Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof 5 stars

Hannoversche Str. 55/56, 29221 Celle, Germany

#3 of 29 hotels in Celle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night

    the modern part of the hotel

    excellent breakfast the old part of the hotel is very nice , the italian restaurant has good food the old town centre of Celle is nearby and worth to visit !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt very comfortable and could completely relax. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and the restaurant had excellently prepared food. The location was perfect - 5 min walk to the old town, 10 min walk to the train station and across the street from the park and palace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been a bit bigger but overall it was comfortable.

    Lovely hotel and very dog friendly - they even put food and water dishes and a few dog treats in the bedroom. We stayed in the Refugium which was really nicely decorated. We tried the on-site Italian restaurant, which was very good. Easy parking on site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels could have been bigger (always in Germany)

    Excellent and very personal staff. Great G&T. Good room service and top quality breakfast with freshly prepared main dishes. Unbelievably pretty in the winter. A perfect stay for Christmas shopping in this very pretty and historic town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Longer opening times for the sauna.

    This was a fabulous hotel, the beds were so comfy, the rooms spotless, the staff so friendly and attentive and always smiling. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice. A very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    This is a very welcoming and comfortable hotel. The rooms are spacious with a roomy armchair for watching TV or just reading. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom very modern and easy. Shower is great; plenty of hot water and lots of room in the shower cubicle.A heated towel rain is an added luxury. We especially enjoyed the bar/coffee lounge in the foyer. The service is prompt, friendly and efficient. Breakfast is excellent, with an extensive choice of ready prepared hot and cold dishes, as well as hot dishes made to order. Great little bread rolls and as much coffee as you can handle! Again, the service here is very friendly and efficient. The reception staff were courteous and professional, so check-in and out were no problem at all. Celle is a beautiful town in a beautiful part of Germany. The area and especially this hotel are both well worth a visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant is outstanding and the staff extremely knowledgeable the spa is lovely and at short notice we managed to secure a massage treatment highly recommend the area too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast nothing special, 1 star restaurant closed, we wanted to book in the italian restaurant at 7PM, that was impossible so we got a booking at 6:30PM, but when we came to the restaurant it was not much people where??

    Good parking, room ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A quite unfriendly welcome at the reception. The lady didn't looked up or said welcome. To our questions she only answered with yes or no. The manager, even he works for that group already many years, didn't great the guests when he walked through the restaurants nor asking if everything is well. It seems the working place for the staff (except in the Palio and the cleaning staff) is not pleasable and guests do feel it

    it was the perfect place to discover the Lueneburger Heide and the cities around. The hotel is very charming and super clean. The staff espec. in the excellent Palio Restaurant was very friendly but do make early reservations for your stay is recommanded. This should be mentioned when you check in .The breakfast was also very good but the organisation a bit chaotic .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sauna - it was closed for renovation and the price of the accommodation - we found it relatively expensive

    The pool and fitness facilities, the breakfast, the decor, the position of hotel, the friendliness of staff and the free car parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wrote this above sorry Room 311 The parking place on the open area of the hotel was good.Anyhow the pedestrian entrance to the hotel was blocked by parking car(s)?? This should be not permitted because is hindering the walk of people!

    I did not liked! The room was extremely small may be 10m2 and on the end of the building!! We booked 2,5 months in advance so I would expect a bit better room and location. The bathroom was even worse not usable for 2 people!!! The cupboard was also not to big and practical. No coffee machine in the room and all this in a 4,5* hotel?????? Staff at the reception unfriendly at 2 days, last day they changed the personell and it was better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But avoid the italian restaurant right outside the hotel. Very high prices for not too impressive cooking. (I mean overcooked pasta at an Italian restaurant, doesn’t it say it all?) Chose something in Celle instead.

    Great serviceminded staff and the garage with easy access. Suberb room with balcony. (We loved the nice gesture of having the bed made for the night and the slippers at its side. Plus of course the chocolate on the pillow.) Unfortunately the breakfast didn’t meet this standard but felt a bit disorganised.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to room from garage can be quite a walk. While pets are welcome, their stay is (too) expensive: we paid 40 Euros for two little dogs, for one night..!

    Very nice room. Very good italian restaurant with outdoor terrace! Pets welcome. Very good breakfast! Friendly, competent staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is extremely poor and we stayed on the 4th floor and we couldn't get wifi on our phones at all. Bathroom is small and impossible not to wet the bathroom when you take shower. Although they provide Penhaligan toiletries, there is no conditioner to be had.

    Beautiful property, especially the sitting area downstairs. Even has a small pool. Perfect location for exploring old town. Extra bed with no extra charge for kids below 13.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the old building. Get a room with aircon in the New building.

    Wonderfull hotel. We could sit outside under the chestnut tree and have dinner. Lovely. 5 minutes Wall from the castle and fine shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location, hotel's own restaurant is excellent, pool/spa is ok, rooms are ok (we were in the new building and we had a balcony). And the lobby, oh wow!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I doubt anyone will give any negative review of this hotel, it's simply one of the best in its category. We enjoyed a lot and will return again the next time we'll come to Celle.

    A beautiful hotel with a lot of its old charm kept. Super service minded personnel and very helpful in any query or enquiries one might have. 10 out of 10 !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant Palio had good food, but it took forever for everyone to be served and the place was not full. The kitchen and staff were not organized.

    Interesting decor with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot with no air conditioning and only reachable after navigating 3 flights of steep stairs which was very difficult for my wife who is 7 months pregnant. On asking whether they had a room on a lower floor I was told that this was not possible because I had booked a "less luxurious" option. No coffee or tea in the room but dried blood on the bedsheets (which was complimentary). Staff are friendly but need better training. If a guest phones down to reception to request certain items missing from the room, the guest shouldn't be expected to go down and pick them up himself. The hotel advertises itself as "one of the best hotels in Germany". Erm.... no.

    Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heater dose not heat the room enough nor quick, moreover, the suite had a heater problem the first night we arrived and wouldn't work and when we reported it to the receptionist they tried to repair it but they couldn't do any thing till next morning, first night wasn't a pleasant worm stay.

    Open space Wardrobe closet felt like home , wide screen tv with verity of channels, hotel Resturant is excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor was tired, the bed was uncomfortable and the food and drinks were over priced, which is not abnormal for a hotel bar. My biggest frustration came a week later when I was billed for a mini bar drink which I never had. I cant stand whiskey but apparently drank one from a minibar!

    This is a sensibly priced hotel with parking and a good location. I was only there for one night

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing having emailed hotel in advance we found theTrattoria closed and only v expensive and formal restaurant available

    Bfast lovely in beautiful dining room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked to have used the treadmill but out of order - so i had easy excuse not to exercise.

    Excellent proffessional staff and hotel facilities.Breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very quaint property. I would definitely stay again. Location to the old part of town and the castle is within walking distance. Unique little town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip we didn't think this one represented good value for money. Unless you plan to use the sauna, pool and eat at the Michelin starred restuarant you'd be better heading somewhere with more atmosphere and buzz for half the price.

    Breakfast was great, pool and sauna were a treat and the Penhaligons toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't really worth the extra money. Staff at breakfast were a little inattentive in our opinion wasn't a true 4* at all. WIFI was appalling, could only get it in the corner of the room with the balcony door open. It was nice to have the pool though both my partner and I became extremely ill after being in the pool it could be a coincidence but we aren't sick or sorry he also got a massive ear infection, could be unlucky but it was strange for us. Generally we weren't impressed.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Well furnished. Nice quiet location whilst being central. The cleaning staff were lovely!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition made it hot. Staff was smoking outside our windows so we couldn't have our windows open because of the smell.

    We loved the hotel. Friendly staff, nice breakfast and wonderful rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking so had to pay 16 euros to then find in morning other guests had created their own unofficial parking spaces!

    Location and beautiful decor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airconditioning in the rooms was noisy and could not cope with the heat as expected. Also, airconditioning in the breakfast room and the lounge should be provided. The pool smelt like chlorine which kept us from swimming.

    Delicious food at the restaurant and breakfast Good beds, nice rooms Friendly staff Hotel close to town centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything I didn't like!!

    The hotel was very clean and well looked after and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was difficult to access and not user friendly. Also the bathroom got wet easily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact I only stayed two days. Wish I could have had an extended stay.

    The staff was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly staff, quality service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the shower ; room twice charged on credit card.

    Their restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no electricity in the room for the first night, there is no AC in the room , Mattress was not comfortable

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Refugium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better service. The hotel is really a three star hote

    The hotel buildings, the locatio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small

    Ambiance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant prices.

    Good staff, beautiful hotel, very nice rooms, easy walk to train and centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice room and very kind and helpful staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service and wonderful environment. Two quality restaurants and an easy walk into one of the more historic little towns in Germany.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for garage parking

    Bedroom and bathroom also dining toom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, nice walk into the city!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi was free but a great connection

    Charming find in the centre of Cella felt like at home living in a big mansion house, excellent staff and good food

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luxury hotel, we had a large set of rooms, well equipped and furnished. Main restaurant closed, we ate in the Palio, which was OK. Staff helpful, parking available on site. Breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Hotel is being renovated of which nothing was mentioned at the time of my booking. the carpets in the corridors were being ripped out during my stay. there was a lot of dirt and dust that one carried into the room. At breakfast the staff was unattentive. Although there was a menue for warm dishes, nobody asked if one wanted to order something from that. it was as if the staff would rather try to avoid contact to the customers, rather then being allert to their wishes. Disappointing in a, at other times, good Hotel.

    Normally the Hotel is good. Unfortunately they are currently in a renovation process.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Disturbance from builders on site and intermittent wi-fi signal

    Staff very responsive to requests for help,moving room ,fixing wi-fi,helping with travel bookings and all speaking fluent English helps a lot! Best food in town if a little pricey

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were major renovations going on in the hotel to modernize the bedrooms. Nowhere on your website was this indicated! We were shown to our room where we could hear the workmen drilling and banging right above us. This started at 8am until 6pm.

    Helpful friendly staff. Beautiful public areas. Once the renovations are complete the rooms should be stunning.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms too small and shower in bathroom so it flooded the room! Not possible to use the bath because of immobility. Lack of information when arriving in the room (TV Air Con etc).

    The food was excellent. Staff efficient.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi is terrible. Could only get it in the corner of the room and kept dropping out. A bit disorganised at breakfast Hotel quite shabby. Torn carpets etc

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    In the large sitting room next to the Reception there was a coffee machine. No notice about paying. When I dared to use it a German lady member of staff jumped on me and demanded 3 euros. It spoilt my stay which cost nearly 600 euros for 2 nights. Such a shame.

    Location and room.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchen poor - no average, but poor. Small portions. Burnt potatoes. 2 small spoon fulls of cabbage. Why try to make German cuisine French???

    Waitesr compensated the beest they could for the mediocre kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    an excellence hotel with special atmosphere, very helpfully and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lobby was booked for some people we could not find place to sit (not allowed) I've been asked to leave the place😳

    The food and the staff

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast varieties.

    Hotel style, its cleaness and the Italian restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Exaggerated pricing during fairs in Hannover

    Great location within walking distance from downtown. An hotel with excellent restaurant facilities.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and help with lugage

    Enviroment

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sauna and swimming pool outdated and in need of renovation

    Excellent restaurants and very friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this was our 3rd stay, but we will never return, room was badly cleaned and very dusty, mattress very hard, no comfort

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Little room

    Beautiful and calm place

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: