Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gute Hoffnung This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dillsteinerstraße 9-11, 75173 Pforzheim, Germany

#13 of 24 hotels in Pforzheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    The area is really nice, staff is friendly (when they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We arrived at around 8pm and went in through self check in as there are no one at the hotel at this time, which is very inconvenient. The room had no soap and shampoo and toilet paper and i had to wait till morning to get some. First thing in the morning I asked for them and they said they have run out of soap and drinking water. I couldn't believe a hotel could be so badly managed. It is very hot in Germany in Summer but no rooms have a fan and if you leave the window open you will have to sleep with car doors banging and people shouting through out the night. It was very hard for my 2 year old to sleep because of the constant noise.

    The area is really nice, staff is friendly (when they are actually there)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Prime Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator. My bag was very big. I bring my bag from 3rd floor to ground. I broke my suitcase wheel. I faced problem all day because of suitcase broken. I blamed myself. I should better find hotel with elevator. If you are travel with large suitcase i don't recommend this accommodation.

    staff friendly. prime location just a few minute to Pfozheim downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Easy reach of town. Great short stop hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of lack of information from Booking.com we had a 3 bed room for 4 people. (They though son number 2 was a toddler, thus sharing our bed!) Staff were Fantastic and swapped the room to a double and sofa bed so the boys shared a bed.

    Location. Staff were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Close to everything in Pforzheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on road - can only pay for one hour, although free from 20.00 until 8am. No air conditioning so left windows open but then got woken by street cleaners several times.

    The receptionist was friendly. The room was large but not spotlessly clean. A good place to stay if you need to be in Pforzheim.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok for one night's stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff; there is no parking and the receptionist was not helpful to advise where to find a suitable parking; outdated fittings

    After some confusion at check in when we were told there are only only double-rooms with one double bed even if specifically asked for triple rooms when reserving rooms, we were still able to fit three persons (one adult two kids) in one double-room because the beds are large enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is terrible. Very noisy street. No air ventilation. Uncomfortable at all. Room is old. We book non smoking room but the room smells like smoke.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable nights stay in Pforzheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft (I know this a common problem I find in Germany) but I just think hotels could offer an option for guests who prefer a firmer pillow.

    Good location - a few minutes walk from numerous shops, bars, and restaurants. Room was clean & comfortable. Sky TV was an unexpected but welcome bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    The room is minimal, exactly what we are looking for: with...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have an elevator so you need to carry your luggage through the stairs.

    The room is minimal, exactly what we are looking for: with clean sheets and linens, towels, clean room and bathroom, quiet place. The hotel is also close to good restaurants (local, italian, asian, etc.) and grocery stores. It is also located at a walking distance from the train station 915 minutes). The hotel serves breakfast at very reasonable price, and it was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Central accommodation in Pforzheim
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast did not live up to international standards, but it was reasonable.

    Simple and automatic check. Nice attitude of the staff. Excellent parking right on site. The hotel is affordable, especially considering the central location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    6.3
    Oldie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't look at all like in the pictures. The furniture is very old, bathroom too and the check-in machine is not very welcoming. It's more like a 2* hotel unfortunately, my expectations were a lot higher.

    Good wi-fi, Sky TV, friendly staff, comfy bed but that's about it...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Good location for good price but not suitable for Travellers with luggages
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little hotel is not suitable for us with luggages as there's no lift. When we arrived there was no one to help us with check in. Hotel didn't accept payment by debit card. The toilet/ bathroom didn't have any shelf/ hook to place the necessities for bathing.

    Clean and spacious room. Easy to locate hotel. Quiet environment. Really like the €5 breakfast in the hotel itself.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    The check-in was automatic.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in was automatic.. That was really nice because I got there late, but had no problems.. Hotel room had the appropriate size and the room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    Great location, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a no smoking room but a smoker smoked outside out door so the smoke wafted underneath the door. If the room is no smoking then landings and vestibules should also be no smoking areas. It's not pleasant to be woken up at midnight by the stench of cigarette smoke.

    Location was great. Check in machine was easy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.8
    Reasonably priced clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wà noisy during the night both from other guests and passers by

    The hotel was close to where we needed to be and is best described as offering basic accommodation however it was clean and reasonably priced

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.0
    Think 3 times before staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator; at age 72 had to carry luggage 2 1/2 flights upstairs as no staff present after 12 noon on Saturdays. Thin mattress on top of wooden slats.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Recepción was never available and wifi was bad barely worked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recepción was never available and wifi was bad barely worked in my room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Good room size, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would benefit from air conditioning and longer reception hours.

    Good room size, clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good walking to park and river.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comunication is difficult. Staffs can speak only german.

    Location is good walking to park and river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    room is nice and clean. staff is helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Ok very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok very good. I like how was it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    great location, great parking spaces in the garage
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, great parking spaces in the garage

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent rooms and good to have onsite parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent rooms and good to have onsite parking. The location was also very convenient for the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.2
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean. There was no soap so had to ask for it.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Very close to the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room.

    Very close to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent route from hotel to walking paths, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for breakfast should be more clearly posted and explained

    Excellent route from hotel to walking paths, very close to the jewelry museum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Fits the box
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get onto Internet. My room above resturant entrance was noisy.

    Well finished great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Good town option for people on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location, with easy access to the town centre. Comfortable bed in a large room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    4.2
    Check in and check out only from 7 to 9 and from 17 to 19.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out only from 7 to 9 and from 17 to 19. Strange.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.1
    Simple, good accomodation in city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Opening hours at reception - just in the morning or late afternoon. "Check-In" automat. Critical access by car - more or less no chance just to stop in front of hotel - narrow street full of cars.

    Simple, good accomodation in city centre. Tip: There is good parking on "Rennfeldstraße" - cca 5 min. walk (48°53'12.2"N 8°41'53.9"E).

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    6.3
    self check-in at a machine at 19h30 (not very welcoming) no...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    self check-in at a machine at 19h30 (not very welcoming) no parking available, wifi too poor to search for public parking on the internet, called hotel for assistance but got a 'no speak english' answer.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.2
    Clean rooms and batrooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi is fairy good but not in all rooms.

    Clean rooms and batrooms. Breakfast simple but good. Very friendly staff and receptionist, fluent in a couple of languages.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    Big comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is cheap and there is some variety, however no fresh vegatables.

    Big comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    2.5
    Nothing was right
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing was right

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    7.1
    Warm and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi signal so poor as to be practically unusable. No TV programs in English

    Warm and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    The room, price and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room, price and breakfast

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: