Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garten-Hotel Ponick This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Königsberger Str. 5-9, Weiden, 50858 Cologne, Germany

#5 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 419 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff is super friendly and was able to accommodate us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is super friendly and was able to accommodate us before usual check-in time. The location is very calm, quiet and perfect for rest, but city centre is easily accessible by public transport. Great price for value and beautiful hotel. Highly recommended!:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotless. Friendly staff. Excellent buffet breakfast, including gluten-free options. Secure underground car park. Quiet location, yet minutes from the motorway. Within easy walk of a super restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Will be my go to hotel whenever I am in Cologne.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's nothing I didn't like about the hotel, this was my second time here and it was great the first time and even greater the 2nd time around!

    The breakfast was good. The bed very comfortable and the room clean and tidy. The staff especially Esther very accommodating, friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Memorable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Combining 2 single beds to look like a queen or king bed was not a good idea especially when one requested/indicated in the booking he or she desired a queen bed.

    The garden behind the hotel was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    THANKS ESTHER...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi very slow and jumpy. For the rate, breakfast could have been included in the price. Bathlinien and duvets a bit too small.

    25 Minutes away by UHBAN LINE 1 - from DEUTS / KOELNMESSE. Uhban stop is bahnstrasse - 5 minutes walk from the hotel. From Airport: Look at the DEPARTURES board in front of the ticket machine and look for line S13 or S19 Orange line S13 platform 2 - ticket zone 1b at euro 2.80 one way - Change at DEUTS/KOELNMESSE - and take the UHBAN LINE 1 (red line the tube map ) - Widen west direction. Hotel situated in a very good area and Quiet neighborood. Shops, restaurants and supermarket very close to the hotel. Good continental and mediterranean breakfast at 8 euro per person . Firm bed which I liked very much, duvets a bit less considering in italy we use big size ones...and the bathtub was fantastic. Excellent cleansiness. Rate a bit too high considering it isnt that close to the fairground as it should be. Very kind and welcoming multilingual staff . Wifi to be improved, very slow and jumpy connection. Esther made me feel at home....I will surely be back should i happen to stay in koeln again. Ciao Esther and thanks again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    A lovely discovery;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely discovery; quiet but just off the motorway--a real haven. Breakfast options included the garden, conservatory or breakfast room--all light and airy. Room was generous, well-appointed and the staff wewre terrific--so very helpful and cheery. recommended restaurants that also were a cut above.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay in Cologne!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report that was negative!

    The owner and staff take great pride in their establishment. The rooms are spotless, service above and beyond and the location very good,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed my time in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very quiet and cosy place. I mean the hotel itself and the district. The district is very green and clean. There is the tram stop nearby the hotel, the tram goes directly to the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.5
    Quiet and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet, clean and cozy. Were sharing a room with a friend during Carnaval: had good rest. Tram station is less than 5 min away. Breakfast is nice. The stuff are very polite and hekpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    A really good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, among the best hotel we stayed in.

    A very nice hotel. Though it's not in the center of Cologne, it just take 15 min by tram to get to the center. Very easy. It is really easy to find the hotel from the A1 autobahn. The staff where really nice and helpful, and they speak english. We where upgraded to a bigger room. We liked it so much that we thought of staying at the room instead of gaining in to town. (But we went to the city) Nice beds, bathroom very clean and comfortably. In the garage the had a kit for cleaning windows first time I saw that.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing Thanks for a great stay

    The staff were fantastic really friendly and extremely helpful with any detail, and location was good for getting the tram ( 5 min walk) into the Christmas markets(about 25 mins straight line)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    good place to stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles gut!

    Pleasant and quiet location with easy access to road and transport infrastructure. Sweetie bar was an unexpected treat!Nice clean and fresh towels too, not hotel tired ones.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel with large rooms and great staff in a peaceful neighbourhood of Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff - Esther especially was a real character :-) . She gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us well throughout. I stayed in bedroom number 39 on the 1st floor, which was large, modern and well appointed. Due to the summer weather it was a little hot, but the in-room fan took care of that. Good, clean bathroom with decent shower. Not the greatest shower pressure, but it was perfectly comfortable. Breakfast was good with decent options on offer. Beautiful garden and conservatory, where you can take breakfast and also enjoy a drink in the evening. We used this one evening to work. Around a 25-30-minute drive to Cologne Messe. In a nice quiet suburb of Cologne, which has a large shopping centre nearby (7 min walk) , and decent restaurants also.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Everything, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel staff were fantastic, entertaining and friendly 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were fantastic, entertaining and friendly 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    A nice stay in a beautiful city living in a quiet and nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was better if the hotel was located close to downtown.

    The very kind, very nice staff, willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    comfortable bed, clean, parking (costs 3,5 euro), nice staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not included in the price

    comfortable bed, clean, parking (costs 3,5 euro), nice staff, close to metro and tram, quiet area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and friendly customer service, was wonderful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    It was very quiet and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet and warm. Great location - close to the tram to city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Super clean, quiet and friendly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Super clean, quiet and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    A brilliant place to stay with impeccable service, highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A restaurant on-site would have been nice

    The overall service and friendliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice room. Nice winter garden. Underground parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay for a business trip. Well located for our needs.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent and well signposted so easy to find from the tram stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    No air conditioning, excessively hot inside compared to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, excessively hot inside compared to outside temperature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free breakfast. Flexibility with early arrival. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Great !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A king size bed would be handy !! Besides that the bed is very comfortable !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel near metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    U Bahn Station in der Nähe, super freundliche hilfsbereite Personal, alles sehr sauber

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Great break in this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Lovely hotel, fabulous staff, will definitely come again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    a lot of small details in this hotel as well as the behavior...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lot of small details in this hotel as well as the behavior of the staff demonstrate that they are really "customer oriented".

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Superb hotel, staff couldn't do enough for us, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent Couldn't ask for more

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not close to city centre

    Very respectful staff, Nice location, Clean rooms, Breakfast in front of garden

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Best Expo Hotel Stay Ever!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, very friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was very delicious. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice cosy hotel with friendly crew
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-condition, a little bit far from the city center

    Nice cosy hotel with friendly crew

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    They should have a Nespresso machine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have a Nespresso machine!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    We will stay at Hotel Ponick again when visiting Cologne next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great, and the beds were very comfortable! Great hotel in a great location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Repeated stay at this excellent family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I can think off.

    Repeated stay at this excellent family run hotel. Located in a lovely quiet area and very close to a large Mall. Good tram service to centre of Cologne few mins away. Lovely garden and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    I loved this independent hotel in a residential/garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved this independent hotel in a residential/garden district of Köln. The S-Bahn takes you to the centre in 20-25 minutes. You sleep in a really clean and efficient hotel in a quiet street. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - all smiling and all helpful. It comes from working in a hotel they are proud of - they don't have the fake smile of the graduates from the hotel-chain training school. Free wifi and garage. Super breakfast, well above the quality you might expect in a smaller hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Garten Hotel Ponick
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didn't like: - only German tv channels - the room was a little cold and there were no extra blankets - direct tram to town is a plus, but it's a 20 minute tram ride into the center

    Garten Hotel Ponick We booked during a very busy time I. Cologne and prices were high all round. When we arrived we were welcomed by the receptionist- she spoke excellent English and gave very helpful tips with regard to the travel cards, where to eat and what to do. We were upgraded to a little apartment/room with its own kitchen; which was great as we could make tea and coffee. Be sure to type in the full address into your gps- there are several streets in Cologne with the same name- so you could end up at the opposite side of town :-( We liked: - being upgraded to a very large and spacious room with a balcony and little kitchen. The bathroom was separate; which was great. We could make coffee and tea in the little kitchen - red/ maroon towels opposed to white - little treat candy bar in reception - good breakfast at 8 euro per person - very friendly and helpful staff - easy access to the tram stop (it's about 5 minutes walk) - free parking and wifi - beautiful garden outside the breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff (for instance regarding...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bar in the hotel would have been nice, but there are some places nearby also.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (for instance regarding directions to the centre of Cologne). Parking possibility underneath the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Really liked the helpful reception who told us about all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe no air conditioning?

    Really liked the helpful reception who told us about all the sights of the city. She was also easy to understand as her English was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice, clean room, convenient underground car park, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Early check-out (at 7:30am) meant I couldn't get a full breakfast, which is served from 8am. While I appreciated the fact that I was allowed to get some food from the cafeteria, for some reason I was not allowed to have bread or croissants, even though I could see that both were ready to be served in the kitchen.

    Nice, clean room, convenient underground car park, friendly welcome and efficient check-in procedure despite late arrival (after 2am); the same goes for the early check-out (at 7:30am).

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Service, people, cleanliness, that hotel is not next to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Each day the breakfast is the same. After 2-3 days i can't watch anymore scrambled eggs.

    Service, people, cleanliness, that hotel is not next to the main road. That hotel is in quiet neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    We were given a free upgrade to a suite with our own balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is set within a quiet residential area approx 20 minutes away from the city centre on the tram. Also no English information available all guides etc in hotel were in German. The breakfast was very tasty but limited hot food only scrambled egg.

    We were given a free upgrade to a suite with our own balcony overlooking the garden which was beautiful! The hotel and rooms were clean and well maintained. There was a free candy bar and the breakfast room was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Staff was so nice and the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was so nice and the room was great. We got upgraded to a suite and it was so big and spacious and amazing. We had a great time. Location is also great - close to the train line and the Rhein Energy stadium.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast in the beautiful garden was especially nice. The hotel is a few hundred yards from a major tram stop which takes about 20 minutes to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Very peaceful location with a beautiful garden, yet very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't fault it!

    Very peaceful location with a beautiful garden, yet very handy for motorway and tram. Excellent service. Gluten-free breakfast no problem at all. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just about everything. Gracious hospitality. Comfortable, quiet, clean accommodations. Fabulous breakfast. And great value. Yes, it's a 25-minute tram ride to downtown Cologne (I didn't have a car), but I actually appreciated the hotel's proximity to a shopping mall: gave me a chance to check out German daily life.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    A lovely little hotel with easy access to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely little hotel with easy access to downtown. Located in a pretty residential area near a grocery store. Beautiful garden. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    The care of the management to ensure that the guests have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The care of the management to ensure that the guests have the best experience ever. Keen to provide information to ease use of public transport and to see the most that the area has to offer.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    Nice and helpful staff - family ambiance, very clean room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Nice and helpful staff - family ambiance, very clean room and well-maintained building, comfortable mattress, convenient location, quality of breakfast buffet, calm place with good communication to the centre and the Fair, Portuguese restaurant La Tasca nearby; free garage parking

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    convenient location. Nice garden. Close to everything. Not far from Cologne by public transportation. Free underground parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    10
    EXELENT WELCOME AT THE RECEPTION
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I can not think of something

    EXELENT WELCOME AT THE RECEPTION

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Extremely nice room (suite), and wonderful headline
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely nice room (suite), and wonderful headline

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    Excellent staff service orientated, good quality breakfast,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    Excellent staff service orientated, good quality breakfast, clean room with good a matrass.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    8.8
    Great for drivers, easy to find ,free garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great for drivers, easy to find ,free garage parking. close to tram stop. Ester on reception was great. would stay again

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.3
    Reception staff were helpful and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really.

    Reception staff were helpful and very friendly. Close to tram route and loads of local amenities. Underground carpark.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Friendliest hotel i habe ever stayed with!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliest hotel i habe ever stayed with!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Nice location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, clean and quet.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Location, friendly staff, breakfast, easy to park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast, easy to park

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Away from the city centre

    Clean; welcoming; nice garden

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    Really friendly people.
    • Couple

    Really friendly people. Clean. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    8.3
    convenient location, quiet, clean, friendly staff, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room with strong smoking smell lasting for several days i stayed.

    convenient location, quiet, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, garden view

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Garten-Hotel Ponick traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: