Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hornburg - Non smoking This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hornburgweg 28, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Romantic medieval city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was just missing some warm meat with breakfast (bacon/sausage).

    Huge room on ground floor, good breakfast, amazing location right outside city hall. Parking available (p4 city park) at a small price a few steps away. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    This period piece hotel is very professionally run,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    This period piece hotel is very professionally run, comfortable, charming and clean. Delicious breakfast and staff saw to every which need with kindness and good humour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The location is excellent which just nearby the free public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator but it is acceptable in this beautiful house.

    The location is excellent which just nearby the free public car park. suitable for self driving Breakfast is good. The room is big, clean and quiet. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    A good located old hotel with style and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to pay parking every 24 hours. After I check in, I did not drive for 2 days but I need to schedule myself back to parking lot to pay. Good thing that the parking lot is in front of the hotel that ease the pain. Also, I suggested to get rid of the red carpet on the stairway of the entry. It is part of outside and not easy to keep it clean. It makes the place look not as clean as it is inside.

    Location is great. The hotel is just couple minutes walk to the wall of the old town. The building is old with style. There is a fridge at 2nd floor stocked with wine, beer, soft drink and snack with reasonable price. I can help myself and paid when I check out. Also, I like the common area at 2nd floor. It is roomy and comfortable. I read, surf the internet there and have the drink from the self help fridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable with wonderful view and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff always so nice and helpful. Breakfast was very nice. We were here in December and enjoyed it just as much this time. View from our room was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    great value, pleasant place to dstay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was all very good

    Extremely spacious family room, very clean bathroom, very helpful staff. Location a stones throw from city walls, quiet overnight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    very disappointing village Schwangau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location directly to highway with a lot of noise and poor view at the surroundings; only suitable for transit during one or two days.

    very moderate breakfast and poor service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice inn/guest house with good location and great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mediocre internet. Could be a lot faster.

    The location of the inn is perfect. Easy walking to the old town and all of the tourist sights. Our room was spacious and quiet. There is an honour self-service fridge and coffee service. Public parking is also right next to the inn. 5.50Euros per 24hrs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at the beautiful and friendly Hornburg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at the beautiful and friendly Hornburg Hotel. It is located right across the street from the old town walled entrance which offered beautiful views of the surrounding wall and park and access to the entrace only a few feet away from the hotel. Our room was beautiful and very large with a lovely sitting area adjoined. An amazing breakfast buffet was served each morning. We would definately love to stay here again on our next visit to Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Thank you for making our stay such a beautiful experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I thought it was perfect.

    We booked the economy room as we were only staying one night. We wished we'd stayed longer. Karen at the desk was very helpful recommending a 'locals' restaurant (which was very good) and advising on the closest grocery store - both very close to the hotel. It has been a muggy May and the provided fan was very much appreciated. It was no problem for them to provide us with extra pillows as well. The room was small but very sweet. We had our window open and listened to the most beautiful bird song. There are no coffee facilities in the room but there is a coffee machine and cooler full of drinks available for a reasonable charge upstairs. Breakfast was fantastic - including the best fruit salad I've had in ages. Parking cost 5.50 daily just outside the hotel grounds. It is an old hotel with so much personality. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Absolutely excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not covered as part of the room cost, though parking space was close and easily accessible.

    Hotel staff was excellent. Room was large and welcoming. Breakfast was very good. Location was excellent. Parking was easy. I would certainly advise others to jump at the opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at the property, and would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. Keep it up!

    The property was amazing! Our room was cozy - and felt like home. Karen was such an amazing and accommodating host. I forgot the name of the other lady in front, but she was great too! They gave detailed attention at breakfast - the chairs were even strategically arranged :). Eggs were cooked well, according to our request. Breakfast was superb. And the property - we just loved it. It was located close enough to the town,so easy to escape from the crowds at the end of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed being in a small, quiet hotel with lovely grounds and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have access to coffee set-up without a $ charge. We would have enjoyed having coffee and just sitting and reading.

    Great location and loved the ambience of the Hotel. Lovely outdoor area to seat and read. Parking was so convenient as was the entrance through the wall to roam the city. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay here. Will come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small but clean and water warm.

    Loved the room. Bed was comfortable. View of the wall and tower was nice. The receptionist was very attentive and helpful. A lovely atmosphere here in this beautiful building . Location great. Just outside city wall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    need to work an agreement with city for either free or reduced price parking in public lot

    great location very good breakfast super staff very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Fairytale Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were extremely inviting, and knowledgable. This coupled with the almost fairytale esque decor of the hotel made for a visit and complemented the general feel of Rothenburg wonderfully. Be sure to also wake up in time for breakfast as it's a high quality meal, and sure to please.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have to pay for coffee and/or tea (no coffee or tea in the room). The hotel doesn't sell still water, just sparkling water.

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and excel net staff Moreno like a Home than a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single matresss and two doonas prefer queenbed and one king doona Toilet to close to heater unit have to sit side on

    Decent size room with some limited view and a nice balcony better in summer months

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Warm and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our overnight stay here, just outside the medieval wall. All the staff were very friendly and Karen was helpful with locations for dinner. Our room was lovely, warm, with a super comfortable bed. The ensuite whilst small, is completely functional with good pressure in the shower. Breakfast was an awesome spread, different breads, meats, cheeses, boiled eggs or cereals if that’s what you like. Parking, right across the footpath at €5 ticket for a 24 hour period is good value. Would definitely recommend Hotel Hornburg

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was excellent. We had to check out very early in the morning, so they provided us with breakfast "to go". It was such a treat and we felt so very spoiled. Thank you for a wonderful stay and experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    The people make this hotel special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed the people who work at this hotel. They made you feel welcome and had good recommendation for dinner out. The bent over backwards to make you happy at breakfast. I enjoyed the Nespresso machine in lounge by our room. Charming old mansion turned into hotel so wonderfully unique. If you are looking for a "gemütlich" location close to altstadt you can do no wrong choosing the Hornburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with a lot of charm located just outside the city walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint would be the couple who occupied the room next door. Let's just say they were VERY enthusiastic about showing their affection to one another to the point that we could quite accurately determine how good their performances were.

    Our room was fantastic and offered a view of the city walls. The staff was very kind and their English was even better! The location of the hotel is nearly perfect and their breakfast is delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    It is very close to the town wall, probably the closest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of the curved curtain inside the bathroom is a bit wired, perhaps changing it to flat. Didn't expect to get charged for coffee capsule.

    It is very close to the town wall, probably the closest unless you choose to live inside the old town. It's built from an old house but fully livable (but you will expect some noise when you walk the wooden flooring). The balcony inside the room is nice. Breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    This property is perfect for a visit to Rothenburg o d T. It is right outside the city gate, which is perfect as inside the gate the parking is so limited. It was an easy walk to all the sites in the city, as well as restaurants, etc. The staff was very helpful, brining me tea in the afternoon when I needed a lift! Our room was beautiful, roomy and very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at the Hornburg.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    great location but had to climb two flights of stairs to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathtub/shower in completely separate room, sink in both bedrooms which was strange, no outlet by the sink so hard to plug in hot brush and style since no mirror other than one at the sink.

    great location but had to climb two flights of stairs to triple room. Parking located across street so convenient to hotel. Staff was excellent. European beds are harder than US so that caused some consternation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    just wish to stay for longer in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the best choice of this trip to Europe. The hotel setting is like the lifehood back to the 17/18 century under the description of Jane Austin. Really like the equissite hotel, its decoration & furniture, cozy and warm. The hotel staff are very friendly and nice with passion, got to mention the lovely boiled egg with drawings on it, full of love and ethusisam to life.   Just 10 mins walk distance from hotel to train station, convenient for people travel to this town by train.5 mins walk from hotel to the ancient wall and the old town, very handy distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Good but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely terrible Wi-Fi, which got disconnected once very half hour. Had to input the username and password again every time, very annoying. The speed was also extremely slow. Very thin walls, could practically hear the neighbours cough.

    The location was nice, adjacent to a big car park and right next to the entrance of the old town. Spacious and clean rooms. Self-service mini-bar on the 1st floor with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Super charming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction near by, so I woke up with the noise!

    Location Special house from 1800 Friendly staff helped us finding a dentist for a emergency

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Unique Bavarian historical boutique hotel in a great location close to old Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to keep logging back into Wi Fi to use in the one day Public parking in adjacent car park was OK at 6 euros for the day Only communal tea and coffee facilities available No lift but OK to keep the integrity of this old building

    Good location near the old city walls and centre -15 mins walk Great historical Bavarian building and decore Good views from the room to the city wall Nice friendly staff Good hot water and shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The breakfast had a lot of options to eat, I love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had a lot of options to eat, I love the regular lock key to get into the rooms, and the location was great and we were able to get around quickly even with it right outside the wall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Would reccommend to anyone as long as they dont change anything for the average traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything about the hotel was good. Location,friendly helpful staff/great rooms .Great breakfast.Nice outdoor gardens to have a quiet drink and snack in. really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    The room was very large and bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better. There was no hotel parking. The one just outside was free after 6pm but it was affordable for the whole day (5euros)

    The room was very large and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Outstanding visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very warm weather and there is no AC although we were able to open our balcony doors and put on a fan which helped. I would stay here again if I returned regardless of this small inconvenience.

    The free breakfast was very good. The old town can be explored in a day although 2 may be less stressful. The many sites at they walled town made our stay both delightful and informative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Large room with sun porch and multiple windows that opened.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name listed on Booking.com was different from the name on the small sign directing you from the street to the hotel and the name on the hotel was different from both.

    Large room with sun porch and multiple windows that opened. Cleanest bathroom ever withnice large soaking tub. Not sure if all rooms has thisbut it's worth asking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The suite was beautiful, huge, well decorated and had an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. It was like staying in a fairytale.

    The suite was beautiful, huge, well decorated and had an amazing view of the wall surrounding old Rothenburg. Close parking, perfect staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    This place is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Located right outside the wall to Rotenburg; wife says they could not have been sweeter. Breakfast was great. Warm and welcoming. And another thing: Michelangelo's Italian restaurant, just inside the wall, was five out of five. Excellent food and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Quaint, rustic hotel right near the entrance to the old walled city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was bright, roomy. The furnishings were very nice in the room. The bathroom (toilet) was clean, large and accommodating. The location is GREAT! Right outside the entrance to the old walled city. :-) The building is older, more rustic. The stairs and floors creak a bit as noted by other reviewers. However, I didn't consider this to be an issue and added to the building's charm. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Best location for walking and site seeing in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was weak but hot. Railing on the stairway on one side was loose. Shower room had little cover for the window, so felt like people in neighborhood could see into the shower room with no problem if they were interested.

    Location is fantastic to walk to the old city and enjoy all the sites. This is a nice older hotel with classic decor and accommodations. Breakfast was good with many choices and hard boiled eggs available. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Car parking is in open lot across from the hotel and just outside the city walls.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very charming, but it reflects its age. Some of the furnishings are a bit worn or dated. This was not at all a problem, in fact it added to the quaint charm of the place. The pillows for the bed were very flat and did not provide much support. This seems to be the standard in Germany and Switzerland as we noticed this at every hotel.

    The location is great, just outside of one of the main tower gates to enter Rothenburg. The hotel has lots of charm and they clearly pay attention to the little things. The room was large and comfortable with a great view of the towers of Rothenburg. They provided a complimentary bottle of sparkling water for the room. This may seem like such as small thing, but these added touches make a world of difference. They also have a well stocked honor bar on the second floor. A great option for an after dinner drink or if you need a bottle of water for a hike. Unlike many hotels, the prices for the honor bar were incredibly reasonable. The breakfast was a good typical breakfast you find in many European hotels. Bread, cheese, salami, good local jams and honey. Eggs available. Good coffee made to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    An Amazing Stay!! Best One in Europe!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the greeting to the farewell, their staff was amazing, friendly and sweet. Our room was very clean, comfy and peaceful. We did have an external private (not shared) bathroom which was actually nice for one. It was right next to the room and we had our own little private hallway. So it was nice not to have the bathroom in the room for once. We had lots of room. Great wifi. Easy Walking distance to all things Rothenburg. Parking was easy. Great, fresh breakfast. Overall very amazing and highly recommend. I can not wait to go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    The room was very spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is not very good

    The room was very spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is excellent, the city centre is just 10min by walk, excellent location. If you come by car like us, there is a public parking in front of the hotel : 5€ for the day.. The woman at the reception gave us good advices for visiting and for eating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location, breakfast and staff and overall cleanliness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were old and sadly with the wind it clambered all night Pillows were too stuffed and thick, oils have appreciated a much thinner pillow option

    Great location, breakfast and staff and overall cleanliness and pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    “Excellent location and friendly staff”
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a little more extensive.

    A lovely old house which was converted into a hotel in 1966. Be aware though that there are only steps to the upper floors. The location is right by the historic wall and parking is just 5 Euro for 24 hours. Our two rooms were very clean and comfortable. Limited breakfast on offer however. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    3.8
    NO HEAT In Room on Christmas Eve!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dusty and is fairly warn compared to others in the area. Biggest issues we had on Christmas eve, was there was little to NO heat in the room that we stayed in and my wife and I couldn't get a good nights sleep due to the refrigerator chill in the room the entire night. Outside temperature was 2c and in the room was about 12c. At 0700 when the staff arrived I went downstairs to inform them and they did some checking but the heat didn't come on to a comfortable level until around 10:00 in the morning. Checkout clerk seemed ambivalent and checked the radiator behind the reception desk and said everything was fine now. Yikes!! Yes when she checked the radiator behind her at 11:00 is was fine. The guests FROZE the entire night as the heat was turned off. On Christmas eve no less. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. No apology from the manager or staff as the clerk simply shrugged her shoulders and ran my card for the 130 Euro. We paid top Euro rate for the room and no heat!!! To top that off the manager wanted us to pay in Euro and not by card when we arrived as she said their card reader was not working and they wouldn't be able to get anyone to fix it till Monday or Tuesday at the earliest. When checking out Christmas morning the clerk ran the card just fine and didn't say anything about it being out of service. P.S. The web site indicates they have parking. The parking is actually across the street in the public parking operated by the city. Overall NOT happy with this establishment at ALL.

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    Unique and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom was difficult to use. Bath not totally updated. Breakfast was just ok.

    Friendly staff. Easy access to Christmas markets. Comfort Rooms (larger rooms)are very spacious. Charming. Nice views of old town walls. Parking nearby. Coffee available for purchase outside of hotel room 24 hours.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Charming little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely - no complaints. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

    Hotel Hornburg was the epitome of charming bed and breakfasts. The staff were so helpful - they went above and beyond, and breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really strong smell in the room during the night, I think it was coming from the kitchen through the ventilation system.

    Beautiful location, very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor squeaks a bit-not for light sleepers!

    The triple room is the perfect room for families-the kids have their own room and parents can have their quiet moments. Although the building is old it is really well taken care of. It has a nice children corner with lego, drawing markers and cardboard games and there is also a fantastic brand new playground only 2 minutes away. The location is also fantastic. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Quiet Hotel within a stones throw of the gates of Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was big and well maintained. It looked like the bathrooms were just renovated, but the room kept its old world charm. It was outside the town's wall and just a minute walk to the inside of the wall. So convenient and really quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Location next to walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs some upgrading, but cuteness prevails.

    Location next to walls.Nice staff, Recommendation for dinner "where the locals go for good food" was spot on!!!, Kind of faded but also homey

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel design and atmosphere are really amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel design and atmosphere are really amazing. The room was very clean and beautiful. It was a please to stay there and we decided to return on our way back. The staff is very friendly and helped us a lot with the locations. We liked everything in it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommend this lovely hotel just outside city wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely, comfortable hotel in century home setting. Wonderful location just outside wall, but very near old town. Excellent Breakfast had a lot of variety. Excellent family run restaurant suggested to us by hostess was just a few minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    wonderful stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden was not looked after, but the staff explained that this hotel will be totally renovated soon by the new owner.

    friendly staff, excellent breakfast, special old fashioned atmosphere and so close to the old romantic town. Very spacious room with beautiful views of the old town's wall and towers. good coffee. We really had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for drink, it seems no front desk service at night.

    Perfect location, close to p4 parking lot. Quiet place. Easy but good taste breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    A charmingly decorated, former family home, with 10 rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel will be renovated soon. Necessary for aging windows and ceilings.

    A charmingly decorated, former family home, with 10 rooms. Good parking in public lot close to hotel and just outside the walls. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Picturesque hotel next to city wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors squeek a little, but that is part of the charm...

    Hotel located in a beautiful old villa, lovely room, large bed (180x200), good shower and wifi, tasty breakfast with fresh fruit, public parking in front of hotel, free between 9 and 18.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    An awesome place to stay. Can't fault a thing. Fully recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good!

    Friendly staff who were very helpful when we made a train error and arrived late at night. Great breakfast including boiled eggs cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Charm of Rothenburg starts here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay to park in lot with every other out-of-towner. Receptionist at check in had very little knowledge that most shops would be open on Sunday.

    Quiet, great location to town. Eggs-to-order for b-fast. Nice old house.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location near city walls, beautiful hotel with cozy decoration, delicious breakfast. Our room was at the second floor, very spacious, with two connected rooms. We had a late checkin and staff organized our entrance perfectly. The parking was near hotel entrance, so very easy to carry luggage. Perfect hotel to visit Rothenburg!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    Like a charming B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like a charming B and B in great location with very spacious room and sunroom. Great atmosphere, convenient parking. Second floor had sitting area (who takes time to sit in Rothenburg?) with coffee available. Loved everything about !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    Hotel was quaint and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was quaint and old. Our room on the main floor was lovely with windows out of which we could see the old city wall. The room was large. The bathroom was modern and nice, but it was just carved out of the original room (maybe a parlor or living area, originally). My wife stubbed her toe going into the bathroom - there was a 1-inch step up. Breakfast was great and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Could not have been better - we will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Recommend dropping off passengers and luggage in the public parking lot. Hotel parking is free which is a huge value in Rothenburg and about a 100 meter walk around another hotel - but well worth it, just be prepared to move your car after you check-in. Rothenburg is a city for pedestrians and after we parked we didn't move the cars for 3 days.

    Reception staff was charming, efficient, and very helpful on every tourist question we asked. We were two families, 9 people, and 3 rooms and everyone slept wonderfully. Quiet and peaceful yet incredibly close (80 meters or so) to the city walls.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.8
    The location was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture is very misleading. The hotel is old and rundown. They have a mix of modern and antique furniture that doesn't mix. Does not have A/C and it was hot!

    The location was ok. Not great! Breakfast was a typical German breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect place to visit Rothenburg. We had a charming room with a small «Wintergarten» at the first floor. Excellent breakfast and very nice and helpful personnel. Free parking. Overall excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Gorgeous historic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic hotel. The garden outside is so perfect. We were so lucky to get the nicest room with a bay window! It is a great location to park overnight in the large lot across from it and then the gate to old town Rothenburg is right there. Also there is an amazing playground next to the parking lot there. Great breakfast and nice staff. It was really a neat experience to be able to stay in such a historic home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    I wish all our hotels were like this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldn't have been better. After an initial day of exploring, we woke up early and walked the town before anyone was there. So much better than fighting the crowds. The hotel was charming and quaint with lots of personality and friendly staff - two things that aren't always a sure bet in Germany.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    good room, helpful staff, close to town centre, 5 mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi temporarily down , but staff offered usable alternatives, so no complaint.

    good room, helpful staff, close to town centre, 5 mins walk from station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful staff! Loved the property, absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    impressive venue, felt like a 19th century country side...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    impressive venue, felt like a 19th century country side mansion

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Nice beginning XX century building with a lor of charme and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice beginning XX century building with a lor of charme and a nice garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Would strongly recommend it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it was very good.

    Place, staff, location !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to bed. Grounds not tended

    Bed comfy. Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice old mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor.

    Nice old mansion

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and our keys and instructions are waiting for us at the desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed with split inbetween A little bit outdated

    Centrally located Large room Friendly staff Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: