Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Schlossblick This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schwangauer Strasse 7, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Germany

#7 of 7 hotels in Hohenschwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1739 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Free parking, clean comfy room, a small terrace right by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Free parking, clean comfy room, a small terrace right by the window (and a couple of chairs with a table), nice breakfast. The lady on the reception was very friendly and gave us a pot with hot water when we asked for some to make tea. Can't beat the location - 5 minutes to the castles' ticket center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    BEST. VIEW. EVER. Great location, helpful staff and a bigger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deck off the room had the best view of the castle. We couldnt have asked for a better view. It’s very centrally located by the parking lots and the ticket center for the hotels. It was great for our short stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Cheap, clean, cheerful and worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, very welcoming. Hotel is very clean and rooms are large. It’s clearly had some investment re decorating, with decent units and a good Panasonic LED tv. Right next to the castles, so no hassles. About a 20 minute walk to Fussen, which was actually very pleasant Breakfast is very good, lots of choice and attentive servers A very friendly, unpretentious hotel. I would stay here again without hesitation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money. Ideal location for a visit to the two castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet , but we knew that when we booked, and it’s actual quite nice to be unhooked for for a day or two.

    Hosts were very helpfull and accommodating.Whilst room is very basic it was quiet and comfortable. Ideal location for a visit to the two castles. Made logistics of having to collect reserved tickets for castle so much easier. View from room just superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Our room , number 1, and the breakfast room had an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated, but excellent value for money considering views. Travel into Fussen (old town) for evening meal.

    Our room , number 1, and the breakfast room had an amazing view of Neuschwanstein castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very accomodating for single travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creaking floors.

    Great location. The accomodation satisfied my needs as a single short stay traveller. The breakfast had a great selection and was filling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Awesome location and vintage charm of the hotel were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location and vintage charm of the hotel were great. Daily breakfast was also nice and the view from our room was amazing. This is an older hotel, but is well kept and very clean. We were very comfortable in our room and the staff was very friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the opportunity to get away from the city and spent two nights here away from the crowds and tour buses that left around 6 to 7pm. We were very pleased overall..The only improvement would be to have wi- fi that consistently works in the hotel, but this was not an issue as we spent most of our time enjoying this amazing area!! Neighboring towns of Schwangau and Fussen offer excellent regional eating experiences!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    A basic room with zero frills to sleep in at a reasonable price while visiting Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no WiFi in the rooms, it is only in the lobby. Very inconvenient. There is only one outlet in the room and none in the bathroom. Also, no blowdryer in room. We left early in the am, didn't get to have breakfast so don't know how that is.

    The location is fantastic, right at the base of Neuschwanstein. The price was reasonable for the room and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Medicore...Only saving grace are the castle views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was gruff. No wifi in the room (had to go downstairs near the lobby). Bed was extremely thin and uncomfortable. Hairs in the shower. No privacy on the balconies. They don't let you take any items with you at breakfast (which wasn't even great lol).

    I booked here solely for the fact that it was the cheapest place walking distance to the ticket office and where I can get a room with a castle view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was a short walk to the ticket office for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the old section in a family room. The room was big with a balcony. The bathroom was adequate. That's about it. There was no TV in room. No wifi in room. Actually..there was nothing in the rooms except beds with mattresses that must have been 30 years old. They were thin and you could feel the box springs. The room was definitely overpriced for what was available. Breakfast was adequate..no eggs..typical continental..but fresh and tasty. .we arrived early..but even though there was staff there..the registration door remained locked until exactly 3pm. God forbid you were 5 minutes early. Sylvia..the lady that checked us in was one of the few highlights. She was extremely kind and helpful. I would not go back. You need to go into fussen for dinner.

    The location was a short walk to the ticket office for the castles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay with nice view of the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the check in is just to 8 p.m. We had to rush to make it a couple of minutes before that hour. They don’t have dinner options.

    Location is great to explore the castles. The view is very nice, breakfast was good and the person of the desk gave us the right information to plan the logistics to visit the castles the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly situated for the most beautiful castles in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. This was brilliant.

    This couldn't be in a better part of town to see the castles. I literally walked out of the building and there was the castle in front of me. The bed was small but very comfortable, and the water was delicious to drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    It was lovely for one night. Great staff and good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrix was too soft and no TV

    We were so lucky to be able to check in earlier and had a balcony with a view of the castle, not all rooms have that view..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location in adequate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mattress was soft and lumpy. It should have been replaced. My wife’s was mattress was more comfortable. Floors extremely squeaky. Room could you some updating especially the carpet. Staff could be friendlier though they were efficient. Only half roll of toilet paper in bathroom.

    Great location near castles. Parking free and allowed to stay until 3pm next day. Decent breakfast. Staff informative regarding booking of castles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn’t provide brilliant choice, but was sufficient. :-)

    The location was fantastic. With a view of the Neuschwanstein Castle from our Balcony. Newly renovated, fresh and clean. If you visit, make sure you walk to the bridge above the castle! SPECTACULAR! Hotel easy to find and a bonus that it was dog friendly 😃👍🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with a fantastic location and view of Neuschwanstein Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much that we didn’t like. Breakfast was simple...cold cuts and bread, cereal and coffee but no big problem with us as we are small eaters!

    Garni is a stones throw from the ticket office and very convenient for the castle visits. Great view of Neuschwanstein Castle from the hotel. Sabrina at reception was very helpful and accommodating. Nice little hotel, and highly recommended..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Old hotel - the room - with a beautiful sight of Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for us it was perfect

    Old hotel - the room - with a beautiful sight of Castle NEUSCHWANSTEIN just opposite the big parkingplace( You have your own at the hotel). Also very, very close to the other things around - wonderful. The room itselves - is with economical bed and chairs - but remember - you are their to see Neuschannstein and Hohen Schangau - GERMANYS BIGGEST TURIST ATTRACTIONS so the place of the Hotel i s just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel but there was only one restaurant open in the evening unless you took a 5km drive to Fussen.

    The hotel is in a fabulous location, our rooms had a view of Neuschwanstein Castle. Breakfast was a typical continental affair with ham, cheese, jam, fresh rolls/bread and cereals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Stay right at the bottom of 2 castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic (nothing warm) Building was very noisy (could hear clearly every time the water went on in another room)

    Walking distance from Neuschwanstein & Hohenschwangau Castles as well as the local restaurants (could see N castle from our little patio!) Helpful staff Free onsite parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Location is very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet floor in the room is not so clean cause me got running nose and sneezing the whole night. Bath room is very small specially the shower area is too small and very old decoration. The bed is not comfortable. I got back pain after woke up from the hotel bed. The room is not comfort as you can hear when the people next room walking or any movement from next door!! The staff are not really friendly. Not impressed. Only location is convenient to get the ticket to the castle. For me will be first and last to stay at this Guest house.

    Location is very convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and honest hotel for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 1 room for 2 ppl. Got something looked like hostel room with 5 single beds - that's realy strange, but ok. Bathroom isn't the room u want to spend more then 10 mins - pretty grim place. Everything looked like u've come to hostel for 5+ ppl and that's starnge when u ones again looking at the booking on the site.

    Cheap and honest hotel for this price. Good breakfast, big balcony. Easy access from the bus station - 2 min walk. Very kindly staff - explained everything on "checking in" and that's solved almost all the questions on our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice place, staff not so much, won't come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff: the lady on the reception refused to make us a cup of hot tea after breakfast hours, making me to go out and look for an open restaurant with my sleepy tired 3-year-old child under a heavy rain - how difficult is that to press a button on a coffee machine? That's for the first time I met that sort of attitude towards little guests - very unpleasant experience!

    Perfect location, great room, very clean and pleasant place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect, Beautiful, Comfy hotel with basic facilities and superb view of the Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the kitchen is not open at all times and there are no coffee / tea machines; the hotel could provide an electric kettle and mugs for guests. This can be helpful especially to beat the cold or relax an exhausting day. The kitchen did not give us coffee mug to be taken to the room so I had to remain without tea/coffee after a hectic day and go to sleep with the congestion due to cold weather.

    The Hotel is located very close to the parking area/bus station / tourist info of the City. The room had a nice balcony perfect for an early morning tea with partial view of the Castle. The staff was very polite, helpful and welcoming. They accommodated our request to leave our bags at the hotel since we arrived outside the check in time. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well heated. It also had all the basic amenities as described.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    The decoration in the open area was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The serving receptionists looked serious, should be more friendly instead. WiFi only available at the lobby area. Should provide service carrying luggage up to the staying floor or provide lower floor for guests having big luggage.

    The decoration in the open area was good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location, definitely recommend for staying if you here for castles tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Very close to the bus station, about 2 min walking. Friendly staff. After we checked out The receptionist lady let us leave our luggage in the hotel as long as we need, so we can visit the castles and explore a town. Excellent WiFi Room was clean and warm Very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    It was a super budget experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not accommodating. Room had no view, and you could hear everything outside your room. No essentials in the room. Breakfast was not very good - no fruit, basic coffee, no bread variety.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very simple room with no frills but clean and comfortable.

    Location! Location! Location! Close to castles and restaurants. Beautiful area. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice location, super view from breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was in fact twin bed, there was big gap between us. Floor in the room was very creaking.

    Nice location, super view from breakfast room. Nice big room, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    I am happy with my single room. Clean and love German design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling when the castle close at 4pm. At 5:30pm everything is closed. Only 1-2 restaraunt is open.No shop in the village. I would recommend to have tea and coffee in the room. Or at least to have some machine in the guest area to buy tea/coffee, snacks, water. Check in opens sharp at 3pm. No opportunity to leave luggage.

    The room clean and perfect money=hotel as I travelled aloned and my single room is was so cute. But no view on the castle. Location is great. Very close to bus station and ticket office. I had discount from the hotel. So buy tickets after check in. Breakfast was coffee, sandwiches. Typishe Deutsche.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice, clean and bright room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't see the Castle from our room as it was described Not very good Wi-Fi connection

    Nice, clean and bright room. perfect location. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Bavarian romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only coffee is mixed with a lot of water and the Internet in the room worked not good.

    Everything was fine. Beautiful view from the room to the castle, very nice balcony. The room is quite warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my two night stay there .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little bit noisy (thin walls) not a problem with Normal guests, but for one night had VERY loud Italians next door - would have asked to change rooms if they were there for more than the one night.

    Enjoyed my two night stay there ...good breakfasts...very close to Castles with great view from balcony

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice views in a central locations, but beware the creaky floorboards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unbelievably creaky floor made it a nightmare to get around my room while being considerate to those below me. The bed (and duvet) was too narrow for me to have a comfortable sleep, and the twin beds couldn't be linked to make one larger bed. Also, better communication regarding the break / opening hours would be appreciated as I arrived wanting to drop off my luggage and explore, but I didn't know they were closed til 3 until I googled them, and rang them, getting an automated message

    Great location, big bathroom with a nice shower, good breakfast. Very helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location in a beautiful Bavarian village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a magnificent view of Neuschwanstein Castle from our window. A short stroll to the ticket office, restaurants and shops. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable clean and roomy. Parking was very easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Walking close to Neuschwanstein's main parking lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    What a great location ... just about a block from the main parking lot for Neuschwanstein. Quiet, the views from my friends' double room of the castle were spectacular. Nice staff, friendly, and the rooms were clean and quiet. My single room was small, but heck, it is a single. I would have preferred a fitted bottom sheet, but I loved the room (see photos). If you like the ambiance of an older hotel, but clean and the bathrooms were updated, then this is your spot. The breakfast was delicious with many choices. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, the floor cried while we were walking. The bathroom is small.

    We could see BOTH castles from our balcony. Good breakfast and secure car parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, price in Neuschwanschtein area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * we'd wish mattresses to be a bit more comfortable * note for ladies: no hair dryer in the bathroom

    Perfect location; view of the Neuschwanschtein from the window. Nice room size; we'd wish the mattresses to be a bit more comfortable. Room and bath are perfectly clean. Simple but satisfying "continental" breakfast. Hostess was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Because we were in the village of Hohenschwangau itself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Because we were in the village of Hohenschwangau itself rather than a nearby town we were ahead of the crowds at all times. We could see the castle of Neuschwanstein from our balcony and the restaurant. The hotel is close to the information and booking centres. The receptionist provided me with an adaptor fror my camera as I had lost mine. Many, many thanks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous views! Simple, but lovely & amazing staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in the room - not their fault I hadn’t checked! And the room, somehow was really really hot at night, even with the window open which disturbed our sleep a little. And we couldn’t leave the door open due to being on the ground floor! It was a great place to stay though!

    The staff were amazing! So helpful and friendly!! Breakfast was nice! A good selection of toppings for the rolls and coffee and tea was amazing and on hand! The views were gorgeous, the little terraces were amazing! The cleaners were wonderful! Everything worked and they were so helpful with everything !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel near the castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really a criticism, but there was no TV in the room. I didn't mind personally, but thought I should mention it.

    The manager of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty decent (standard continental breakfast). My room was a good size and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    We Loved the Castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe.

    The Hotel is very convenient to the Castles and the restaurants. The room was very basic but very clean, no safe, no mini bar, no wifi and breakfast was basic but that is in line with what we paid. We had a view of the Castle from our little outdoor setting and it was good for a couple of nights. Fussen was beautiful for a visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Great short vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but not variety.

    Location is fantastic, the castles are just right at the door. Free hotel parking is awesome, also a bus stop to fussen is 3 minutes walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    We like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. The breakfast room waitress was unkind. She pointed out a table for the six of us to sit, but the table was too small and was stuck in a corner. Seeing that they don’t have a table for six, I asked for a table of 4 and 2. When my friend noticed there was a table for 6 in the farther section, he only pointed to the table, and that’s when one of the staff quickly shut up that section. They could have simply explained to us that the section is not open, instead of showing that to us rudely in action. They have a lot to learn about their manner.

    We like the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good hotel in terms of price & location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has no wi-fi. Only one tv in lobby's seating room. A kettle in the room would be nice.

    Location only 3 min. walk from town centre, easy walk to both castles and the museum. Bus 73 and 78 from Fussen stop right in town centre. Continental breakfast is included. Room is reasonably big, cannot complain with this price. My room with a balcony view of the castle. Room is clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and great value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator. Difficult if you have large heavy luggage. Difficult or elderly or persons with disabilities. OK breakfast.

    Reasonably priced. Only a short walk to the Schlossneuschwanstein/Hohenschwangau ticket center. Lovely view of Newschwanstein Castle. Parking on-site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Awesome little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome little hotel. Very clean, staff excellent. Location excellent. It is not a super luxury resort but the facilities are good. This is a place I will return to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a very nice and pleasant stay with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side would be having no wifi and mobile signal not being very strong in the room, but this wasn't a big deal for us.

    It is a lovely little hotel with great staff! They were very helpful whenever we needed anything. Rooms are very good size and really clean! Views are amazing from the balcony too. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    They upgraded us to a better room with a view of the castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV. No curtains and our room was on the ground floor! We have to turn the light off or dressed ourselves in the bathroom. Need to wear a night dress.

    They upgraded us to a better room with a view of the castle in the annex building, very comfortable. Hotel is near the castle ticket office and we could leave the car at the hotel. They gave us a hotel card that gave us a discount of 1 euro per castle per person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've booked a room with double bed, but what we've got was two single beds together with +-20cm distance between the matraces. When asked we were offered another room (smaller and without balcony) with two single beds, but smaller distance between them :) Stayed in the first one, on the upper floor. The beds and matraces are very very old and uncomfy, every move is accompanied by heavy noise that wakes up the baby... All the power sockets are very loose and was pretty hard to make it charge the phones... Not a big choice of restaurants around, everything closes very early. The only way to get some healthy fresh food is to drive to Rewe and cook it yourself. But there is no kitchen of course.

    Located close to the castles, the parking right in front of the building, personal was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, great staff & excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent for visiting the schlosses & our patio had a lovely view of Neuschwanstein. The staff is terrific & very helpful. It's a short drive to the Tegelbergbahn Cable Car - magnificent views. Walking distance to restaurants, Kings' Museum & the Alpsee for a swim.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi would be great.

    Location is excellent and staff are very helpful and accommodating. We were able to leave our vehicle in the hotel grounds (after checking out) whilst we went sightseeing which was brilliant as parking (in August) was chaos due to the volume of visitors to the local attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very accommodating and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi, no television, no hair dryer, no air conditioner. Also, the restaurants didn't stay open late, nor was there anything to do in the town after dark.

    The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. The bread rolls were very good. Having a breakfast was nice. The hotel was very close to the castles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman who ran the hotel was perfectly friendly and helpful to us. However, I was upset to hear her first shouting and then screaming at a couple in front of their young child. They had booked only a double room for two and were then staying as three but the hoteliers response was completely disproportionate, and potentially traumatising for a child to witness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Fun, cozy and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually liked the fact there were no TV's in the room and no internet. My daughter and I actually talked and spent quality time together. Our room had a view of the castle and was absolutely perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Ok for one day trip to Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned. Bed really not that comfortable. Breakfast ok but not much variety (for Germany)

    People helpfull. Very nice view. Big room with balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    That's is where you want to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really.

    You can't beat the location of this hotel. It is right where you want to be. I call it Spartan hotel, everything is at it's minimal, but yet, it's really value for money, and yet, nothing is really missing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Staying alongside a magical castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't have a restaurant, which we knew, but unfortunately two large restaurants in the village both closed by 5pm, leaving a choice of the one remaining establishment, or a trip into Fussen. Not the fault of the hotel, I realise, but a slight problem nonetheless.

    A very friendly welcome to a hotel that is in a magnificent setting, right underneath Neuschwanstein castle. Our very modern, large room was in an annexe at the rear of the property with a view of the castle. This would be a superb place to stay for anyone wanting to visit the two castles as you could easily beat the morning rush.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    a basic but super ok option at neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its quite basic, not a luxury place, bathroom could be larger and have daylight

    location is perfect, as close as it can get to the castle, parking is easy, some of the rooms with great views to Neuschwanstein castle, the receptionist was super friendly accepting last minute changes to our reservations, price was super fair

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel near castles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just be sure to know that there is no wifi before you go. Other than that, no complaints!

    Great location near all the castles. I couldn't believe how closer we were to all the sites and to the alpsee. Breakfast was included. Staff was very helpful. Great value!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location for the view of Nueschwanstien castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our room had a balcony with a view of the Neuschwanstein castle!! Parking on site was free and even though we had to check out by 10 am, the host let us park our car there until we were done from our tour to the castle later that morning. It is in a walking distance to the lake near the castle. But they rolled up the side walk at around 6 pm. I like it after all the tourists were gone, though. There were at least 3 restaurants at other hotels near the ticket center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good located if you are visiting Schloss Hohenschwangau and Schloss Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is best located. Clean rooms, rich breakfast! After check out, your car can stay at hotel parking place all the remaining day (parking is free!). This is very nice, because of the parking fees in this area!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place near the middle of town with partial view of castle depending on the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower drained slow and the sliding shower holder was broken so was attached to another fixed one on the wall. Tree blocked full view of the castle from where we were at (maybe they can cut down? Just kidding) Beds a little uncomfortable.

    Great location near the middle of town, very close to the castles and the ticket office (15 minute walk or less). Restaurants all around and tourist shops up the road (5 minute walk). Host Sabina was great! Breakfast was simple but free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Convenient to castle, but not what they show you will get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of their advertising.The room I was assigned was nothing like the photo I was given. It was an upper floor middle room with only a roof window opening. It was extremely hot without the window open. It began to sprinkle during my first night, although thank goodness not enough to have to close the roof window. I also has to sleep in the bed backwards as the mattress was too sunken. The included breakfast was less than most others I encountered, with no fruit (orange juice only), bologna and ham loaf, hard rolls and 1 other bread, and Swiss and one other cheese. I don't know about cereal as I don't eat that. No eggs.

    The closeness to the castle ticket office is a plus, especially if you are traveling by rail and bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location for a very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consider the hotel has no 24/7 reception. It is nothing bad itself, but plan your trip accordingly.

    The strategic position of the hotel allows us to reach all the focal points in about 15 mins by walk. Free parking was available even on the day of the check-out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Castle view from room! But no WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have no WiFi. Yes you can stalk the nearby shopping center and use their WiFi that is fast. But when you have a business mayhem going on like it so happened, having to stay hours outside the shopping mall to solve the problems with their WiFi can turn to be extremely inconvenient especially when you have to shout sensitive data & credit card numbers over Skype while on the street... What is the big deal of having their own WiFi?

    Awesome to see Neuschwanstein castle from room! Breakfast & staff were nice too. Nice to have bathroom in the room. Nice walks around the hotel in stunning landscapes!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    There was no wi-fi or tv in the rooms but we knew that up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wi-fi or tv in the rooms but we knew that up front and were ok with that. Everything was basic but comfortable and for the location and the price I would stay again. The owner was wonderful and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful clan and cheap hotel close to the Neuschwanstein Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, the location was fantastic if you wanna visit the Neuschwanstein Castle. You can see it at the front porch. Second, although there aren't much amenities in the hotel, but the price is so unbeatable. Third, while the room was so cheap, both room and bathroom were pretty clean. Forth, you can park your car in front of your room. Last, the breakfast they served was nice regarding quality and quantity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Like a visit back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no WI-FI in the room or in the hotel lobby. Not that big of a deal but no TV in the room either.

    Very nice and friendly staff, we had a balcony in our room with a direct view of the Neuschwanstein castle which was superb and fairy tail like.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old style and the bed didn't score for comfort: it was basically two single beds near each other. Also the breakfast was quite basic.

    Great location: right next to the castle and 5min by car from Fussen. Private parking made it very easy to just walk up the castle as well as going to Fussen in the evening. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    The landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi No elevator Breakfast was not vegan

    The landscape The lake Very close (about 5 minute walk) to the ticket center to the castles The staff was amazing. Very patient and helps you with all your questions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Location is right in the area of Neuschwanstein castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is right in the area of Neuschwanstein castle. The hotel is not air conditioned so try to get a room in the front of the hotel with morning sun only. I don't know how the other rooms survived the heat- and we visited in May. Front desk was very helpful with questions re. Visiting the castles. The breakfast is good- nice selection of bread, meat, cereal and included. They lock up at 8pm - no exceptions- so don't be late checking in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient place for the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were a little bit old and very noisy due to the old style building. You can hear people talking in the corridor and people walking upstairs above your room.

    Only a few minutes away from the castles' ticket office. The hotel will also give you a visitor card and when you purchase the castles ticket at the ticket office, you will receive one euro off per visitor card. Also plenty of parking for cars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Country-side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no double bed, only two single beds put together, also breakfast was scanty (but cheap). Furniture was a bit old, but good-looking (maybe even vintage).

    Note that you can check in only from 3 to 8 p.m. We forgot about it, bur we were lucky - hostess was a bit angry for our 30 minutes delay, but she let us in. Hotel is 20 minutes from both castles, and the view is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Castle view from the room terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited restaurant selection in the immediate area, but neighboring town has many restaurants.

    Great location to visit the nearby castles. Discount on tickets available for hotel guests. Adequate breakfast included. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel. Recommended to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt check the checkin time. There was an hour gap in the afternoon where we cannot checkin.

    The property was super clean and the amenities were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: