Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus Maria This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Zoeppritzstr. 20, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#1 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Very helpful & professional & friendly staff, convenient & safe location, super breakfast & very comfortable room w easy on- street parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast included with room. Also got a GaPa card that gave us free bus travel in garmisch and free pool access for the city's pool. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thin window curtains don’t block any sunlight in the morning, so the room gets filled with light very early.

    Hosts are very friendly. Breakfast was excellent, and the location is great - 7 minute walk to the center, and with awesome views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom area.

    The hotel was in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to downtown area. Restaurants were very close. Our hostess was so very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was very nice in a beautiful sun room. Our room was spacious and quiet. Bed was comfortable, small bathroom but adequate. We really enjoyed staying here and if we return to the area we will be staying here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was we were on thr top floor and my 6'3" husband kept hitting his head on the slanted ceiling. Not a huge problem, but if you are tall, I would request one of the other room prior to arriving if possible.

    The owners were very nice and helpful. We hadn't planned on doing the regular touristy things, except for the Christmas Market, and got some great ideas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. We had a car but it's an easy 10 minute walk to city center. Hosts were very hospitable and helpful. Great price for the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The automatic light sensor doesn't work on the third floor when you leave the room, so the corridor is always very dark until you turn on the light manually. In my opinion, you should either make the sensor work, or keep the lights on during the day. The shower stall in my room (Dreitorspitze room) was very small.

    Overall, a satisfactory experience. Everything was clean, the owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hadn't realised the apartment was so far from the guesthouse (900m), so breakfast wasn't an option. However, making our own wasn't a problem with the adequately equipped kitchen including a dishwasher.

    Lovely clean and spacious apartment within walking distance of the centre of Garmisch but also close to the free bus service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wood construction of upper stories makes it a bit noisy with peoples footsteps and talking the corridoor and stairs - maybe owners could put a sign reminding people to try and be quiet when in public space?

    friendly hosts with excellent english good free internet excellent breakfast in nice big dining room with excellent mountain views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guesthouse was simply perfect, cozy, clean, comfortable, and centrally located. The staff was helpful and explained everything in detail. We will definitely be coming back in the winter.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    Made to feel at home from the get go. Honesty bar and free tea and coffee in the sort of lounge area was brilliant. I was in the Zugspitz room - awesome views from the large balcony. Perfect location, just a 5-6 min walk into the centre of town. 4 mins to the nearest bus stop - buses are free with the GaPa card you get - for a bus to the Alpspitzbahn. I was able to park my motorbike in their 'yard' which was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small. Not a big problem, but a bit small.

    Great service, good location, great athmosphere, staff always available. Very child friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in the room was squeaky and had to park on the street but a space was open directly in front of the hotel.

    New bathroom, decent bed, great breakfast, and staff was very nice and accommodating. I also appreciated the bottle of water in the room!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed felt like a box spring, not a mattress. Very firm (which isn't bad by itself), and I could feel the springs. Did not sleep well.

    Clean room with a good breakfast and central location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing..

    This was our second visit to Garmish and of course we preferred the Gastehaus Maria again. Nothing changed. Hospitality, smiling faces, comfort, cleanliness, silence, breakfast with the wonderful view of Alps and everything..Hope to see you again...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of two double beds is soft and not flat making sleep uncomfortably. The family room on first floor is opposite of reception desk so there is noise during check-in/out time.

    Staff is friendly and can speak English. The room is cozy for 4 persons (family room). The location is only 10-15 minutes walk to central town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like is that we couldn't stay longer.

    The staff couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They were extremely helpful and very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it will be our first choice when we return to Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is very nicely located' close enough to the center' yet a quiet place easy parking. Very friendly, clean, nice breakfast. Free coffee and tea throughout the day. The owners helps alot with every issue. we rere very happy there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Super breakfast. Great and super friendly host! Location was very close to the shopping area of Garmisch. Parking was adequate and never had to walk far to our car, 2-3 houses down max.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    None.

    Gastehaus Maria; Wonderful place to stay in Garmish Partenkirchen without any doubt. The owners are very friendly and always helpful recommending local highlights and any other subject. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. There is wonderful breakfast with unique view of mountains, WiFi, free coffee, tea all day, even drinks are available at reasonable prices. The house is in walking distance to the city center. If you not want walk long distances, the owners give you free ticket for bus around Garmish Partenkirchen. Me and my wife stayed 8 nights and never think about our home because we feel ourselves like in our home. We are very happy to know Mr.Marcos and Mrs.Maria during our wonderful stay. We wish all the best for the future and hope to see again soon…

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we first got there the owner gave us great Ideas on where to go and what to do. Both the wife and the husband were very friendly and helpful. The room for our family was fantastic (12 and 14 year old kids). It was big, had a giant TV, big bathroom and even a breakfast nook. The Breakfast was fantastic and had a lot of choices. The location was excellent as it was a five minute walk to downtown Garmisch. With a wonderful view every time we got back! We were able to get free coffee anytime of the day. Alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages were for sale. We will definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our 4 night stay at Gästehaus Maria. The owners are very friendly and always helpful recommending local highlights. The rooms are clean and well equipped. There is free breakfast, free WiFi, free coffee all day, even drinks (beer, wine, Schnaps, water, etc.) are available at reasonable prices. The house is in easy walking distance to the city center. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is too far from station for walking. But after checkin, I got a free local bus card.

    The hotel itself is perfect. friendly staffs, clean room, nice decoration, comfort bed, delicious breakfast and even a great view of Zugspitze.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great and quiet location with only a few minutes walk into town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast and host!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    servicio, desayuno, todo muy personal y cercano. todo en general fue genial. The best place in garmisch. top ten service, so kind peoples. Amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location....staff very accomodating and friendly. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast and view in the mornings. Wish we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be able to return sooner🌝

    Wonderful family,food and açcomodations!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from bahnof, no direct connection through public transport. Nearest bus stop was 800 m away.

    View of Zugspitze from room 😊, nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    mountain view; honesty bar; the kindness and helpfulness of the landlord / landlady

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On street parking.

    Staff, food, and accommodations were excellent. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short breakfast hours

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant atmosphere, very clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    A very nice familiar hotel with a wonderful landscape around. Good breakfast and a helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view from the room, nice staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very kind , the hotel is really closed to the main part of Garmisch and I was all the time walking. You don't need car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast Renovation of the 100 yr old property sensitively and professionally done. Great value in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked everything.

    This hotel was definitely the highlight of our 10-day roadtrip in Southern Germany. Excellent hospitality, attention to detail and a great service with a smile. Even though we were the only ones there with children at the time, we felt welcomed. We stayed in a family room on the ground floor and still had some great views from our window. The room was spacious and well equipped. Very comfortable. The breakfast room is beautiful and the breakfast itself was also a nice selection. The owners were very helpful with their suggestions on things to do and places to eat. It is a short little walk into the main part of Garmisch. As an added bonus, this was the only hotel with a well-working WIFI out of all the places we stayed. The room also had a huge TV with a SkyBox, which we didn't use, as the weather was great, but it can be handy on a rainy day.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely nothing.

    Lovely guest house with friendly hosts. Can walk easily to the centre of town in 5-10 minutes. Family room was huge with a big table and lots of homely touched. Great breakfast for a small establishment in a very pleasant conservatory.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What an amazing couple!!! The hospitality was over the top! My husband has many food allergies and upon arrival they were very prompt and accomodating to ensure his breakfast was allergen free and not in contact with anything else. We specifically outlined on the notes when making the reservation online and again, they were on top of it and accomodating. We definitely will return there again :)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My mattress was not so comfortable, but I guess that's a personal preference...

    Nice location on a quiet but centrally located street, very friendly and helpful owners on site, nice clean rooms, updated decor -- and great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hospitality of the owners. There very nice and helpful people. The room was very confotable, with balcony and beautiful view. The breakfast was good. The room and bathroom were very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A greater variety of bread and hot food for breakfast.

    Fantastic location close to town centre. Well furnished room. Extremely clean. Pleasant and friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the showers are not fully enclosed which makes it a bit drafty

    The location is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was very nice. The breakfasts were very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We requested a late checkout because we were running a little late. The place was otherwise empty and no one was checking in, but the owners refused and said we could pay for another day only. This was at 10:30am. We didn't even have time to shower before we had to get in the car and drive four hours home.

    Everything was perfect until the last day.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really other than I can see parking being a little tight during the high season.

    The facility was clean, very friendly staff and a good breakfast to start the day. Great location within walking distance of city center.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable house with good location, friendly staff and great service. We had a room with a view to Zugspitze on the 2nd floor. You have coffee & tee for free at any time, other drinks for additional payment. City center is 5 mins by feet. Everything was just fine, we enjoyed our staying !!!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heater in the room takes over 1 hours+ to warm up the room. if you arrive at night during winter, you might want the owner to turn on the heater hours before your arrival.

    The breakfast place, excellent view while having healthy breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The innkeeper (s), staff, breakfast, clean house, location (proximity and views), plus any needs were attended to. Here for our son's wedding and relaxing time, we walked, hiked, biked, and did so without a need for a car. Everything is close by and, of course, a city bus pass is included. The large solarium for breakfast (later hours if raining or otherwise inclined) with a large outside stone patio and extended lawn all meant for a nice time back "home" between the daily "out and about". When coming back, we'll return here!

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owners were extremely accomodating, the room was large and very clean and the location was perfect for walking into town and touring Southern Baveria

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hosts were most helpful in many practical ways. We were made most welcome and the house was peaceful and quiet with a homely atmosphere. The breakfasts were amazing in variety and quantity with more than enough of all items and plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have helped to have a lift to ski station

    short skiing break, fantastic place, bit of a hike to lifts but busses near by if you get organised really helpful family great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My room was on the last floor under the gable roof so it was a little bit too small and I needed to be careful not to heat my head to the roof but I am sure the other room are better.

    The gust house is very cozy and lovely in a very nice and quiet area. The Family is just awesome. You feel like you are in home of a close friend. It very close to city center and all the shops and restaurants. If you have a car you can simply park it on the street in front of the guest house. By car It is very close to Ski resorts The breakfast is good and fresh but it could have a little bit more variety. Everything is very very clean. The winter garden is very lovely and you will enjoy the breakfast there very much. For me it was not a problem to use the stairs but for older people may be it is not very convenient so in case you have problem you may contact the family ans ask to book a room for you on the first floor. In total I would say it was a nice place with a reasonable price. I liked it and definitely I’ll go there again

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only small drawbach we had, we were lacking soap and shower gel in the final days of our 6 night stay. However, that didn't change our great impression about the place.

    The owners were really helpful. They allowed us to check-in ahead of the arranged time and made us breakfast faster on a request. The house has a beautiful location and our room had a terrace view on Zugspitze.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked everything about our accommodation. The owners were always helpful and made every request possible. We have no complaints, only happy memories.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although I am listing a few things here it does not mean that I was not happy. Wi-fi occasionally drops but the family are getting people to sort it out. If you are unlucky to have a busy family above you it can be noisy. No fridge but it was in the winter, so the balcony was the fridge, may be different in the summer. Car is essential, parking can be found around the property but sometimes if you are unlucky, may have to park it about a minute away . I needed a second pillow.

    Friendly family and cleaning girl. Family genuinely try to help everyone. Has all the essentials. Quiet location but not that far away from the center. Good breakfast. High ceiling. Good views. Lovely balcony. Warm inside. Good shower. All clean. Beers /wine and chocolate can be bought in the house.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi not very stable, sometimes not working, sometimes working very slowly (but mobile device as a plus, that can make internet available outside the apartment). Double bed instead of matrimonial bed (but this is standard in Germany). No fix phone allowing to contact easily the owner.

    Big, comfortable apartment situated in a quite area. Garage available under the building with direct access to the apartment. Supermarkets available in the vicinity. Very well equipped kitchen. Very nice owner always ready to help in case of problems. Tasty breakfast that can be taken as an option for a very reasonable amount. Fireplace available on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Very nice, cozy and comfortable house and the staff is extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners were very friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay here again. Within short walking distance to the town center.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent and clean rooms, fantastic scenic view from the windows, more than generous breakfast for skiers, very friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast could be more varied from one day to another, but it was actually ok.

    Very nice owners. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent English speaking proprietor. Good choice and plentiful breakfast, Five minute walk into town centre. Mountain views

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just a little bit out of town

    Very nice property to stay at, comfortable room, good breakfast & very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, great breakfast, reasonably priced, friendly hosts, no complaints.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pillows

    The owners were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close from the center of Garmisch

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water pressure in shower was a bit low.

    Very friendly staff. Great location next to Garmisch city centre. Free street parking. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the hosts are extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and view from room.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice place for a very good price. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Good internet connection as well

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cleanliness, location, breakfast, staff

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: