was a hazard for our children who kept hitting their heads. We never got the wifi to work using the supplied instructions, but didn't request help from the staff.

    Nice calm location, great staff, good breakfast, nice looking rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is quiet, and relaxing. It only takes 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Xanten. However, there is a lack of street lighting on the final part of the road, and I would not like to walk along there on my own in the dark.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Breakfast was traditional and offered a huge variety, location was excellent- beautiful countryside, but at the same time close to the city centre. Staff offered a different room as originally booked in order to be able to provide for two single beds. Garage provided for bikes. All excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just right for us.

    We arrived by bicycle and were warmly welcomed and given accommodation for our bikes immediately. The beds were very comfortable and the window had a mosquito screen which was really appreciated. The hotel is in a perfect semi rural setting and yet only a 5 minute bike ride to the restaurants. We ate out and the meal was the best I have had, excellent service and very nice surroundings. Very pleased. I wish we had had more time to explore the Roman city of Xanton - another time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a bit of conflicting indications on my satnav. Perhaps a good old fashioned roadsign on the main road would have helped. No big deal though, the drive was more than worth it.

    Nice people, making an effort to make you feel at home. I like the fact it's out in the countryside and I take for granted that you need to get into your car to get to restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable for a family with 2 small children. The room was clean. The place is calm and quiet and relatively close to the area where we traveled (open air museum in Holland). Xanten is also very nice with good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had rooms under the roof and the air circulation at night was not great. Also there was a compressor or air vent going off every 20 minutes throughout the night.

    Super friendly staff, nice location and rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were fantastic and the hosts were lovely. The hotel is bright and welcoming. We stayed in a family room and all the beds were excellent. There was a play area for the children which we could not use because of the rain, but there was a common space that we used in the evening to play cards. We would definitely go again. Both Xanten and the Roman museum were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was a great find - everything was excellent - from the very clean and comfort annex room we had to the nice breakfast and secure car parking. It doesn't take long to walk into the town to look around or have an evening meal. We ate in the Einstein restaurant just off the main square which was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charming hotel with beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location and peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    A very lovely decorated room. Completely quiet area at night, we could sleep really well. The staff is very friendly and service oriented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is great, clean and new rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, surrounded by trees and fields - very attractive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind staff ! A quiet en quaint location! Had a very nice weekend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, quiet country location, wonderful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Wonderful place in the middle of the countryside. far away from the mess of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The connection to Internet very bad

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing there not to like!

    Modern, large room with a great bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet setting but within easy walking distance of town. Friendly, caring service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no possibility to eat at the hotel, except breakfast. A possible improvement would be a small restaurant/bar for hotel guests

    * Excellent breakfast * Friendly staff * Quiet area, though still easy walking distance to the town centre * Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice people and very helpful. Facility was nice - like an old farm converted to guest quarters and such. Big, delicious morning breakfast. Plenty to see in that area of Germany, not just Xandem.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was overpriced: small bathroom, no minibar. Pictures of rooms on booking.com show some rooms that are actually €10 extra when clicking on room pictures, a bit misleading. Terrace outside for breakfast would have been great option, but not mentioned

    Location nice, plenty parking, very good breakfast buffet, friendly staff, well cleaned room and outside area. Large terrace just outside lower rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    TV reception in room did not work, breakfast was good but without personal touch that one might expect from a seemingly family run sam all hotel

    Friendliness of owners/ staff, cleanliness, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet attractive rural location. Comfortable room. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the size of the room and toilet is really small.

    the staffs are really friendly and the breakfast is GOOD!!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent quiet location, plenty of free parking, very friendly staff and really good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    large rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly service. Clean and well kept facility.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dinner facilities. You do have to go out again but there is a nice inner city next door.

    The location in the forrest

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful calme, relax.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant.

    Rural and quiet setting close to town. Comfortalbe.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Superb place for a stay with young children, there are animals and a nice playground. The rooms are excellent, as is the staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: