Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus am Berg

Bayerwaldstrasse 5, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Germany

#3 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Bayerisch Eisenstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 63 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hosts who where very knowledgeable of the surrounding area since they fell in love with it years ago. The hotel itself was well equipped to be an enjoyable stay whether you left the area or not with games, movies and a cozy sitting area. Very family oriented! Breakfast was on point, everything was clean, and only an 8 minute drive to the slopes. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were fantastic-really welcoming and informative of the local facilities and area. As they are like us also from the UK we had some interesting discussions comparing life in the UK and Germany

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism is that I am a map buff. I have had a few negative confrontations with German bus and train personnel regarding the border area of transport zones / guest card free travel zones and my holiday will always be challenging if I don't know where the border ends for transport purposes .I have had bus and train personnel shout at me for crossing a tariff zone without knowing. Clare agreed with me that this was one of the shortcomings on the free map publication and that she would investigate the outlier /validity of the map for bus and train to ensure that all visitors have a pleasant start to their wanderlust /travel adventures.

    From start to finish our hosts Jerry and Clare were real gems who remained attentive and caring throughout our whole stay. They greeted us off the train ( last Bavarian station and one which shares its platform with the Czech station on the other side of the rail ) and went that extra distance in ensuring all of our varied needs were met. I stay often in different establishments throughout Germany and it is rare to see this level of devotion as displayed by this very dynamic team of husband and wife. In addition both partners seem to work together as part of a team and this tends to be in short supply these days. I feel that the pair of them deserve so much praise for their style of support and dynamic approach to the wider aspects of tourism. We were IMO a difficult party of five , given that we all , including myself were searching different things and this team of two professionals managed to respond effectively and efficiently as if it was second nature .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovelt quiet location. Our hosts were very welcoming and advised us of many of the local attractions we should visit. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee making in the room and comfortable guest lounge with tempting cakes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are dark. A bit more light would make it way more enjoyable.

    The owner was very friendly. Very nice location. Clean. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    brilliant place to stay. Be sure to walk into the Czech Republic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beautiful location, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couple that owned the place was fantastic. Incredibly kind, helpful and just fun people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff (incl. Chacko, the mountain dog) and delicious jams for breakfast. Fully recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great scenery, great restaurants, the gesthouse was a classic and Jerry and Clair kindly spent many hours chatting and comparing life in Bavaria to Brisbane Queensland. We have to return.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    RoomTemperature - heating was switch on during check in... Outside temp was -4, room was really cold and took plenty of hours to achieve pleasant temp

    Owner is british - great to manage everything without knowledge of german language

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Jerry was a delightful host! He definitely went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable during our stay

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredibly nice sleeping. Black bred for the breakfast

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: