Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Central

Hauptstraße 64, 78098 Triberg, Germany

#3 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Triberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed your hotel, staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the crunchy/wrinkly towels were rough on the skin. I had hair in my shower. I didn't understand how the card for the parking lot worked (need a better explanation), so I paid the full price. You may want to state that you are on the upper levels among other businesses, I only found the door by luck.

    I loved the location, balcony and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Central location just down the street from the waterfalls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky to figure out mainly because of the construction happening behind the hotel.

    Central location just down the street from the waterfalls. Breakfast and upstairs patio were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to spot the hotel even with Google map. We passed by it too many times before spotting it, so I wish the hotel sign could be bigger.

    The breakfast was excellent. It was surprising considered that I only met one staff who does everything from being at reception to preparing breakfast. The location was good and parking spot was nearby and free at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the nosiest 2 night stay. Our room faced the main road and it was not pleasant to hear the cars drive through the whole night.

    The town of Triberg is very nice and the waterfalls were within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Small friendly hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically i could not find any major problems.

    The location is perfect, right in the city center some minutes walk from the garage (cost 12EUR/day), couple of hundreds meter from Waterfall park. The room was clean, the internet access was sufficient. Breakfast is good. If you check in you will get a card which makes possible to use local public transportation and you can get some rabat on entrance fees. They also made thoughts on the room to avoid any conflict with neighbors because we were not the only guest with dog :-) I really recommend this hotel if you plan to stay 1-2 nights in Triberg. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    BEAUTIFUL!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the towels, they were super stiff and uncomfortable. luckily we brought our own. If towels are the only downside though i highly recommed this hotel.

    I really enjoyed the free breakfast. The staff spoke english and were really helpful. They were very accommodating for my crazy husky and us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for our needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has got everything just right! Good standard, clean, comfy beds, everything works, nice lobby area to relax. Friendly, helpful staff and I must say an awesome breakfast! Also conveniently located to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay somewhere you wouldn't necessarily want to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat during our stay was unusual and the room was stuffy as a consequence. The bathroom towels were tiny and could have doubled as sandpaper.

    The location in Triberg was very convenient, although the town itself is not necessarily worth an overnight visit. The hotel reception is almost hidden on the third floor of the building and has views over the town, although these are currently spoiled by the substantial neighbouring building works. We enjoyed the substantial and varied breakfast. Complimentary access to the waterfall trails was included and much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for the town, comfortable and very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fault of the hotel but because we had the shutters down to have the window and door open (security and to allow air in to cool us down - 36 degrees!), it became very noisy from 4 am with lorries up and down the main street and then the street cleaners. Apparently the hotel has requested work traffic to be much later, in consideration of its guests, but unfortunately the reply was the street needs to be cleaned at those times before it gets too busy. I think if the door and window were closed, this would not be a problem.

    Excellent location on the main street, no problem with parking (car park behind hotel which is free on Sundays or multi-storey). Staff members were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and had everything needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was included and more than adequate - continental but good selection. We overlooked the high street and had a balcony with flowers - very pleasant. External shutters on the door and window meant you could be safe and secure yet have the window and door open to let fresh air in - very necessary as it was so hot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel right in the centre of town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location right in the middle of town , 30m to Bus .Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a long walk to the hotel from the Train station but bus time table meets the train and stops right out front of hotel.Hotel has a voucher for free bus travel and entry into a of venues. Some reviews said it was hard to find , we had no problems , reception is on 3rd floor via lift in bank foyer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain about.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, and the staff was really friendly and helpful. We had all the basics we needed. The balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    It is exactly in the center of the village, our room had an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit too old and the towels seemed too used!

    It is exactly in the center of the village, our room had an excellent view, the room was spacious! You can park the car outside of the hotel free (until 9 in the morning)! The owner of the hotel was very kind and she gave to us free tickets for the falls and museum!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    An excellent room, and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small public car park. We were very lucky to get a space. It's rather a shame for Triberg that the whole of the centre of town is being redeveloped

    An excellent room, and a good breakfast. Access by lift is good, and the situation is close to the Black Forest Museum and the Waterfalls. Don't be put off by the fact that the hotel is above a bank.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A quiet, cosy and friendly location near to all the restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to dislike. The hotel is simple but very comfortable.

    Very cosy hotel with friendly staff. A perfect Black Forest (Schwarzwald) stop. Staying at the hotel also gets you a free public transport ticket. Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Gernsbach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Very Cozy! Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C. We ended up going to a nearby electronics store to buy a fan. We knew going in there was no a/c but it was especially uncomfortable mid summer.

    It was in the center of town so it was perfect walking distance to the forest and all the shops. Breakfast was delicious and fresh!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Great location in Triberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    The location was great, just a very short walk to the center of town. We loved the little balcony overlooking the street. One of our favorite sites to share with friends, the carved wood conference room inn the Rathaus, was right across the street and there was a great ice cream, coffee and dessert shop steps away. Parking again just steps away and the breakfast was fantastic. We will stay here again. And there is an elevator!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in center of Triberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room reservation confirmation ( booking.com ) had a balcony but there was no balcony in our room. No free private parking

    Room was very clean and comfy. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    we visited at the beginning of July, the village was peaceful and a lovely place to go and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast, good location only a few minutes walk from the waterfall entrance, they gave us a guest pass for visiting all of the local attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, and great location!n
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is on the third floor of a building so if you plan on bringing dogs just know that it isn't terribly convenient for taking them in and out. Also, there is relatively little green space in Triberg for the dogs to relieve themselves!

    The location is great, breakfast is good, and the room very clean. The price is also very good and there is easy parking in a garage around the corner for only 6 euro a night. It's not necessarily beautiful but it is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Cuckoo cuckoo town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be loud with windows open if you are on the balcony side. Church bells go to 10pm.

    But I did like sitting on the balcony. Nice breakfast. Big room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    STAY AWAY. PAY A BIT EXTRA TO STAY ELSEWHERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The OLD man at check-in ignored us. Once when a blonde arrived after us. Then when s man arrived. Both times this old man completely ignored us. It was very uncomfortable and offensive. And he wouldn't speak to us in English. Made us sign a paper without our details on it. Wouldn't give us info about check out times. Wifi, elevators without us asking, and then only if he had to. Then gave us a room where the aircon didn't work and shutters on the window (no balcony, as described) wouldn't go up. We were staying in a dark hot dungeon. There WAS NO coffee. Just 2 X Green tea bags. No milk. Bathroom tap leaking hot water. In our very long travels, we have never encountered such bismal lack of customer service. If I could've, I would have walked out and paid more for a friendlier place.

    Near Central station. But THAT IS ALL

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We used to be able to park the car free of charge but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We used to be able to park the car free of charge but the local council has scrapped the car park & they now charge 9euros per day for an under cover car park. This is merely a comment & not a reflection on the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right in town. Older hotel but well maintained. Extra touches such as honesty box for refrigerator with soft drinks and alcohol great as no refrigerator in room. Really enjoyed our stay, good breakfast and lovely host Bettina. Would recommend.

    Proximity to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A great and enjoyable experience with my extended family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amenities in the bathroom were lacking but not unusual for rural Europe. I am accustomed to the amenities in International facilities. Tissues and shampoo would have been appreciated.

    Bettina was a delightful and considerate host. The unexpected decorations on the breakfast table for my son's birthday were greatly appreciated. The location is fabulous for Triberg and the property has a delightful homely feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really like the friendly staff there. They recommended some good places to go when we checked in. Also there’s a day pass for all transportation comes with the hotel booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Central Location, Very clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely stay at garni central, The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Underground parking was provided for our motorcycles. Lovely views of triberg from our balcony. Also right near the waterfall which we were given a free pass by the hotel to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Only if you don't have another option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very outdated. The mattress was too hard for my liking and the pillows didn't seem to hold their shape. The bathroom was probably the worst part. Needs some updating. Toiletries were only envelops of body wash and the shower itself was small and the tile grout lines were not pretty. There was a nice rain shower head in the shower however it wasn't properly attached so that feature didn't work, just large dribbles. And the towels were old. Extremely thin and clearly air-dried which made them very scratchy to use.

    The breakfast was nice with good views. Rooms had nice balcony with view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Staff lovely parking for motorcycle very central lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a dislike just a different entrance in a hall up escalator 3 floor but was still perfect

    Staff lovely parking for motorcycle very central lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Decent hotel with a good view. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the rooms are a bit cramped up. The towels could have been better. The staff lacks proper English knowledge , which could be improved. Information about local tourism, bus routes, spots could have been provided better to help tourists.

    The location of the hotel is very good. The hotel rooms have a very beautiful view of the surroundings. The rooms were very clean. And staff was friendly. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Romantic Hotel With The Best View of Triberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Stunning view,located right in the middle of everything. 5 mins walk to the waterfall entrance. Free entrance ticket to waterfall! The breakfast was amazing! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels! I’m at a total loss here, because while everything else about this stay was quite good, the towels were simply the worst I’ve ever experienced anywhere. Beyond dingy, they were downright grimy looking, foul smelling, and hard to the touch. Not something I felt comfortable using, at all.

    Lovely host. Appealing decor. Decent breakfast. Within walking distance to the Triberg waterfall and the ‘Maria of the Pine’ church. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was friendly and spoke English well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were not very comfortable.

    The staff was friendly and spoke English well. The rooms were clean and well cared for. The breakfast was delicious with lots of options for all tastes and dietary needs. The hotel is centrally located and steps away from a gelato shop, the House of 1000 clocks, and the Triberg waterfalls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, perfect location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major complaints. Bed was a little soft for my liking, but that's strictly personal preference. Toiletries were limited to a single bath gel, which wasn't enough to wash my hair & body, but luckily I always pack one with me. There's nothing the hotel can do about it, but if your room is on the front side of the hotel there is a bar across the street that can be very loud long into the night if your windows are open.

    Good sized room with balcony. Easy to find parking behind the building- it's free if you park in the dirt lot. Walking distance to everything in town. Sufficient breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great visit in Triberg. Hotel really convenient for walking around town and to waterfall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have known where to park ahead of time...maybe put information on confirmation email.

    The room was nice size with a fantastic balcony. Great location. Loved the breakfast room and breakfast. Very nice variety for breakfast. Host very thoughtful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Room was very comfortable, parking was free and close, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and coffee could have been better.

    Room was very comfortable, parking was free and close, hotel was close to several great restaurants (pinnochios pizzeria was a great place to eat and just outside hotel) and just down the road from the waterfall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    The location is just 2 minutes walk from the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is inside the building of a bank(Kreissparkasse) and there is no easily noticeable sign.

    The location is just 2 minutes walk from the bus station. Most of the tourist attractions are reachable by walking. The room was really comfortable and clean. We booked a room for 3 persons. A balcony is included with a good view of the town. The breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Superb, friendly hotel in an excellent location - what more can you want!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions are not great - small lift and dated corridors. Once inside, rooms, stunning views and service couldn't be bettered!

    Excellent breakfast - so much choice! Location is amazing - right in the centre near some delicious restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    A wonderful location and a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    towels smelled a bit musty and were crunchy from, assuming, no fabric softener

    The location was wonderful, right in the center of town! The room was clean. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    great hotel with an awesome view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great hotel with an awesome view... very central, comfortable and spacious. There is also a free parking area behind the building. Ask at the reception. Do not fall for the paid public parking on the side parking of the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff - we returned to Triberg 25 years after our first visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although centrally located, the hotel is not on the ground floor which was unexpected. Accessible by both stairs and a small elevator - it worked out fine.

    The location, staff, and breakfast were great. Wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    A lovely, convenient hotel well worth the reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little tricky finding the place as one has to take a very small elevator to reach the floor where the hotel is located, but nothing too bad. The bathroom in our room could use a bit of a remodel, although it wasn't too bad

    The hotel enjoys a great location near the waterfall and local shops. We also found the room to be quite comfortable, especially the bed. Views were great as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Fuss free stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift access is small with luggage. Hotel is located at the 3rd floor. However, view is spectacular.

    As Hotel Garni Central is located in the center of the town, all attractions are easily accessible - The Triberg waterfall is just a short walk. Souvenir shops and restaurants are steps away. Must try - Black Forest cake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled strongly of urine for some reason, it was unpleasant.

    Everything was great, the breakfast was authentic and delicious, the hotel was beautiful and centrally located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street parking was easy to get behind the hotel, but not ‘on site’. The entry to the hotel was a bit hard to find because the hotel was on the floor above street level.

    The location was great, right at the beginning of all the shops. Waterfall, museum and restaurants were all just up the hill on the same street as the hotel. The breakfast was really good and the nice lady was keeping everything tidy. The room has a balcony with a flower box, that was very charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    The rooms was very comfortable and clean, very good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was very comfortable and clean, very good location, the free breakfast was excellent, the staff was very good and accomodating, the only downside is the lift where only a 2 people with luggage can fit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a restaurant within the hotel, atleast some short eats and coffee or tea...

    Super location, friendly staff, speak good English... Breakfast was good..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location and very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge issue, but the tap in shower is a push type, and I think each of us accidentally hit it a few times. Beware the bells, which are fabulous and loud. Obviously, this isn't anything to do with the hotel, but just good to know about.

    Great location, free parking, loved the balcony. We had read other reviews so found it easily (it's above the Sparkasse). The entrance to the waterfalls is about 200 metres up the road and was visible from our balcony. A basic room, but perfectly suited to our needs. Breakfast was good with a beautiful view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Taking everything into consideration we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We found it difficult to find the hotel as it was above a Sparkasse Bank and the Hotel Garni Central signs were not prominent.

    I especially liked the breakfast food. The staff were very kind and helpful. The car park was very close to the hotel. The location of the Hotel was very convenient for the cuckoo clock shops and souvenir shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Great holiday in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and central location. Loved the balcony with views of town and forest. We stayed in room 314. Hotel looks quite 70s in communal areas but rooms clean and fresh. Beds made and fresh towels left even though only stayed for two nights. Breakfast had a good continental offering with cereal, toast, preserves and various meats available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    It was only an overnight stay but I would stay here again for more nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is the towels were a little stiff and scratchy. But that is no reason to lower my rating. It was a very clean and friendly place to stay!!

    The provided breakfast was wonderful and had a great selection. The location of the hotel is perfect! The lady who checked us in was very helpful and explained the area, parking and how to get in and out of the hotel then even gave us some pointers on a great scenic drive for on the way back to Stuttgart. She spoke English which was very helpful since we have only been in the area a little over a month. At breakfast she made sure our coffee stayed full!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a bit dated.

    Great staff. Breakfast was wonderful. Did well with the kids. The location is incredible. Easy access to the waterfalls, downtown Triberg, etc. There is paid parking (9 EUR/day) or free parking in the lot down below (this could get full if busy). We walked all over Triberg and some of the great restaurants were mere 100s of feet away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Delightful stay at Hotel Garni; a friendly and accommodating hotel in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no negatives to report. The hotel was great and the town of Triberg charming; great food, beer and shopping.

    Our room was very nice and well worth the price. The English-speaking staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was extraordinary. One very pleasant surprise was that we were given (upon check-in) a card that allowed us free unlimited bus and rail access throughout the Black Forest for the length of our stay. This was a tremendous bargain and we used it to visit several other towns in the Black Forest. Also, the hotel is walking distance to a beautiful waterfall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    good place in Triberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the check-out day the elevator was out of order then we must try to take our big luggage from the fourth floor to ground floor!

    location , very good breakfast , free ticket for Triberg waterfall and transportation in Black Forest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift to get to hotel on third floor only big enough for 2 people with luggage. TV was not workjjng properly but could have been me.

    Location on main street with balcony. Room big. Clean fresh. Good value as breakfast was included and was excellant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3 stories of stairs to get up and down were hard work, especially after hiking for a day. If your a light sleeper the bells will likely keep you awake for a bit.

    Great location. Breakfast service was wonderful. Very clean. The people were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Place needs a major update, oh and it is also up for sale so I can see why they are not fixing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is part of other businesses and they are on the 3rd floor so no real front of hotel. Elevator is super small and we had to make 3 trips with luggage and stuff. Beds were very hard and not good for someone with bad hips etc etc. shower is very out dated, the curtain kept sticking to my body and when I would turn around I would hit the handle and turn the water to hot and almost burn myself. Towels are very very old, so old they looked brown and dingy. No storage for anything in bathroom, only one trash can and it's in the bathroom. Not enough pillows for the bed. Can't change the tv to English speaking because we do not know German. When you leave your room if you don't plan on coming back before 8pm you have to leave your room key in this box and then take another key to let yourself in because they lock the door down stairs so if you don't take that 2nd key your locked out for the night. Additionally hotel is up for sale. Buyer beware

    The breakfast was good and the staff was pleasant. Hotel front sits right on Main Street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and enjoyable, and recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much as negative, but just a warning to future visitors: the hotel is located at the address as indicated, just above the Sparkasse (which is about all you see at street level, driving into town)

    Excellent location and safe, free parking behind hotel Friendly reception and staff Solid breakfast in comfortable setting Clean all around

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Great little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lines weren't very soft. Felt like the towels were made of sand paper.

    Great central location. Free parking below was nice. Close to restaurants and pharmacy. The host at the hotel was really great. Very nice! The room was good. Elevator was small but worked. We had a little trouble finding the entrance very small sign.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit dated. But nothing wrong with that!

    Perfect location, right in the centre of Triberg, but not noisy at all. A room and breakfast with a view. And the breakfast was incredible. Really happy we found this gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    clean, comfortable, quiet, great location, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean, comfortable, quiet, great location, friendly staff, good breakfast. would highly recommend. we had a family of 5 with 2 kids under 4 and it was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel to live
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance is not so easy to find and the parking too. But if you inquire the staff, they will show you.

    In the center of the city and can go to the famous waterfall within five minutes. The breakfast is rather good. The hotel gave us guest card and can enter the waterfall for free. It is excellent. The staff is enthusiastic and kind, I need point this out especially.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    I would stay again but definitely need new soft towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels need to be softer. It felt like drying with sandpaper, and they were quite small... it's nice to have a bigger towel after a shower. A little outdated but non the less clean. Mattresses were a little to hard for our liking but did the job.

    Location is perfect and allows you to walk to any spot you need. The sound of the river right behind the hotel is very relaxing at night. Breakfast is very decent, and the breakfast room is very cheerful and open with a little veranda off the main room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.0
    Okay stay, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too small for two people and the bathroom can be updated.

    Difficult to get into hotel as it is inside another building. Room we had and bathroom too small for a couple. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Cosy hotel with nice host and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift is small and after 19:30 you have to take stairs down one floor to reach the lift. This is not a problem for adults but if you have a pram or small children be prepared to carry it down one floor.

    The host was very kind and helpful. She suggested different options for us to visit from Triberg. She also modified the breakfast options according to our liking (in addition to the fact that there were many options for breakfast). Location is fantastic and all major attractions like the waterfall, museum, cafes and shops are within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Good Spot !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault the place - great B&B location ;-)

    Great location with a balcony overlooking the main street shops and scenery. Rooms were clean & comortable and we had access to the garage for parking. Staff on arrival were very welcoming and friendly and breakfast was good. Access was via lift from street level which helped with luggage !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The town is a little touristy. The clock bells start ringing early.

    Great breakfast, extra nice woman at the reception to answer questions. Comfortable, clean room. Very nice place. Trails to hike take off directly from the village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Location, comfort of the room, view from the balcony, cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning, strange room key arrangement (you have to put the room key in a locker and take the key of the locker with you).

    Location, comfort of the room, view from the balcony, cosy and fancy breakfast room, good breakfast and a very nice lady "maitre d'hotel".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertisement says hotel central "garni", but "garni" is not on the sign, and locals seemed to know the place as hotel central. A minorly confusing scenario for visitors.

    Great location, wonderful view, friendly and informative proprietor, and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    great value for money, well located and nice. would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money, very central location, good breakfast, super nice staff. it's inside a building simple but nice and clean. Pillows where very comfortable as well. If you arrive late on sunday then you need to book in advance the bus to take you from the central station otherwhise taxi was very cheap as it is a small town. I would definitely stay there again if going back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The town goes a little crazy about ringing the bell at 7:30 am and 6:00 pm, but that's the town, not the hotel. There is nothing negative about the hotel.

    Location is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and the room was not ready. They nevertheless allowed us to put our luggage in the room and gave us the key. The breakfast room is very pleasant and has a nice view. Breakfast was ample and fresh, with warm service. Our room has a balcony. It was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Offers great access to shopping in Triberg
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small, almost too small for more than two adults. We travel with a toddler and our dog, and it was extremely cramped. Parking is not included in the hotel, they utilize a city/common access parking lot located behind the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good. The staff was considerate and helpful. This hotel is centrally located in Triberg, offering great access to shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Happy to stay again, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was seriously hot.

    Stayed here twice on our tour and both times the welcome was wonderful. Arrived really early on second occasion and the staff got our room ready straight away. It;s a great location, as is in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was good and location was great to explore the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little hard to find because it is not on the street ground and you have to take an elevator up

    Breakfast was good and location was great to explore the Black Forest. Rooms were clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    A winner place. 10 on 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything. Nothing to point out!

    Breakfast was superb!! <3 The hostess is a kind lady. We loved the stay and will recommend it to everyone! Bonus: They even gave us free entry passes to the Waterfalls and a complementary 2 day tickets for two people for local bus/train. Totally made our day!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel for visiting Black forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was in an ideal location within the main town centre. The hotel was lovely and the room had a lovely balcony The breakfast was wonderful and would definitely recommend this hotel for an enjoyable visit to the Black forest

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Garni Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: