Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Deutsches Haus This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kasernenstraße 19, Nordstadt, 53111 Bonn, Germany

Review score

Based on 604 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room for 3 was just a bit tight, for 1 night was Ok, just that it was not huge. And it was a bit dark in the room, the wardrobe was taking some space an light. The TV was small but Ok in total, with EN channels

    Bathroom super clean and nice, breakfast was amazing!, super clean too. location is also fine, close to a big parking and the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a disagreable smell when you entered the room, as the room hadn't been refurbished for quite some time. The carpet definitely needs changing and the wall-paper had begun to tear off. Also, I personally prefer white towels at hotels as coloured ones make me feel thay may not be too clean. I missed a fridge in the room, especially as I had medicine that had to be kept cold.

    I had chosen a double room for single use and was happy to be given a big room overlooking a courtyard with flowers - temperatures were very high on these days, and I was delighted to find a cool room everytime I returned. There was also a book with sites worth visiting in Bonn. The bathroom too was fine with plenty bath foam and toilet paper provided. The location was rather good - although not in the historic centre, but in what seemed the outside limits of the Turkish neighbourhood - the street was calm and everything worth seeing was rather close. The best thing was the breakfast (excellent quality - I loved the egg yolk toast!) and the courteous personnel. It was also good that the key I was given opened the hotel's outside door too, so I felt independent. I was glad to find a bottle of water and gummi-bears in the room. There was also a kettle and a variety of teas and herbal offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - close to main station and public transportation Very clean Spacious room - even single one/with a city view Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi connection was so weak in our room, we couldn't use it properly.

    I suggest this hotel in Bonn. Breakfast is very good, beds comfortable, quite street and clean rooms. Near is tram station, and till train station is 15 min by feet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Small, cosy hotel, not far away from Bonn railway station - good connection with Koeln Messe and Cologne/Bonn airport Very good breakfasts Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    every thing was Ok.

    Very clean, very good breakfast and very polite staff. very closed to the City center. I have to came back again to Bonn after two or three months, and I will be accommodated again at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom door doesn't automatically lock and closes with a slightly loud sound. Needed to keep key at hand to lock or unlock door.

    Best breakfast seen in EU. Friendly staff, helpful but not intrusive. Free street parking, found spaces throughout the day. 5 minutes walking to the riverside or to shopping streets. Beautiful area throughout. Clean and modern toilet - better than other 4 star hotels I've been to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is very near to the center and very silent area. However location is not a clean area.

    Breakfast was delicious and sufficient. Internet was super fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top floor room was very small at 15 metres and too hot under the eaves. Pillows too soft.

    Beautifully designed small hotel with just 27 rooms over 4 floors. Well furnished rooms and bathrooms. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the hot days the rooms were too warm at night. A/C would have been nice, but I know that the frequency with which it would be used in their climate would likely not make it worth it

    We were in comfort double rooms. The bathrooms were very nice, the beds were very comfortable amd the location was great. They also had an outlet with a USB port in it, whichnof course I noticed too late. A mini fridge would have been great but did not significantly impact our experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had higher expectations for the city itself, but that's a different story.

    The hotel was great. I would even go as far as saying it was the best part of Bonn :-) The stuff was very helpful (and saved our day by serving us a home-made pizza at 10pm!). The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was great as well - served with style and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the street is 2 euro's per hour, up to 20:00 at night. The hotel does not have its own parking lot.

    The breakfast is great! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our kids got a very nice present when we left the hotel; hand-knitted animal finger puppets, very skilfully made. Hotel is very well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, no complaints.

    Close to the city center, extremely friendly staff, delicious and large assortment of breakfast items. The room was a nice size for a single, overnight stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was patchy

    My first room was at the front and there was some street noise but I was quickly moved to a much quieter and bigger room at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice with many healthy options. Beautifully presented.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the beds were not very comfortable. The price was very high for the amenities provided.

    Excellent location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was excellent. However, a coleauge of mine that stayed at room number 2 was less satisfied. You have to carry the key with you (it is not heavy though), as the reception closes at 23:00. Not a problem for me, I am just mentioning it.

    The room was excellent. Clean, spacious, well decorated. The bathroom was also spatious. The heating was at very confortable level, I didn;t have to consider it at all. Hot water and the equipement in the shower was very good, and the shower was also spacious. It was room 26, on the 4th floor, a room that looked like an attic. Also the breakfast was excellent, with a variety of quality choices. Finally, the stuff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi quality with neccessity to log in into hotel network.

    Overall impression was rather good than bad. Very good location near to city center but maybe too expensive for 3* hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only spot in the room with a good wifi connection was the bathroom... Don't really critisize it, but the towels have been exchanged daily, although I hadn't put them on the floor to indicate it.

    The hotel is very nice and clean, all staff members were very friendly! In the room there was a bottle of mineral water, a tea-pot, some coffee and tea and even a city guide. And really, it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nothing.

    Amazing breakfast, even to (usually high) German standards. Not just rolls, cheese and different meats, but also salmon, lentils, herring, many kinds of fruit, beans, pancakes, many different jams... and all of high quality. The staff were very helpful, smiling and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi seemed unavailable at night, and the login procedure was arduous. No a/c in our room, which meant leaving the window open and suffering some minor street noise.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location, etc etc. .. we really could not fault the hotel. Secure parking inside a locked courtyard for motorcycles (not sure if free, but we were not charged). Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wheel chair facilities need some improvement (stairs on the same floor)

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a home away from home, the best maintained rooms as well as the exceptional breakfast and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    low wifi signal

    almost evrything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice design, new and clean. Wonderful brakefast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the center. Very tasty and varied breakfast. The room was spacious and clean. The perfect place for our short trip in Bonn!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    There is no phone in the room and the reception is opened for a limited period.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, service and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have thin walls, so its quite noisy, and rooms are a bit outdated.

    Very good Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice time at the hotel. Breakfast is very good and the staff are really nice and hospitable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, but the breakfast were perfect indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    The size of the bedroom is very correct. The beds are confortable. The breakfast is great. Everything is very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is quite small but had everything we needed with good cafes and restaurants close by. Well worth the money. I would go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room

    Rich breakfast, very nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny single room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulties with car parking.

    Clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but cost hotel. Very good breakfast with a lot of alternatives, big rooms, pleasant personal. Will definately continue to use this hotel chain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection was awful and hopeless

    location, staff, breakfast and cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice small hotel, breakfast was excellent. Rooms are clean and provide all the facilities one needs for a short business trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a kettle in the room. Breakfast was superb. Good bike storage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awesome. Toilet was spacious, and the hotel room was clean. Location was near all the facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff, nice and clean room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only shower gel provided

    decor and presentation at breaffast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Bathroom was big enough and clean, towels were changed daily

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The politeness of the staff. It is located close to the shopping area and also to the entertainment place. Superb breakfast. The price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tiny bed in the single rooms

    excellent breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was too slow. No parking for the hotel.

    Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Romm floor was kid a damaged when you walk on it feel like csn collapse anytime, personal are not friendly

    Kahvalti cok iyiydi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was exellent. Warm and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were a bit flat

    Great Wi-Fi, wonderful selection of breakfast, very clean bathroom and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff by breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were great, so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Nice people,very helpful.nice room new decorations good location very good breakfast. Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is very pleasant. Not spoiled by tourists.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, breakfast, nice staff, nice everything. Clean. Nothing spectacular, but they don't try to be.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is not included in the room price.

    Location and breakfast (excellent choice of fresh fruits).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi quality needs improve

    Good location to access the viewpoints Nice staffs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal is less.

    Location is great, easy to go to the center, room is clean and breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent Réception was top Détail in bedroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast . Very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television was very small and oddly located

    Very nice breakfast Central location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good served from staff,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is very good, close to cherry flower street. The stuff is very kind. The breakfast is great. And in the room, the facilities are sufficient.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Couple

    Breakfast was abundant in choices but very limited in quantity. IE. there was only one croissant available a day and one day there wasn't even that one.

    The staff was wonderful and very pleasant. Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nicely appointed hotel with friendly staff. We had at comfort (superior) room which was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. Very good breakfast with lots of choice, which was included in the price (even had gluten free cereal). We managed to get a parking in the street and as we arrived on a Saturday night and left Sunday midday, it was free. Free wifi which worked well in the room.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was perfect for my purposes as I like hotels 'of the place' with a bit of character.

    The hotel is a very comfortable, family run hotel in the centre of town a short walk from Beethoven's house and the Altstadt. The rooms and public areas are freshly decorated and carpeted and the bathrooms are modern. There is free Wifi and tea and coffee making facilities (although no bar fridge). I was on the third floor and there is a lift ; however I needed to take the stairs to work off the delicious breakfast every day. The hotel caters for continental tastes as well as providing a cooked option. The juices are varied, the fruit salad is fresh every day and there is a wide choice of cereals. Quite splendid.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upon your arrival, you may have to wait at the door if the receptionist is gone. You will later receive a key of your own to the hotel.

    Lovely creative and wide choice breakfast! Not the usual boring food. Kind and helpful personnel. I would definitely recommend this hotel but you have to note that it is very basic.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room at the back side of the building was a bit small

    Located in a quiet street in the centre, 2 minutes to the shopping area, excellent breakfast, they offered to park the car in their courtyard for just 8 euro a day so we could leave our car there and walk to the centre, very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you look for a comfortable hotel with friendly staff, delicious breakfast with artistic touch in a bright breakfast room, home feeling rooms with real radiators, quite location but in the centre, close to the public transport..... etc., then this is the right choice for you as it has been for me. And I will come back again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think wifi is below standards for such a well-organized and guest-friendly hotel. During my stay, it once broke down for half a day, and otherwise it was quite slow (sometimes below 20 Kb/sec).

    Location, clean, excellent breakfast, quiet, very friendly and helpful hoteliers.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and arranged payment of parking meter for parking overnight outside hotel. The recent refurbishments have led to a clean and stylish hotel with lift (which was most appreciated). We would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location but yet close to city center, excellent breakfast, clean room,very friendly hoteliers, water cooker, reliable wifi (but sometimes a bit slow).

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very good and the location is great. The room is clean. Overall, we did enjoy our stay in the hotel. We will for sure stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived around 10pm. Staff welcoming. Check-in simple ans hassle free. Room beautiful in its layout and decor. Always want tea making facilities and they were there. Breakfast a delight. Able to borrow umbrella and able also to arrange late check out. If I'm ever back in Bonn, this is where I'll stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything - there was nothing we didn't like.

    We liked everything! We were well accommodated from parking our car to a late check-out, as we were heading to a wedding and needed a place to change between sightseeing and traveling to the next venue. A big THANK YOU to the wonderful staff at Hotel Garni Deutsches Haus!!! And by the way... the buffet breakfast does not disappoint!

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Garni Deutsches Haus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: