Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden Bilk Hafen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Suitbertus Str. 22, Bilk, 40223 Düsseldorf, Germany

#61 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 966 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, location average, staff super friendly, breakfast awesome, parking for 9,5e per day.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture and few stains on the carpet and chairs, but nothing so bad.

    The best staff in my life. They didn't have double room that was necessary for us, so they give us 4 bed and 2 rooms apartment in the top floor. The furniture is quite old, but everything is working. They help us with luggage even if it was not necessary. Beds was super clean. Big double bed was little narrow (maybe 140cm) but ok. Breakfast was PERFECT. Really, best VALUE FOR MONEY in my life! They have a parking garage for 9,5e per 24 hours. Location is about 20min from AltStad, but we were using car, so we can't estimate so good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    ldeal for our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The period we stayed in was extremely hot and moist; there's no air conditioning in the rooms.

    Poliste and friendly personel, clean beds and healthy breakfast. Easy to reach anywhere in Düsseldorf.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My favourite hotel in Dusseldorf. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nutritious breakfast. Good location and very clean, tidy. We stay at this hotel very time when we do fashion shows in Dusseldorf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel, clean, and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked twin, but given double. Not really a problem as had separate bedspreads, and happy with room anyway. Might cause problem with people that need separate beds, but we were able to live with it.

    Very good hotel, clean, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff,the hotel, the room was very spacious and very clean and comfy,the garden in the hotel was very calming and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    nice room, friendly staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was next to elevator and thus is was really loud in the room, from 6am on the elevator was going up and down, sleeping was not possible anymore

    nice room, friendly staff,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    First and last time this hotel for me...
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were good, I am in a wheelchair and saw on the site that the locatie is suitable for me, but there were 3 big steps behind the front door and the bathroom door was to small for my weelchair, so had to make a transfer to another chair that my brother had set for me. We got a discount from € 25...

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a huge room for three people (one big bed + three small beds). Everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast buffet was really nice with lots of food and drinks. The location is good, 4min walking to the U-Bahn stop, and 10min from there to the old part of the city. Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good. The garden was shady and comfortable. The room had a balcony and on the very hot day that we arrived, it was great to have a balcony. The room and bathroom were very clean. We found a great pizza pub around the corner where lots of locals gathered. Don't be fooled by the outside of the hotel as the inside is great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Good internet.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive. Price of parking 9,5 euro/day. The disposition of Hotel is not good. Price/Quality = 3+

    Good internet. Perfect breakfast. Room is clean and the staff is quite favorable. Hotel has privat parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed having a small electric jug for hot water. This is not common in Europe; however some hotels now have one in each room.

    Excellent breakfast. The location was ideal for my son and I to visit friends in Düsseldorf, with the Altstadt easily reached by a pleasant longer walk or a short ride on the Straßenbahn. A good range of restaurants nearby. Staff were pleasant and always helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    4.6
    The most terrifying parking and staff I have ever faced in a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night, I called before we arrived and the staff said to me it is okey they will be open over night. Once we arrived he gave us a key and showed us an underground parking (not exactly on the same building), as dark as a grave! He did not turn the lights on for us we were afraid of going inside, with our car light we found the keys and turn the lights on. The parking did not have any door, so it was open and not very different with street parking. Once we came in to the building he was waiting for us in front of the yard, he showed us a room on ground floor, on the other side of the building, again in darkness and said that is a very good room, I declined and said I have asked for a higher floor room, he said they are fully booked!!! we decided to leave the hotel to find a new place (I was really afraid of that room). He called us and gave us a key at 4th floor. In the room there was a spider on the bed. shelves at the back of the beds were full of dust. I would say if I was alone I would never stay on such a place.

    The breakfast and Wifi were good. Excluding the staff we visited the first night rest of them were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Very good and pleasant stay. Excellent staff and very nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were not all that comfortable. My only complaint.

    The staff was excellent, especially Thomas at the Front desk who helped me with directions and restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    The best service one would ever get from a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The best service I have ever had from a hotel, although I spend half a year on travelling each year. Every single staff at the Garden Hotel was genuinely friendly. Incredibly helpful. Very clean and quiet.Very close to some good restaurants and supermarkets.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Breakfast like in 5star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy hotel, standard room, not bad location... But the main benefit in this hotel is breakfast!!! Fresh orange juice, a lot of delicious snacks, variety of cheeses and hams, exotic fruits, good espresso... I'm enjoy)))

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.0
    Dont stay in Dusseldorf during a trade fair / exhibition and expect a resonable cost hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Trade fair time in Dusseldorf so every hotel inflates their prices to an absolute rip off level. Paid over £150 per night on what is a small hotel B&B with no restaurant. Price same dates in November on Booking.com £71 per night!! Cant single out this hotel though as all hotels in Dusseldorf were ripping visitors off.

    Nice bottles of Beer which are actually sold in ASDA.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    We booked a double room and we received a two bedrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow WiFi internet, difficult to find a parking spot around the hotel.

    We booked a double room and we received a two bedrooms apartment with 4 beds and two TV's. Nice breakfast, clean hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    No words, just amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was perfect if the hotel had a restaurant for dinner.

    I really enjoyed my stay, the breakfast was amazing, staff very helpfull, we had a big room and very confortable. I will go back again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm on the top floor and no Aircon. Otherwise top!

    Friendly helpful stsff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Very kind and helpful staff, both at the front desk and at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very kind and helpful staff, both at the front desk and at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    its ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room with low roof and so small

    Breakfast is good, Staff help in booking a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.9
    Extremely POOR hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dirty

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Duesseldorf Bilk - Nice Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just for my particular need wuold be the best an early breakfast before 7.00.

    Staff super nice. Quiet nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast and location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, Nice breakfast, staff were also nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, Nice breakfast, staff were also nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    great b'fast and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - beds are too soft - in summer maybe too hot as no AC

    - good size of the room - balcony, for sure in summer great - amazing b'fast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant breakfast,polite and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Make it easier to extend the stay when cancellation occurs for staying guest.

    Brilliant breakfast,polite and helpful reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to Oban Station.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very breakfast. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Deserves to give ita try
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Avoid to get a room next to elevator * Heater in the room wasn’t working properly.

    Awesome Helpful staff, rich breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay at good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wifi connection to internet, room was very cold.

    Staff, location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Very good place!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast and welcoming people. The pictures are real and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No housekeeping on Sundays

    Awesome breakfast and super central but quite location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    They are kind to make my food warm by microwave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are kind to make my food warm by microwave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Really great stay
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really helpful nothing was a problem. V friendly great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    The best hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is always the best hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Super garden , quiet, intimate and cozy
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super garden , quiet, intimate and cozy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    The TV programs set for a few German channels.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV programs set for a few German channels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel in dus. The breakfast is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    The best breakfast and the staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best breakfast and the staff was amazing. the room was big with very beautiful garden outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Good and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Absolutely the best value for money you can get in Düsseldorf.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    Price/performance rate was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating system

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Top place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Staff fabulous. Breakfast fabulous. Location fabulous. Had the best tine and can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Parking is a nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a nightmare

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very eager to assist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very eager to assist. The breakfast is good. Good location with very easy access to public transport and railways station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel, nice staff, poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very basic

    This was the cheapest we could get for a late booking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled like it didn't get any air in the last weeks.

    Breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and approachable staff. Excellent breakfast. Nice quiet location but quite far from city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Very nice breakfast, clean and big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast, clean and big rooms. Value for money...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast is brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet floor.

    Breakfast is brilliant. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic small hotel in a quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather hot even though we turned the radiator off and opened window.

    Helpful staff, good room and bathroom and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.8
    breakfast was very good, the fresh orange juice was an extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was very good, the fresh orange juice was an extra touch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    great
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing.

    Breakfast is good and staff are very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    football trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were polite and professional, the breakfast was nice and value for the money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast buffet where everyone can find something tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet where everyone can find something tasty

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Very silent location, excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast listed in the bill separately, not good for me particularly.

    It is dead silent. Not sure if I've ever stayed in such a quiet hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac in the room.

    Breakfast was awesome, like 5 star hotel. Staff was friendly. Good location, 5 min walk to s and u-bahn.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    I was very pleased with the Garden Bilk Hafen Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    -

    I was very pleased with the Garden Bilk Hafen Hotel! Breakfast buffet remarkable. Really wonderful buffet breakfast and bar. The staff were incredibly helpful, very nice and great management, I loved how they treat the guests. High standard, really clean and very comfortable room and bathroom. The warm and familial atmosphere completed the pleasant stay there. Excellent concierge service & quiet location. Everything was great, when we return to Dusseldorf we'll stay at this hotel :)

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    7.9
    Very comfortable, quite and clean room, very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No cookies or cakes for breakfast, just bread and jam if you like sweet breakfast. Many other choises if you prefer 'salty' breakfast (egg, bacon, sausages, salmon, ham and cheese, vegetables,..)

    Very comfortable, quite and clean room, very nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    7.9
    Hotel not in town centre, takes 10 mins on tram from main...
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the hallways and staircases could perhaps to do with up grading.

    Hotel not in town centre, takes 10 mins on tram from main rail station and a 5 min s walk. Very quiet location, good size room. Staff very helpful. Really good breakfast plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    8.3
    They had great breakfasts but the lack of a restaurant in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They had great breakfasts but the lack of a restaurant in the evenings was compensated for by excellent recommendations for local restaurants

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nil

    Friendly staff....good breakfast.easy access to transport

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great breakfast. Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    very friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a wee bit closer to nitespots

    very friendly staff; small, clean, warm and very comfortable with a great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    I don't remember the time, when so rich breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I don't remember the time, when so rich breakfast was served at 3 stars hotel ! Thanks

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    very helpful indeed
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no hooks in the bedroom for wet coats! beds a bit strange. asked for NO FEATHERS but not available

    very helpful indeed

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    staff and location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff and location!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent breakfast nice staff good location

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    Staff Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff Excellent!!! Breakfast nice location good (with 5 stops of 712 lane you can stay in Altstadt)

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    The friendly stuff and the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The tempeture in the room.

    The friendly stuff and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    Good as usual, generally quiet, good breakfast, free parking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Neighbour came back at 1am & fan in his bathroom was so loud it woke me.

    Good as usual, generally quiet, good breakfast, free parking on street

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location but easy transport into city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location but easy transport into city centre

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Garden Bilk Hafen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: