Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gast-und Weinhaus Burkard

Burgstrasse 1, Bernkastel, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Germany

#8 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Bernkastel-Kues

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property has been owned by the same family for four generations and the pride in the property was evident both inside and out. Reception/restaurant-bar area were homey and welcoming and breakfast was beautifully done with tables set for each group of guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff! Everyone was very accommodating and helpful! Restaurant is on site as well and the food is absolutely delicious. One of the best meals we have had in Germany! The room is very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is very close to Burg Eltz Castle (short 10 min. drive).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Breakfast abundant and very good value. Location excellent, because it is in a pedestrian zone parking was not easy but there was parking a little walk away. However, it was possible to have a temporary stop to unload cases outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 percent surcharge for credit card payments which is not mentioned on booking.com site.

    Top location right in the heart of bernkastel old town. Shower pressure was awesome which was really nice after a long Day on the bike. big and comfortable bathroom with modern furnishing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very hard to locate, the rooms were above a restaurant. You have to go through the restaurant to access the rooms, at night time when it is close the owners gave us a key to the restaurant door to be able to go to our room. Our room door did not lock and I notified the owner of the property and she told me that there were no other rooms available but she never even bothered to check on our door. The stairs were very very steep and the carpets smelled bad. Our room was very hot and was facing a wall where they dumped alot of their junk. Parking was horrible, they have a parking lot which is 400 meters from the building but the spaces were very very tight that I could not open the door. Check out was very early and they wanted us out at 10 am. I will not recommend this hotel, way over priced for poor service. For the price of this hotel, you can stay in a better hotel with good service, convenient location and more modern facility!

    Location was good, in the middle of Bernkastel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the 2nd floor, which meant two quite steep stairs to climb, could be hard for old or disabled people.

    Nice, friendly owners, very helpful. Nice breakfast, locked parking in the village.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This guesthouse is located in the city center close to shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. We had the junior suite which was very roomy, especially according to European standards. The beds were comfy and breakfast had a good variety of options. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit stuffy

    The meals were wholesome and nicely presented

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs to our room

    Lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed (too short, too soft, bad pillow)

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, great location, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodations, location and very cozy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very bad soundproofing in the room.

    Very cosy hotel with helpful staff. Restaurant with good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prima ligging in stadscentrum

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fault of the management, but in the middle of a town or village, there is always someone who wants to tell the world something loudly at 3 a.m.

    Very well run, very clean and in a lovely village, the prettiness of Cochem without the crowds and without selling its soul to tourism, albeit it is a place largely for tourists.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location!! Wonderful Breakfast! Super comfortable King size bed!! Staff went out of their way to contact tourist office to let us store our bags on our last day for free, very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite being quiet, the owner seemed to hurry us along - like he was on speed or something - not what we wanted after a hot tiring day. Still, he made amends by directing me next morning to the local bike repair shop when it was discovered I had a puncture.

    Start of season so things were (nicely) quiet. Bikes were secured in separate lock up.The room was clean and comfortable as was bed. Separate bathroom with excellent shower. Again, all very clean. Breakfast was typically continental - selection of cheeses, cold meats and salamis, fresh bread rolls, fruit juice and coffee. Excellently priced b&b at 60 eur for two

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bandwidth of the Wifi appears insufficient as from time to time we all had challenges to get a connection from the local server to the provider.

    The location is right in the centre of Bernkastel.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in early December, our 2nd visit this year. Friendly and welcoming staff, cosy Xmas feel, wonderful breakfasts and the best rack of lamb I think I have ever tasted. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi unreliable

    Location and service

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overall a very nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good location, good food. The junior sweet very good.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had no bad experiences with this hotel

    The location of this hotel. The staff's friendliness and willingness to make our stay memorable

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    gebrek aan lift

    privé parkeerplaats dichtbij uitstekende ligging prijs/kwaliteit menu afwisselend ontbijt bediend aan tafel en ruim voldoende!

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: