Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Nord

Bremer Reihe 22, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#43 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 hotel reviews

5.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    4.3

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    4.2

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    4.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    It is 5 minutes walk from the main Hamburg Railway ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not good if you are with family.

    It is 5 minutes walk from the main Hamburg Railway Station which makes it an easily accessible hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    It's really close to the station, so very convenient for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit old and not super cleaned, but I wasn't expecting anything fancy, so if you're just staying a night that's fine.

    It's really close to the station, so very convenient for one night when travelling by train, and that was what I was looking for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.3
    I hope I will not have similar experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smell was absolutely horrific

    The room was very smelly, most probably, it was used as the smoking room for the building. Staff are not that friendly either The neighborhood is very noisy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay €30 deposit on arrival for the key and TV controls. Had to leave early and it took a long time to raise reception to get my deposit nack.

    Close to railway station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    2.9
    distance from the train station
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No possibility to pay by card at that moment, extra deposit 30 Eur paid as I got a key, I did not have cash so I had to go to find an ATM. On website was mentioned free wifi but it was possible to use only next to the reception and not in the room. Common bathroom smelled terrible and cleanliness was poor.

    distance from the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Toilet in hallway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet in hallway. Wifi did not work and no help in the evening. Not very helpful on parking. No coffee/tee in room. One English TV channel in poor quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.0
    Simple accommodation in colorful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the hotel was stuffy and very dusty. Curtains needed washing and surfaces needed dusting. Smelt of smoke. The rooms do not seem to have a toilet. The available toilets are tiny and lacked towels or a hand drier.

    Location is good. Easy access to the bus and train stations. Some sights can be reached by foot. For example the Kunsthalle, the Rathaus And the Alster.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.0
    You can't leave your luggage to collect later.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad: after checking out, you cannot leave your luggage to collect later. And the check-out time is 10.30, which is too early

    Very handy for Hauptbahnhof (railway station) and there's a good, well-priced Indian restaurant just two doors away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Location is good for those who travel by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor without elevator.Vary bad sound isolation between rooms Does not correspond to money value

    Location is good for those who travel by train. Staff is friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3% extra charge for using a credit card....but I’m sure there is some valid reason for this.

    Check in clerk was a more than perfect host

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    Internet connection was very bad in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was small

    Internet connection was very bad in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Rooms were Basic, But just what we needed for a stag do
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay extra to have a toilet in our room, and the shower was rubbish

    Rooms were Basic, But just what we needed for a stag do

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Internet connection not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection not working

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Very welcoming - a simple hotel good for a night stop over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a kettle in the room.

    Very welcoming - a simple hotel good for a night stop over as very close to the main Hamburg train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No provision for easy entrance for handicap and kindavagen

    Cool. Strategically placed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Basic but all right staying place near the Central Train Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood is less well suited for children

    Friendly host. The hotel is on walking distance from the Central Train Station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    3.8
    To avoid!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    2.5
    The room and the hallway smelt horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the hallway smelt horrible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    2.5
    Very poor standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi

    Poor standard. Listed as having free Wifi, but no Wifi available.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    5.0
    The room was tidy and the location handy to Hauptbahnhof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location , while handy to Hauptbahnhof, is in a sleazy part of town. Be prepared to lug your suitcases up stairs and pay a 30Euro deposit for your key. Make sure your room comes with own bathroom.

    The room was tidy and the location handy to Hauptbahnhof.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    4.2
    The guy from reception start a discussion with me out loud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guy from reception start a discussion with me out loud because im late to check-in in a place where check-in is 24h. And if he want, he can put other guy in my room, this is not a way to deal with a customer

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    4.6
    The staff were polite and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were tiny and uncomfortable. Even for a room which is advertised as a Cabin , this was excessively small.

    The staff were polite and friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    I liked the staff who were warm and honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing that confused me at all was that there were two buzzers that could have been for the hotel and when I first got there I buzzed the one with the address number and not the one that says "hotel" and that confused me for the first hour or so.

    I liked the staff who were warm and honest.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    5.8
    Location to train station is good with many restaurants in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have to leave 30 Euro deposit for the key and pay extra if using a credit card. I would look elsewhere next time.

    Location to train station is good with many restaurants in area. Room was quiet

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    4.2
    Card reader was broken so they let me use $100 as collateral...
    • Solo traveller

    Not very clean. Housekeeper was incredibly rude and wasted my time in the morning arguing, incorrectly, that check-out was at 10:00, when it was actually 11:00. Disorganized. TV reception was atrocious, as was the Wi-Fi.

    Card reader was broken so they let me use $100 as collateral and stay in my room a couple hours before braving the cold again to retrieve some euros.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    5.8
    near main station and free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy surround at midnight.

    near main station and free wifi

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: