Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus am Riedweg

Edinger Riedweg 71, 68219 Mannheim, Germany

#29 of 45 hotels in Mannheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    better than my expectation in such a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one remind us that the door of the room wouldn't be locked automatically, and therefore we left the door unlocked for the whole night... It would be better for privacy if the staff reminds us in advance.

    The room is simply but clean. Its convenient living circle make it a nice place for long stay, one compact kitchen, 3-minute walk to supermarket, and 10-minute walk to train/tram station. And they offer nice breakfast as well, and I enjoy the morning time there :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    We stayed here for the Bad Dürkheim wine festival and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for the Bad Dürkheim wine festival and it worked out really well. The train wasn't too far away and it was very easy to find with the directions from the man who checked us in. The breakfast was small but a typical German style breakfast with great coffee. Checking in and out were easy and all the staff were nice! There isn't much immediately around the hotel to do but the train isn't to far away to go where you want to and the hotel was very easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Just about ok for a budget one night stop, but not longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated and could do with a major upgrade. The comfortable beds helped. Coffee wasn't nice and the breakfast was just about ok, could be better but we didn't pay much and so I guess it was expected. There was an unpleasant smell coming from the kitchen, perhaps damp or something. There is nothing in the local area except for a supermarket, petrol station and car workshop within walking distance.

    We used this property for a one night stop off. It is ok for this purpose, but I would not stay here longer. It was generally clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff friendly. There was plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff, plenty of place to park and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast (included in the price) was good with reasonable choice. Rooms vere airy, well lit and very spacious. Good internet connection. The staff is very friendly and helped us very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Perfect for 1 night
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hair dryer. No air conditioning.

    Breakfast was very good. Very easy parking. I stayed one night (45 EUR with breakfast - very good price) but I don`t recommend for longer stay and travellers with child(ren).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Typical motel close to highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    Typical motel close to highway. A nice place to an overnight guest travelling by car.. dont expect too much

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Good checkin after reception hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 3 Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good checkin after reception hours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    easy to find, plenty of parking space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy to find, plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Made to feel special by Andrea
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Nice stay after long drive
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Good breakfast, nice big room, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Beds were comfortable and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    No elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Simple but efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Old, but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Basic hotel for a good price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very good price/ quality value; the silence was a big + for me.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.1
    OK - it's a proper and shortest opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good place to stay for a night or two - especially if you are going to Veterama

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    The blankets were really soft and comfortable, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom was small so it never dry completely, and there was vapid smell because of it.

    The blankets were really soft and comfortable, the room was simple but clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is at the outskirt of an industrial area was not charming at first, but could have a good sleep anyways.

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    7.9
    + Friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Breakfast ok, coffee could have been better

    + Friendly owners + Location not too far from the old town + WiFi and parking without charges + Basic but spacious room (109)

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.5
    Easy to get to from motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very dated. Linoleum floors don't look clean. The area is a bit creepy. Traffic noise can be a nuisance at night.

    Easy to get to from motorway. Lots of parking spaces.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Basic hotel with a good parking and fine breakfast at a...
    • Solo traveller

    The location is at a business district. That could disappoint people a bit. However, if you are staying just overnight on your way to a further location (like I did), than that is not a problem at all. The hotel is located just some kilometers from the highway.

    Basic hotel with a good parking and fine breakfast at a sharp price. Everything functions and that is all that it takes.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    4.2
    Breakfast was sufficient, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have never seen a bed with nightstands and nightstand lamps without any receptacles on the whole wall! Yes: electric lamps without electicity! One receptacle half way through the room. First trip to the hardwarestore to buy an extension cord..... as r3ception is usually unstaffed. The showerhead is a handheld shower. No holder to use it as a showerhead above eyelevel! The matress was thin and uncomfortable, the height above floor more like a futon then a bed. For 3 days it was bearable, but over 191$ total was way to much for this low standard.

    Breakfast was sufficient, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly staff & provided everything it said it...
    • Solo traveller

    The location wasn't in a very nice part of Mannheim, but it was fine for my overnight stay

    Very friendly staff & provided everything it said it would

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming staff. Nice area outside with grass for dogs which is the reason we decided to stay at this hotel rather than the one down the road where the supermarket is. My dog found it too hard to wee and no where to play. So this hotel is perfect. Close to nearby places to pick up food, clean throughout, very spacious for the amount they charge. I travel every year to Italy from uk by car so I will definitely be stopping at this hotel from now on! I'm sad I didn't find it sooner!! :)

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    2.9
    There was nothing I felt positive about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place was a pit. The entire facility had a dirty feel to it. Our room had crumbs on the floor. The tub did not drain well so you showered in 3 inches of water.

    There was nothing I felt positive about.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    5.0
    The location of the property is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very creaky. Not just some noise but it was creaking even for the smallest movement. There was also a strong smell (not exactly bad but a bit overpowering).

    The location of the property is good. Close to highways. The rate is reasonable and the service is good. Free WiFi. Basic breakfast but enough for a good day.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    6.7
    friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poorly lit parking area - at night and during rain it is particularly risky! Additional lights would be great. (We noticed that the whole city area is poorly lit as well, so it might just be a local thing. Still, it can be easily helped by installing extra lighting outside.) Very hard to locate the place if you arrive at night and during rain! It's not at all far from the expressway but you have to manage driving on one-way winding roads... it might be frustrating if you don't know the area well.

    friendly and helpful staff We couldn't stay for breakfast (as we were leaving very early), and the staff was kind enough not to charge us for it.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    A much larger room than I have ever had in other places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The area is a bit dodgy, with lots of lorries parked up and unsavoury looking characters walking about at night, but not everyone will have a dog that needs exercising after a day's driving, no matter how late! The motel is very dated and the landscape around its perimeter is...rough. Some lights in the room weren't working. The TV set was shockingly old with poor picture and a remote I had not seen since the 80s.

    A much larger room than I have ever had in other places. Clean enough. Andrea was brilliant, offering to drive me to McD and then ordering a room service pizza for me. Plus tea, coffee and cake available in the foyer. Location is great if, like me, you're just making an overnight stop and proceeding with your car journey the next morning, as it is just a few minutes away from the motorway. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    All you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All you need. No more and no less!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    7.9
    front desk woman was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was clean, but kinda beat up

    front desk woman was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Clean hotel and tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean hotel and tasty breakfast. the staff was absolutely wonderful ! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.5
    The room was good with a very good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows where to thin

    The room was good with a very good shower.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.1
    Good clean room good breakfast Plenty of free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit off the beaten track for walking anywhere had to drive out for tea but was a good stop off

    Good clean room good breakfast Plenty of free parking

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everithing

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    In industrial area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In industrial area ... not close to city.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Very practical, clean, quality/price value unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sorroundings a bit too industrial

    Very practical, clean, quality/price value unbeatable. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    surrounding area a little run down

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    Nice rooms, near to lake and restaurant, reliable wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very soft and creaky beds, hard to sleep or even turn in a bed without waking other people up.

    Nice rooms, near to lake and restaurant, reliable wifi

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.8
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast is good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms seem a bit old. No proper sound insulation on door to corridor.

    Breakfast is good for the price

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: