Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Gästehaus Edlhuber

Innsbrucker Str. 33, 82481 Mittenwald, Germany

Review score

Based on 187 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I manage 28 European countries as part of my job and never have I been discriminated against and treated so rudely regarding my nationality as I did here. The owner felt it necessary to insult me over my German language skills at every point. I am English but have recently relocated to Germany . I am assuming that she will have bookings from all countries and should be capable of managing this. She went out of her way for her German guests, I think in this day and age discrimination, which is what it was should not be tolerated let alone paying €250 for the privilege of being insulted !!! The room - 'a junior suite' is not a suite its a slightly bigger room with basic furnishings and bad design. The bathroom is tiny you can only just turn round in the shower!!. Value for money was poor, breakfast on face value looked nice but was really cheap ingredients, meats etc and is not replenished near the end of sittings so once its gone its gone.... get up early your clearly not on holiday

    The location of the hotel was exceptional, however all other hotels and guest houses have the same panoramic view so this does not make this unique to this establishment, hence why the score is low as quite frankly they do not deserve a good rating on anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath tube with limited height demanding unconfortable positions. Presence of domestic animals in the breakfast room.

    Central location in silent area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger shower but typical of European bathrooms.

    Great locale- with beautiful view of changing trees on mountainside. Easy 5 minute walk to town and close to Karwendelbahn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It didn't really matter at all but the approach to the house isn't very aesthetically pleasing.

    Friendly, jolly, genuinely Bavarian. All other guests were German which increased the feeling of being in Germany.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the nicest places we have stayed on our trip to Europe! We were greeted by Angelica and her 2 gorgeous dogs (who very much keep to themselves, for those who dont love dogs) Our room was incredible, big and spacious, so clean, the bed was huge and the view from our balcony was divine.. so much so my partner who had planned to propose in Santorini.. decided this balcony with a bottle of wine was the perfect location! You must stay here if coming to Mittenwald! We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaning of carpets and rugs could be better using good vacuum and wifi could have been better.

    The locatn is very nice, the breakfast arrangement was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Manager was very friendly and helpful. The room had great view on mountains. Terrace provided possibility to sun bath or chill in quiet environment. Hotel has just some 10 rooms so it is not crowded and has very relaxing environment, atmosphere. Room was clean and comfortable, no negative comments about that. Breakfast had not wide range of food but it was adequate and we left satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    The Guesthouse house was very cozy and homely. Owner lady was very friendly. She and her mother treated us with love and care. Breakfast was good and fresh. Owner was personally attending to everyone wholeheartedly. We loved this property and the owner. And pets also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peaceful but not far from town center. Really easy to park. Good restaurants nearby. Recent, neat decorations. Kind, nice host and her mother. ;) Cute, good dogs - we were happy with them, but beware if you don't like furry friends... It'll be our first choice if we visit Mittenwald again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the newly renovated suites, a very large room with mountain views from the balcony, a super comfortable bed, chairs, refrigerator, coffee machine. The breakfast has a good variety of cereals, nuts, fruit, yoghurt, dark bread, rolls, pot of coffee or tea and platter of meat/cheese for each table and eggs if wanted. A visitors pass given on arrival is useful for free travel on the bus to Ferchensee and Lautersee. Bus pickup is at P2. Both lakes are easy to walk around and between. Refreshments are available at each lake. The beautifully decorated houses in the old town of Mittenwald are a short walk away. Parking at the guest house is free and safe, wifi signal is mostly good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable, the bathroom beautiful and equipped with a rainfall shower, the owner was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was amazing with lovely views!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite limiting time slot for breakfast (8.00-9.30)

    Friendly staff Large beds Modern bathroom equipment Spacious cosy and quiet rooms with view on mountains Fridge and mini-kitchen. Free parking Fast internet Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the wifi was very slow and almost unusable for streaming a movie at night on our laptop via netflix.

    The rooms are very sweet and newly renovated. They are tastefully and authentically styled. We loved it! Also a big shout out to the breakfast which was great quality and made with love.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows on the bed were very thin and didn't have much stuffing, so they were a little uncomfortable. Otherwise, everything else was great.

    Breakfast was great. We had an amazing view from our room. It was so relaxing. Only a short walk to the city center. And the walking trail that leads to the Leutasch Gorge was right across the street. The owner was so nice. And her dogs were adorable. I am definitely coming back here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Place is wanderfull The room wide And confortabe. Very Good the bathroom And There was also a Little kitchen. Good breakfast plenty of Good thinks both Salt And Sweet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little too soft.

    The junior suite was new and had a balcony with good views of the landscape. Location was good, slightly away (5-10min walk) from the centre so it's quiet. The owner was very hospitable and she had two adorable dogs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out time is too soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious rustic rooms. Good European breakfast. Owner has very cute Icelandic sheepdogs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, even with a GPS.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Really like the owners of the place, so friendly so polite and helpful their service made extra smile

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying there longer!

    Great breakfast, amazing room in a fabulous setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The suite was extremely comfortable. The host has thought of everything and served a beautiful breakfast every morning. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed sitting on the patio - listening to nearby river

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and amazing breakfast :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super breakfast. Very friendly and helpful landlady

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    very good location by the riverside, beautiful mountain view, on the edge of the town, but just less than 10minutes walk to railway station or center of town; traditional bavaria house, warm-hearted hostess, delicious breakfast, and lovely dog

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly host. We arrived late at night, we phoned her and she waited for us very kindly. Comfortable and clean room. Warm temperature, the heater was turned on, not as other hotels at similar conditions. Great breakfast. Wifi perfect

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were out of town for a wedding and had a young lady, Johanna I believe, taking care of their property. She was very hospitable and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She also provided us with great local information and places to see.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The suite advertised a kitchenette but actual cooking was not permitted. The kitchenette was still helpful for preparing cold meals.

    Lovely location by the river in peacefull Mittenwald, we had a suite with a balcony and delightful views.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing wrong, we enjoyed our stay.

    We enjoyed the location along a river, and the beautiful town of Mittenwald. Easy stroll into town for shopping and dining. Stunning scenery. Very peaceful area. Lovely breakfast included. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful mountain towers over you at this location. The rooms are spacious and bright and breakfast is amazing. The woman who owns and runs the hotel is very sweet and has two very cute dogs.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Loved everything. The owners are great. They were very helpful in all aspects. The stay was like being in your own Bavarian home. Very quiet location right along a tiny stream. Room was large and had a patio area (I would have liked the balcony) Parking was directly in front of the property. It is a long walk into the center of town, but it was a very quiet location with a good night sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved perfectly everything: great location close to crosscountry track, walking roads and horse farm. Apartment with big glass window/door leading to the garden together with great carpentry work in interior and modern bright new bathroom. Excellent breakfast! Thanks to Angelika we felt like at home. Our dog had great time playing with local dogs even sharing their food ;-) Finally we would love to come back! I highly recommend!:-)

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Host was initially a bit grumpy when we arrived (it was in the evening) but we think she was a bit sick and tired...we bumped into her before bedtime and she was nice and relaxed then, also spoke to her in the morning and she was really lovely. I guess it was just a rough welcome but turned out well.

    Fantastic breakfast, large room, gorgeous view, host was a local and was really helpful in finding places to eat and things to do.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room, very clean, and up to date bathroom. Loved that it had a patio to sit in as well. Breakfast was good and it felt overall very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the owner dog and he barked all the time

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel owner in very friendly. Our hotel room was spotless as it has been the last 2 times we stayed. There is plenty of parking at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner, Veronika, was very friendly, the beds were wonderful, and the breakfast was first rate.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very cold in the room during the night. The host is not very friendly

    The ground floor rooms had access to garden.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi only in breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Shower, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was really unfriendly and useless when asked for local information!

    Room and breakfast were good

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: